آفة وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

ضجيج الوسائط الاجتماعية

القول المأثور القديم لوسائل الإعلام واسعة النطاق هو أن مقل العيون = المال. المنطق الخاطئ المقبول اليوم هو ذلك أكثر مقل العيون = أكثر مال. نشاهد مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي مثل يسو, ماي سبيس و فيس بوك بل وهضبة تتقلص في المشاركة.

هضبة وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

أنا واثق من أن كل هذه المواقع ستدفعها وتخبرك أنها تتزايد في عدد مقل العيون. هذا في الواقع ليس أخبار جيدة. إذا كانت المشاركة مستقرة أو مكتملة وكان عدد المستخدمين في تزايد ، فهناك رسالة في الرياضيات! يقضي المستخدم العادي وقتًا أقل ... أو أن عددًا متزايدًا من المستخدمين يتخلى عن الخدمة تمامًا.

هناك دائمًا إغراء النمو الهائل ... المزيد من مقل العيون يمكن أن يجلب المزيد من المال. ومع ذلك ، فإن الخطر على المدى الطويل لحدوث المزيد من مقل العيون يمكن أن يدمر شعبية موقعك ، أو يجعله هدفًا كبيرًا للرسائل الاقتحامية. كان ينبغي أن تكون هذه المواقع أكثر حكمة في تحليل نمو مواقعها مقابل التأثير على المستخدمين الحاليين. لو فعلوا ذلك ، ربما اكتشفوا أنه لتحقيق أقصى قدر من الربح ، كان هناك الحجم المناسب إلى موقعهم حتى لا يتخطوا البحث عن النمو.

آفة حضرية = آفة وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

المشكلة أساسية إلى حد ما ، إنها آفة حضرية. عندما عشت في فينيكس ، أريزونا لمدة عام قرأت الكثير عن الآفة الحضرية التي كانت تحدث. في أواخر الثمانينيات ، كانت ضواحي فينيكس تنمو بمثل هذا المعدل المتطلب ، بحيث لا يمكن لأحد مواكبة قلب المدينة - وسط المدينة. مع ازدحام الأحياء بشكل مفرط وأصبحت حركة المرور فوضى ، انتقل الناس إلى أحياء جديدة.

كان لهذه الأحياء الجديدة مدارس جديدة ومنازل جديدة والمزيد من الأراضي والأشجار وجيران عظماء - ناهيك عن الهواء النقي ومساحة كبيرة للتنقل. لقد أصبحت أقرب إلى جيرانك ... لأنهم لم يتحركوا ويخرجوا طوال الوقت ... يحضرون المناسبات الاجتماعية ويتحدثون عبر السياج.

بالتطبيق على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، أعتقد أننا نشهد نفس الشيء يحدث. إن جوهر Digg يعاني من الآفة في الوقت الحالي - المستخدمون الذين ساعدوا في إنشاء الخدمة التي أصبحت شائعة جدًا أصبحوا محبطين ويبحثون عن بدائل. مع MySpace ، كان الجواب Facebook. الآن ، نما موقع Facebook بحجم MySpace وتحدث نفس الهضاب - هذه المرة بسرعة عالية.

أين يذهب الجميع؟ أعتقد أن الجواب هو هجمة الشبكات الصغيرة ظهور غير متوقع. يغادر الناس وسط المدينة وينتقلون إلى الضواحي.

رسالة المسوقين

IMHO، هذه أخبار رائعة لجهات التسويق. أصبح استخدام تقنيات الإعلان واسعة النطاق التي تصل إلى الكثير من مقل العيون (ولكن القليل من المشترين) أقل شعبية. أصبح العثور على المواقع المصغرة التي تلبي المجال الذي ترغب في الوصول إليه أكثر شيوعًا. أنا شخصياً أتلقى العديد من الطلبات على عائدات الإعلانات للمواقع المتخصصة التي أديرها ، مثل البحرية البيطرية.

الوقت المستغرق في تطبيق الحملات التسويقية عبر جميع هذه المواقع قد يُشكل الفرق في تكلفة التكلفة فقط دفعة والانفجار التقنيات ، رغم ذلك. كان الصيد بالديناميت سهلاً ، لكنه ثبت أنه أسلوب ضار على الإنترنت. يتطلب هذا من المسوقين تغيير تكتيكاتهم ، مما يتطلب منهم العمل بجدية أكبر على الرسالة الصحيحة في الوقت المناسب - بالإضافة إلى بناء حضور رائع عبر الإنترنت بسمعة متميزة

لم يقل أحد أن الأمر سيكون سهلاً!

تعليق واحد

  1. 1

    وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هي أكثر الأعمال التي لا يمكن التنبؤ بها. تستهدف معظم مواقع الويب مثل MySpace أو FaceBook الشباب ، وكما نعلم جميعًا ، يمكن لهذا النوع من الجمهور تغيير ذوقهم بسرعة كبيرة.
    تذكر ذا جلوب؟ الشبكة الاجتماعية الأولى - "فقاعة الدوت كوم" التي وصلت إلى 200 مليون دولار وخسرت كل شيء في يوم واحد.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Social Media Blight

The old adage of broad-reaching media is that eyeballs = money. Flawed logic that is commonly accepted today is that more eyeballs = more money. We’re seeing social media sites like Digg, MySpace and Facebook plateau and even shrink in participation.

Social Media Plateau

I’m confident all of these sites will push back and tell you that they are growing in the number of eyeballs. That’s actually not good news. If participation is plateaued or waining and the number of users is growing, there’s a message in the math! The average user is spending less time… or an increasing number of users are abandoning the service altogether.

The temptation to grow huge is always there… more eyeballs can bring more money. However, the longterm risk of more eyeballs can bury your site’s popularity, or make it a huge target for SPAM. These sites should have been more prudent in analyzing the growth of their site versus the impact on existing users. Had they done so, they may have figured out that, to maximize profit, there was a right size to their site to not extend beyond rather than keep looking for growth.

Urban Blight = Social Media Blight

The problem is pretty basic, it’s urban blight. When I lived in Phoenix, Arizona for a year I read a lot about the urban blight that was taking place. Back in the late 80s, the suburbs of Phoenix were growing at such a demanding rate, that no one could keep up with the core – downtown. As neighborhoods became overly packed and traffic became a mess, people moved to newer neighborhoods.

These new neighborhoods had new schools, new homes, more land and trees, and great neighbors – not to mention clean air and lots of room to move around. You became closer to your neighbors… since they didn’t move in and out all the time… attending social events and talking over the fence.

Applied to Social Media, I believe we’re seeing the same thing happen. The core of Digg is experiencing blight right now – the users that helped create the service that became so popular are becoming disenchanted and are searching for alternatives. With MySpace, the answer was Facebook. Now Facebook has grown as large as MySpace and the same plateaus are occurring – this time at rapid speed.

Where’s everyone going? I think the answer is the onslaught of micro-networks popping up. People are abandoning downtown and moving out to the suburbs.

The Message for Marketers

IMHO, this is great news for Marketers. Utilizing broad-based advertising techniques that reach a lot of eyeballs (but little buyers) is becoming less popular. Finding micro-sites that meet the niche you wish to reach is becoming more popular. Personally, I’m getting many more solicitations on advertising revenue for niche sites I run, like Navy Vets.

The time spent applying marketing campaigns across all these sites may make up the difference in cost of just the ol’ batch and blast techniques, though. Fishing with dynamite was easy, but is proving to be a harmful tactic on the Internet. This requires marketers to change their tactics, requiring them to work harder on the right message at the right time – as well as building a great online presence with an outstanding reputation.

No one said it was going to be easy!

One comment

  1. 1

    Social media is the most unpredictable business. Most websites like MySpace or FaceBook target young people and as we all know this type of audience could change their taste really fast.
    Remember The Globe? First social network – “dotcom bubble” which became $200 million reach and lost everything in 1 day.

Leave a Reply