ستاربكس تطلق الشبكة الاجتماعية

بلدي ستاربكس فكرة لم يصل بعد اعلى! قد لا يكون إنشاء شبكة اجتماعية لطلب التعليقات من العملاء مباشرة إلى المتاجر التي يرعونها فكرة سيئة. إذا كانت هناك علامة تجارية للبيع بالتجزئة قد تنجح بالفعل مع الشبكات الاجتماعية ، فقد تكون ستاربكس جيدة جدًا. إنها علامة تجارية ضخمة ، فهي موجودة في كل مكان ، والناس مدمنون (حرفيًا) على منتجاتهم ، والعملاء يحبونها.

ستاربكس تواجه الحائط حقًا. لقد فقدوا بريقهم مع المتابعين ، وارتفعت تكاليف التشغيل ، وأصبح العثور على باريستا عظماء أكثر صعوبة ، وأصبح إنفاق المستهلكين متأخرًا ، وبدأ المنافسون مثل ماكدونالدز في التذمر بشأن فقدان رواد الإفطار. حتى أن ماكدونالدز تصدرت ستاربكس على اختبار الذوق وجها لوجه.

لماذا لست في ستاربكس كثيرًا

أنا شخصياً أزور ستاربكس بنصف ما اعتدت عليه. أنا أستمتع بالتحميص الممتاز الذي أحصل عليه من المقهى المحلي وأقدر حقيقة أن أموالي تعود إلى الاقتصاد المحلي. فقدت ستاربكس بريقها عندما بدأت في رؤيتها على بعد بضع بنايات من بعضها البعض وكان الاتصال اللاسلكي يكلفني 30 دولارًا شهريًا. أنا فقط في ستاربكس عندما أكون جرين وود كوفي هاوس، كأس الفول بعيد المنال.

خيرات عاد هوارد شولتز إلى مقعد السائق، ربما ستاربكس لديها فرصة. سوف نرى. تخميني هو أن الشبكة الاجتماعية سيكون لديها عدد قليل من حركة المرور ، كنت سأختار مدونة وطلبت تعليقات من خلال المحتوى الذي يمكنني استهدافه بشكل أفضل قليلاً.

ماذا ستكون فكرتي لستاربكس؟ مقاعد مريحة.

10 تعليقات

  1. 1

    القهوة اللائقة التي لا يتعين عليك تناولها مع نصف جرعة من منتجات الألبان لخنقها ستكون فكرتي في ستاربكس.

  2. 2
  3. 3

    لقد توقفت عن شرب ستاربكس عندما توقف عمال صناعة القهوة عن النظر إليك عند أخذ طلبك وإرجاع النقود. لا شيء يتفوق على خدمة العملاء ذات المستوى العالمي ، وتفتقر ستاربكس إليها بشكل خطير. أتساءل عما إذا كان التدريب لمدة نصف يوم قد ساعد ؟؟

  4. 4

    أصبحت ستاربكس في رأيي بمثابة ماكدونالدز للقهوة. كما ذكر إريك أعلاه ، فإن خدمة العملاء قد انحدرت بالفعل. يبدو أن الموظفين عمومًا غير مهتمين بالطريقة التي يتعاملون بها في العديد من أماكن الوجبات السريعة ، وجودة المنتج غير متسقة (على الرغم من أنني أقول إنه في ماكدونالدز متسق للغاية ، وليس أنني أتناول الطعام هناك كثيرًا بعد الآن). لقد أخذوا شيئًا كان لديه ذاكرة تخزين مؤقت معينة إليه وجعلوه عاديًا.

    في دفاعهم ، لست متأكدًا من كيفية الحفاظ على هوامش الربح على نطاق واسع في سوق تنافسية مثل القهوة هذه الأيام. أفترض أنه مع تغطية العالم بمتاجر ستاربكس ، ستكون هناك خسارة في الجودة الشاملة للتجربة التي تحصل عليها عند زيارتك ، لكن هذا أمر مؤسف. أود أن أراهم يحسنون الأمور ، لكنني أعتقد أن لديهم تحديًا كبيرًا بين أيديهم.

  5. 5

    لا أعرف ما إذا كانت ستاربكس بحاجة إلى شبكة اجتماعية أكثر مما يحتاجه Bode Miller لإطلاق شبكة SkiSpace للتزلج الاجتماعي. إنه العدد الهائل من المستخدمين الذين ينشئون تأثير الشبكة ويجعلون شبكة اجتماعية ذات قيمة ، لذا فإن المواقع المتخصصة تطلق النار تلقائيًا على نفسها. على الأقل ، IMHO 😉

    • 6

      أعتقد أنني أتفق معك يا ديف. بالنسبة إلى "المدى القصير" ، يبدو أنهم فقط يطلبون التعليقات ، وهي في الحقيقة ليست "شبكة اجتماعية" بالمعنى المعتاد. سيكون من المثير للاهتمام معرفة ما إذا كانوا يطبقون أفضل مقعدين - لاسلكي مجاني ومريح.

      كلاهما يحتفظ بالمستفيدين لفترة أطول ... شيء قد لا يقدره مقهى الإنتاج الضخم. لا تبيع أكثر عندما لا يكون هناك مكان للجلوس!

  6. 7

    نحن نرى هذا طوال الوقت أليس كذلك؟ الفكرة العظيمة ، والمنتج الرائد والشركة ، تتوسع للاستفادة من العلامة التجارية الرائجة ... ثم تبدأ في التوسع مثل الجنون مع المنتجات والمواقع الإضافية وتبدأ في فقدان جوهرها.

    ما زلت أتوقف عند ستاربكس كل يوم ، لكنه فقد الكثير من جاذبيته على طول الطريق. يعجبني أن Shultz عاد للقيادة ... يذكرنا بعودة Jobs إلى Apple ... يجب أن يجعلهم أقرب إلى تقديم تجربة رائعة. اتصالات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي تفتح على الأقل الأبواب بطريقة جديدة.

    تتمثل فكرتي بالنسبة لهم في الاستماع بعناية لأسباب توقف العملاء الحاليين عن القدوم ، بينما يذهب الآخرون إلى ماكدونالدز ولماذا يجد الناس صعوبة كبيرة في التفكير فيها. شيء واحد كنت قد وضعته هناك هو أنه يجب عليهم إيقاف نيكل وتقليل التجربة. أوافق على التوصيل اللاسلكي. على أي حال ، الإجابات موجودة هناك. علامة تجارية قوية جدًا بالنسبة لهم حتى لا يجدون طريقة لإصلاحها.

    فيل

    • 8

      أوافق فيل. أتساءل ما هو مقدار الضياع لمجرد أن ستاربكس لا تحتوي على "رائحة السيارة الجديدة"؟

      كونك عصريًا هو أساس هش للغاية لبناء عملك عليه ويميل إلى حجب رؤية الشركة لنفسها وأهميتها. أعتقد أن الكثير من نجاح Starbuck كان هو الاتجاه العصري لمشروب بارد يحتوي على الكثير من الكلمات بسعر باهظ.

      • 9

        نعم ، لقد تلاشت إثارة السيارة الجديدة. أتذكر عندما اعتاد الناس على السخرية مني لتوقفي واستخدام تلك اللغة الأجنبية الجديدة التي تعلمتها.

        ربما تكون قد واجهت المشكلة الأساسية بالنسبة لهم ... بدعة أو انطلاقة رائعة في امتلاك "تجربة الصباح" التي ضلت طريقها. سيخبرنا الوقت.

  7. 10

    بينما أحيي أيضًا ستاربكس لإنشاء عملية تجلب العملاء إلى عملية الابتكار الخاصة بهم ، هناك أيضًا جانب سلبي لم تذكره. يمكن أيضًا للمنافسين ، بدءًا من Peet's إلى مقهى زاوية حفرة في الحائط ، الوصول إلى مناقشة الابتكار في Starbucks. هذا كنز دفين لما يبحث عنه العملاء ، وما تم تجربته ، وما يعمل وما لا يعمل. علاوة على ذلك ، تقوم ستاربكس بعمل رائع في التفاعل ، وبالتالي توفير المزيد من أبحاث السوق المجانية.

    ما زلت أؤيد ما فعلته ستاربكس ، لكن إذا كنت متفرغًا صغيرًا ، فسأقوم أيضًا بمراجعة لوحات الاقتراحات كل يوم!

    المزيد عن هذا الموضوع المحدد من منظور التميز في الأعمال على:

    http://www.evolvingexcellence.com/blog/2008/04/morro-bay-coffe.html

    أفضل،
    كيفن

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing

Starbucks Launching Social Network

My Starbucks Idea isn’t up yet is up! Putting up a social network to solicit feedback from customers directly to the stores that they patronize may not be a bad idea. If there’s a retail brand that might actually succeed with social networking, Starbucks may very well be it. It’s a huge brand, it’s everywhere, people are addicted (literally) to their product, and customers love it.

Starbucks is really up against a wall. They’ve lost their luster with followers, operating costs are up, great baristas are getting harder to find, consumer spending is lagging, and competitors like McDonalds are starting to growl about losing breakfast patrons. McDonalds even topped Starbucks on a head to head taste test.

Why I’m not at Starbucks as often

Personally, I visit Starbucks half as much as I used to. I enjoy the premium roast that I get from my local coffee house and appreciate the fact that my money is going back into the local economy. Starbucks lost its luster when I started to see them a few blocks apart from one another and the wireless was costing me $30 per month. I’m only at Starbucks when my Greenwood Coffee House, The Bean Cup is out of reach.

With Howard Schultz back in the driver’s seat, perhaps Starbucks could stand a chance. We’ll see. My guess is that the Social Network will have a trickle of traffic, I would have opted for a blog and solicited feedback through content I could target a little better.

What will my idea be for Starbucks? Comfortable seats.

10 Comments

  1. 1

    Decent coffee that you don’t have to doctor up with half a ping of dairy products to choke it down would be my Starbucks idea.

  2. 2
  3. 3

    I stopped drinking Starbucks when the baristas stopped looking up at you when taking your order and giving back change. Nothing beats world class customer service, and Starbucks is seriously lacking in it. Wonder if that half-day training helped??

  4. 4

    Starbucks has become the McDonalds of coffee, in my opinion. As mentioned by Eric above, the customer service has really gone downhill. The staff generally seems disinterested the way they do at many fast-food places, and the product quality is inconsistent (though I would say that at McDonalds it’s very consistent, not that I eat there often anymore). They’ve taken something that used to have a certain cache to it and made it ordinary.

    In their defense, I’m not sure how you’re supposed to maintain profit margins on a grand scale in a market as competitive as coffee is these days. I suppose that with the blanketing of the world with Starbucks stores there was going to be a loss in the overall quality of the experience you get when you visit, but it’s unfortunate. I’d like to see them improve things, but I think they have a heck of a challenge on their hands.

  5. 5

    I don’t know if Starbucks needs a social network any more than Bode Miller needs to release the SkiSpace skiing social network. It’s the sheer number of users that create the network effect and make a social network valuable, so niche sites are automatically shooting themselves in the foot. At least, IMHO 😉

    • 6

      I think I agree with you, Dave. For the ‘short term’, it appears they are just soliciting feedback and it’s really not a ‘social network’ in the typical sense. It will be interesting to see if they implement the top 2 – free wireless & comfortable seats.

      Both of those keep patrons around longer… something that a mass production coffee house might not appreciate. You don’t sell more when there’s no place to sit!

  6. 7

    We see this all the time don’t we? Great idea, breakthrough product and company, scales to take advantage of a hot brand … and then starts expanding like crazy with add-on products and locations and begins to lose its core.

    I’m still stopping by my Starbucks everyday but its lost a lot of its appeal along the way. I like that Shultz is back at the helm … reminds of Jobs coming back into Apple … it should bring them back closer to offering a cool experience. Social media connections are at least opening the doors in a new way.

    My idea for them would be to listen carefully for the reasons why existing customers are no longer coming, others are going to McDonalds and why folks find it too much of a hassle to even consider. One thing I’d put right out there is they’ve got to stop nickle and diming the experience. I agree about the wireless hookup. Anyway, the answers are out there. Far too powerful a brand for them not to find a way to fix it.

    Phil

    • 8

      I agree Phil. I wonder how much is lost simply because Starbucks doesn’t have that ‘new car smell’?

      Being trendy is a very brittle foundation to build your business on and it tends to cloud a company’s vision of itself and its importance. I think much of Starbuck’s success was the trendiness of a cool drink with lots of words at an expensive price.

      • 9

        Yes, the excitement of the new car has rubbed off. I remember when folks used to laugh at me for stopping and using that new foreign language I’d learned.

        You’ve probably hit the core issue for them … fad or a great launch at owning the ‘morning out experience’ that lost its way. Time will tell.

  7. 10

    While I also applaud Starbucks for creating a process that brings customers into their innovation process, there is also a downside you didn’t mention. Competitors, ranging from Peet’s to the hole-in-the-wall corner coffee shop, can also access Starbucks’ innovation discussion. This is a treasure trove of what customers are looking for, what has been tried, and what works or doesn’t work. To top it off, Starbucks is doing a great job of interacting, thereby providing more free market research.

    I’m still in favor of what Starbucks has done, but if I was a small-timer I’d also be perousing the suggestion boards every day!

    More on this specific topic from a business excellence perspective at:

    http://www.evolvingexcellence.com/blog/2008/04/morro-bay-coffe.html

    Best,
    Kevin

Leave a Reply