فهم قيمة التأثير

تأثير

كان لدينا مؤخرًا شركة أرادت منا المساعدة في الترويج لمنصتها للمستثمرين والأشخاص الرئيسيين في الصناعة والعملاء. لم يكن لدى الشركة الأموال اللازمة للحصول على خدماتنا ، لذلك طلبنا بعض الحصرية ونسبة من الإيرادات أو الأرباح التي قد تأتي من نمو الشركة أو بيعها. انها لن يحدث. لم يتخيلوا أننا كنا نطلب الكثير لمثل هذا الجهد القليل من جانبنا.

الوصول إلى النفوذ

بصرف النظر عن خطر عدم الحصول على تعويض على الإطلاق لجهودنا ، هناك صورة أكبر بكثير لم يفهمها هذا الاحتمال. لم يدفعوا ثمن الجهد الذي نبذله لهم من الآن فصاعدًا ، بل كانوا يدفعون مقابل الجهد الذي كنا نعمل عليه طوال العشرين عامًا الماضية. لدينا واحدة من أفضل الشبكات في الصناعة بسبب الوقت والعناية الموضوعة في بناء العلاقات مع أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين. لدينا واحدة من أفضل المدونات في الصناعة بسبب الموارد التي طبقناها يومًا بعد يوم لمدة عقد تقريبًا. بعبارة أخرى ، نحن لا نربط التعويض بما نحن عليه الآن فعل، فنحن نربطها بما لدينا بالفعل فعل.

يعد الوصول إلى جمهورنا والوصول إلى خبرتنا والوصول إلى شبكتنا أمرًا ذا قيمة. لكنها ذات قيمة فقط لأننا استثمرنا في ذلك الجمهور والخبرة والشبكة طوال وظائفنا. بينما نطلب نسبة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى ستة أرقام ، فإنهم يطلبون الوصول الذي استثمرنا فيه ملايين الدولارات.

5٪ في المائة من الصفر

غالبًا ما تبالغ الشركات في تقدير نفسها ... خاصة عبر الإنترنت. اسأل أي شخص لديه تطبيق وسيخبرك غالبًا عن صناعة المليار دولار التي يعمل بها وعن فرصة منتجهم لكسب عشرات أو مئات الملايين من الدولارات. إذا تخلوا عن 5٪ من شركتهم ذات المائة مليون دولار ، فهذا يعني 5 ملايين دولار! كيف يمكننا أن نستحق 5 ملايين دولار؟

المشكلة هي أنهم ليسوا شركة مائة مليون دولار. في الواقع ، تفشل غالبية الشركات تمامًا. بدون قاعدة عملاء مزدهرة ، ويتم تسويقها جيدًا في الصناعة ، وإمكانية الوصول إلى الاستثمار ، فهي تساوي 0 دولار ... بغض النظر عن الاستثمار الذي قاموا به حتى الآن. و 5٪ من 0 هي 0 دولار. إنها تساوي 0 دولارًا أمريكيًا بدون مساعدتنا ... ولكن بمساعدتنا ، لديهم فرصة أكبر ليكونوا أكثر من ذلك بكثير.

عندما لا يمكن تقديم ضمان بنسبة مئوية ، كان علينا الابتعاد عن الاحتمال. لقد قدمناهم بالفعل إلى أحد المؤثرين الرئيسيين داخل شبكتنا والذي يمكن أن يؤدي إلى نمو أو استثمار سريع. لقد اعتقدوا أن الجهد كان ضئيلاً ... مجرد بريد إلكتروني أدى إلى التضمين في منشور مدونة. إنهم لا يقدرون حقيقة أن هذا البريد الإلكتروني استغرق منا سنوات ، وسبب ذكرهم كان بسبب احترام المؤثر لنا. لقد تطلب الأمر الكثير من العمل بالنسبة لنا للوصول إلى هذه النقطة. من المؤسف أنهم لا يفهمون هذه القيمة.

5٪ من الملايين

إن استثمار 5٪ من الشركة في المؤثر الذي يمكنه أن يجني ملايين الدولارات هو استثمار ضئيل للغاية. يمكن للشركة أن تتخلى عن الملايين ، ونعم ، يمكننا أن نحصل على مبلغ جيد أيضًا. لكن الشركة لم تكن لتتلقى هذه الملايين أبدًا لولا استخدام مواردنا (المعرفة ، الشبكة ، الجمهور).

لا أرى هذا مختلفًا عن شخص قضى سنوات في كتابة كتاب ويرغب في بيعه. يذهبون إلى ناشر. يمتلك هذا الناشر إمكانات التسويق والتوزيع والنشر. في مقابل غالبية الإيرادات ، يتعاملون مع المؤلف. الناشر لا يجازف أبدًا بجني دولار ، ولكنه قد يربح الكثير أيضًا. يخاطر المؤلف بعدم بيع نسخة أبدًا ، ما لم يتمكن من الوصول إلى موارد الناشر.

إنها علاقة عمل تعمل في العديد من الصناعات وهي علاقة عمل تعمل مع التكنولوجيا.

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    التأثير مثل الخبرة. قد يستغرق التقديم دقيقة واحدة فقط ، لكن الحصول عليه يستغرق مدى الحياة.

    علاوة على ذلك ، كلما كان لديك المزيد من الأسهل ، يبدو أن التمرين من منظور أولئك الذين ليس لديهم.

    من السهل التقليل من قيمة أي شيء ليس لديك. من السهل بشكل خاص التقليل من قيمة ما لا يمكنك الحصول عليه على الفور بغض النظر عن مقدار الأموال التي تنفقها.

  2. 2

    دوغلاس

    هذا منشور رائع على عدة مستويات….

    أولاً ، يجب على كل وكالة ومستشار قراءته لفهم القيمة التي يمتلكونها وتقييمها بشكل أفضل. سيكونون أكثر ثراءً لذلك.

    ثانيًا ، تحتاج كل شركة ناشئة إلى فهم القوة المجنونة في التأثير والتأييد لدفع عمليات إطلاقها أو زعزعة نموها.

    قبل 20 عامًا ، عملت مع مستشار تسويق معروف لم يفعل شيئًا سوى المشاريع المشتركة الهندسية. جلبت واحدة من تلك المشاريع له 3 ملايين دولار في عطلة نهاية أسبوع واحدة.

    شكرًا مرة أخرى على التذكير العظيم بأن التأثير = الرافعة المالية. تسخيرها.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Understanding the Value of Influence

We recently had a company who wanted us to help promote their platform to investors, key people in the industry, and clients. The company didn’t have the funds to acquire our services so we requested some exclusivity and a percentage of the revenue or profit that may come from the growth or sale of the company. It’s not going to happen. They couldn’t imagine that we were asking for so much for such little effort on our part.

Accessing Influence

Aside from the risk of not ever getting compensated for our efforts, there’s a much bigger picture that this prospect did not understand. They weren’t paying for the effort we would make for them from here on out, they were paying for the effort that we’ve been working on for the last 20 years. We have one of the best networks in the industry because of the time and care put into building relationships with key stakeholders. We have one of the best blogs in the industry because of the resources we’ve applied day after day for about a decade. In other words, we’re not tying the compensation to what we are doing, we’re tying it to what we’ve already done.

Access to our audience, access to our expertise and access to our network is valuable. But it’s valuable only because we’ve invested in that audience, expertise and network for our entire careers. While we’re asking for a percentage that could lead to six figures, they’re asking for access that we’ve invested millions of dollars into.

5% Percent of Zero

Companies almost always overvalue themselves… especially online. Ask anyone with an app and they’ll often tell you about the billion dollar industry they’re in and the opportunity for their product to make tens or hundreds of millions of dollars. If they give away 5% of their hundred million dollar company, that’s $5 million! How could we possibly deserve $5 million?

The problem is that they’re not a hundred million dollar company. In fact, the majority of companies fail altogether. Without a thriving client-base, being well-marketed in the industry, and access to investment, they’re worth $0… regardless of the investment they’ve made to date. And 5% of 0 is $0. They’re worth $0 without our assistance… but with our assistance, they have a greater chance of being so much more.

When no guarantee of a percentage could be provided, we had to walk away from the prospect. We had already introduced them to one key influencer within our network that could very well lead to rapid growth or investment. They thought that effort was minimal… just an email that led to inclusion in a blog post. They don’t value the fact that that email took us years to come by and the reason why they were mentioned was because of the respect the influencer had for us. It took a lot of work for us to get to that point. It’s unfortunate they don’t understand that value.

5% of Millions

Investing 5% of a company into an influencer who could drive millions of dollars is a tiny investment to make. The company could walk away with millions and, yes, we could walk away with a healthy sum as well. But the company would have never received those millions had it not been for using our resources (knowledge, network, audience).

I don’t see this any different than someone who has spent years writing a book and wishes to sell it. They go to a publisher. That publisher has the marketing, the distribution, and the publishing capabilities. In exchange for the majority of the revenue, they do business with the author. The publisher risks never making a dollar, but could also make a lot. The author risks never selling a copy, unless they get access to the publisher’s resources.

It’s a business relationship that works throughout several industries and it’s a business relationship that works with technology.

2 Comments

  1. 1

    Influence is like expertise. It may only take a minute to apply, but it takes a lifetime to acquire.

    Furthermore the more that you have the easier it appears to exercise from the perspective of those that don’t have it.

    It is easy to undervalue anything which you don’t have. It is especially easy to undervalue that which you cannot instantly acquire no matter how much money you spend.

  2. 2

    Douglass,

    This is such a great post on many levels….

    First, every agency and consultant needs to read it to better understand and value the value they possess. They’ll be richer for it.

    Second, every start-up needs to understand the insane power in influence and endorsements for catapulting their launches or jolting their growth.

    20 years ago I worked with a well known marketing consultant doing nothing but engineering joint ventures. Just one of those ventures brought him $3 Million in a single weekend.

    Thanks again for the great reminder that Influence = leverage. Harness it.

Leave a Reply