هاف ويذ هافينغتون

الناس المال

الناس المالفي حال لم تكن قد سمعت ، فهناك ملف 105 مليون دولار دعوى جماعية ضد Arianna Huffington لبيعها لشركة AOL ولكن عدم تقديم أي أجر للمدونين الذين ساعدوا في تطوير Huffington Post إلى مجتمع تدوين قوي. سأتخطى سخرية الأثرياء الذين يجنون ربع مليار دولار من ظهور الآخرين (أوتش!) ... وتناول الموضوع مباشرة.

بصفتك شخصًا لديه أكثر من 50 مدونًا يقومون بالتدوين بشكل دوري هنا في Martech Zoneانا تماما أتفق مع المدونين غير المأجورين. إنهم يستحقون التعويض.

Martech Zone يسحب بعض الأموال من الرعاية والإعلان ، لكننا نواصل إعادة استثمار هذه الأموال في التسويق والتصميم والتوسع فيها بودكاستينغوالبريد الإلكتروني و فيديو. نواصل أيضًا تحسين سرعة الموقع واستقراره. لذا ... إذا حسبتها بالكامل ، فإننا لا نزال نعمل بخسارة.

وأنا أحب ذلك بصدق بهذه الطريقة وسأواصل العمل في حيرة طالما أن المحتوى الخاص بنا يتحسن ونستمر في زيادة عدد القراء. لم ينصح أي من مؤلفينا على الإطلاق بفعل أي شيء مختلف. أعتقد أنهم يقدرون الأضواء وفرصة الكتابة مع أفضل محترفي التسويق على هذا الكوكب.

ومع ذلك ، لا أعتقد أنها مشكلة صعبة للغاية. كان بإمكان أريانا هافينغتون وطاقمها تنفيذها بسهولة تحليلات وحدد المدونين الذين جلبوا أكبر قيمة (عبر حركة المرور) إلى الموقع. كان بإمكانهم أيضًا تطوير بعض التحليلات الأساسية للتكلفة على الإعلانات والترويج واستثمارات البنية التحتية التي قاموا بها. في النهاية ، أعتقد أنه لو فعلت منشور هافينغتون ذلك ، كان بإمكانها التفاوض على جزء كبير من التغيير لمدونيها الذين قدموا أكبر قيمة.

بعد قولي هذا ، تمتلك أريانا الآن ربع مليار دولار للاستثمار في دفاع عظيم ... والذي ربما لن يضطر إلى فعل أكثر من الإشارة إلى شروط الخدمة التي وافق عليها الجميع عند التسجيل. يوافق Forbes على أنه ملف ضربة طويلة.

الحقيقة بالطبع هي أن هناك بأي حال من الأحوال يمكن للدعوى أن تربح. إذا كان الأمر كذلك ، فسيكون لكل عضو في Facebook بعض النقود ، وستكون كل نتيجة محرك بحث في Google مستحقة للدفع مقابل كل نقرة ينتج عنها ، وقد تكون كل تغريدة تساوي بضعة سنتات لمكبر الصوت - مما يؤدي إلى خروج كل هذه الشركات الأعمال. لن يحدث. أحيانًا تكون الحياة غير عادلة - هذه واحدة من تلك الأوقات.

أنا أشجع كل عمل على الخروج من هذه مجاني المنصات والبدء امتلاك المحتوى الخاص بهم. إذا كنت موهوبًا بما يكفي لكتابة محتوى يجذب الجمهور ، فلماذا في العالم تمنحه لشخص مثل هافينغتون؟ لا تفعل ذلك! خدش وادخل المحتوى الخاص بك إلى دخل. قم بنشر ضيف هنا وهناك بهدف إعادة حركة المرور هذه إلى موقعك. هذا هو السبب في أننا نعمل بجد لعرض مؤلفينا بشكل بارز في التذييلات والشريط الجانبي.

بالطبع ، إذا كانت AOL ترغب في الشراء Martech Zone مقابل 250 مليون دولار (أو حتى 25 مليون دولار) ، سأقوم بكل سرور بتقسيم الدولارات من قبل أولئك الذين قدموا أكبر قيمة للموقع. المحتوى ليس له قيمة ما لم يجلب الزوار. كان ينبغي على أريانا هافينغتون أن تدرك القيمة التي يجلبها بعض المدونين لها.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing

The Huff with Huffington

In case you hadn’t heard, there’s a $105 million class action lawsuit against Arianna Huffington for selling to AOL but not providing any pay to the bloggers who helped develop the Huffington Post into such a powerhouse blogging community. I’ll skip the irony of a wealthy lefty making a quarter of a billion dollars off the backs of others (ouch!)… and get straight to the point.

As a guy who has over 50 bloggers that periodically blog here at the MarTech Blog, I totally agree with the unpaid bloggers. They do deserve compensation.

The MarTech Blog pulls down some money in sponsorship and advertising, but we continue to reinvest those funds into marketing, design, and expansion into podcasting, email and video. We also continue to improve the site speed and stability. So… if you counted it all up, we’re still operating at a loss.

And I honestly like it that way and will continue to operate at a loss as long as our content is improving and we’re continuing to grow our readership. None of our authors have ever recommended I do anything different. I believe they appreciate the spotlight and the opportunity to write with the best marketing professionals on the planet.

That said, I don’t think it’s too difficult an issue. Arianna Huffington and her crew could have easily implemented analytics and identified the bloggers who drove the most value (via traffic) to the site. They also could have developed some essential cost analysis on the advertising, promotion, and infrastructure investments they made. Ultimately, I believe had the Huffington post done that, she could have negotiated a nice chunk of change for her bloggers who provided the most value.

That said, Arianna now has a quarter of a billion dollars to invest in a great defense… which probably won’t have to do more than point to their terms of service that everyone agreed to when signing up. Forbes agrees that it’s a longshot.

The truth of course, is that there’s no way the lawsuit can win. If it does, every member of Facebook will be owed some cash, every search engine result in Google will be owed for the pay per click it generates, and every tweet may be worth a few cents to the tweeter – driving all of these companies out of business. Not gonna happen. Sometimes life is not fair – this is one of those times.

I encourage every business to get off of these free platforms and begin owning their own content. If you’re talented enough to write content that attracts an audience, why in the world would you give that away to someone like Huffington? Don’t do it! Scratch and work your own content into an income. Do a guest post here and there with the goal of bringing that traffic back to your site. It’s why we’re working hard to prominently display our authors in the footers and sidebar.

Of course, if AOL would like to purchase The MarTech Blog for $250 million (or even $25 million), I’ll gladly portion out the dollars by those who provided the most value to the site. Content doesn’t have value unless it brings visitors. Arianna Huffington should have recognized the value that some of her bloggers were bringing.

Leave a Reply