ما الذي يميز وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي؟

الضعيفة

الضعيفةفي الأسبوع الماضي ، ذكرت هذا أحد الأسباب كانت وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي تفشل كان العديد من المسوقين لأننا لم نتعرف على الخوارزمية السحرية. ما زلت لا أعتقد أن هناك خوارزمية سحرية ... لكن بعد هذا الأسبوع ، يمكنني الإشارة إلى إحدى السمات الخاصة لوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. إنه الضعف.

القسم التالي شخصي نوعًا ما ... لذلك إذا كنت تشعر أنه كثير قليلاً ، فانتقل إلى القسم الذي يليه!

عن فقدان جدي

كان هذا الشهر قاسياً. قبل أسبوعين ، دفنت صديقًا جيدًا من المدرسة الثانوية. وبالامس دفننا رب العائلة والرجل الذي سميت باسمه جدي ، دوغلاس مورلي. أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم أجداد لا يصدقون ... لكن جدي كان شخصًا فريدًا من نوعه. التحق بالجيش الملكي الكندي وخدم في الحرب العالمية الثانية. كان خبير متفجرات ، متقاعد برتبة نقيب. في وقت لم يكن يحظى فيه بشعبية كبيرة ، اختار الزواج من امرأة يهودية شقراء جميلة - جدتي ، سيلفيا.

كانت جدتي أيضًا امرأة فريدة وقوية. حتى وفاتها في عام 2003 ، كانت الأم الهادئة للأسرة. بينما كان جدي يخدم في جميع أنحاء أوروبا ، أنشأت جدتي شركة ناجحة - لم يسمع بها أحد في ذلك الوقت. كان جدي يعبد جدتي…. وأنا لا أقول ذلك باستخفاف. عندما فقد جدي زوجته بعد 58 عامًا من زواج جميل ، كتب ذلك الأجنحة التي ساعدته على الطيران طوال حياته قد تم قصها. لست متأكدًا من أنني شاهدت يومًا رجلاً كان مخلصًا بشكل غير مشروط ، وغير أناني لزوجته.

مع فشل صحتها ، قفز جدي كل فرصة لانتظار جدتي. لم يتردد أبدًا - حتى مع مشاكل ظهره ومشكلاته الصحية. عندما أصبحت الأمور صعبة حقًا ، وضعها في مأوى. بعد أيام ، لم يعجبه كيف يتم الاعتناء بها وإنشاء غرفة في المنزل. كان بجانب سريرها ليلا ونهارا. كان لديه أشخاص يأتون لعمل أظافرها وشعرها أيضًا. كان شيئا أقل من مذهلة.

في الجنازة ، التقيت بالعديد من الأشخاص الذين لمسهم جدي. مثل بستاني لا يتحدث الإنجليزية كان يعتني بمنزل جدي. لم أكن أعرف أبدًا أن جدي قام بتمويل أعمال الرجل. قابلت القائم بأعماله ، وهي امرأة أمريكية من أصل أفريقي بكت على نعشه وأخبرتني أنها لم تشعر أبدًا بالحب من قبل أي شخص. قابلت الحاخام الذي استمر في الدراسة معه بعد وفاة جدتي (رغم أنه ظل بروتستانتيًا). كان هناك أناس من جميع أنحاء العالم جاءوا أو أرسلوا تعازيهم. جاء الماسونيون وأقاموا طقوسهم وداع أخ. جاء عضو من الفيلق الأمريكي وقام بتكريم محارب آخر فقد من الجيل الأعظم.

تم دفن جدي بالزي الرسمي ... ودائمًا الجوكر ، تم دفنه أيضًا بمفتاح جرس الباب الذي طلبه في حالة استيقاظه (أخبر حفيده الأكبر أنه سوف يربطها بشكل عشوائي عندما زارت أمي المقبرة!). بعد أن لعبت القربة الله حفظ الملكة و آخر مشاركة في… أضاءت مزمار القربة مع عرض لا يصدق من هافا ناجيلا. لقد ابتهجنا جميعًا وضحكنا ، وذرفنا دمعة ... وابتسمنا جميعًا وقلنا وداعًا لرجل رائع.

لست متأكدًا من أن أي شخص قد حصل على مثل هذا التقدير الغريب والرائع. من المهم أن نلاحظ أن أمي ، التي اعتنت به بلا أنانية ليلا ونهارا خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية ، خططت لهذا المعرض الرائع.

العودة إلى وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية

عندما كتبت أن جدي توفي عبر Facebook ، استغرق المئات من الأشخاص وقتًا للتعليق. تلقيت عددًا هائلاً من رسائل البريد الإلكتروني والرسائل النصية والتغريدات والمكالمات الهاتفية والملاحظات الشخصية. لم أشارك كثيرًا منذ ذلك الحين ... الأسرة هي المفتاح الآن وكان دعم أمي (الطفلة الوحيدة) محور اهتمامي. كان عملائي وأصدقائي ومتابعوني جميعًا داعمين جدًا لي مهلة من كونها اجتماعية. لا يمكن للكلمات أن تعبر عن مدى ابتعاري عنك يا رفاق. شكرا لك.

أنا لا أكتب أيًا من هذا للتعاطف أو التعاطف ... أردت فقط أن أتابع عندما يمكنني أن أشارككم أيها الناس لماذا كنت هادئًا. أعتقد أن حياة جدي تحتاج إلى المشاركة والاحتفاء ، وليس الحزن.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، جعلني ذلك أفهم ما قد يكون مميزًا جدًا في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. لقد مررت دائمًا بوقت عصيب مع الكلمة اشتباك... لقد بدأ يبدو مع سبق الإصرار ومصنع. الضعف ليس هو نفس المشاركة. تحدث المشاركة بين طرفين راغبين ... تحدث الثغرة عندما يفتح أحد الطرفين نفسه للآخر. يمكن أن يفتحك الضعف أيضًا أمام الازدراء والسخرية والنقد المحتمل. ولكن الأهم من ذلك ، أن الضعف يفتح المجال أمامك للتواصل على مستوى مع جمهورك لا يمكن أن توفره أي وسيلة اتصال أخرى. لا يمكن كتابة كونك ضعيفًا في أي نص تسويق.

هذا هو ما يميز وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

3 تعليقات

  1. 1

    تعازي الحارة يا صديقي. يبدو أن جدك رجل رائع. أتمنى لو تشرفت بلقائه. كنت محظوظًا بمعرفة أجدادك. ماتت مني عندما كنت صغيرًا جدًا على التذكر. لذا نعتز بالذكريات.

    BB

  2. 3

    أعمل في مجال التسويق منذ 30 عامًا. تعمل وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي فقط عندما يكون هناك تفاعل مباشر وتواصل حقيقي. أجد أنه من الممتع أن يتم التعامل معها على أنها رصاصة سحرية. بدون المشاركة والتواصل الحقيقي هو تمرين في العبث. عدد المتابعين ثانوي بالنسبة لجودة تلك المشاركة.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

What’s So Special About Social Media?

Last week, I mentioned that one of the reasons social media was failing many marketers was because we haven’t identified the magic algorithm. I still don’t think there is a magic algorithm… but after this week, I can point to one of the special traits of social media. It’s vulnerability.

The next section is sort of personal… so if you feel it’s a bit much, then jump to the section following it!

About the Loss of My Grandfather

This month has been a rough one. A couple weeks ago, I buried a good friend from high school. And yesterday, we buried the family patriarch and the man I was named after, my grandfather, Douglas Morley. I know many folks have some incredible grandparents… but my grandfather was quite a unique person. He enlisted in the Canadian Royal Army and served in World War II. He was an explosives expert, was commissioned and retired at the rank of Captain. In a time when it wasn’t quite popular, he chose to marry a beautiful blonde Jewish woman – my Grandmother, Sylvia.

My grandmother was an unique, strong woman as well. Until her death in 2003, she was the quiet matriarch of the family. While my grandfather served throughout Europe, my grandmother grew a successful company – quite unheard of at that time. My grandfather worshipped my grandmother…. and I don’t say that lightly. When my grandfather lost his wife after 58 years of a beautiful marriage, he wrote that the wings that had helped him fly his entire life had been clipped. I’m not sure that I’ve ever witnessed a man who was so unconditionally, unselfishly devoted to his wife.

As her health failed, every chance to wait on my grandmother was jumped on by my grandfather. He never hesitated – even with his own back problems and health issues. When things got really tough, he put her in a hospice. Days after, he didn’t like how she was being cared for and set up a room back home. He was by her bedside day and night. He had folks come in to do her nails and hair, too. It was nothing short of amazing.

At the funeral, I met many people that my grandfather had touched. Like a gardener who didn’t speak English that took care of my grandfather’s home. I never knew that my grandfather had financed the man’s business. I met his caretaker, an African American woman who cried over his coffin and told me that she had never felt more loved by any person. I met his Rabbi, who he continued to study with after my grandmother passed (even though he remained a Protestant). There were folks from all over the world that either came or sent their condolences. The Masons came and gave their ceremonious farewell to a brother. A member of the American Legion came and paid homage to another veteran lost from the greatest generation.

My grandfather was buried in his dress uniform… and always the joker, he was also buried with a doorbell switch he asked for in the event he woke up (he told his great grandson he was going to wire it up to randomly go off when my Mom visited the cemetery!). After the bagpiper played God Save the Queen and The Last Post… the bagpipes lit up with an incredible rendition of Hava Nagila. We all cheered and laughed, we all shed a tear… and we all smiled and said goodbye to an incredible man.

I’m not sure anyone has had such a strange and wonderful tribute given to them. It’s important to note that my Mom, who unselfishly cared for him day and night these last few years, planned this incredible fairwell.

Back to Social Media

When I wrote that my grandfather passed on Facebook, hundreds of people took the time to comment. I received a deluge of emails, text messages, tweets, phone calls and personal notes. I haven’t participated much since then… the family is key right now and supporting my Mom (an only child) has been the focus of my attention. My clients, friends, and followers have all been so supportive of my time out from being social. Words can’t express how blown away I’ve been from you folks. Thank-you.

I’m not writing any of this for empathy or sympathy… I just wanted to follow up when I could and share with you folks why I’ve been quiet. I believe my grandfather’s life needs shared and celebrated, not mourned.

As well, it’s made me understand what may be so special about social media. I’ve always had a rough time with the word engagement… it’s beginning to sound premeditated and manufactured. Vulnerability isn’t the same as engagement. Engagement happens between two willing parties… vulnerability happens when one party simply opens themselves up to the other. Vulnerability can also open you up to scorn, ridicule and possible criticism. But more importantly, vulnerability opens you up to connecting on a level with your audience that no other means of communication could provide. Being vulnerable can’t be written into any marketing script.

That’s what is so special about social media.

3 Comments

  1. 1

    My sincere condolences ole friend. Your Grandfather sounds like an amazing man. I wish I had the privilege to have met him. You were fortunate to know your grandparents. Mine died when I was too young to remember. So cherish the memories.

    BB

  2. 3

    I’ve been in marketing for 30 years. Social media works only when there is direct engagement and real communication. I find it amusing that it is often treated as a magic bullet. Without engagement and real communication it is an exercise in futility. The number of followers is secondary to the quality of that engagement.

Leave a Reply