هذا يستحق نشر مدونة ... شكرًا كاثي!

منذ فترة ، بدأت في وضع روابطي اليومية في منشور مدونة واحد على موقعي. لقد فعلت ذلك على هذا النحو لعدة أسباب:

  1. لم يكن لدي أي شيء لأضيفه إلى المحادثة ، لكنني أردت بالتأكيد أن يجد قرائي هذه "الجواهر" الصغيرة من المعلومات.
  2. لم أكن أرغب في إعادة ما كتبه الآخرون بالفعل. لا أستطيع أن أخبرك كم كان محبطًا بالنسبة لي وأنا أتصفح 100 موجز على القارئ الخاص بي قبل iPhone و iPhone و iPhone ما بعد. إذا كان مجرد قلس ، فأرسل رابطًا وانتهى من ذلك.

لم أسمع أي شكاوى حول الروابط - كل التعليقات كانت إيجابية بالفعل. أتمنى أن تعجبني هذه الطريقة لكي أنقل المعلومات التي أستقبلها.

هذا المنشور مختلف ، رغم ذلك. لا يمكنني ببساطة الإشارة إليه بدون أي ملاحظة. في جميع المدونات التي أشرت إليها من موقعي ، خلق مستخدمين متحمسين هي إلى حد بعيد واحدة من المفضلة.

فيما يلي مثال بسيط على مدى قوة هذه المدونة ، لخصت Kathy Sierra ما أقاتل من أجله وأعمل في كل يوم من وظيفتي بدوام كامل مع صورتين بسيطتين:

في تطوير الميزات:

الملامح

وعلى البرمجيات بالإجماع:

مجموعات غبية

لقد علقت على الكثير من المدونات ولكنني تجنبت الارتباط بالموقف الرهيب الذي وجدت كاثي نفسها فيه. كانت كاثي هدفًا لبعض المنشورات والتهديدات الصادمة والمروعة على موقع آخر. لا أريد أن أضع الكلمات في فم كاثي ولكن بالحكم من كتابتها ، من الواضح أنها غيرت كل شيء. لا يسعني إلا أن أتخيل ما كان عليه الحال ، وأفكاري وصلواتي مع كاثي.

تركت كاثي التدوين بسبب الانكشاف الجماعي الذي تجلبه. يدفع الكثير من الناس كاثي للاستمرار في مدونتها ولكن لا أعتقد أن هذا عادل على الإطلاق. كانت كاثي كريمة جدًا في مدونتها ، لقد كانت رائعة. كان من الممكن إنشاء محتويات المدونة بسهولة في إصدار أو إصدارين من رئيس أولا الكتب ، ولكن بدلاً من ذلك تم تقديم هذه الأفكار الرائعة إلينا مجانًا.

شكرا كاثي! إذا كان تركيزك على مساعدة أو تغيير شخص واحد بمدونتك ، فقد نجحت معي. أنا أتطلع إلى شغفك القادم! أود أن أراك تجمع كل المعلومات من مدونتك في كتاب رائع ... ربما يمكنك الحصول على موقع نموذج اشتراك مغلق أو رسالة إخبارية تستمر وتوفر لك الأمان الذي تستحقه.

ربما هو دليل البداية لتطوير وإدارة منتجات البرمجيات؟ تأكد من تضمين هاتين الصورتين - فهما يرويان القصة كاملة!

تعليق واحد

  1. 1

    لا يمكن أن نتفق أكثر. كانت مدونة كاثي واحدة من أولى المدونات التي اشتركت فيها ، وقد أثبتت أنها جوهرة منذ ذلك الحين. أتذكر أنني قرأت ما لا يقل عن اثنتي عشرة مقالة وأتذكر "نجاح باهر" بعد ذلك مباشرة. إنها واحدة من تلك المدونات التي لا تتوقف أبدًا عن إدهاشك بعمق وفهم علاقات العملاء والعملاء وإمكانية استخدام البرامج.

    في الحقيقة ، أنا غاضب حقًا من فعل ذلك وتسبب في إنهاء هذا الأمر. أعتقد أن كل ما يمكننا فعله الآن هو البحث عن الأشياء القديمة والتعلم ، مثل ما فعلته هنا.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Technology

This deserves a blog post… Thanks, Kathy!

A while ago I started putting my daily links up on a single blog post on my site. I did it that way for a couple reasons:

  1. I didn’t have anything to add to the conversation but I definitely wanted my readers to find these little ‘jewels’ of information.
  2. I didn’t want to regurgitate what everyone else had already written. I can’t tell you how frustrating it was and is for me to go through 100 feeds on my reader pre-iPhone, iPhone, and post-iPhone. If it’s just regurgitation, throw a link up and be done with it.

I haven’t heard any complaints about the links – all the comments have actually been positive. I hope you like this way for me to convey the information that I’m taking in.

This post is different, though. I can’t simply point to it without any note. In all the blogs I’ve referenced from my site, Creating Passionate Users is by far one of my favorites.

Here’s a simple example of how powerful this blog is, Kathy Sierra summed up what I fight for and work on every day of my full-time job with two simple visuals:

On feature development:

Featuritis

And on software by consensus:

Dumb Groups

I commented on plenty of blogs but avoided linking to the terrible situation that Kathy found herself in. Kathy was the target of some shocking and terrifying posts and threats on another site. I don’t want to put words in Kathy’s mouth but judging from her writing, it obviously changed everything. I can only imagine what this was like to go through and my thoughts and prayers are with Kathy.

Kathy is leaving blogging because of the mass exposure that it brings. Many people are pushing Kathy to continue on with her blog but I don’t think that’s fair at all. Kathy was so generous with her blog, it was amazing. The contents of the blog could have easily been made in an edition or two of Head First books, but instead these fantastic thoughts were given to us free of charge.

Thanks, Kathy! If your focus was to help or change one single person with your blog, you’ve succeeded with me. I look forward to your next passion! I’d love to see you compile all the information from your blog into a fantastic book… perhaps you can have a closed subscription model site or newsletter that continues and provides you with the safety you deserve.

Perhaps a Head Start guide to Software Product Development and Management? Be sure to include those 2 images – they tell the whole story!

One comment

  1. 1

    Couldn’t agree more. Kathy’s blog was one of the very first I subscribed to, and it has proven to be a gem ever since. I remember reading no less than a dozen articles and going “wow” right after that. It’s one of those blogs that never cease to amaze you with the depth and understanding of business-customer relations and software usability.

    Truth be told, I’m really seriously pissed at whoever did this and caused this to come to an end. I guess all we can do now is dig up the old stuff and learn, kinda like what you did here.

Leave a Reply