كيفية تسخير المحتوى الذي ينشئه المستخدم دون مقاضاة

حقوق scoopshot ugc

أصبحت الصور التي ينشئها المستخدم رصيدًا قيمًا للمسوقين والعلامات التجارية الإعلامية ، حيث توفر بعض المحتوى الأكثر جاذبية وفعالية من حيث التكلفة للحملات - ما لم ينتج عنها بالطبع دعوى قضائية بملايين الدولارات كل عام ، تتعلم العديد من العلامات التجارية هذا بالطريقة الصعبة. في عام 2013 ، مصور رفع دعوى قضائية ضد BuzzFeed مقابل 3.6 مليون دولار بعد اكتشافه أن الموقع قد استخدم إحدى صوره على فليكر بدون إذن. كما عانت غيتي إيمدجز ووكالة فرانس برس (أ ف ب) دعوى قضائية بقيمة 1.2 مليون دولار بعد سحب صور Twitter الخاصة بمصور فوتوغرافي بدون موافقة.

أصبح الصراع بين المحتوى الذي ينشئه المستخدم (UGC) والحقوق الرقمية محفوفًا بالمخاطر بالنسبة للعلامات التجارية. أصبح المحتوى الذي ينشئه المستخدمون هو المفتاح لفتح جيل الألفية ، الذي يقال إنه يكرس نفسه أكثر من 5.4 ساعة في اليوم (أي 30 بالمائة من إجمالي وقت الوسائط) لـ UGC ، ويدعي أنه يثق به فوق كل المحتوى الآخر. ومع ذلك ، فإن رفع دعوى قضائية رفيعة المستوى ، سيؤدي في النهاية إلى إبطال الثقة والمصداقية اللذين يهدفان إلى إنشاءهما.

سوء الفهم الشائع هو أن محتوى الشبكة الاجتماعية هو لعبة عادلة للمسوقين. ما لم تكن تعمل في الشبكات الاجتماعية ، فهذا ليس هو الحال. على سبيل المثال، شروط خدمة Facebook تأمين حق الشركة في استخدام محتوى المستخدم وحتى الترخيص الفرعي لشركات أخرى. تويتر عالميًا ، غير حصري ، ترخيص بدون حقوق ملكية (مع حق الترخيص من الباطن) يمنحهم الحرية الكاملة لتحقيق الدخل من محتوى المستخدم. لدى فليكر أساسًا سلطة غير محدودة للاستفادة من هذا المحتوى.

عادة ما تعرف الشبكات الاجتماعية أفضل من إساءة استخدام هذا الحق. كما اكتشف Instagram في أواخر عام 2012 ، فإن شروط الخدمة التي تعد بتحويل الصور الشخصية إلى إعلانات - بدون تعويض - يمكن أن تثير جنونًا إعلاميًا يخيفك نصف قاعدة المستخدمين. إذا لم تتمكن الشبكات الاجتماعية من إعادة توظيف المحتوى الذي ينشئه المستخدمون دون احتجاج عام ، فلا يمكنك ذلك أيضًا.

بينما يعرف المسوقون مخاطر إعادة توجيه المحتوى الذي ينشئه المستخدمون دون الحصول على موافقة ، فإن فرص اكتشافهم تبدو منخفضة. راحة المحتوى "المجاني" المخادع يمكن أن تلغي حكمنا. نحن نحسد نجاح حملات UGC مثل ALS Ice Bucket Challenge ، ونرحب بالتحدي للمنافسة على هذا المستوى. ومع ذلك ، في النهاية ، سيتعين على جهات التسويق احترام الحقوق الرقمية أو مشاهدة نتائج عكسية للمحتوى الذي ينشئه المستخدمون.

فكيف يمكننا حل هذه المشكلة؟ حقوق الملكية الفكرية قريبة وعزيزة على قلبي - في الكشف الكامل ، قمت بتأسيس Scoopshot ، منصة التعهيد الجماعي للصور ، للمساعدة في مكافحة هذه المشكلة. على الرغم من عدم وجود طريقة واحدة لالتقاط المحتوى الذي ينشئه المستخدمون وتنظيمه ونشره ، يجب أن تقدم التقنية التي تختارها نظامًا فعالاً لمصادقة الصور وتأمين إصدارات النماذج والحصول على حقوق الصورة. بمزيد من التفصيل ، إليك المشكلات الثلاث التي يجب معالجتها لاستخدام UGC بشكل مسؤول:

  1. كيف أعرف أن الصورة أصلية؟ بعد نشر صورة على إحدى الشبكات الاجتماعية ، يكاد يكون من المستحيل تأكيد تاريخها. هل تم تصويرها من قبل المستخدم ونشرها مباشرة؟ هل تم قطعها من مدونة؟ هل هو فوتوشوبد؟ إذا كانت جهود تسويق المحتوى وصحافة العلامة التجارية تجعلك تلتزم بمستوى عالٍ من النزاهة ، فإن أصول صورك مهمة. بصرف النظر عن الدعاوى القضائية المحتملة ، يمكن أن يؤدي اختلاس الصورة أو تشويهها إلى فقدان الثقة مع جمهورك. يحتاج حل UGC الخاص بك إلى التأكد من عدم تمكن أي شخص من التلاعب بالصورة بين التقاطها وتمريرها بين يديك. إذا تم نشر الصورة بالفعل على الويب ، فلا يمكنك التأكد من ذلك.
  2. هل لدي إذن بنشر هذه الصورة؟ - يحب العملاء المخلصون المشاركة في UGC. إنهم يشعرون بالفخر لأنك اخترت موادهم لتمثيل علامتك التجارية أمام العالم. ومع ذلك ، قد لا يشاركون أسرهم وأصدقائهم هذا الشعور. لذلك ، لنفترض أن أحد المعجبين على Facebook يمنحك الإذن باستخدام صورة لها وثلاثة من أصدقائها يرتدون ماركة الملابس الخاصة بك. إذا فشلت في الحصول على إصدارات نموذجية لجميع الأشخاص الأربعة ، فيمكن لأي منهم مقاضاتك. لسوء الحظ ، قد تكون عملية الاتصال بكل شخص والحصول على الإفراج عنهم مملة. بدلاً من تتبع كل ما تم إنجازه ، يمكنك اختيار أداة تجميع المحتوى الذي ينشئه المستخدمون والتي تجمع إصدارات النماذج تلقائيًا ضمن سير عملك.
  3. كيف يمكنني شراء وإثبات حقوق الصور؟ من أجل حماية نفسك ، احصل بشكل قانوني على تراخيص نقل الصور بين المنشئ ومنظمتك ووثقها. بالتأكيد ، يمكنك استخدام سجلات البريد الإلكتروني أو الفواتير لإثبات أنك قمت بنقل الترخيص بشكل صحيح ، ولكن هذا يصبح فوضويًا للغاية إذا كنت تجمع الآلاف من الصور التي أنشأها المستخدم. سير عمل UGC.

في نهاية اليوم ، لا تساوي صور Facebook و Twitter دعوى قضائية بملايين الدولارات وفضيحة علاقات عامة. يعد المحتوى الذي ينشئه المستخدمون عنصرًا أساسيًا في تسويق المحتوى الحديث ، ولكنه يتطلب التنفيذ الدقيق. كان من الممكن تفادي كارثتي BuzzFeed و Getty Images / AFP ، ولا يساورني شك في أن هذه الشركات أعادت هندسة عمليتها لإدارة حقوق الصور.

بصفتك مسوقًا ، قم بحماية مصداقيتك وتكتيكاتك ووظيفتك. ساعد مجتمعنا بأكمله في حفظ المحتوى الذي ينشئه المستخدمون من رد فعل عنيف محتمل.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing,

How to Harness User-Generated Content Without Being Sued

User-generated images have become a valuable asset for marketers and media brands, providing some of most engaging and cost effective content for campaigns– unless of course it results in multimillion dollar lawsuit. Each year, several brands learn this the hard way. In 2013, a photographer sued BuzzFeed for $3.6 million after discovering the site had used one of his Flickr photos without permission. Getty Images and Agence France-Presse (AFP) also suffered a $1.2 million lawsuit after pulling a photographer’s Twitter photos without consent.

The conflict between user-generated content (UGC) and digital rights has become perilous for brands. UGC has become the key to unlocking the Millennial generation, who reportedly devote over 5.4 hours per day (i.e. 30 percent of total media time) to UGC, and claim to trust it above all other content. However, a high profile lawsuit, will ultimately undo the trust and authenticity that UGC aims to create.

A common misunderstanding is that social network content is fair game for marketers. Unless you work for the social networks, this is not the case. For instance, Facebook’s terms of service secure the company’s right to use and even sub-license user content to other companies. Twitter’s worldwide, non-exclusive, royalty-free license (with the right to sublicense) effectively grants them complete freedom to monetize user content. Flickr essentially has unlimited authority to utilize such content.

Social networks typically know better than to abuse this right. As Instagram discovered in late 2012, terms of service that promise to convert personal images into advertisements – without compensation – can spark a media frenzy that scares away half the user base. If social networks can’t legally repurpose UGC without public outcry, neither can you.

While marketers know the risks of repurposing user-generated content without approval, the chances of being caught seem low. The convenience of deceivingly ‘free’ content can cloud our judgment. We envy the success of UGC campaigns like the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge, and welcome the challenge to compete on that level. Ultimately, however, marketers will have to respect digital rights or watch UGC backfire.

So how can we solve this problem? Intellectual property rights are near and dear to my heart – in full disclosure, I founded Scoopshot, an image crowdsourcing platform, to help combat this problem. While there is no single method to capturing, organizing and deploying UGC, the technology you choose should offer an efficient system for authenticating images, securing model releases and obtaining image rights. In greater detail, here are the three issues you must address to use UGC responsibly:

  1. How do I know an image is authentic? After a photo posts to a social network, its nearly impossible to confirm its history. Was it shot by the user and posted directly? Was it snagged from a blog? Is it photoshopped? If your content marketing and brand journalism efforts hold you to a high standard of integrity, the origins of your images matter. Aside from potential lawsuits, misappropriating or mischaracterizing an image can lead to loss of trust with your audience. Your UGC solution needs to ensure that no one could manipulate the image between it being captured and being passed in your hands. If the image has already posted on the web, you can’t be certain about that.
  2. Do I have permission to publish this photo? – Loyal customers love to participate in UGC. They feel honored that you chose their material to represent you brand to the world. However, their family and friends might not share that sentiment. So, let’s say a Facebook fan gives you permission to use a photo of her and three friends wearing your clothing brand. If you fail to obtain model releases for all four people, any one of them can sue you. Unfortunately, the process of contacting each person and obtaining releases can be tedious. Rather than track everyone done, you can opt for a UGC collection tool that automatically collects model releases within your workflow.
  3. How do I purchase and prove image rights? In order to protect yourself, legally obtain and document the transfer of image licenses between the creator and your organization. Sure, you could use email records or invoices to show that you have rightfully transferred the license, but this gets extremely messy if you’re collecting thousands of user-generated images.I suggest using technology that automates the exchange of intellectual property rights into your UGC workflow.

At the end of the day, Facebook and Twitter photos aren’t worth a multimillion dollar lawsuit and PR scandal. UGC is a key component of modern content marketing, but it requires careful execution. The BuzzFeed and Getty Images/AFP debacles were both preventable, and I have no doubt that these companies have reengineered their process for managing image rights.

As a marketer, protect your credibility, your tactics and your job. Help our entire community save UGC from a potential backlash.

Leave a Reply