ما هو تصور قيمتك؟

مخطط سعر القيمة

مخطط سعر القيمةفي بعض الأحيان ، أعتقد أنني مجنون في بدء عملي الخاص منذ عامين (لكنني لن أفعل ذلك بأي طريقة أخرى). بعد فترة وجيزة من بدء العمل ، علمت أنني في مشكلة لأن لدي منتجًا رائعًا ولكن لم يكن لدي أدنى فكرة عن كيفية بيعه. كنت أقوم بإعداد عرض أسعار عن طريق تقدير الوقت الذي سأستغرقه ثم ضرب ذلك في معدل الساعة الخاص بي. وكانت النتيجة أن الأشياء ستستغرق 2 مرات من الوقت وكنت أجني أقل مما كنت سأحصل عليه في قسائم الطعام ... ولا أنام.

لم يكن الأمر كذلك حتى التقيت مات نيتلتون وحصل على بعض التدريب على المبيعات أنني رأيت خطأ طرقي. I كان تحديد قيمة خدمتي ، كما هو موضح في تقديري ، بدلاً من السماح عملائي على تقييم الخدمة. يمكنني العمل على موقعين مختلفين للعملاء وتحويل جهودهم التسويقية الداخلية ، ويمكن لأحدهما جني مئات الدولارات الإضافية والآخر يمكن أن يربح مئات الآلاف من الدولارات. نفس العمل ... قيمتان مختلفتان.

هذا التغيير في الطريقة التي أديت بها عملي أدى إلى ارتفاع كبير في عملي. لا يزال لدي العديد من العملاء الصغار ، لكن العملاء الكبار طغوا على ذلك قيمة خدمتي أكثر بسبب تأثير المحصلة النهائية على مؤسستهم. المفارقة هي أن المشاركات الأصغر التي لدينا الآن هي في الواقع الأكثر صعوبة لأن زيادة بنسبة 10٪ في العائد قد لا تغطي حتى مشاركتنا الشهرية!

سألني شخص ما في اليوم الآخر عما إذا كنت أعتقد أنها فكرة جيدة أسعار السوق علانية للخدمات على موقعهم. لقد اعتقدوا أنها كانت علامة عظيمة على الشفافية وسوف تغرس الثقة في آفاقهم. أقول لا. قمت بالتغريد مرة أخرى أنه عندما تنشر سعرك ، السعر الآن ميزة أن كل ما تبذلونه من المنافسين سوف تنافس معك. المشكلة في نشر سعرك هي نفس مشكلتي مع عروض الأسعار المبكرة. لا يأخذ في الاعتبار قيمة خدمتك على الاحتمال.

إذا كنت تصميمات 99، إنها تعمل. أنت تنافس فقط خدمات أخرى منخفضة التكلفة. ولكن سيكون من الغباء ببساطة أن يقتبس بعض زملائي في مصمم الجرافيك تكلفة الشعار دون فهم القيمة التي قد يجلبها الشعار للشركة. الشعارات الجديدة لها تعريف الشركات! قد يُنظر إلى الشعار الرخيص على أنه رخيص - إلى جانب الشركة التي يمثلها. يمكن لشعار الجودة أن يغير هذا التصور ويحظى باهتمام أكبر في الصناعة.

التسويق الخاص بك هو عرض خارجي للإدراك أنت من علامتك التجارية. إذا كان جزء من القيمة هو السعر ، فبكل الوسائل ، أضف "رخيص" في اسم العلامة التجارية وأضف بعض الأسعار التنافسية هناك! ومع ذلك ، إذا كانت القيمة التي تجلبها هي الخبرة والذكاء والتفكير والتطور والنتائج ... أبق الأسعار خارج الموقع و دع توقعاتك تقرر القيمة أنت تجلب. عندما نوقع على عميل بعشرة أضعاف حجم العقد لعميل آخر ، فإننا لا نحدده من خلال العمل الجاد عشر مرات. نقيسها بمحاولة تحقيق 10 أضعاف النتائج ، أو الحصول على نفس النتائج في عُشر الوقت.

كن حذرًا في نهج التسويق والمبيعات الخاص بك عندما يتعلق الأمر بذلك القيمة مقابل السعر. انهم ليسو نفس الشيء! السعر هو مقدار ما تتقاضاه ، والقيمة هي مقدار ما تستحقه للعميل. يجب أن يروج التسويق للقيمة التي تجلبها ، وليس التكلفة. وإذا اشتكى فريق المبيعات لديك من خسارة المبيعات بناءً على أسعارك ، فاحصل على مندوبي مبيعات جدد. هذا يعني أنهم لا يفهمون ولا يساعدون العميل المحتمل على إدراك القيمة التي تجلبها.

ملاحظة جانبية: في وقت الأزمة هذا ، أود أن أضيف أن نظام التوظيف لدينا لديه نفس المشكلة. غالبًا ما يتوقع الناس زيادة على أساس جهد العمل, مستوى المعيشة، أو تغير في تكلفة المعيشة. هذه هي قيمتهم المتصورة لأنفسهم. لا يهم أي من هذه الشركات. بناءً على ذلك ، يبالغ البعض في قيمتها ... ويقلل الكثيرون من قيمتها. في كل مسيرتي المهنية (خارج البحرية) ، أنا بصراحة أبدا تم رفض زيادة. كان ذلك بسبب بدلاً من الكلام COLA أو معايير الصناعة، لقد تحدثت عن النتائج والأرباح. كان من غير المنطقي أن تمنحني الشركة زيادة بنسبة 20 ٪ عندما كنت أدخرها أو أجنيها ضعف هذا المبلغ.

5 تعليقات

  1. 1

    مرحبا دوغلاس

    لا يمكن اقبل المزيد. قبل عام ونصف ، صادفت العديد من كتب Alan Weiss التي جعلتني أدرك كل الأخطاء التي كنت أرتكبها عندما يتعلق الأمر بتسعير خدماتي. كما يقول بجدارة: "السبب الرئيسي لرسوم الاستشارات المنخفضة هو تدني احترام الذات". في الخدمات ، ليس من المنطقي على الإطلاق بيع الوقت ، كما لو كانت القيمة التي نقدمها للعميل مرتبطة بالوقت الذي يقضيه. إذا كان العميل يساوي السعر بوضوح مع القيمة التي حصل عليها ، فكل شيء جيد للجميع. لا أحد يخدع. أضف إلى ذلك أنه يميل إلى إنشاء علاقات مشاركة أكثر إنتاجية ، لأن كلا الطرفين سعداء. 

    بيرسونالي ، أفضل بكثير إدارة قول نعم للعميل على قول لا ...

  2. 4

    صحيح جدًا - لقد كان لنقاطك صدى حقًا لأنني أتعلم نفس الدروس التي تعلمتها ، وبنفس الطريقة. ليس شيئًا سيئًا إذا اتبعت خطى خطواتك يضعني على قدم المساواة مع بضع سنوات على الطريق! شكرا لمقالة ثاقبة جدا.

  3. 5

    صحيح جدًا - لقد كان لنقاطك صدى حقًا لأنني أتعلم نفس الدروس التي تعلمتها ، وبنفس الطريقة. ليس شيئًا سيئًا إذا اتبعت خطى خطواتك يضعني على قدم المساواة مع بضع سنوات على الطريق! شكرا لمقالة ثاقبة جدا.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing, Search Marketing

What’s the Perception of Your Value?

Sometimes I think I’m nuts starting my own business 2 years ago (but I wouldn’t have it any other way). Shortly after starting the business I knew I was in trouble because I had a great product but didn’t have a clue how to sell it. I’d set up a quote by estimating how much time it would take me and then multiplying that by my hourly rate. The result was that things would take me 4 times as long and I was making less than I would have on food stamps… and not getting any sleep.

It wasn’t until I met Matt Nettleton and got some sales coaching that I saw the error of my ways. I was determining the value of my service, as presented by my estimate, rather than allowing my customer to value the service. I could work on two different client sites and turn around their inbound marketing efforts, and one could make hundreds more dollars and the other could make hundreds of thousands of dollars. Same work… two different values.

That change in the way I did business skyrocketed my business. I still have many small customers, but that’s been overshadowed by the large customers that value my service more because of the bottom line impact on their organization. The irony is that the smaller engagements we have now are actually the most difficult because a 10% increase in return may not even cover our monthly engagement!

Someone asked me the other day whether I thought it was a good idea to openly market prices for services on their site. They thought it was a great sign of transparency and would instill trust with their prospects. I say it doesn’t. I tweeted back that when you publish your price, price is now a feature that all your competition will compete with you on. The problem with you publishing your price is the same as me and my early quotes. It doesn’t take into consideration the value of your service to the prospect.

If you’re 99 designs, it works. You’re only competing against other low cost services. But it would simply be dumb for some of my graphic designer associates to quote what a logo costs without understanding the value that a logo might bring to the company. New logos have defined companies! A cheap logo may be perceived as cheap – along with the company it represents. A quality logo can change that perception and garner a lot more industry attention.

Your marketing is an outward display of the perception you have of your brand. If part of the value is price, by all means, add “cheap” in the brand name and throw some competitive pricing up there! However, if the value you bring is experience, intelligence, ideation, sophistication, and results… keep prices off the site and let your prospects decide the value you’re bringing. When we sign a customer at 10 times the contract size of another customer, we don’t quantify it by working ten times as hard. We quantify it by trying to achieve 10 times the results, or get the same results in one-tenth the time.

Be careful in both your marketing and sales approach when it comes to value versus price. They are not the same! Price is how much you charge, value is how much you are worth to the customer. Your marketing should promote the value you bring, not what you cost. And if your sales team complains to you that they’re losing sales based on your pricing, get new salespeople. It means they don’t understand and aren’t helping the prospect realize the value you bring.

Sidenote: In this time of crisis, I’d add that our employment system has this same problem. People often expect a raise based on their work effort, standard of living, or change in cost of living. That’s their perceived value of themselves. None of those matter to a company. Based on those, some exaggerate their value… and many more underestimate it. In my entire career (outside of the Navy), I honestly never got turned down for a raise. It was because instead of talking COLA or industry standards, I spoke of results and profits. It was a no-brainer for a company to give me a 20% raise when I was saving them or making them twice that amount.

5 Comments

  1. 1

    Hi Douglas

    I couldn’t agree more. A year and a half ago I came across several of Alan Weiss’s books that made me realize all the mistakes I was making when it came to pricing my services. As he so aptly says: “The main cause of low consulting fees is low self-esteem”. In services, it makes *absolutely no sense* to sell time, as if the value we bring to a client was correlated to the time spent. If the client clearly equates price with value received, then all is good for everybody. Nobody gets screwed. Add to this that it tends to create a way more productive engagement relationships, since both parties are happy. 

    Personnaly, I prefer by far managing saying Yes to a client than saying No…

  2. 4

    So true — your points really resonated with me as I am learning the same lessons that you did, and in same way. Not a bad thing if following in your footsteps puts me on the same footing as you a few years down the road! Thanks for a very insightful article.

  3. 5

    So true — your points really resonated with me as I am learning the same lessons that you did, and in same way. Not a bad thing if following in your footsteps puts me on the same footing as you a few years down the road! Thanks for a very insightful article.

Leave a Reply