الغرب مقابل الغرب الأوسط الجولة الثانية

إنديانا

الديباجة

في الأسبوع الماضي ، كنت عضوًا في لوحة في The Combine - عام 2010 Go West: يشارك سكان الغرب الأوسط السابقون الذين انتقلوا إلى وادي السيليكون قصصهم. كنت واحدًا من أربعة أشخاص يناقشون قصصنا الشخصية ، وقد أحدث ذلك عاصفة نارية على Twitter وذهبت إلى Cat 4 عندما نشر دوج كار ردود أفعاله عندما قام بتلخيص الجمع بين 2010 هنا.

كل هذه المشاعر كانت مبررة تمامًا نظرًا للطبيعة السطحية للتنسيق ، والتي هي ناضجة للقطع الصوتية المضحكة ، ولكنها غير كافية لإلقاء الضوء حقًا على شيء يستحق أكثر من 10 دقائق من الدردشة غير الرسمية لكل شخص. لقد كان دوغ كار كريماً للغاية في إعطائي الفرصة للتعمق في هذه المناقشة لإعطاء وجهة نظري - ليس حول ما حدث في Combine - ولكن لإعادة تأطيرها من مناقشة بين الغرب ضد الغرب الأوسط (معي في دور Drago) إلى شركة توفر مزيدًا من العمق حول ريادة الأعمال هنا في سان فرانسيسكو وفي الغرب الأوسط (في حالتي بلومنجتون ، إنديانا).

أعتقد أن هناك دروسًا ، تستند إلى انتقادات مشروعة ، يمكن أن توفر فرصًا في هذا لنا جميعًا بغض النظر عن الجانب الذي نحن فيه. بعد كل شيء ، أليس هذا من الركائز الأساسية لريادة الأعمال؟

الخبرات المشتركة تشكل مجتمعنا وثقافتنا

المجتمع خارج الغرب وفي الغرب الأوسط كلاهما مهم بنفس القدر في كلا الموقعين ، ولكن هناك مقارنة بين التفاح والبرتقال عندما يتعلق الأمر بديناميات مكياجهم. تتناسب قصتي مع الكثيرين هنا: الانتقال إلى الغرب هو استعارة نشطة لها تاريخ غني ومكثف في تطور بلدنا. على عكس لويس وكلارك ، لا أحد اليوم يجدف في المنبع ، ويقاتل الدببة الرمادية ويتفاوض على المرور مع المتحاربين الهنود الأمريكيون الأصليون ، ولكن مثلهم ، نتشارك جميعًا في إحساس مماثل بالالتقاء - لقاءات مع أشخاص ومناظر طبيعية ومع أنفسنا وقيودنا لأننا خاطرنا بترك وسائل الراحة في المنزل والانتقال إلى الغرب. ليس الكثير منا من هنا ، لكننا نبني مجتمعنا من هذه التجارب المشتركة خارج تلك التقاليد مثل اللغة والطبقة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية واللون وكراهية كاني ويست.

في الغرب الأوسط ، يعد المجتمع أحد أقوى السمات وأكثرها تحسدًا على أي ثقافة في العالم. يقدر الناس في الغرب الأوسط دعم بعضهم البعض ، وأن يكونوا مضيافين بشكل مفرط (ما لم تكن في إحدى مباريات كرة القدم في أوهايو سانت ميتش) ، ودائمًا ما تنجز المهمة بأقل قدر ممكن من الضجة (إذا كانت جامعة إنديانا تضع الأسماء على ظهورها على الإطلاق) من قمصانهم ، لن أتفاجأ إذا تحول بلومنجتون إلى كومة من الحجر الجيري المشتعل). هذا الإحساس بالانتماء للمجتمع قوي للغاية ، سيكون من الجنون تركه وراءك للانتقال إلى مكان يمكنك فيه دفع 1,700 دولار شهريًا للعيش في صندوق أحذية فوق خط صدع نشط.

لذلك ، لدى كلا المجتمعين روابط قوية للغاية ، لكن القيم والخبرات التي تخلق تلك الروابط تنتج بعض المزايا والعيوب في ريادة الأعمال. على المدى القصير ، فإن ولاية إنديانا حاليًا في وضع غير مؤات.

المخاطر والمكافأة

لا أحد فيلمفي الاستخفاف للغاية اسمي لا أحد، بطل الرواية "لا أحد" (الذي يلعبه Terrance Hill) يأخذ رصاصتين من خلال قبعة رعاة البقر الخاصة به من حامل السلاح الأسطوري Jack Beauregard (الذي يلعبه Henry Fonda) ، لإثبات مصداقيته له. الحوار الذي يتبادلونه الرائع:

  • جاك: قل لي ، ما هي لعبتك؟
  • لا أحد: عندما كنت طفلاً ، كنت أتظاهر بأنني جاك بيوريجارد.
  • جاك: ... والآن بعد أن كبرت؟
  • لا أحد: أنا أكثر حذرا. لكن المخاطرة في بعض الأحيان ، يمكن أن تجلب المكافآت ، كما تعلم.
  • جاك: إذا كانت المخاطرة قليلة ، فإن المكافأة قليلة.

يكمن الاختلاف الأكبر الذي أشير إليه في الثقافات بين الغرب والغرب الأوسط في هذه البديهية. في العامين الماضيين من الانخراط في مجتمعات الويب والتكنولوجيا في إندي وبلومنجتون ، أستطيع أن أقول على وجه اليقين ، هذه هي أكبر مشكلة فردية تواجه إنديانا في أن تصبح بولدر القادم أو وادي السيليكون التالي. هذا لا ليس يعني ذلك لا أحد يخاطر ، أو أنه لا توجد أي تطورات ذات مغزى تحدث في ولاية إنديانا. ولكن ، ما يعنيه ذلك ، هو أن أحد المكونات الرئيسية لبناء مجتمع تقني ناجح لم يقتنع تمامًا بمفهوم المخاطر الكبيرة حتى الآن.

المكانة الحاسمة في أي عمل تقني هي المؤسس المشارك التقني أو المطور الرئيسي (duh). الطلب على هذه الأنواع من الناس يفوق بكثير العرض ، وهذا صحيح في سان فرانسيسكو أيضًا. يتمثل الاختلاف الرئيسي في ولاية إنديانا في أن عددًا غير مناسب من الأشخاص ذوي المهارات التقنية لبناء منتج ويب قد استجابوا لهذا التفاوت في العرض والطلب من خلال إنشاء "متاجر تطوير" تقوم "بالتعهيد" للتطوير التقني. هذا يتطلب من رواد الأعمال غير التقنيين أن يوزعوا كل رأس مالهم المكتسب بصعوبة و / أو رأس المال لدفع أموال لشخص ليس لديه جلد في اللعبة. لقد تحدثت مع العديد من المطورين من Indy و Bloomington الذين كانوا يتقاضون رواتب مذهلة ويعتقدون أيضًا أنهم رواد أعمال لأنهم يحلون مشاكل بدء التشغيل. لكنهم في الحقيقة ليسوا كذلك. لن تكون رائد أعمال حتى تتخلى عن وسادتك ، وترمي قبعتك مع أي شخص آخر وتضحي حتى تصنع شيئًا يخلق قيمة ويجني المال. إذا قمت بتقديم W-2 كل عام ، فأنت لست رائد أعمال.

Douglas Karr وقد قام العديد من الأشخاص الآخرين بعمل رائع في إنشاء Indy كنقطة فعالة للتسويق التكنولوجي. هذا رائع. ومع ذلك ، يحتاج المؤسسون الآخرون الذين يتطلعون إلى بناء Facebook / Google / وما إلى ذلك إلى بعض المواهب الهندسية الجادة. إنه موجود هنا ، لكن لم يتم تخصيصه بشكل صحيح والحوافز غير متوافقة. أعرف العديد من رواد الأعمال غير التقنيين في إنديانا الذين هم في أمس الحاجة إلى المواهب التطويرية ولا يمكنهم الحصول عليها ما لم يدفعوا نقدًا أو يتخلوا عن حقوق ملكية لن تبقى في الخيمة بمجرد إصدارها. لذلك ، لا تزال إنديانا تخسر رواد الأعمال الموهوبين للغاية هؤلاء لصالح سان فرانسيسكو والوادي لأن هذا اللغز غير موجود بأعداد غير متكافئة هنا. أنا لا أقول إنك "لا تستطيع أن تنجح إلا إذا انتقلت إلى الغرب". ما أقوله هو أنه كان من الصعب جدًا على المؤسسين غير التقنيين العثور على مؤسسين تقنيين يحتاجون إليه للتنافس مع الشركات الناشئة والشركات خارج الغرب التي ليس لديها نفس المشكلة.

لكن بشرى سارة لولاية إنديانا. بدأت الأمور تتحرك ببطء ، ولا أعتقد أن هذه ستكون مشكلة على المدى الطويل. حتى متى؟ لا أعرف ، لكن إذا كنت رائد أعمال في ولاية إنديانا ولا أريد أن أتحرك غربًا ، فسأضرب هذا الحصان حتى يتحول إلى كومة من الجزيئات.

5 تعليقات

  1. 1

    dougheinz أنت رجل حقيقي ، دوغ. إنني أقدر حقًا المنشور المتفائل ووجهة النظر الرائعة التي قدمتها إلى هذه المناقشة. أجرؤ على القول ، لقد كنت أكثر تفاؤلاً بكثير من بعض أصوات الغرب الأوسط السلبية التي دقت لتوبيخني في منشوري. شكرا لأخذ الوقت!

  2. 2
  3. 3

    عدت إلى إنديانابوليس بعد 3 سنوات ونصف في مدينة نيويورك على وجه التحديد للانضمام إلى Raidious. هناك علامة واحدة على التفاؤل هناك.

    عندما انتقلت إلى هناك لأول مرة ، كانت لدي شريحة على كتفي حول كيف أننا جيدون هنا مثل أي مكان آخر. سرعان ما علمت أن هذا صحيح تمامًا ، لكن الحديث عنه يجعلك تبدو إقليميًا.

    لم يصدق رئيسي أنني من الغرب الأوسط لأنني "أمشي بسرعة ، وأتحدث بسرعة" ، وأتحدث بيدي ، وأنا "مثقف للغاية". لم يستطع تقريري الآخر ذي الخطوط المنقطة رسم شكل ولاية إنديانا. هذان نوعان من الموتى في مدينة نيويورك.

    بينما تتدفق المواهب بحرية ، تميل الثقافة إلى الظهور من أحد الساحلين. هذه مجرد حقيقة. وفي كثير من الأحيان ، تتبع الموهبة منبع الثقافة هذا إلى أحد هذين المجالين.

    الغضب والتبرير الذاتي ليس هو السبيل للذهاب. عمل جيد ، دوغ. أحببت نغمتك.

    إذا لم يكن هناك شيء آخر ، فافعل ما يفعلونه في نيويورك. في أي وقت يشك فيه أي شخص فيك ، أخبره أن يذهب بنفسه.

    فقط هل.

  4. 4

    شكرا يا رجل. إن قصتك هي قصة كلاسيكية إلى حد ما حول ما يحدث عندما يجتمع أشخاص من مناطق وخلفيات مختلفة معًا ويتجاوزون الصور النمطية. الحياة صعبة للغاية كإيديولوجيا ، أليس كذلك؟

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

, Technology

West vs Midwest Round II

PREAMBLE

Last week, I was on a panel at The Combine – 2010 called Go West: Former Midwesterners that have moved to the Silicon Valley share their stories. I was one of four people discussing our personal stories and it set off a firestorm on Twitter and went Cat 4 when Doug Karr posted his reactions when he recapped the Combine 2010 here.

All these feelings were entirely justified given the shallow nature of the format, which is ripe for cheeky sound-bites, but insufficient for really shedding light on something that deserves more than 10 minutes of casual chatting per person.  Doug Karr has been super gracious in giving me the opportunity to dive into this discussion to give my perspective – not about what went down at the Combine – but to re-frame it from a debate between West vs Midwest (with me in the role of Drago) to one that provides more depth around entrepreneurship here in San Francisco and in the Midwest (in my case Bloomington, IN).

I think there are lessons, based on legitimate criticisms, that can provide opportunities in this for all of us regardless of what side we’re on.  After-all, isn’t this one of the key pillars of entrepreneurship?

Shared Experiences Shape Our Community and Culture

Community out West and in the Midwest are both equally important in both locations, but there is an apples to oranges comparison when it comes to the dynamics of their make-up.  My story fits in with many out here: the move out West is an active metaphor that has a rich and intense history in the development of our country.  Unlike Lewis and Clark, no one today is paddling upstream, fighting grizzly bears and negotiating passage with warring Indians Native Americans, but like them, we all share a similar sense of encounter – encounters with people, landscapes and with our own self and limitations as we took risks leaving our comforts of home and moved West.  Not many of us are from here, but we build our community off of these common experiences beyond those of traditions such as language, socio-economic class, color and hating Kanye West.

In the Midwest, community is one of strongest and most enviable traits of any culture in the world.  People in the Midwest value having each other’s back, being overly hospitable (unless you’re at an Ohio St – Mich football game), and always getting the job done with as little fanfare as possible (If Indiana University ever puts names on the backs of their jerseys, I wouldn’t be surprised if Bloomington turns into a pile of smoldering limestone).  This sense of community is so powerful, it would be an act of insanity to leave it all behind to move to a place where you can pay $1,700-a-month to live in a shoebox on top of an active fault-line.

So, both communities have very strong bonds, but the values and experiences that create those bonds produce some advantages and disadvantages in entrepreneurship.  In the short-term, Indiana is currently at a disadvantage.

Risk and Reward

In the highly underrated My Name is Nobody, the protagonist “Nobody” (played by Terrance Hill) takes a couple bullets through his cowboy hat from Legendary gunslinger Jack Beauregard (played by Henry Fonda), to prove to his cred to him.   The dialog they exchange brilliant:

  • Jack: Tell me, what’s your game?
  • Nobody: When I was a kid, I used to pretend I was Jack Beauregard.
  • Jack: …and now that you’re all growed up?
  • Nobody: I’m more cautious.  But sometimes running a little risk, can bring rewards, ya know.
  • Jack: If the risk is little, the reward is little.

The biggest difference that I point to in the cultures between the West and the Midwest lie squarely in this axiom.  In the last 2 years of getting involved in the web and tech communities in Indy and Bloomington, I can say with certainty, this is the singular biggest issue Indiana has in becoming the next Boulder or the next Silicon Valley.  This does not mean that no one is taking risks, or that there aren’t any meaningful developments happening in Indiana.  But, what it does mean, is that one key component of building a successful tech community hasn’t quite bought into the big risk concept yet.

The crucial position in any tech business is a technical co-founder or lead developer (duh).  The demand for these types of people far outweighs their supply, and this is true in San Francisco as well.  The main difference in Indiana, is that a disporportionate number of people with the technical skills to build a web product have responded to this supply and demand inequality by setting up “dev shops” that “outsource” technical development.  This requires non-technical entrepreneurs to dole out all their hard earned capital they’ve raised and/or equity to pay someone who doesn’t have skin in the game.  I’ve spoken with numerous developers from Indy and Bloomington who were making amazing salaries who also think they are entrepreneurs because they solve start-up problems.  But they really aren’t.  You aren’t an entrepreneur until you give up your cushion, throw your hat in with everyone else and sacrifice until you’ve created something that creates value and makes money.  If you file a W-2 every year, you aren’t an entrepreneur.

Douglas Karr and many others have done an amazing job at establishing Indy as a Marketing Tech hotspot.  That is awesome.  However, other founders that are looking to build the next Facebook/Google/etc, need some serious engineering talent.  It is here, but it isn’t being allocated properly and the incentives are not aligned.  I know numerous non-technical entrepreneurs in Indiana that desperately need dev talent and can’t get it unless they pay cash or give up equity that won’t stay in the tent once it is issued.  So, Indiana is still losing these extremely talented entrepreneurs to San Francisco and the Valley because that conundrum just doesn’t exist in disproportionate numbers out here.  I’m not saying that you “can’t succeed unless you move West.”  What I am saying is that it has been way too difficult for non-technical founders to find technical co-founders they need to compete with start-ups and companies out West that don’t have the same issue.

Good news for Indiana, though.  Things are starting to move, slowly, and I don’t think that this is going to be a problem in the long-run.  How long?  I don’t know, but if I were an entrepreneur in Indiana who doesn’t want to move West, I’d be beating this horse until it is reduced to a pile of molecules.

5 Comments

  1. 1

    @dougheinz you’re a true gentleman, Doug. I really appreciate the optimistic post and fantastic point of view you brought to this discussion. Dare I say, you were much more optimistic than some of the negative midwest voices who chimed in to scold me on my post. Thanks for taking the time!

  2. 2
  3. 3

    I moved back to Indianapolis after 3 1/2 years in New York City specifically to join Raidious. There’s one sign of optimism right there.

    When I first moved out there, I had a chip on my shoulder about how we’re just as good here as anywhere else. I quickly learned that that’s absolutely true, but talking about it makes you sound provincial.

    My boss couldn’t believe I was from the Midwest because I “walk fast, talk fast,” I talk with my hands, and I’m “very cultured.” My other dotted-line report couldn’t even draw the shape of the state of Indiana. These are two NYC lifers.

    While talent flows around freely, culture tends to emanate from one of the two coasts. That’s just a fact. And much of the time, talent follows that wellspring of culture to one of those two areas.

    Getting indignant and self-justifying isn’t the way to go. Nice job, Doug. I liked your tone.

    If nothing else, do like they do in New York. Any time anyone doubts you, tell them to go eff themselves.

    Just do you.

  4. 4

    Thanks man. Your’s is a pretty classic story about what happens when people from different areas and backgrounds actually get together and move past the stereotypes. Life is very hard to live as an ideologue, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply