ما الذي يمر بك؟

منظر من قطاربالأمس تناولت الغداء مع صديق عزيز لي ، بيل. كما أكلنا شوربة تورتيلا الدجاج الرائعة في مخمرة سكوتيناقشنا أنا وبيل تلك اللحظة المحرجة حيث يتحول الفشل إلى نجاح. أعتقد أن الأشخاص الموهوبين حقًا قادرون على تصور المخاطر والمكافآت والتصرف وفقًا لذلك. إنهم ينتهزون الفرصة ، حتى لو كانت المخاطرة لا يمكن التغلب عليها ... وغالبًا ما يؤدي ذلك إلى نجاحهم.

إذا خسرتك ، ابق معي. هنا مثال….

  • الشركة أ يطور تطبيقًا بسيطًا يعمل ، لكنه يفتقر إلى جميع الميزات اللازمة لوقت الذروة. عندما تسنح الفرصة للتنافس وجهاً لوجه ضد المنافسة ، تحدد الشركة "أ" التوقعات وتحدد جدولاً زمنيًا صارمًا لتطوير الميزات المتبقية اللازمة لإكمال العقد. في هذه الأثناء ، دون أن يكون لديهم الحل ، يقفزون إلى المفاوضات ويقومون بالبيع.
  • الشركة ب يرى الفرصة ، لكنه يعرف أنه لا يمكن تلبية متطلبات طلب تقديم العروض ، لذلك يرضخون برشاقة وينطلقون بثبات إلى الأمام بخطتهم لتحقيق الكمال والسيطرة على العالم.

أي شركة على حق؟ تتحمل الشركة "أ" مخاطر جسيمة مع العقد والعميل. إنهم يخاطرون بسمعتهم في الصناعة أيضًا. في الواقع ، من المحتمل أن تكون هناك فرصة جيدة لإنجاز معظم العمل ولكن ليس كلها. الشركة "ب" لا تصل أبدًا إلى الطاولة ، وحقيقة أنهم لم يحصلوا على العقد يمكن أن يضعهم تحت مظلة الشركة "أ" على الإطلاق.

في الماضي ، كان المهندس المحافظ في داخلي يضحك على الشركة "أ" ولن أكن أي احترام لهم لأنهم يبالغون في الوعود ويقلون الأداء. لكن الزمن تغير ، أليس كذلك؟ بصفتنا مستهلكين من الشركات ، نميل إلى أن نكون أكثر تسامحًا مع الشركات التي لا تستطيع تحديد مواعيد نهائية أو تقديم ميزات مختصرة. نحن نفعل ما لدينا.

IMHO، الشركة "ب" لا تحظى بفرصة في الوقت الحاضر. لقد بدأت في الاعتقاد بأن القدرة على الدخول في عملية البيع مبكرًا والتحلي بالمرونة بشأن الناتج هو ما سيجعلك ناجحًا. إذا كانت هناك فرصة للنجاح ، فعليك أن تحاول دائمًا. خلاف ذلك ، سوف تضيع عليك الفرصة.

هذا صحيح مع الوظائف ، وهذا صحيح مع العقود ، وهذا صحيح مع التسويق. إذا انتظرت تصميم الحملة المثالية ، فلن تتاح لك الفرصة مطلقًا لإطلاقها. هناك is هوامش مناسب بين الكمال والسرعة. إذا كان بإمكانك تقديم أقل ، ولكن في كثير من الأحيان ، فستتولى العمل.

إذا كنت سأقوم بإجراء مقارنة ، فسيتعين عليّ أن آخذ ما هو واضح ، Apple مقابل Microsoft. كان Vista إصدارًا ضخمًا لسنوات في الانتظار. من ناحية أخرى ، يبدو أن Leopard (الذي طلبته مسبقًا بالأمس) يعد تحسينًا رائعًا غنيًا بالميزات لـ OSX. أطلقت Microsoft جهاز XBox 360 ، وهو نظام ألعاب متعدد الوسائط مع جميع الأجراس والصفارات. أطلقت Microsoft Zune ، وهو مشغل وسائط جميل للغاية وشاشة كبيرة بالكاد خدش السوق. في غضون ذلك ، أطلقت Apple أجهزة iPod و iPod Shuffle و iPod Nano و iPod Nano الجديد و Mac Mini و Cinema Displays و Appletv و iPhone وأجهزة iPod الملونة و iPod Touch و iMac و OSX Leopard ... هل بدأت في رؤية ما يحدث؟

لدى Microsoft دورات بطيئة هائلة مع ارتفاعات ضحلة وقيعان كبيرة جدًا. واجهت شركة Apple تحدياتها أيضًا ، ولكن قبل أن تخضع شركة Apple للمساءلة أو الإحراج لفترة كافية ، قاموا بإطلاق شيء جديد. لا تقوم شركة Apple بالترويج لها لمدة عام كما تفعل Microsoft ، فهي تنشر شائعة هنا أو هناك ثم يتم إطلاقها. ويبدو أنه يتم إطلاقها كل أسبوع! يغفر الناس عيوب الإصدار الأول (التكلفة والجودة) وينتقلون بكل سرور إلى الإصدارين الثالث والرابع. فترة انتباهنا أقصر وتستغلها Apple ببراعة.

ما الذي يسمح لك بالمرور عليك؟ توقف عن انتظار أن تصبح الأشياء مثالية للقفز فيها. اقفز اليوم أو شاهد الفرصة تفوتك. إنها الطريقة الوحيدة التي ستنجح بها أنت أو عملك.

ملاحظة: بعض التفاصيل الخاصة بي على Apple مستوحاة من هذا مشاركة رائعة عن نجاح Apple في Daring Fireball.

تعليق واحد

  1. 1

    الشركة "أ" لديها النهج الصحيح إلى حد بعيد. لم يكن القول "من الأفضل أن تكون 80٪ حقًا اليوم من 100٪ غدًا" أكثر صحة مما هو عليه اليوم. لا تزال السرعة المتزايدة التي تحدث بها الأشياء في عالم الأعمال تدهشني.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing, WordPress

What’s Passing You By?

View from a TrainYesterday I had lunch with a good friend of mine, Bill. As we ate our fantastic chicken tortilla soup at Scotty’s Brewhouse, Bill and I discussed that awkward moment where failure changes into success. I think truly talented people are able to visualize risk and reward and act accordingly. They jump at opportunity, even if the risk is insurmountable… and it often leads to their success.

If I’m losing you, stick with me. Here’s an example….

  • Company A develops a simple application that works, but lacks all of the features necessary for primetime. When the opportunity arises to go head to head against the competition, Company A sets expectations and determines an aggressive timeline to develop the remaining features necessary to complete the contract. Meanwhile, without having the solution, they jump into the negotiations and make the sale.
  • Company B sees the opportunity, but knows that it can’t meet the requirements of the request for proposal, so they gracefully bow out and steadily plod onward with their plan for perfection and world dominance.

Which company is right? Company A takes massive risks with the contract and the client. They are risking their reputation in the industry as well. In fact, there’s probably a good chance that they’ll get most of the work done but not all of it. Company B never even makes it to the table, and the fact that they didn’t get the contract could put them under before Company A ever finishes.

In the past, the conservative engineer in me would have snickered at Company A and I wouldn’t have any respect for them over-promising and under-delivering. But times have changed, haven’t they? As corporate consumers, we tend to be more forgiving to companies that can’t make deadlines or come up short-handed on features. We make do with what we have.

IMHO, Company B doesn’t stand a chance nowadays. I am starting to believe the ability to get in the sale early and be flexible on the output is what’s going to make you successful. If there’s a chance you can succeed, you almost have to always try. Otherwise, the opportunity is going to pass you by.

This is true with jobs, this is true with contracts, and it’s true with marketing. If you wait to design the perfect campaign, you’ll never have the opportunity to launch it. There is an appropriate margin between perfection and speed. If you can deliver less, but deliver it more often, you’ll take the business.

If I were to make a comparison, I’d have to take the obvious, Apple versus Microsoft. Vista was a huge release years in the waiting. Leopard, on the other hand (which I pre-ordered yesterday) seems to be a great feature-rich enhancement to OSX. Microsoft launches the XBox 360, a full-multimedia gaming system with all the bells and whistles. Microsoft launches Zune, a very nice, large-screened media player that’s barely scratched the market. In the meantime, Apple launches the iPod, iPod Shuffle, iPod Nano, new iPod Nano, Mac Mini, Cinema Displays, Appletv, iPhone, colored iPods, the iPod Touch, iMac, OSX Leopard… are you starting to see what’s happening?

Microsoft has massive, slow cycles with shallow highs and very big lows. Apple has had their challenges as well, but before Apple can be held accountable or embarrassed long enough, they launch something new. Apple doesn’t hype it for a year as Microsoft does, they trickle out a rumor here or there and then launch. And it feels like they’re launching every week! People forgive the shortcomings of the first version (cost and quality) and they gladly move on to the third and fourth version. Our attention span is shorter and Apple is brilliantly taking advantage of it.

What are you allowing to pass you by? Stop waiting for things to be perfect to jump in. Jump in today or watch the opportunity pass you by. It’s the only way you or your business is going to succeed.

Note: Some of my details on Apple were inspired by this great post on Apple’s success at Daring Fireball.

One comment

  1. 1

    Company A by far has the right approach. The saying “Its better to be 80% right today than 100% right tomorrow” has never been more true than it is today. The ever increasing speed at which things happen in the business world continues to amaze me.

Leave a Reply