قصة حاسوبية مجردة من أجلك ...

آخر 4 أجهزة كمبيوتر اشتريتها في المنزل قمت ببناء نفسي. إذا أردت في أي وقت توفير المال على نظام ما ، فتعلم قليلاً عن أجهزة الكمبيوتر واحصل على المزيد من القوة مقابل المال الخاص بك ... انقر فوق الارتباط المجرد الموجود في أي متجر كمبيوتر رئيسي عبر الإنترنت. مع ابني يتجه إلى IUPUI (الليلة) أردت مفاجأته بنظام رائع!

المصارع المجردةكان لدي بعض المال في حسابي على PayPal ، لذلك قررت البحث عن متجر كمبيوتر يستخدم PayPal كطريقة دفع. ربما هو الأكثر شعبية تايجر دايركت، وهو مستودع ضخم على الإنترنت للإلكترونيات وأجهزة الكمبيوتر وقطع الغيار. اخترت نظامًا مجردة يسمى "المصارع"، حقيبة أنيقة لا تتطلب أي أدوات (تنزلق جميع محركات الأقراص والمكونات وتنطلق في استخدام حوامل خاصة.

اليوم ، تلقى ابني آخر المكونات من UPS وبدأ في تجميع الوحش معًا. لقد تغيرت الأمور منذ آخر مرة اشتريت فيها نظامًا مجردة! قبل أن أبدأ ، كنت أتلقى رسائل بريد إلكتروني من TigerDirect تفيد بأن علي النقر فوق ارتباط لدفع فاتورتي. المشكلة؟ تم بالفعل سحب المال من حسابي!

اتصلت برقم الدعم وتأكدت من أن الشراء كان معلقًا حتى اتصلت. تخيل ذلك! لقد استولوا على أموالي ولكنهم أرادوا التأكيد قبل إرسال أغراضهم. لطيف هاه؟ لقد اشتكيت لهم من أنه كان عليهم ذكر ذلك في البريد الإلكتروني. اوه حسنا.

أتذكر عندما كنت تشتري نظامًا مجردة ، كان بإمكانك ببساطة إلقاء بضعة أجزاء أخرى في النظام - عادةً محرك أقراص ثابت و DVD-RW ، وكنت على استعداد للذهاب. هذه المجموعة المجردة تأتي مع محرك أقراص ثابت ، على الرغم من ... نوعًا ما.

إذا انتقلت إلى صفحة المنتج ، فستلاحظ شيئين غريبين جدًا قد يفوتهما الشخص العادي (مثلي):

  1. لا يوجد مروحة للمعالج! هذه ضرورة مطلقة لأي معالج حديث ولا يوجد سبب لتركه خارج مجموعة الأدوات المجردة.
  2. تذكر القرص الصلب؟ لقد قاموا بتوفير محرك أقراص ثابتة Maxtor EIDE بسعة 200 جيجا بايت. تبدو جيدة ، أليس كذلك؟ ربما ... إلا أنه تم تحسين النظام لـ Serial ATA (SATA)! مع المكونات الإضافية لابني ، ليس لديه أي مكان لتوصيل القرص الصلب.

لذلك ذهب ابني إلى الكلية اليوم بدون جهاز كمبيوتر. إنها تجلس في عدة قطع على طاولة المطبخ ... لا تفيد أي شخص. ارغ. الوثائق حتى سيئة. أتذكر عندما كنت تحصل على كتاب باللوحة الأم ، لدي الآن ملصق بدون تفاصيل. كان هذا مخيبا للآمال. بالطبع لا توجد عوائد على القرص الصلب أيضًا. قرف. ربما سأعطيها بعيدًا على الموقع إذا لم أجد فائدة لها في مكان آخر.

الإبهام الوحيد الذي أملكه تايجر دايركت كان على التسليم السريع للأجزاء. من الدفع (الإفراج) إلى الباب الأمامي ، مر يومان عمل فقط. ليس برث للغاية. نأمل أن يصل الجزءان القادمان إلى هنا بحلول يوم السبت! مشروع قانون سأعود الأحد - آمل أن أتمكن من تشغيل نظامه!

3 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 2

    دوغ،

    رجل من ذكائك وعمرك يعرف كيف يجب أن يستخدم جهاز Mac! من شأن جهاز MacBook الرائع أن يصنع آلة رائعة للتخلص منها!

    أطيب التمنيات من إنجلترا المشمسة (لمرة واحدة!)

    جون

  3. 3

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Customer Relationship Management, Mobile and Tablet Marketing

A Bare Barebones Computer Story for you…

The last 4 computers I’ve purchased at home I’ve built myself. If you ever want to save money on a system, learn a little bit about computers and get more power for your buck… click the barebones link on any major online computer store. With my son heading off to IUPUI (tonight), I wanted to surprise him with a great system!

The Gladiator BarebonesI had some money in my PayPal account, so I decided to search for a computer store that utilized PayPal as a payment method. Perhaps the most popular is TigerDirect, a massive online warehouse for electronics, computers and parts. I chose a barebones system called “The Gladiator“, a stylish case that requires no tools (all of the drives and components slide and snap in utilizing special brackets.

Today, my son received the last of the components from UPS and began putting the beast together. Things have changed since the last time I bought a barebones system, though! Before I even got started, I was getting TigerDirect emails stating I had to click a link to pay my invoice. The problem? The money was already taken out of my account!

I called the support number and sure enough the purchase was on hold until I called. Imagine that! They TOOK my money and but wanted confirmation before THEY sent their stuff. Nice huh? I complained to them that they should have stated that was going to happen in the email. Oh well.

I remember when you used to buy a barebones system, you could simply throw a few more parts in the system – usually a hard drive and a DVD-RW, and you were ready to go. This barebones kit even came with a hard drive, though… kind of.

If you go to the product page, you’ll notice two very strange things that the average person (like me) would miss:

  1. There is no fan for the processor! This is an absolute necessity for any modern processor and there’s no reason why it should be left out of a barebones kit.
  2. Remember the hard drive? They provided a 200Gb Maxtor EIDE hard drive. Sounds good, huh? Perhaps… except that the system is optimized for Serial ATA (SATA)! With my son’s additional components, he doesn’t have anywhere to plugin the hard drive.

So my son headed off to college today without the computer. It’s sitting in many pieces upon the kitchen table… of no use to anyone. Arrrgh. The documentation even sucks. I remember when you used to get a book with a motherboard, now I have a poster with no details. This was disappointing. Of course there are no returns on the Hard Drive, either. Ugh. Perhaps I’ll give it away on the site if I can’t find a use for it elsewhere.

The only thumbs up I have for TigerDirect was on the swift delivery of the parts. From payment (release) to front door, only 2 business days went by. Not too shabby. Here’s hoping the next couple parts make it here by Saturday! Bill will be back Sunday – hopefully I can have his system up!

3 Comments

  1. 1

    If you do want to find a home for the hard drive let me know how much you want for it Doug as it would make an excellent replacement for the failing 40 gig on the wife’s media machine.

  2. 2

    Doug,

    A man of your intelligence and general know how should be using a Mac! A nice MacBook would make a great machine to take away!

    Best wishes from sunny England (for once!)

    Jon

  3. 3

Leave a Reply