التعرف على الفرص

بعد ظهر هذا اليوم ، تلقيت عرضًا تقديميًا مع شركة محاماة إقليمية حول وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. كان من الرائع رؤية منظمة لديها البصيرة لتعريف موظفيها بوسائل الإعلام الجديدة. العالم يتغير بالتأكيد ولكن لا تزال هناك تسمية خاطئة مفادها أن وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هي "ما يفعله الشباب" وما زالت لا تؤخذ على محمل الجد.

صناعة الصحف - الفرص الضائعة

قبل عقد من الزمن ، عملت مع الصحف وشاهدتها بصمت أشاهدها يباي و كريغزلست. لقد ظنوا أنه مخصص للمهوسين والشباب أيضًا ... حتى تم انتزاع البساط المليار دولار من تحتهم. في الواقع ، لم يتم انتزاعها بلطف.

كتبت العديد من الصحف في رهبة من نمو هذه التقنيات ، غير منزعجة من أنها ستقضي على صناعتها الخاصة. كان للعديد من الصحف أصابع قدمها في صناعة الإنترنت (كانت InfiNet واحدة تعمل معها شركتي الأم) لكنها فشلت في الضغط على الزناد عندما كان عليهم القيام بالاستثمار اللازم ... حتى عندما كانوا يعلمون أنه لا يزال هناك متسع من الوقت للقيام بذلك. تم رسم خطوط ربحية الشركة ، ولن يأخذ أي مدير 50٪ من الهوامش لمتابعة هذا العالم الجديد.

الصحف لديها التغطية والموارد النقدية لمحاربة الخسائر. حتى أنهم تمتعوا بميزة العلامة التجارية الموثوقة إقليمياً. وبدلاً من التكيف ، وجهوا أصابع الاتهام وقاموا بتبديل مدير لم يفهم مع المدير التالي الذي لم يفهم.

في العقد الذي قضيته في الصحيفة ، لا أتذكر أبدًا جلسة حضر فيها شخص ما وناقش التقنيات الجديدة وسأل أو ناقش كيف يمكن الاستفادة منها لتحسين الكفاءة أو زيادة الربحية.

كان من المنعش اليوم رؤية شركة محلية ذات نظرة مختلفة!

برج دبي - مؤسسة صلبة

إحدى الشرائح في عرضي التقديمي هي صورة رائعة لـ برج دبي، وهو مبنى قيد الإنشاء في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والذي من شأنه أن يعلو فوق جميع المباني الأخرى. من المقرر الانتهاء منه بحلول نهاية العام المقبل ويقدر حاليًا أنه يحتوي على 162 طابقًا.

ومع ذلك ، فإن 162 قصة هي أحدث تقدير. يشاع أن الهدف قد تغير على مر السنين ، ويرجع ذلك جزئيًا إلى التقديرات الهندسية المحتملة التي أكدت قوة الأساس ومدى ارتفاع المبنى استطاع ترفع إلى.

نظرة واحدة على المبنى ويمكنك البدء في فهم السبب. إن أساس برج دبي ضخم للغاية ، ويخفت البرج كلما ارتفع.

وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي - مؤسسة في الأعمال

وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية شركتك فرصة للبدء في بناء أساس لتحقيق نمو مذهل خلال العقد القادم. يضع إنشاء علامة تجارية عبر الإنترنت من خلال وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والشبكات الاجتماعية الأساس للاتصال الراسخ.

تمامًا مثل الويب ، سيوفر لك بدءًا من اليوم شبكة ضخمة لالتقاط حجم ضخم من الأعمال في السنوات القادمة. المشهد يتغير. ستفقد محركات البحث - حتى Google - بعضًا من قبضتها على كيفية التنقل في الويب مثل الصغير الشبكات تستمر في الارتفاع والازدهار.

كلما تكيفت شركتك مع هذه التقنيات في وقت مبكر ، كان ذلك أفضل عندما يعتمد عليها مصدر رزقك. الشركة التي تحدثت إليها اليوم لديها فرص استثنائية. لديهم الموهبة التي رسخت السلطة والنتائج في حالات مزدهرة مثل البنود غير التنافسية وقانون براءات الاختراع.

إذا كان موظفوهم يشاركون هذه الخبرات عبر الإنترنت اليوم وإنشاء تتضمن البطولات التنافسية الألعاب الإلكترونية التالية : DOTA XNUMX و RAINBOW XNUMX و CS: GO ، LEaGUE OF LEGENDS ، Overwatch ، FORTNITE ، LEGENDS APEX ، Call of DUTY XNUMX ، MORTAL KOMBAT XNUMX ، TEKKEN XNUMX ، SUPERMASH BROS ULTIMATE و FIFAXNUMX السلطة ، خاصة جغرافيًا ، ستزودهم بالشبكات لتنمية أعمالهم غدًا. إنه وقت مثير لهذه الشركة على وجه الخصوص - إنها شركة منفتحة الذهن ، كبيرة بما يكفي ليكون لها تأثير ، لكنها صغيرة بما يكفي للمناورة والتكيف في هذا المجال بسرعة.

آمل أن يستفيدوا ويعترفوا بالفرصة التي حددها القليل منهم هناك في الغرفة!

7 تعليقات

  1. 1

    بشكل عام ، أنا أتفق مع مبادئ ما تقوله. ومع ذلك ، تعد وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي فئة واسعة تنمو يومًا بعد يوم. من المحتمل أنك تفعل ذلك في العرض التقديمي ، لكن الأمر يستحق تقسيم وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي إلى فئات وتوضيح كيف يمكن استخدام كل فئة لإمكاناتها الفردية.

    وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هي في الأساس وسيلة للمشاركة في الحجم. لذلك لديك تفصيل للعناصر التي ترغب في مشاركتها وحتى كيف ترغب في مشاركتها. يمكن مشاركة الأفكار ، سواء كانت مهنية أو شخصية ، من خلال العديد من أشكال وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي عبر الإنترنت. للفيديو أيضًا منافذ خاصة به. عدد المنافذ ينمو بوتيرة سريعة. سريع جدًا في الواقع ، من السهل الخلط بينك وبين مكان رسم الخط بمجرد قيامك بـ "الانخراط" في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

    ولكن الشيء الذي يجب أخذه في الاعتبار هو عامل الوعي الذي ستتلقاه علامتك التجارية أو قاعدة المعرفة أو المنتج الخاص بك بمجرد قضاء الوقت في التعمق في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. كما تظهر الدراسات الحديثة أنه على الرغم من النمو في مستخدمي الإنترنت ، فإن حركة المرور إلى أفضل المواقع منذ عام مضى لم تنمو بنفس المعدل بل وانخفضت في بعض الحالات. هذا يرجع إلى حد كبير إلى الأشخاص الذين يستخدمون وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ويتطلعون إلى محتوى مشترك جيد النوعية.

    • 2

      يستمر العرض التقديمي للتمييز بين الوسائل والتقنيات المختلفة المستخدمة وكيفية الاستفادة من كل منها - من الشبكات الاجتماعية إلى التدوين إلى تويتر ، وما إلى ذلك. واستمر في الحديث عن بعض التأثيرات القابلة للقياس (والتي لا يمكن قياسها) لكل من التقنيات.

      الكثير من وضعه في منشور واحد ، بالتأكيد! كان هذا حوالي ساعة محادثة طويلة. 🙂

      ما أريد أن أؤكده لقرائي هو أنه يجب عليهم أن يبدأوا اليوم ... وليس لديهم موقف "انتظر لترى". إذا لم تقم بذلك ، يمكنك أن تعرض مستقبل مؤسستك للخطر.

      شكرا مايكل! أنت تقدم دائمًا تعليقات ثاقبة تضيف لونًا إلى الموضوع. أنا أستمتع بك حقًا وأشجع الجميع على زيارة مدونتك!

  2. 3
    • 4

      مرحبا جايس! نعم ، كانت Boston Globe ، في الواقع ، أحد عملائي في أواخر التسعينيات ، وقد قامت بعمل جيد في تنفيذ تقنيات تسويق قواعد البيانات. حتى أنهم استخدموا بعض أدوات تحليل الاحتفاظ التي طورتها أنا (وآخرون).

      استثمرت الصحف الأخرى ، مثل تورنتو جلوب آند ميل ، وهيوستن كرونيكل ، وسان فرانسيسكو كرونيكل ، وصحف شيكاغو سوبربان ، وديترويت برس ، بعض الشيء في التقنيات الجديدة. لقد استمتعت بالعمل مع كل منهم بشكل كبير!

  3. 5
    • 6

      ميخائيل،

      مثال ممتاز. يسألني الناس أحيانًا "متى سننتهي" من تطوير منتجاتنا. أقول لهم ليس طالما نحن في العمل! يتطلب الابتكار قيادة تدرك أن الشركات يجب أن تستمر في الاستثمار في الابتكار ، وإلا فإنها ستهلك. قد يستغرق الأمر 100 عام أو أكثر ... لكنهم ما زالوا يهلكون.

      مقالة رائعة!
      دوغ

  4. 7

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Search Marketing, WordPress

Recognizing Opportunity

This afternoon I had a presentation with a regional law firm on Social Media. It was great to see an organization that had the foresight to expose its employees to new media. The world is definitely changing but there’s still a misnomer out there that social media is ‘what the young folks are doing’ and it’s still not getting taken seriously.

The Newspaper Industry – Missed Opportunities

A decade ago, I worked with newspapers and watched them silently watch eBay and Craigslist. They thought it was for geeks and young people as well… until the billion dollar rug was yanked out from under them. In fact, it wasn’t really yanked, it was gently pulled.

Many newspapers wrote in awe of the growth of these technologies, unfazed that it would chip away at their own industry. Many newspapers had their toes in the Online Industry (InfiNet was one that my parent company worked with) but they failed to pull the trigger when they could have to make the necessary investment… even when they knew there was still time to do so. The corporate profitability lines had been drawn, and no manager was going to take 50% off the margins to go after this new world.

Newspapers had the coverage and the monetary resources to battle the losses. They even had the advantage of a regionally trusted brand. Rather than adapt, though, they pointed fingers and swapped one manager who didn’t understand with the next that didn’t understand.

In the decade I was at the newspaper, I don’t ever remember a session where someone came in and discussed the new technologies and asked or discussed how they could be leveraged to improve efficiency or maximize profitability.

It was refreshing today to see a local firm with a different outlook!

The Burj Dubai – a Solid Foundation

One of the slides in my presentation is a great photo of the Burj Dubai, a building under construction in the United Arab Emirates that will tower above all other buildings. It’s scheduled for completion by the end of next year and is currently estimated to have 162 stories.

162 stories is the latest estimate, though. It’s rumored that the goal has changed over the years, partly due to possible engineering estimates that underscored the strength of the foundation and how tall the building could be raised to.

One look at the building and you can begin to understand why. The foundation of the Burj Dubai is absolutely mammoth, and the spire thins as it goes up.

Social Media – A Foundation in Business

Social Media is your company’s opportunity to begin building a foundation for incredible growth over the next decade. Establishing an online brand through social media and social networks lays the groundwork for established connectivity.

Much like a web, starting today will provide you with a huge net to capture a huge volume of business in upcoming years. The landscape is changing. Search engines – even Google – will lose some of their grip on how we navigate the web as micro networks continue to rise and flourish.

The earlier your company adapts to these technologies, the better positioned it will be when your livelihood depends on it. The firm I spoke to today has exceptional opportunities. They have talent that has established authority and results in burgeoning cases like non-compete clauses and patent law.

If their staff were sharing those experiences online today and establishing online authority, especially geographically, it will provide them with the networks to grow their business tomorrow. It’s an exciting time for this firm in particular – they’re a firm that is open-minded, large enough to have an impact, but small enough to maneuver and adapt in this space quickly.

I hope they take advantage and recognize the opportunity that a few of them identified right there in the room!

7 Comments

  1. 1

    On the whole, I agree with the principles of what you are saying. However, Social Media is a vast category that is growing by the day. You probably do this within the presentation, but it’s worth breaking down Social Media into categories and demonstrating how each category can be utilized to its own individual potential.

    Social Media primarily is a way of sharing in volume. Therefore you have a breakdown of the elements that you’d like to share and even how you would like to share them. Thoughts, whether professional or personal, can be shared through many forms of online social media. Video too has its own outlets. The number of outlets is growing at a rapid pace. So fast in fact, that it’s easy to be confused at where to draw the line once you do ‘get involved’ with Social Media.

    But, the thing to bear in mind is the awareness factor that your brand, knowledge base or product will receive once time is spent digging a little deeper into Social Media. As recent studies show that despite growth in Internet users, the traffic to the top sites from a year ago has not grown at the same rate and even decreased in some cases. This is due largely to people using Social Media and looking at good quality, syndicated content.

    • 2

      The presentation does go on to differentiate the different mediums and technologies utilized and how to leverage each – from social networking to blogging to twitter, etc. I go on to speak to some of the measurable (and immeasurable) impact of each of the technologies.

      Too much to put into a single post, for sure! This was about an hour long conversation. 🙂

      What I want to emphasize to my readers is that they have to start today… not have a ‘wait and see’ attitude. If you don’t, you could very well put the future of your organization at risk.

      Thanks Michael! You always provide insightful comments that add color to the topic. I really enjoy you and encourage everyone to visit your blog!

  2. 3
    • 4

      Hi Jayce! Yes, the Boston Globe was, in fact, one of my clients in the late 90’s and did a fine job at implementing database marketing techniques. They even utilized some retention analysis tools that I (and others) developed.

      Other newspapers, like the Toronto Globe and Mail, Houston Chronicle, San Francisco Chronicle, Chicago Suburban Newspapers, and the Detroit Press invested quite a bit into new technologies. I enjoyed working with each of them immensely!

  3. 5
    • 6

      Michael,

      Perfect example. Sometimes folks ask me ‘when are we going to be done’ with our product development. I tell them not as long as we’re in business! Innovation requires leadership that recognizes that companies must continue to invest in innovation, or they will perish. It may take 100 years or more… but they’ll still perish.

      Great article!
      Doug

  4. 7

Leave a Reply