ما الوظيفة التي يحتاجها عميلك لمنتجك أو خدمتك لأداء؟

Disruptivetechnology.gif لقد حضرت أمس حدثًا رائعًا يسمى قمة الابتكار ، والذي أقامته شركة إندي تك بوينت. كلايتون كريستنسن ، المتحدث والأستاذ والمؤلف من جامعة هارفارد تحدث عن الابتكار التخريبية وقام بعمل رائع. كانت إحدى النقاط التي أوضحها تجاه الجزء الأخير من عرضه التقديمي تتعلق باكتشاف الوظيفة التي يحتاج عميلك لمنتجك أو خدمتك لأداءها.

وضرب مثالاً على مخفوق اللبن وكيف تلقى مطعمًا ، من خلال أبحاث السوق ، مدخلات كبيرة حول المذاق والمكونات وما إلى ذلك من مخفوقات الحليب. بعد تنفيذ التغييرات بناءً على أبحاثهم ، لم يروا أي تغيير في المبيعات. بعد مزيد من البحث ، وجد كريستنسن وفريقه أن الناس كانوا يشترون اللبن المخفوق في الصباح لقضاء بعض الوقت خلال تنقلاتهم الطويلة ومنحهم قدرًا معقولًا من الرضا عن الجوع حتى يأكلوا مرة أخرى.

كان المطعم يحاول جعل اللبن المخفوق أفضل للتنافس مع اللبن المخفوق الآخر ، لكن زبائنهم لم يكونوا يبحثون عن اللبن المخفوق المتنافس ، لقد احتاجوا إلى اللبن المخفوق لأداء مهمة إهدار الوقت ولتوفير القليل من الراحة من الجوع. لذا فإن النصيحة التي قدمها كريستنسن وفريقه لم تكن صنع ميلك شيك بمذاق أفضل ، بل بالأحرى أ سمكا هزها للتأكد من أنها ستستمر خلال الرحلة بأكملها!

بصفتنا جهات تسويق ، فإن هدفنا هو تحديد عملائنا - غالبًا ما نضعهم في مجموعات استنادًا إلى البيانات الديموغرافية وسلوك المستخدم ونقاط البيانات الأخرى دون التراجع والسؤال عن الوظيفة التي يحتاجها عميلي؟ وهل ينجز منتجي أو خدمتي هذه المهمة؟

كيف يمكنك معرفة الوظيفة التي يحتاج عميلك لمنتجك لأدائها؟

  • خذ استطلاع على الانترنت
  • استخدام وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية لمشاهدة كيفية استخدام العملاء للمنتج والاستماع إليه
  • دع عملاءك مدونة ضيف على مدونة شركتك حول كيفية استخدامهم للخدمة / المنتج
  • قم بدعوتهم لحضور ندوة الويب التالية و امنحهم 10 دقائق لتوضيح استخدامهم للمنتج

اليوم هو يوم جيد كأي يوم لطرح هذا السؤال وإلقاء نظرة على التسويق الخاص بك ومعرفة ما إذا كان الاثنان في تناغم.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

WordPress

What Job Does Your Customer Need Your Product or Service To Perform?

Disruptivetechnology.gif I attended a great event yesterday called the Innovation Summit, which was put on by Indy-based TechPoint. Clayton Christensen, the speaker, professor, and author from Harvard University spoke about Disruptive Innovation and did a remarkable job. One of the points that he made toward the later part of his presentation was about figuring out what job your customer needs your product or service to perform.

He gave the example of a milkshake and how, through market research, a restaurant received great input about taste, ingredients, etc., for their milkshakes.  After implementing changes based on their research they saw no change in sales. After more research Christensen and his team found that people were buying milkshakes in the morning to take up time during their long commutes and to give them a reasonable amount of hunger satisfaction until they ate again.

The restaurant was trying to make milkshakes better to compete with other milkshakes, but their customers weren’t looking at competing milkshakes, they needed the milkshake to perform the job of a time waster and to provide a bit of hunger relief. So the advice that Christensen and his team made was not to make a better tasting milkshake, but rather a thicker shake to ensure that it would last through the whole commute!

As marketers our goal is define our customers – we often put them in buckets based on on demographic data, user behavior and other data points without taking a step back and asking what job does my customer need done? And, does my product or service get that job done?

How can you figure out what job your customer’s need your product to perform?

  • Take an online survey
  • Use Social Media to watch and listen to how customers are using the product
  • Let your customers guest blog on your company blog about how they are using the service/product
  • Invite them to attend your next webinar and give them 10 minutes to demo their use of the product

Today is a good a day as any to ask that question and look at your marketing and see if the two are in tune.

Leave a Reply