Seth Godin se trompe sur les nombres

Depositphotos 8021901 s

Alors que je lisais un article de blog sur un site, je suis tombé sur une citation de Seth Godin. Il n'y avait pas de lien vers le message, j'ai donc dû le vérifier moi-même. Effectivement, Seth l'avait dit:

Les questions que nous posons changent ce que nous faisons. Les organisations qui ne font que mesurer les chiffres créent rarement des percées. Simplement de meilleurs chiffres.

J'ai un immense respect pour Seth et je possède la majorité de ses livres. Chaque fois que je lui ai écrit, il a répondu rapidement à mes demandes. Il est également un orateur public incroyable et ses compétences en matière de présentation sont hors du commun. Mais, à mon avis, cette citation est tout simplement absurde.

Notre agence se concentre sur les chiffres… tous les jours. Au moment où j'écris ceci, j'exécute trois applications explorant les sites des clients pour les problèmes, je suis connecté aux Webmasters et à Google Analytics. Aujourd'hui, je vais passer en revue audits de site pour plusieurs clients. Des nombres… des tas de nombres.

Cependant, les chiffres en eux-mêmes ne dictent pas une réponse. Les chiffres nécessitent de l'expérience, de l'analyse et de la créativité pour arriver à la bonne stratégie. Aucun marketeur n'a jamais à faire un choix entre les chiffres et la créativité. En fait, le nombre de nos clients nécessite souvent une grande créativité et une prise de risque pour les faire avancer dans la bonne direction.

L'un de nos clients qui est avec nous depuis des années a optimisé son classement dans les recherches et son trafic a continué de croître, mais ses conversions étaient stables. Puisque notre responsabilité est centrée sur un retour sur investissement, nous avons dû faire quelque chose de créatif. Nous avons fini par changer l'image de marque de l'entreprise, développer un tout nouveau site Web, réduire le nombre de pages à une fraction du site précédent et concevoir un site centré sur l'entreprise sans photos, toutes les photos et vidéos réelles de leur personnel et installations.

C'était un risque énorme étant donné que la majorité des prospects arrivaient via leur site. Mais les chiffres ont prouvé que nous devions faire quelque chose de dramatique (et de risqué) s'ils voulaient détenir plus de parts de marché. Mesurer uniquement les nombres est ce qui nous a conduit au changement radical… et cela a fonctionné. L'entreprise s'est épanouie et envisage maintenant de passer de 2 sites à 3 sites - en même temps, elle a réduit son personnel sortant.

Une autre perspective

J'ai travaillé avec des milliers de développeurs, statisticiens, mathématiciens et analystes au cours de ma vie et je ne pense pas que ce soit une coïncidence si bon nombre des meilleurs avec lesquels j'ai travaillé ont des débouchés créatifs.

Mon fils, par exemple, travaille sur son doctorat en mathématiques, mais a une passion pour la musique - jouer, écrire, mixer, enregistrer et DJ. Il sortait (littéralement) le chien et nous trouvions des équations écrites sur la fenêtre où il se tenait tout en se plongeant dans son travail. À ce jour, il se promène avec des marqueurs effaçables à sec dans sa poche.

C'est sa passion pour les nombres et la musique qui motive sa créativité dans les deux cas. La créativité et la prise de risque ont été au cœur de la recherche qu'il a menée (il a été évalué par des pairs et publié). Sa créativité lui permet de visualiser les nombres sans vision tunnel et d'appliquer différents théorèmes et méthodologies aux problèmes qu'il tente de résoudre. Et les résultats ne sont pas toujours de meilleurs chiffres… Parfois des mois de travail sont mis de côté et lui et son équipe recommencent.

J'ai travaillé pendant de nombreuses années dans l'industrie de la presse où l'accent mis sur les chiffres et la culture d'aversion au risque continue de les conduire à la ruine. Mais j'ai aussi travaillé pour des startups qui ont vu qu'elles ne pouvaient pas changer les chiffres et ont totalement réinventé leur entreprise, leur image de marque, leurs produits et leurs services alors que les «chiffres» étaient trop difficiles à améliorer.

La créativité et la logique ne sont pas en opposition, elles se complètent absolument. Les chiffres peuvent pousser les entreprises à prendre d'énormes risques, mais cela ne dépend pas des chiffres - cela dépend de la culture de l'entreprise.

3 Commentaires

  1. 1

    I think you missed Seth’s point: the key word was “only.” If you only track numbers yet take no action, you are indeed wasting your time. And you make that very point. You watch the numbers, analyze them, and let the analysis inform your decisions. I implore product managers to look at the numbers to refine their products and their strategies. See http://appliedframeworks.com/planning

    • 2

      I read the article very, very carefully, Steve, and didn’t take it that way. He said that people that only take a look at numbers only result in higher numbers – which means that he expects them to take action. My point is that it’s not just ‘higher numbers’ that one can achieve when ‘only looking at the numbers’. The numbers can lead to far more change. It’s not about the numbers, it’s about the culture.

Que pensez-vous?

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les spams. Découvrez comment sont traitées les données de vos commentaires..

Analytics & Testing

Seth Godin is Wrong About Numbers

As I was reading a blog post on a site, I came across a quote from Seth Godin. There was no link to the post, so I had to verify it on my own. Sure enough, Seth had said it:

The questions we ask change the thing we make. Organizations that do nothing but measure the numbers rarely create breakthroughs. Merely better numbers.

I have a huge respect for Seth and own the majority of his books. Every time I’ve written him, he’s returned a prompt response to my requests. He’s also an incredible public speaker and his presentation skills are off the chart. But, in my opinion, this quote is simply nonsense.

Our agency focuses on numbers… every day. As I write this, I’m running three applications crawling customer sites for issues, I’m logged into Webmasters and Google Analytics. Today I’ll be reviewing site audits for several clients. Numbers… loads of numbers.

Numbers by themselves don’t dictate a response, though. Numbers require experience, analysis and creativity to arrive at the right strategy. No marketer ever has to make a choice between numbers and creativity. In fact, our clients’ numbers often require huge amounts of creativity and risk taking to move them in the right direction.

One of our clients that has been with us for years had maximized their search rankings and their traffic continued to grow – but their conversions were flat. Since our responsibility is focused on a return on investment, we had to do something creative. We wound up rebranding the company, developing an entirely new website, cut the page count down to a fraction of the previous site, and designing a site that was centric to the company with no stock photos, all actual photos and videos of their personnel and facilities.

It was a huge risk given the majority of the leads were arriving through their site. But the numbers provided evidence that we had to do something dramatic (and risky) if they wanted to own more market share. Only measuring the numbers is what led us to the dramatic change… and it worked. The company blossomed and is now looking at expanding from 2 locations to 3 locations – at the same time they reduced their outbound staffing.

Another Perspective

I’ve worked with thousands of developers, statisticians, mathematicians and analysts over my lifetime and I don’t believe it’s a coincidence that many of the best that I’ve worked with have creative outlets.

My son, for example, is working on his PhD in math, but has a passion for music – playing, writing, mixing, recording and DJ’ing. He (literally) used to take the dog out and we’d find equations written on the window where he was standing by as he immersed himself in his work. To this day he walks around with dry-erase markers in his pocket.

It’s his passion for numbers and music that drive his creativity at both. Creativity and risk taking have been at the heart of the research he’s done (he’s been peer reviewed and published). His creativity allows him to view the numbers without tunnel vision and apply different theorems and methodologies to the problems he’s attempting to solve. And the results aren’t always better numbers… at times months of work is tossed aside and he and his team start over.

I worked for many years in the newspaper industry where their focus on numbers and risk averse culture continues to drive them to ruin. But I’ve also worked for startups who saw they couldn’t budge the numbers and totally reinvented their company, branding, products and services when the “numbers” were too difficult to improve.

Creativity and logic are not in opposition, they’re absolutely compliments of one another. Numbers can drive companies to take enormous risks, but it’s not dependent on the numbers – it’s dependent upon the culture of the company.

3 Comments

  1. 1

    I think you missed Seth’s point: the key word was “only.” If you only track numbers yet take no action, you are indeed wasting your time. And you make that very point. You watch the numbers, analyze them, and let the analysis inform your decisions. I implore product managers to look at the numbers to refine their products and their strategies. See http://appliedframeworks.com/planning

    • 2

      I read the article very, very carefully, Steve, and didn’t take it that way. He said that people that only take a look at numbers only result in higher numbers – which means that he expects them to take action. My point is that it’s not just ‘higher numbers’ that one can achieve when ‘only looking at the numbers’. The numbers can lead to far more change. It’s not about the numbers, it’s about the culture.

Leave a Reply