هل تستطيع وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي علاج الاكتئاب؟

إيداع الصور 10917011 ثانية

طباخمارك ايرلز الكتاب، طباخ، كانت قراءة صعبة بالنسبة لي. لا تأخذ ذلك بطريقة خاطئة. إنه كتاب رائع وجدته من خلال مدونة هيو ماكلويد.

أقول "صعب" لأنه ليس عرض 10,000 قدم. يعد Herd (كيفية تغيير السلوك الجماعي من خلال الاستفادة من طبيعتنا الحقيقية) كتابًا معقدًا يشرح بالتفصيل عددًا كبيرًا من الدراسات والبيانات للتوصل إلى فرضيته الأساسية. كذلك ، مارك إيرلز ليس مؤلفًا عاديًا لكتاب الأعمال - قراءة كتابه تجعلني أشعر أنني أقرأ كتابًا خارج نطاق دوري (إنه حقًا!). إذا كنت مثقفًا وتقدر التفكير العميق والعميق والمعايير الداعمة - فهذا كتابك.

إذا كنت تقوم بتزييفه مثلي ، فهو كتاب رائع أيضًا. 🙂 قد أقوم بتشويه بعض المحتوى الغني بالكتابة عنه هنا ، لكن ما هذا! انا ذاهب لذلك.

حبوب وسائل التواصل الاجتماعيأحد الموضوعات التي يتطرق إليها مارك هو الاكتئاب. يذكر مارك سببين شائعين للاكتئاب - علاقة الوالدين بطفلهما وعلاقات الشخص مع الآخرين. لا يسعني إلا أن أتساءل عما إذا كانت وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ليست أفضل بديل بروزاك لعلاج الأمراض الاجتماعية مثل الاكتئاب. تقدم وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وعدًا بالتواصل مع الآخرين الذين ليسوا خارج دائرتك المحلية في المنزل أو المكتب أو حتى في منطقتك.

تويتر, WordPress, Facebook، تجميع ، ألعاب عبر الإنترنت ... كل هذه التطبيقات ليست مجرد "Web 2.0" ، إنها وسيلة للتواصل مع بعضها البعض. لا عجب لماذا تحظى التطبيقات الاجتماعية بشعبية كبيرة. أليس من الأسهل بكثير الانفتاح على الأشخاص الذين يتمتعون بأمان الإنترنت بيننا؟

في مؤتمر قبل بضعة أشهر ، أتذكر امرأة سألت:

من هم هؤلاء الأشخاص وكيف يتصلون بالإنترنت طوال ساعات اليوم؟ أليس لديهم حياة؟

إنه منظور مثير للاهتمام !، أليس كذلك؟ أظن أن هذا بالنسبة لكثير من الناس is حياتهم. هذا هو ارتباطهم بالآخرين وهواياتهم واهتماماتهم وأصدقائهم ودعمهم. في الماضي ، كان على الشخص "الوحيد" أن يعيش بمفرده حقًا. لكن اليوم ، "المنعزل" ليس مضطرًا إلى ذلك! يمكنه العثور على أشخاص منعزلين آخرين لديهم نفس الهوايات!

قد يجادل البعض بأن هذا النوع من الشبكات "الاجتماعية" وشبكة الأمان المصاحبة لها ليست صحية مثل العلاقة الحقيقية والاتصال البشري. قد يكونون على حق ... لكني لست متأكدًا من أن الناس يتعاملون مع هذا كبديل. بالنسبة لكثير من الناس ، هذا is وسيلتهم الوحيدة للتواصل.

في المدرسة الثانوية ، كان صديق لي ، مارك ، فنانًا رائعًا. لقد كان دبًا كبيرًا للرجل. كان لديه لحية كاملة في الصف العاشر وكتب كتبًا مصورة بقصص مصاصي الدماء والمستذئبين. لقد أحببت التسكع مع مارك ولكن كان بإمكاني دائمًا القول إنه كان غير مرتاح حول الجميع - حتى أنا. لا أعتقد أنه كان مكتئبًا على الإطلاق ، لكنه كان هادئًا إلى حدٍ ما باستثناء الهدير العرضي (زدرت مرة أخرى).

يمكنني أن أتخيل بصدق مارك كونه فنانًا انتقائيًا مشهورًا ، الآن ، أو ربما يعيش في البرية بمفرده اليوم. لا يسعني إلا أن أتساءل. لو كان لدى مارك مدونة ومنفذ لنشر حكاياته المذهلة ، أعتقد أنه كان سيتواصل مع الآلاف من الآخرين الذين لديهم نفس الاهتمامات. كان لديه شبكة اجتماعية - شبكة من الأصدقاء والمعجبين الذين شجعوه ويقدرونه.

أنا لا أستنتج بأي حال من الأحوال أننا نحن المدونين نهرب من الاكتئاب أو الشعور بالوحدة من خلال كتاباتنا. نحن نفعل ومع ذلك ، تسخير الكثير من الاحترام من قرائنا. أنا لست مختلفا. إذا رأيت شخصًا يتحد مع مدون آخر صديق لي ، فسأقفز إليه وأدافع عنه. إذا سمعت عن مدون أصيب بمرض ، فإني أدعو الله بصدق له ولعائلته. وعندما يتوقف المدون عن التدوين ، فإنني أفتقد السماع منهم.

أعمل من 50 إلى 60 أسبوعًا وكوني أبًا وحيدًا ، فليس لدي الكثير من العمل "حياة" (حسب تعريف المرأة التي ذكرتها) خارج مدونتي وحياتي المهنية. ومن المفارقات ، على الرغم من بلدي حياة الإنترنت داعم بشكل لا يصدق وسعيد وواعد. أنا سعيد حقًا (لا يخضع للعلاج ولكن يعاني من زيادة الوزن). لا أعتقد أنني أحاول استبدال أحدهما بآخر. أعتقد أن كلاهما مهم ومفيد. في الواقع ، أعتقد أن حياتي "عبر الإنترنت" دفعتني إلى أن أكون أفضل تواصلاً في حياتي "الحقيقية". إن الكتابة أمر علاجي بالنسبة لي ، ويشعرني بشعور رائع عندما أحصل على تعليقات على كتاباتي (حتى لو كانت سلبية).

الحقيقة هي ، إذا لم يكن لدي شبكة الدعم التي أملكها معكم يا رفاق ... ربما أنا استطاع أن تكون غير سعيد ويمكن أن تنزلق إلى الاكتئاب. ربما كنت ألعب ألعاب الفيديو في الليل وأجعل زملائي بائسين خلال النهار.

أفضل تناول حبوب Web 2.0 كل يوم.

9 تعليقات

  1. 1

    بادئ ذي بدء ، لا أعتقد أن وجود مواقع الويب 2.0 الاجتماعية مثل Twitter والمدونات وما إلى ذلك هي في أي مكان قريب من علاج لأشياء مثل الاكتئاب وأنا لا أتفق تمامًا مع منطق مارك لأسباب الاكتئاب.

    ومع ذلك ، أعتقد أن تواصلنا عبر الويب يساعد في بعض النواحي على احترام الذات والشعور بالرفاهية وفي بعض الحالات يساعد المرء خلال بعض الفترات الصعبة حقًا في حياته. سأكون مؤهلاً لذلك على الرغم من أنني لا أضع المدونات على نفس مستوى Twtitter وما شابه (سأفعل شيئًا في هذا اليوم من هذه الأيام قريبًا جدًا).

    على سبيل المثال ، كجزء من WinExtra ، لدي أيضًا قناة IRC شبه دعوة (خاصة إذا كنت أعرف أن الأشخاص يقومون بالفعل بـ IRC في المقام الأول) وأدرك أحد أصدقائي المقربين في العام الماضي أنه بحاجة إلى العيش بجدية التغيير يأتي إلى الإدمان. لقد كان ناجحًا - وكان ناجحًا بقدر ما يمكن للمرء أن يكون مع الإضافة - لكنه قال لي ذات يوم إنه لولا قناة IRC والناس هناك لم يكن يعرف بصدق ما إذا كان سيحقق ذلك من خلال وقت مظلم جدا.

    في حالة أخرى حدثت للتو ، توقف أحد الأعضاء القدامى في منتديات WinExtra وقناة IRC عن النشر أو الظهور في القناة. في المقابل ، أصبح عضوان في الولايات المتحدة قلقين للغاية وبدآ عملية تعقبه للتأكد من أنه بخير. حسنًا ، ظهر اليوم فجأة في القناة وكان الأمر أشبه بصديق ضائع منذ فترة طويلة عاد أخيرًا إلى المنزل - بالنسبة له ولنا.

    هذا مجتمع وعلى الرغم من أنه لم ينجح في عالم الشبكات الاجتماعية Web 2.0 ، إلا أنني سأستحوذ على أي مجتمع Facebook أو Twitter في أي وقت. إلى جانب ذلك ، أعتقد أنه يُظهر أنه إذا كان لمجتمع عبر الإنترنت عمر طويل وعمق من الأصدقاء (وهو ما إذا فهمت أن منتدياتنا صغيرة بقدر ما قد تكون موجودة منذ ست سنوات أو أكثر) فإنها تجعل جزءًا من حياة الشخص أفضل ويمنحك شعورًا بالانتماء - وهو حقًا كل ما نريده كبشر من حياتنا.

  2. 2

    مرحبا ستيفن،

    حذرت من أنني ربما شوهت كلام مارك ... يبدو أنني فعلت! يشير مارك إلى بعض المقالات المتعلقة بالاكتئاب ولا يذكر أن هذه هي المصادر الوحيدة للاكتئاب بشكل قاطع - فهذان فقط زوجان تم ذكرهما. نظرية وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وفرصتها للمساعدة في الاكتئاب ليست نظرية مارك ، إنها نظرية أتساءل عنها.

    قصة رائعة عن مجتمعك وأنا أتفق معك - الانتماء هو في النهاية ما يحتاجه الجميع ليكونوا أصحاء. أعتقد أن وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي تتركنا منفتحين على "الانتماء" إلى مجتمعات لم نتعرض لها أبدًا.

    شكرا على التعليق الاستثنائي!
    دوغ

  3. 3

    منشور ممتاز ، دوغ! أجد الشبكات الاجتماعية وسيلة للبقاء على اتصال مع الحالة المزاجية وحياة العديد من الأشخاص الذين أعتبرهم أصدقاء ، وبعضهم حتى أصدقاء مقربين ، والتأثير على حياة أخرى لم يكن لدي ساعات كافية في اليوم للقيام بذلك. . إذا رأيت صديقًا محتاجًا ، يمكنني الاتصال سريعًا لمعرفة ما يمكنني فعله لتقديم الدعم. لقد اكتسبت أيضًا أصدقاء (بما فيهم أنت!) من خلال الاتصالات الإلكترونية التي ربما لم أكن أعرفها جيدًا بخلاف ذلك ، والتي تحولت بدورها إلى صداقات خارج الإنترنت أيضًا.

    ملاحظة: فاتني كتاباتك اليومية أثناء انشغالك بمشروعك وانتقالك. أنا سعيد جدًا برؤية مشاركاتك مؤخرًا!

    • 4

      شكرا جولي! أحاول العودة إلى وتيرة جيدة لكنني أعاني. أنا أعمل لساعات طويلة وقمت بإضافة تمرين (تخيل ذلك!) إلى هذا المزيج. لم أكتشف الصيغة الصحيحة بعد - أنا غريب الأطوار ومتعب.

      سأحضر هناك!

  4. 5

    أنا أتفق تمامًا مع النظرية القائلة بأن استخدام مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي هو أمر علاجي جيد. بالنسبة لي ، وجدت أنه من الجيد جدًا بالنسبة لي أن أكتب عن مشاعري. حتى لو لم يقرأها أحد. هناك قوة في تدوينها بالفعل. كما أنني أحب مواقع مثل Facebook و MySpace. إنها تسمح للناس بالاتصال أكثر مما لو لم يكن لديهم هذا الاتصال. شكرا لنشر هذه المعلومات حول مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي. آمل أن يجد المزيد والمزيد من الناس الخير فيه.

    • 6

      نحن بالتأكيد حيوانات اجتماعية ، أليس كذلك جيسون؟ إذا لم تكن هناك وسيلة لنا للتواصل الاجتماعي ، فأنا واثق من أن ذلك يمكن أن يؤدي إلى العديد من الاضطرابات الاجتماعية ويمكن أن يتدفق في قضايا أخرى.

      مثلك ، أجد حقًا أن الكتابة هي صمام تحرير ضغط رائع. أيضًا ، عندما يشكرني شخص ما أو ينشر ما كتبته - فهذا يتساءل عن احترام الذات!

  5. 7

    أشعر أن الألم الناتج عن الاكتئاب يمكن في الواقع تخفيفه نتيجة الانخراط في أنشطة وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. انظر إلى دراسات الحالة من الأفراد الذين شاركوا في Second Life على سبيل المثال. يمكنهم إنشاء صور رمزية بناءً على السمات المادية التي يريدونها والتواصل مع الأشخاص على مستويات ربما لم يكونوا قادرين عليها من قبل. هذا مجرد مثال واحد.

    أنا شخصياً كنت شاهداً على كيفية مساعدة وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. كنت أراقب مناقشة مجموعة MySpace للاكتئاب لتحليل كيفية اعتماد الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الاكتئاب والقلق والاضطراب ثنائي القطب والوسواس القهري وما إلى ذلك على هذه المجتمعات للحصول على الدعم. أثناء مشاهدة المحادثة تتكشف ، شاهدت شخصًا يناقش إيذاء نفسها. قفز المجتمع على الفور وساعدها على الخروج. كان الأمر كما لو أن مجتمع MySpace كان بمثابة شريان حياتها.

    أعتقد أنه مع ما تتجه إليه وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، سنرى المزيد من الخدمات تصبح متاحة ومخصصة لمنافذ محددة. المرضى مثلي (عميلي السابق الذي كنت أقوم بإجراء بحث عنه في ذلك الوقت) يجمع الأشخاص الذين يعانون من أنواع مختلفة من الاكتئاب معًا حتى يتمكنوا من مشاركة تجاربهم والتواصل مع بعضهم البعض. إنها أداة رائعة وتوضح لك مدى قوة الشبكات الاجتماعية في الحفاظ على أقدام الأشخاص على الأرض. الشيء الجيد هو أن شبكة اجتماعية مثل PLM تسمح فقط للأشخاص الذين يعانون من حالة ما بالانضمام إلى المجموعة. هذا يزيد بشكل كبير من مستوى المشاركة لأنهم يعرفون أنهم ليسوا وحدهم.

    شكرا لهذا المنشور الرائع دوغ!

    • 8

      سكوت - شكرًا جزيلاً على الكلمات الرقيقة والتعليق الاستثنائي. إنه لأمر رائع أن ترى هذه التقنية تُستخدم بشكل جيد من خلال مواقع مثل المرضى مثلي. رابط رائع أضعه في روابطي اليومية غدًا!

  6. 9

    أعتقد أن وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي يمكن أن تساعد الناس في التعامل مع الاكتئاب ، فلماذا لا؟

    فلسفتي هي أن كل شخص منا ، وكل شيء على الأرض مرتبط ببعضه البعض. لقد نشأنا جميعًا من مصدر واحد للطاقة ، والاكتئاب هو نتيجة الشعور بالانفصال عن هذا المصدر.

    نعم أعلم أن كل شيء يبدو جديدًا جدًا. لكنه مفهوم بسيط ، وهو منطقي بالنسبة لي.

    لا أعتقد أن وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هي علاج ، لكنها تجمع الناس معًا ، وهذا ما نتوق إليه جميعًا في جوهرنا.

    تقضي ابنة زوجتي معظم وقتها على الإنترنت على موقع يسمى nexopia. لقد التقت بالعديد من أصدقائها محليًا ومن أماكن أخرى على موقع التواصل الاجتماعي هذا. تساعدنا المواقع الاجتماعية في التعرف على أشخاص لديهم اهتمامات مماثلة ، وهي أداة لإبقائنا على اتصال بالأصدقاء الحاليين والقدامى.

    لقد كنت أقرأ "قوة الآن" بقلم إيكهارت تول. يتناول هذا الكتاب بالتفصيل سبب شعورنا بالاكتئاب والقلق وغير ذلك.

    يقدم الحل "العيش في الوقت الحاضر" كعلاج. أوافق ، وأعيد تأليف هذا الكتاب أيضًا لأي شخص مهتم بدليل فلسفي عن السعادة.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Marketing Books,

Can Social Media Cure Depression?

HerdMark Earl’s book, Herd, has been a tough read for me. Don’t take that the wrong way. It’s an amazing book that I found through Hugh McLeod’s blog.

I say ‘tough’ because it’s not a 10,000 foot view. Herd (How to change mass behaviour by harnessing our true nature) is a complex book that thoroughly details a plethora of studies and data to come up with its core premise. As well, Mark Earls is not your average business book author – reading his book makes me feel like I’m reading a book that’s totally out of my league (it really is!). If you’re an intellectual and appreciate deep, deep thinking and the supporting criteria – this is your book.

If you’re faking it like me, it’s a great book as well. 🙂 I might mutilate some of the rich content by writing about it here, but what the heck! I’m going for it.

Social Media PillOne topic that Mark touches on is depression. Mark mentions two common causes of depression – a parents’ relationship with their child and a person’s relationships with other people. I can’t help but wonder if Social Media isn’t the best alternative to Prozac for curing social ills such as depression. Social Media brings a promise of connecting with others that aren’t outside your local circle at home, the office, or even in your neighborhood.

Twitter, WordPress, Facebook, Gather, online Games… all of these applications aren’t simply ‘Web 2.0’, they are means of communicating with one another. No wonder why social applications are so popular. Isn’t it much easier to open up to people with the safety of the Internet between us?

At a conference a few months ago, I remember a woman who asked:

Who are these people and how are they online all hours of the day? Don’t they have a life?

It’s an interesting perspective!, isn’t it? I suspect that for many people, this is their life. This is their connection to others, their hobbies, their interests, their friends and their support. In the past, a ‘loner’ really had to live alone. But today, a ‘loner’ doesn’t have to! He/She can find other loners with the same hobbies!

Some might argue that this type of ‘social’ network and its accompanying safety net aren’t as healthy as a real relationship and human contact. They may be right… but I’m not sure that people are treating this as an alternative. For many people, this is their only means of communicating.

In High School a friend of mine, Mark, was an amazing artist. He was a big bear of a guy. He had a full beard in 10th grade and wrote comic books with stories of Vampires and Werewolves. I loved hanging out with Mark but I could always tell that he was uncomfortable around everyone – even me. I don’t think he was depressed at all, but he was pretty quiet except for the occasional growl (I growled back).

I can honestly imagine Mark being a famous eclectic artist, now, or perhaps living in the wilderness by himself today. I can’t help but wonder, though. Had Mark had a blog and an outlet to publish his incredible tales, I think he would have connected with thousands of others with the same interests. He would have had a social network – a network of friends and fans that encouraged and appreciated him.

I’m in no way inferring that we bloggers are escaping depression or loneliness through our writing. We do; however, harness much respect from our readers. I’m no different. If I see someone ganging up on another blogger who is a friend of mine, I’ll jump in and defend him. If I hear of a blogger that’s taken ill, I genuinely pray for him and his family. And when a blogger stops blogging, I really do miss hearing from them.

Working a 50 to 60 our week and being a single father, I don’t have much of “a life” (as defined by the woman I mentioned) outside of my blog and career. Ironically, though, my life online is incredibly supportive, happy and promising. I’m a truly happy (non-medicated but overweight) guy. I don’t believe that I’m trying to replace one with another. I think both are just as important and rewarding. In fact, I believe that my ‘online’ life has pushed me into being a better communicator in my ‘real’ life. It’s therapeutic for me to write and it feels great when I get feedback on my writing (even if it’s negative).

The truth is, if I didn’t have the support network that I have with you folks… I probably could be unhappy and could slip into depression. I’d probably be playing video games by night and making my colleagues miserable during the day.

I’d much rather take my Web 2.0 Pills every day.

9 Comments

  1. 1

    First off I don’t believe that the social Web 2.0 presence stuff like Twitter, blogs and the such are anywhere near a cure for things like depression and I defintely don’t agree with Mark’s reasoning for the causes of depression.

    That said however I do believe that in some ways our intercommunication through the web does help one’s self-esteem, sense of wellbeing and in some cases help one through some really difficult periods in one’s life. I will qualify that though that I don’t place blogs on the same level as Twtitter and the such (I’ll be doing something on that one of these days very soon).

    For example as part of WinExtra I also have an IRC channel that is semi-invite (especially if I know folks actually do IRC in the first place) and one of my close friend’s in the last year realize that he needed to make a serious live change to over come an addiction. He was successfull – well as successful as one can be with an addicition – but he said to me one day that if it wasn’t for the IRC channel and the people there he honestly didn’t know if he would have made it through that very dark time.

    In one other case that just happened one of the longtime mebers of the WinExtra forums and IRC channel stopped posting or showing up in channel. In turn two members in the US became very concerned and began the process of trying to track him done to make sure he was okay. Well today he suddenly appeared in channel and it was like a long lost friend finally coming back home – both for him and us.

    This is community and while it didn’t ogignate in the Web 2.0 world of social networks I will take that over any Facebook or Twitter community anytime. Along with that I think it shows that if an online community has longevity and depth of friends (which if you understand that our forums as small as they might be have been around for six plus years) it does make a part of a person’s life better and gives you a feeling of belonging – which really is all we as human being want from our lives.

  2. 2

    Hi Steven,

    I warned that I may have mutilated Mark’s words… looks like I did! Mark references some articles on depression and doesn’t state that these are definitively the only sources of depression – these are just a couple that were mentioned. The theory of Social Media and it’s opportunity to help depression is not Mark’s, it’s one that I wonder about.

    Awesome story about your community and I agree with you – belonging is ultimately what everyone needs to be healthy. I think Social Media leaves us open to ‘belong’ to communities that we never would have been exposed to otherwise.

    Thanks for the exceptional comment!
    Doug

  3. 3

    Excellent post, Doug! I find social networking a way to keep in touch with the moods and lives of many people that I consider to be friends, some of them even close friends, and impact other lives that I otherwise would not have enough hours in the day to do so. If I see a friend in need, I am able to quickly get in touch to see what I can do to provide support. I’ve also gained friends (yourself included!) through electronic communication that I otherwise might not have come to know quite as well, which in turn has turned into offline friendships as well.

    P.S. I missed your daily writings while you were busy with your project and transition. I’m so glad to see your posts recently!

    • 4

      Thanks Julie! I’m trying to get back to a good pace but I’m struggling. I work long hours and I’ve added exercise (imagine that!) to the mix. I haven’t figured out the right formula yet – I’m pretty cranky and tired.

      I’ll get there!

  4. 5

    I completely agree with the theory that using social media sites is a good therapeutic thing to do. For me, I have found that it is very good and freeing for me to write about my feelings. Even if no one reads them. There is power in actually writing it down. I also love sites like Facebook and MySpace. They allow people to connect more than they maybe would if they didn’t have that connection. Thanks for posting this information about social media sites. I hope that more and more people find the good in it.

    • 6

      We’re definitely social animals, aren’t we Jason? If there’s no means for us to socialize, I’m confident that that can lead to many social disorders and can cascade into other issues.

      Like you, I really find writing as a great pressure release valve. As well, when someone thanks me or posts about what I’ve written – that does wonders for the ol’ self esteem!

  5. 7

    I feel that the pain from depression can in fact be alleviated as a result of engaging in social media activities. Look at case studies from individuals who partake in Second Life for example. They can create avatars based on the physical attributes they want and connect with people on levels they may never have been able to before. That’s just one example.

    I personally was witness to how social media can help. I was monitoring a MySpace depression group discussion to analyze how people suffering from depression, anxiety, bipolar, OCD, etc. rely on these communities for support. While watching the conversation unfold I watched as an individual discussed harming herself. The community immediately jumped in and helped her out. It was as if the MySpace community acted as her lifeline.

    I think with where social media is going we will see more services become available dedicated to specific niches. Patients Like Me (a past client of mine who I was doing research for at the time) is bringing people suffering from various types of depression together so they can share their experiences and connect with one another. It’s an amazing tool and just goes to show you how powerful social networks are in keeping a persons feet on the ground. The good thing is a social network like PLM only lets people suffering from a condition join in the group. This greatly increases the participation level because they know they aren’t alone.

    Thanks for this great post Doug!

  6. 9

    I think that social media can help people deal with depression, why not?

    My philosophy is that everyone of us, and everything on earth are all connected. We all originated from a single source of energy, and depression is a result of a feeling of being separated from this source.

    Yeah I know it all sounds pretty new agey. But it is a simple concept, and it make sense to me.

    I dont think that social media is a cure, but it does bring people together, and that is what we all crave in our core being.

    My step-daughter spends most of her online time on a site called nexopia. She has met many of her friends, locally and from other places on this social networking site. Social sites help us meet people with similar interests, and are a tool to keep us in touch with current, and old friends.

    I have been reading “The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle. This book goes into detail about why we feel depression, anxiety and more.

    He offers up the solution to “live in the now” as a cure. I agree, and also recomment this book for anyone interested in a philisophical guide to happiness.

Leave a Reply