تأثير Digg: الاستنتاج ... هل يساعد؟

الصورة

عندما نشرت فيديو مضحك عن بيل جيتس ونابليون ديناميت، كان هدفي هو معرفة التأثير الذي يمكن أن يحدثه موقع Digg في عرض مدونتي للآخرين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، كان هدفي هو إظهار التأثيرات اللاحقة لـ "تأثير Digg". نوح على اكدورك يجعلني صادقًا في هذا الأمر.

"تأثير Digg" هو المنجنيق في الزيارات التي يحصل عليها موقعك عند إرسال قصة من خلال Digg يجدها "الحفارون" الآخرون مثيرة للاهتمام. السؤال النهائي هو ما إذا كانت ستفيد أي شخص مثلي؟ (إذا كنت ترغب في قراءة الجزء الأول من هذا الاختبار ، فانقر فوق من هنا).

الإحصائيات (تأثير Digg هو الارتداد الكبير):

خاتمة Digg

ربما سأبلغ عن هذا مبكرًا بيوم ... ستلاحظ أن النقطة الأخيرة على الرسم البياني منخفضة جدًا. ذلك لأن الإحصائيات لم يتم الإبلاغ عنها بالكامل أمس.

استنتاج Digg 2

استنتاج Digg 3

استنتاجي:

بعد أسبوع من نجاحاتي الكبيرة ، ما زلت أتلقى بعض الزيارات من Digg. ومع ذلك ، فقد ارتفع عدد الزيارات المتعددة مقابل الزيارات لأول مرة من 6.38٪ إلى 11.77٪. وهذا يعني أن بعض "الحفارين" لدي "dugg" موقعي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فقد تضاعف عدد الأشخاص المشتركين في خلاصتي ثلاث مرات وهم يقرؤون يوميًا (الإحصائيات FeedPress). بشكل عام ، زاد عدد زوار موقعي يوميًا بنسبة 300٪. من الصعب رؤيته على الرسوم البيانية لأن المقياس يرتفع ليغطي حدث Digg ... لكن الاتجاه بعد الحدث مرتفع قليلاً.

هل هذا شيء جيد؟ ربما! من بين 4,000 شخص غريب جاءوا إلى موقعي أثناء حدث Digg ، ربما أضفت 100 قارئ أو نحو ذلك إلى موقعي على أساس يومي. لا تفهموني خطأ ، هذا معدل استبقاء رهيب. جزئيًا ، لأن هذا الجزء الصغير من مشاهدي الفيديو قد يكون مهتمًا بالفعل بمدونتي. إنه يشبه إلى حد كبير الإعلان عن استوديو اليوغا الخاص بك في الصحف. بالتأكيد ، قد يلقي مليون شخص نظرة على الإعلان ... لكنهم جميعًا تقريبًا لن يهتموا.

هل سأفعلها مرة أخرى؟

ربما. أعتقد أنني أفضل تجنب مقاطع الفيديو التي لا تتعلق حقًا بقرائي / المشتركين. إذا كان لدي مقطع فيديو لشيء يتعلق بالتسويق أو الأتمتة أو إنديانابوليس ... فمن المحتمل أن أغتنم فرصة دفن موقعي مرة أخرى. خارج ذلك ، على الرغم من ذلك ، لست قلقًا حقًا بشأن تعريض مدونتي لأشخاص لا يهتمون.

3 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 2

    أدرك أن هذا منشور قديم. أوافق على الارتفاع المفاجئ في مشاهدات الصفحات والزائرين الفريدين للموقع بعد Digg في المنشور. لكن ماذا عن الجودة؟ هل يعود هؤلاء الزوار على الإطلاق؟ سيكون من الممتع أن نرى معدل التحويل.

    • 3

      مرحبًا CA ،

      Personally, I don’t think the quality is there. It’s one of the faults that I have with Digg, their categories are so ambiguous that the subject matter isn’t really targeted to the audience. Some of the other social bookmarking sites do a better job at targeting a niche that might stick around, but not Digg.

      The conversion rate above was less than 0.25%. The digg continued to bring in readers after the initial digg, so that’s why I estimate ‘less than’.

      دوغ

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing,

The Digg Effect: Conclusion…Does It Help?

When I posted a funny video about Bill Gates and Napoleon Dynamite, my intent was to see what impact that Digg could have on exposing my blog to others. As well, my intent was to show the after effects of the “Digg Effect”. Noah on Okdork is keeping me honest on this one.

“The Digg Effect” is the catapult in hits that your site obtains when you submit a story through Digg that other “Diggers” find interesting. The ultimate question is whether it would do anyone like me any good? (If you’d like to read Part I of this test, click here).

Statistics (The Digg Effect is the big bounce):

Digg Conclusion

I might be reporting this a day early… you’ll notice the last point on the chart is quite low. That’s because the stats haven’t fully been reported for yesterday.

Digg Conclusion 2

Digg Conclusion 3

My Conclusion:

A week after my big hits, I’m still getting some trickles of traffic from Digg. However, the number of multiple visits vs. first-time visits is up from 6.38% to 11.77%. That means that some of my “diggers” have “dugg” my site. As well, the number of folks that are subscribed to my feed has tripled and are reading daily (stats by FeedPress). Overall, the number of visitors to my site on a daily basis is up 300%. It’s difficult to see on the graphs since the scale shoots up to cover the Digg event… but the trend after the event is up quite a bit.

Is this a good thing? Perhaps! Out of the 4,000 odd folks that came to my site during the Digg event, I probably added another 100 or so readers to my site on a daily basis. Don’t get me wrong, this is a terrible retention rate. In part, because such a small portion of the viewers of the video might actually be interested in my blog. It’s much like advertising your Yoga Studio in the newspaper. Sure, a million folks might glance at the ad… but virtually all of them won’t care.

Would I do it again?

Possibly. I think I would rather avoid the videos that are really not relevant to my readers/subscribers. If I have a video of something pertaining to Marketing, Automation, or Indianapolis… I’d probably take the chance of burying my site again. Outside of that, though, I’m not really worried about exposing my blog to folks who don’t give a hoot.

3 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 2

    I realize this is an old post. I agree with the spike in pages views and unique visitors to the site after you Digg the post. But what about the quality? Do these visitors come back at all? It would be interesting to see the conversion rate.

    • 3

      Hi CA,

      Personally, I don’t think the quality is there. It’s one of the faults that I have with Digg, their categories are so ambiguous that the subject matter isn’t really targeted to the audience. Some of the other social bookmarking sites do a better job at targeting a niche that might stick around, but not Digg.

      The conversion rate above was less than 0.25%. The digg continued to bring in readers after the initial digg, so that’s why I estimate ‘less than’.

      Doug

Leave a Reply