تايجر وودز لا يعمل على نقاط ضعفه

خط النهاية!غير هذا هو موقع رائع إذا لم تسنح لك الفرصة لمشاهدته. IMHO، اليوم الملصق كان استثناء ، رغم ذلك.

هل تعتقد حقًا أن سجلات Tiger Woods تمارس ساعات فقط للحفاظ على ما هو أسهل بالنسبة له؟ يقول Flip Flippen إن انسَ اكتشاف نقاط قوتك ، وبدلاً من ذلك ، فإن نقاط ضعفك هي التي تمنعك من تحقيق أفضل ما لديك.

الحقيقة هي أن تايجر وودز لا يعمل على نقاط ضعفه على الإطلاق. لقد حدد نقاط قوته ويقضي الكثير من الوقت والجهد الشاق لضبط هذه القوة.

في عمر 39 عامًا ، اكتشفت القليل جدًا من الأشياء في الحياة ، ولكن إليك بعض الأشياء المفيدة:

  1. يكاد يكون من المستحيل على الناس أن يتغيروا. لكن ليس من المستحيل على الناس التكيف - في بعض الأحيان يحتاجون ببساطة إلى دفعة لطيفة.
  2. اكتشف ما الذي تحبه و ما الذي تتفوق فيه ... واكتشف كيفية كسب لقمة العيش فيه. لن تكون أبدًا أكثر سعادة.
  3. القادة الذين يركزون على عيوبك ليسوا قادة على الإطلاق. يفهم القادة الحقيقيون ما يجيده الناس ويقومون بمواءمة الأهداف مع القدرات. لا يوجد شخصان متماثلان ولا ينبغي أبدًا ، أبدا يمكن مقارنتها ببعضها البعض.
  4. القادة الذين يحددون أن الموظف لا يمكن أن يكون ناجحًا سيفعلون ذلك الموظف أعظم خدمة من خلال تزويدهم بالاتجاه الذي يمكنهم من خلاله النجاح ، حتى لو كان ذلك خارج الباب. من القسوة وضع الناس في موقع الفشل والاحتفاظ بهم هناك.
  5. عندما تمنح الناس فرصة للنجاح ، نادرًا ما سيفشلونك.

يسأل Flip ، "إذا كنت تصدقني ، أو حتى إذا لم تصدقني في هذا الشأن ، فأجب عن هذا السؤال: ما هو الشيء الأول الذي يمنعك من الأداء العالي والوفاء؟"

يعتقد فليب أن نقاط ضعفك هي التي تعيقك. لا أعتقد ذلك على الإطلاق. أعتقد أن الشيء الأول الذي يعيقك هو أنك لم تحدد ووجدت طريقًا للاستفادة الكاملة من نقاط قوتك.

أنا لاعب غولف مجنون. تايجر وودز لاعب غولف رائع. إذا أمضيت حياتي كلها أحاول تحسين لعبة الجولف ، فلن ألتقي أبدًا بلعبة تايجر وودز. لن أضيع الوقت في تحسين لعبة الجولف - سأقضي المزيد من الوقت في أن أصبح تقنيًا ومستشارًا رائعًا. هذا ما أجيده ، هذا ما أحبه ... وهذا ما يغذي عائلتي. أرغب في معرفة ما يتطلبه الأمر للوصول إلى قمة لعبتي - لأنني أدرك أنني رائع بالفعل في ذلك.

الفرق بين دقة 99.9٪ ودقة 100٪ هو 0.1٪ فقط. لكن نسبة 0.1٪ هي التي تتطلب أكبر قدر من التركيز والجهد للتغلب عليها. في بعض الأحيان لا يمكن التغلب عليها. حدد تايجر وودز نقاط قوته التي أوصلته إلى 99.9٪ وهو يبذل كل طاقته في محاولة لإتقان نسبة 0.1٪ الأخيرة. قد يقضي بقية حياته المهنية في المحاولة وقد لا يصل إلى هناك في الواقع. ومع ذلك ، فإن مفتاح نجاحه هو أنه يفهم ماهية نقاط قوته ولديه ثقة في أنه قادر على دفع نفسه إلى 100٪.

صاغها أحد مديري السابق ببساطة. لن يكون مفتاح الربط جيدًا أبدًا في كونه مطرقة ولن تكون المطرقة جيدة أبدًا في مفتاح الربط. إذا كنت قائدًا ، اكتشف ما لديك في صندوق الأدوات الخاص بك واستخدمه بالطريقة الصحيحة. إذا كنت تعمل على نفسك فقط - اكتشف ما إذا كنت تستخدم مفتاح ربط أم مطرقة.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، كان لدي شخص يجلس معي ، وبقلق ، أخبرني بما لم أكن أجيده. أعتقد أنه كان يتوقع أنني سأجادل أو أنزعج. ابتسمت بسرعة ونظرت إليه وقلت ، "أنا أتفق معك!". الحقيقة هي أن ما لم أكن أجيده ليس ما أردت القيام به ولا ما كان من المفترض أن أفعله!

كتب فليب ، "لكي نكون الأفضل ، يمكننا - ويجب - تعلم كيفية تقليل قيودنا السلوكية مع تعظيم نقاط قوتنا لأن النجاح الحقيقي يتطلب أكثر من الموهبة والقدرة."

أود أن أعيد صياغة هذا وأقول ، "لكي نكون الأفضل ، يمكننا - ويجب - تعلم كيفية تعظيم نقاط قوتنا لأن النجاح الحقيقي يتطلب أكثر من الموهبة والقدرة."

مثال على ذلك مايكل جوردان ، الذي يمكن القول إنه أحد أعظم أبطال عصرنا. وصل مايكل جوردان إلى قمة مستواه وشعر أنه لا يمكنه أن يفعل أفضل من ذلك. لقد وصل إلى 100٪. بمجرد أن فعل ذلك ، التفت إلى لعبة البيسبول. اكتشف بسرعة أنه لن يكون لاعب كرة رائعًا.

IMHO، بمجرد أن حدد مايكل جوردان أنه على الرغم من أنه لاعب بيسبول جيد ، إلا أنه لن يكون لاعب بيسبول رائعًا. ترك اللعبة التي أحبها وعاد إلى قوته. اليوم ، لا يزال مايكل جوردان بطلاً. إدراكًا لقوته لن تكون كرة السلة بعد الآن ، فقد حدد أن العمل هو لعبته التالية ، وهو يعمل على نسبة 0.1٪ ليصعد إلى القمة.

حدد نقاط قوتك وزدها. لا تضيع الوقت في نقاط ضعفك. إذا كنت قادرًا على تحسين نقاط ضعفك ، فإن أفضل ما يمكنك أن تأمل فيه هو المتوسط. لا أحد يريد أن يكون متوسطًا.

وفقًا ويكيبيديا ، تايجر وودز يستمتع بالتمارين الرياضية وركوب القوارب والرياضات المائية وصيد الأسماك والطبخ وسباق السيارات. أنت لا تفترض أن Tiger سيرشح نفسه للسيد الكون قريبًا ، أو The Bass Masters ، أو Indianapolis 500 قريبًا ، أليس كذلك؟ نعم ، لا أعتقد ذلك أيضًا.

5 تعليقات

  1. 1

    رائع! أنا أتفق كثيرا مع ما كتبته. الجزء الوحيد الذي لا أتفق معه هو أنه يكاد يكون من المستحيل تغييره. لكنني سأقول أنه قد يكون من الصعب جدًا التغيير ، ومن الأسهل جدًا البقاء في الوضع الراهن بدلاً من إجراء التغيير العاطفي والنفسي الذي يتطلبه العمل.

    بعد قولي هذا - أنا من أشد المؤمنين بالبناء على نقاط القوة. عندما تحاول التغلب على نقاط الضعف ، فإن التركيز على الضعف في كثير من الأحيان يزيدها (نتيجة غير مقصودة).

    لكن البناء على نقاط القوة يشبه تحسين محركات البحث العضوية. تبدأ نقاط قوتك بشكل طبيعي في تقليل نقاط ضعفك (مثل المحتوى الجيد والروابط).

    على أي حال ، منشور رائع. لقد جعل يومي تمامًا ، وأعاد التأكيد على بعض المعتقدات الأساسية. شكرا لكم!

  2. 2

    أتفق تمامًا مع دوغ - الفرق بين أن تكون جيدًا في شيء ما وأن تكون رائعًا هو أن آخر 0.1٪. هناك الكثير من الأشخاص الذين يمكنهم الوصول إلى علامة 99.9٪ ، لكن قلة قليلة منهم يمكنها التغلب على النسبة الأخيرة 0.1٪. هذا صحيح مع أي نشاط تقريبًا ، سواء كان ذلك في الجولف أو التصوير الفوتوغرافي أو البرمجة.

  3. 3

    Great Post Doug ، أوافق على أنه يجب علينا تطوير قوتنا ، المشكلة هي أنه عند العمل مع الآخرين ، غالبًا ما يركزون دائمًا على ذلك معك ، وغالبًا ما يحاولون وضع نقاط ضعفك في المقدمة ومحاولة التعمق في جعل هؤلاء متساوين لقوتك.

    أوافق على أن القادة العظماء يركزون ويعززون تطوير نقاط قوتك ، عندما يكون لدي مدراء بهذه الفكرة ، ازدهرت وعندما كان لدي مديرين يركزون على الضعف لم أكن سعيدًا.

  4. 4

    ملصق ممتاز. أوافق على أنه ليس من المهم تحسين نقاط ضعفنا. هناك بالتأكيد الكثير من الأشياء التي لا نجيدها ولا يمكننا قضاء وقتنا في تحسينها. نحن بحاجة إلى التركيز على نقاط قوتنا.

  5. 5

    أوافق على أننا يجب أن نركز على نقاط قوتنا وليس على نقاط ضعفنا. قد تحتاجنا وظيفتنا إلى تحسين بعض المشكلات التي نواجهها ولا يمكننا تجاهلها فقط. نحن بحاجة إلى التفكير حتى في الأشياء الصغيرة في مواقف معينة.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Search Marketing

Tiger Woods does NOT work on his Weaknesses

The Finish Line!ChangeThis is a great site if you haven’t had a chance to see it. IMHO, today’s Manifesto was an exception, though.

Do you really think Tiger Woods logs practice hours just to maintain what comes easiest to him? Flip Flippen says forget about discovering your strengths, instead it’s your weaknesses that hold you back from achieving your personal best.

The truth is, Tiger Woods is not working on his weaknesses at all. He’s identified his strengths and is spending an excruciating lot of time and effort to fine-tune those strengths.

At 39 years young, I’ve figured out very few things in life, but here are a handfull:

  1. It’s virtually impossible for people to change. But it’s not impossible to people to adjust – sometimes they simply need a gentle push.
  2. Find out what it is that you love and what you excel at… and figure out how to make a living at it. You’ll never be happier.
  3. Leaders that focus on your shortcomings aren’t leaders at all. True leaders understand what people are good at and they align goals with capabilities. No two people are the same and should never, ever be compared to each other.
  4. Leaders that identify an employee can not be successful will do that employee the greatest favor by providing them a direction where they can succeed, even if that’s out the door. It’s cruel to put people in a position of failure and keep them there.
  5. When you provide people with the opportunity to succeed, they will rarely fail you.

Flip asks, “If you believe me, or even if you don’t for that matter, answer this question: What is the number one thing holding you back from higher performance and fulfillment?”

Flip thinks it’s your weaknesses that hold you back. I don’t think it is at all. I believe the number one thing holding you back is that you haven’t identified and found a path to fully utilize your strengths.

I’m a crappy golfer. Tiger Woods is a great golfer. If I spend my entire life trying to improve my golf game, I will never meet Tiger Woods’ game. I’m not going to waste time on bettering my golf game – I’ll spend more time on becoming a great technologist and consultant. That’s what I’m good at, that’s what I love… and that’s what feeds my family. I want to figure out what it will take to get to the top of my game – since I recognize that I’m already great at it.

The difference between 99.9% accuracy and 100% accuracy is only 0.1%. But it’s that 0.1% that requires the most focus and effort to overcome. Sometimes it can never be overcome. Tiger Woods has identified his strengths that have brought him to 99.9% and he expends all of his energy trying to master that last 0.1%. He may spend the rest of his career trying and may never actually get there. Key to his success, though, is that he understands what his strengths are and has confidence that he can absolutely push himself to 100%.

One of my earlier managers put it simply. A wrench will never be good at being a hammer and a hammer will never be good at a wrench. If you’re a leader, figure out what you have in your toolbox and use it the right way. If you’re just working on yourself – figure out if you’re a wrench or a hammer.

I recently had a person sit me down and, concerned, he let me know what I wasn’t good at. I think that he was expecting that I would argue or be upset. I quickly smiled and looked at him and said, “I agree with you!”. The fact is, what I wasn’t good at isn’t what I wanted to do nor was it what I was supposed to be doing!

Flip writes, “To be our best, we can?and must?learn how to minimize our behavioral constraints while maximizing our strengths because real success demands more than talent and ability.”

I would reword this and say, “To be our best, we can?and must?learn how to maximize our strengths because real success demands more than talent and ability.”

Case in point is Michael Jordan, arguably one of the greatest champions of our day. Michael Jordan made it to the top of his game and felt that he could do no better. He made it to his 100%. As soon as he did that, he turned to baseball. He quickly figured out that he wasn’t going to be a great ballplayer.

IMHO, once Michael Jordan identified that, although he was a good baseball player, he would never be a great baseball player. He left the game he loved and returned to his strengths. Today, Michael Jordan is still a champion. Recognizing his strength would no longer be basketball, he’s identified that business was his next game to concur, and he’s working on that 0.1% to take him to the top.

Identify your strengths and maximize them. Don’t waste time on your weaknesses. If you are able to improve your weaknesses, the best you can hope for is average. Nobody wants to be average.

According to Wikipedia, Tiger Woods enjoys working out, boating, water sports, fishing, cooking and car racing. You don’t suppose Tiger will be running for Mr. Universe soon, The Bass Masters, or the Indianapolis 500 soon, do you? Yea, I don’t think so, either.

5 Comments

  1. 1

    WOW! I agree so much with what you have written. The only part I disagree with is that it’s almost impossible to change. But I will say it can be very difficult to change and it’s quite easier to stay in the status quo than to do the emotional and psychological work change requires.

    Having said that – I’m a firm believer in building on strengths. When you try to overcome weaknesses, more often than not the focus on the weakness increases it (an unintended result).

    But building on strengths is like organic SEO. Your strengths naturally begin to diminish your weaknesses (like good content and links).

    ANyway, great post. It totally made my day, reaffirmed some core beliefs. thank yoU!

  2. 2

    I agree completely Doug – the difference between being good at something and being great is that last 0.1%. There are lots of people who can reach the 99.9% mark, but very few can overcome that last 0.1%. This is true with almost any activity, whether it’s golf, photography, or programming.

  3. 3

    Great Post Doug, I agree that we must develope our strenghts, the problem is when working for others they often does always focus on that with you and often try to get your weakness to the front and try to dig in to get those to be equal to your strengths.

    I agree that great leaders focus and foster the development of your strengths, when I have had managers with that ideaology I have thrived and when I had managers that focused on weakness I have not been happy.

  4. 4

    Great post. I agree that it’s not important to improve our weaknesses. There are certainly a lot things that we are not good at and we can’t spend our time improving them. We need to be focused on our strengths.

  5. 5

    I agree that we should focus on our strengths and not on our weaknesses. Our job may need us to improve some problems we have and we can’t just ignore them. We need to consider even little things on certain situations.

Leave a Reply