يتم طرح البطاقات الذكية على مدار السنوات القليلة القادمة

البطاقة الائتمانية الذكية

نجاح باهر ... عندما تفكر في جميع الأجهزة المخصصة والمعتمدة لبطاقات الائتمان التقليدية ذات الخطوط الممغنطة ، فهناك الكثير من المعدات والنفقات التي يجب استبدالها. خلال السنوات القليلة المقبلة ، هذا بالضبط ما سيحدث! بطاقات الائتمان التقليدية في طريقها للخروج.

استغرق الأمر اختراق 70 مليون بطاقة ائتمان تارجت خلال موسم العطلات 2013 لتحفيز الكونجرس على التخلي عن البطاقات ذات الشريط المغناطيسي غير الآمنة للغاية التي يستخدمها معظم الأمريكيين وتحديد موعد نهائي لتكنولوجيا البطاقة الذكية الجديدة (للولايات المتحدة على أي حال). بينما بدأ الأمريكيون للتو في معرفة ماهية البطاقة الذكية ، فقد تم استخدامها (بنجاح) في أسواق أخرى لأكثر من 20 عامًا ، مما جعل الولايات المتحدة السوق الرئيسي الوحيد على هذا الكوكب الذي لا يزال يستخدم تقنية السحب والإشارة.

تُعرف التكنولوجيا الجديدة باسم EMC (تعني: Europay و MasterCard و Visa) - يُعرف أيضًا باسم البطاقات الذكية. تستخدم البطاقات الذكية شريحة ورقم تعريف شخصي أو شريحة وتقنية توقيع بالإضافة إلى طبقات متعددة من الأمان ، بما في ذلك شريحة مضمنة ومعرف فريد يمكن أن يتغير في أي وقت.

يعد قرصنة نظام لجمع المعلومات على شريحة وإنشاء بطاقة ائتمان مزيفة أمرًا معقدًا ، في حين أن البطاقة ذات الشريط المغناطيسي ، يمكن بسهولة قراءة البيانات أو كتابتها أو حذفها أو تغييرها باستخدام معدات جاهزة ، مما يؤدي إلى احتيال بطاقات الائتمان بشكل كبير. في الأسواق التي تم فيها نشر البطاقات الذكية ، تراجعت الخسائر بمقدار النصف وتراجع التزييف بنسبة 78٪. تقدر تكلفة التغيير بنحو 35 مليار دولار ، يتحملها تجار التجزئة بشكل أساسي.

رسم بياني للبطاقات الذكية

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Ecommerce and Retail

Smartcards Rolling Out Over the Next Few Years

Wow… when you think about all the dedicated and dependent hardware for traditional magnetic striped credit cards, that’s a ton of equipment and expense out there to replace. Over the next few years, though, that’s exactly what’s going to happen! Traditional credit cards are on their way out.

It took the hacking of 70 million Target credit cards during the 2013 holiday season to spur Congress into abandoning the highly unsecure magnetic-stripe cards used by most Americans and setting a deadline for the new (to the U.S., anyway) smart card technology. While Americans are just starting to learn what a smart card is, it’s been (successfully) used in other markets for more than 20 years, making the U.S. the only major market on the planet still using the swipe and sign technology.

The New Technology is known as EMV (stands for: Europay, MasterCard and Visa) – also known as smart cards. Smart cards utilize a chip and PIN or chip and signature technology as well as multiple layers of security, including an embedded chip and unique identifier, which can change at any time.

Hacking a system to gather information on a chip and creating a counterfeit credit card is complicated whereas a magnetic stripe card, data can easily be read, written, deleted or changed with off-the-shelf equipment, leading to high credit card fraud. In markets where smart cards have been deployed, losses have dropped in half and counterfeiting dropped 78%. The cost of the changeover is an estimated $35 billion, to be mainly shouldered by retailers.

smartcard-infographic

Leave a Reply