هل موقعك معطل؟ قاعدة البيانات؟

Depositphotos 51957675 م

هل تعرف؟ ماذا عن قاعدة البيانات الخاصة بك؟ هو المجال الخاص بك حل؟ هل موقعك وصفحاتك يعملان ولكنهما يخدمان أخطاء قاعدة البيانات فقط؟

كان لدينا بالفعل مثيل منذ أسبوعين حيث كان موقعنا يعمل بكامل طاقته ، لكننا كنا نواجه مشكلات في عدد اتصالات قاعدة البيانات. لسوء الحظ ، اكتشفنا ذلك من خلال عميل غير سعيد أبلغنا بذلك. لم يفهم لماذا كان عليه أن يلفت انتباهنا - لقد كان على حق!

لقد فعل أسلافي الشيء الصحيح واشتركوا في خدمة المراقبة. كانت خدمة باهظة الثمن إلى حد ما بسعر 49.95 دولارًا في الشهر. عندما قمت بتسجيل الدخول ، فقدت على الفور محاولة إيجاد طريقي ولكنني اكتشفت في النهاية أننا كنا نعمل على حل صفحتنا الرئيسية فقط. لم نختبر شهادة SSL ، ولم نختبر نطاقاتنا الفرعية ، ولم نتحقق مما إذا كانت قاعدة البيانات تستجيب أم لا.

بدأت بسرعة في إضافة شيك آخر وقمت بنقل الوقت من 5 دقائق إلى 1 دقيقة. عندما نقرت على إرسال "الساعة" الجديدة ، صُدمت عندما رأيت أنه سيتم تحصيل 99 دولارًا كرسوم إعداد و 49.95 دولارًا أخرى شهريًا. هذا صحيح - رسوم إعداد 99 دولارًا لشيء أعددته !!! لقد قمت بتسجيل الخروج وبدأت في البحث عن خدمة جديدة.

قفزت على Twitter (my محرك بحث جديد) وصديق جيد ، أدي أولونوه of دالة تكرارية، جاء لإنقاذ. (المزيد من التدوين - تويتر أقل Ade!)

لوحة pingdomادي اشارني الى Pingdom. يتمتع Pingdom بواجهة نظيفة بشكل لا يصدق مع ميزات قوية للغاية. لقد قمت ببرمجة اثنين من API يدعو تطبيقنا للتأكد من أن قاعدة البيانات كانت قيد التشغيل ثم أقوم بإعداد Pingdom لتمرير المكالمات والتحقق من الاستجابة.
pingdom

الخدمة معقولة جدا كذلك. الأساسي هو 9.95 دولارًا شهريًا ويسمح بـ 5 شيكات و 20 رسالة SMS وبريد إلكتروني غير محدود وتقارير وقت التشغيل ووقت التحميل والتحقق من كل دقيقة وشيكات HTTP و HTTPS و TCP و Ping و UDP ، إلخ. 30 رسالة نصية قصيرة. لديهم أيضا قوية جدا API إذا كنت ترغب في دمج المراقبة الخاصة بك.

توجد خوادم المسبار في دالاس وبيركلي وأمستردام وفاستيراس وريدينج. أحاول معرفة ما إذا كان لقد أكدت مع Pingdom أنه يمكننا تجاوز الرسائل القصيرة ببساطة عن طريق إنشاء قائمة بريد إلكتروني لعناوين البريد الإلكتروني SMS للهواتف المحمولة لموظفينا.

كما أنني كتبت الشركة مع طلب ميزة. سيكون من الرائع أن يسمحوا بطلب HTTP ، إلى جانب تنبيهات البريد الإلكتروني والرسائل النصية القصيرة. سيسمح لي ذلك بمراقبة أحد البائعين الخارجيين الذين واجهوا مشكلات مؤخرًا. إذا كان بإمكاني جعل Pingdom يقدم طلبًا إلى الخادم الخاص بي ، فيمكنني تحويل خدماتنا تلقائيًا إلى نسخة احتياطية. بمجرد عودة النظام ، يمكنني إعادته. يمكنني فعل ذلك بالبريد الإلكتروني. ومع ذلك ، فإن التأخير قد يعضنا.

بقي لدينا 29 يوما على المحاكمة. طالما أننا لا نرى أي مشكلات ، فسننتقل إلى الحزمة الأساسية. هذا وحده سيوفر لنا بضعة دولارات ويوفر لنا مراقبة أكثر شمولاً للموقع!

5 تعليقات

  1. 1

    كما فوجئت بأسعار بعض خدمات المراقبة والرسوم التي كانت تفرضها. يبدو أن Pingdom خدمة جيدة. لقد استقرت على AlertBot (بنفس السعر تقريبًا) منذ عام تقريبًا وكنت سعيدًا بخدمتهم. نظرًا لأنك تقوم بكل الإعداد بنفسك وكل شيء آخر يتم تلقائيًا من هناك فصاعدًا ، يجب أن تشتري 50 دولارًا شهريًا سلة رائعة من الخدمات.

    أنا أبحث عن بعض خدمات المراقبة هذه لتضمين واجهة Twitter للإشعارات في المستقبل القريب. إن استخدام Twitter حتى يتمكن أي عدد من الأشخاص من "متابعة" التنبيهات سيكون قدرة ممتازة ، في رأيي.
    شكر!
    رولاند سميث
    http://www.techmatters.com/

  2. 2

    شكرا لمراجعة هذا المنتج دوغ. يرجى إعلامي كيف تسير الأمور في نهاية 30 يومًا. هذا هو الوقت الذي نخطط فيه لوضع مراقبتنا أيضًا.

    شكر،
    امول.

  3. 3

    مراجعة رائعة دوج. وأنت على حق في أن مجرد التحقق من حالة منفذ HTTP لا يكفي.

    كنا نستخدم Pingdom مع النموذج لأكثر من عام وسعداء بالخدمة.

    نقوم بإعداد فحص مماثل - تم إنشاؤه حوالي عشرة اختبارات وحدة مقابل التطبيق باستخدام واجهة برمجة التطبيقات الخاصة بنا (على سبيل المثال ، هل يمكن تقديم نموذج ، هل يمكننا رؤية البيانات المتوقعة في قاعدة البيانات ، وما إلى ذلك) وإخراج حالة PASS أو FAIL إلى ملف . ثم يتحقق Pingdom من هذا الملف عبر HTTP للتأكد من أن الرسالة تقول PASS ، وإلا فإن التنبيهات تنطلق كالمجانين.

  4. 4

    أريد فقط تقديم خدمتين أخريين - مجانًا mon.itor.us و monitis قسط خدمات المراقبة. ومن مزاياها أنه يمكنك الجمع بين مراقبة تحميل الصفحة الخارجية ومراقبة موارد الأنظمة ويتم إعلامك بشأن موارد الأنظمة المنخفضة. عندها يمكنك أن تكون استباقيًا ليس فقط في إصلاح الفشل ولكن منعه. جربها!

    • 5

      مرحبًا Hovhannes ،

      هذه بالتأكيد خيارات ولدي بالفعل حساب mon.itor.us. ومع ذلك ، فإن قابلية استخدام Pingdom كتطبيق أبسط بكثير. لم أتمكن من معرفة كيفية إجراء بعض الشيكات باستخدام mon.itor.us. يبدو أنه يتم تنظيم monitis بالمثل.

      شكر!
      دوغ

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Analytics & Testing, Content Marketing, Mobile and Tablet Marketing, Technology

Is Your Site Down? Database?

Do you know? How about your database? Is your domain resolving? Are your site and pages up but just serving database errors?

We actually had an instance a couple weeks ago where our site was fully operational, but we were running into issues with the number of database connections. Unfortunately, we found out by an unhappy client notifying us. He didn’t understand why he had to bring it to our attention – he was right!

My predecessors had done the right thing and signed up with a monitoring service. It was a fairly pricey service at $49.95 per month. When I logged in, I was immediately lost trying to find my way around but I eventually figured out that we were only resolving our home page. We weren’t testing for an SSL certificate, we weren’t testing our subdomains, we weren’t checking whether or not the database was responding.

I quickly began to add another check and moved the time from 5 minute intervals to 1 minute intervals. When I clicked to submit the new ‘watch’, I was shocked to see that I would be charged a $99 setup fee and another $49.95 per month. That’s right – a $99 setup fee for something that I set up!!! I logged out and began searching for a new service.

I jumped on Twitter (my new search engine) and good friend, Ade Olonoh of Recursive Function, came to the rescue. (More blogging – less twittering Ade!)

Ade pointed me to Pingdom. Pingdom has an incredibly clean interface with very robust features. I programmed a couple of API calls for our application to ensure that the database was running and then I setup Pingdom to pass the calls and check the response.

The service is very reasonable as well. The basic is $9.95/mo and allows 5 checks, 20 SMS messages, unlimited email, uptime and load time reports, checks down to every minute, HTTP, HTTPS, TCP, Ping and UDP checks, etc. The Business service allows 30 checks and 200 SMS messages. They also have a very robust API if you’d like to integrate your monitoring.

The probe servers are in Dallas, Berkeley, Amsterdam, Vasteras, and Reading. I am trying to find out if I confirmed with Pingdom that we can bypass the SMS by simply building an email list of SMS email addresses for our staff’s mobile phones.

I also wrote the company with a feature request. It would be fantastic if, aside from Email and SMS alerts, they allowed an HTTP Request. This would allow me to monitor one of our 3rd party vendors who has been having issues lately. If I could have Pingdom make a request to my server, I could automatically switch our services over to a backup. Once the system came back up, I could have it switch back. I could do this with email; however, the delay could bite us.

We have 29 days left on the trial. As long as we don’t see any issues, we’re going to jump on the basic package. That alone will save us a few bucks and provide us with much more comprehensive site monitoring!

5 Comments

  1. 1

    I was also surprised at the prices of some of the monitoring services and the fees they were charging. Pingdom looks to be a good service. I settled on AlertBot (about the same price) almost a year ago and have been pleased with their service. Since you do all of the setup yourself and everything else is automatic from there on, $50 per month should be buying an incredible basket of services.

    I’m looking for some of these monitoring services to include a Twitter interface for notifications in the near future. Using Twitter so that any number of people could “follow” the alerts would be an excellent capability, in my opinion.
    Thanks!
    Roland Smith
    http://www.techmatters.com/

  2. 2

    Thanks for that product review Doug. Please let me know how things go at the end of 30 days. That is about when we plan to put in our monitoring too.

    Thanks,
    Amol.

  3. 3

    Great review Doug. And you’re dead right that just checking for HTTP port status is not enough.

    We’ve been using Pingdom with FormSpring for over a year and are happy with the service.

    We setup a similar check — created about a dozen unit tests against the application using our API (e.g., can a form be submitted, can we see the expected data in the database, etc.) and output a PASS or FAIL status to a file. Then Pingdom checks that file via HTTP to make sure that the message says PASS, else alerts go off like crazy.

  4. 4

    I just want to introduce 2 more services – free mon.itor.us and premium monitis monitoring services. One of their advantage you can combine external page load monitoring with systems resource monitoring and be notified about low systems resource. Then you can really be proactive not only fixing but preventing a failure. Give it a try!

    • 5

      Hi Hovhannes,

      Those are definitely options and I actually do have a mon.itor.us account. However, the usability of Pingdom as an application is much simpler. I could not figure out how to do some of the checks using mon.itor.us. It appears monitis is organized similarly.

      Thanks!
      Doug

Leave a Reply