تتمة لماذا صناعة السينما تفشل

العائلة December، لقد كتبت مدخلاً عن سبب فشل صناعة السينما. ربما كان علي أن أكتب لماذا فشلت "نحن". ومن المفارقات ، هذا هو تكملة هذا الإدخال. الليلة ، ذهبنا أنا والأطفال ورأينا قراصنة الكاريبي، صندوق الرجل الميت. كان يجب أن يطلقوا عليه ببساطة ، قراصنة الكاريبي ، دعونا نحلب أكبر عدد ممكن من الأفلام من هذا الفيلم.

كانت التأثيرات في الفيلم مذهلة والفيلم كان ممتعًا. ومع ذلك ، دون إفسادها للجميع ، تركت النهاية كل الباب مفتوحا للفيلم القادم. باختصار ، لقد شاهدت 160 دقيقة من فيلم بلا نهاية. لا نهاية! ليس واحد!!! حتى أنني جلست خلال الاعتمادات لمشاهدة المشهد الصغير اللطيف في النهاية وشعرت بخيبة أمل بسبب ذلك. (من الناحية الفنية ، ترك ذلك جزءًا آخر من المؤامرة دون إنهاء).

آسف يا ديزني! لقد فجرت ذلك. سأكون في انتظار الجزء الثالث من Pirates على الفيديو. يجب أن تخجلوا من أنفسكم حقًا.

ما علاقة هذا بالتسويق؟ تشبه أوجه التشابه محادثة بدأها زميلي بات كويل على مدونته بشأن الإعلان والتسويق والثقافة. يقول بات: "يمكننا استخدام هذه القصص لإخبار الناس بما يريدون سماعه ، والحصول على أموالهم مقابل شعور مؤقت بالإنجاز. هذا ليس عملاً أريد أن أكون فيه ".

الأفلام استثناء لهذه القاعدة ... نحن ندفع حقًا مقابل هذا الشعور المؤقت بالإنجاز. ومع ذلك ، فإن كلمة تحقيق هي إشارة إلى نتيجة أو نهاية. تخيل لو لم تشعر حتى بالشعور المؤقت بالرضا. في هذه الحالة ، يكون الهدف هو خداع المستهلك والحصول على أمواله بشكل صارم. هذا ما أحبطني بشأن هذا الفيلم. لم يكن الهدف من الفيلم مجرد جني أموال أكثر مما تطلبه الأمر ، بل كان الهدف أيضًا أن يتركني غير محقق حتى أنفق المزيد من المال على التالي فيلم ايضا!

كان من المعتاد أن يتم تجميع دور السينما عند كتابة تكملة أو إعادة صنعها. الآن كل هذا جزء من عمل صناعة الأفلام. لقد فقدنا التركيز على "الفن" وابتلعنا دمج الإعلانات التجارية والأفلام. تتمتع معظم الإعلانات التجارية الإعلامية على الأقل بضمان استرداد الأموال. لقد فات الأوان للحصول على المال الذي دفعته لهذا الفيلم.

ارررررررر!

تعليق واحد

  1. 1

    هل تعرف كيف تعرف هوليوود الفيلم الفني؟

    إذا كان لا يجني المال ، فهو فيلم فني.

    على محمل الجد.

    بعد قولي هذا ، يجب أن أعترف أنه عندما أتيحت لي وزوجتي فرصة مشاهدة فيلم معًا ، رأينا بالفعل القراصنة. وأنت تتمتع به.

    بالنسبة لي ، فيلم Pirates هو فيلم مرح ومغامرة. لا تدعي أنها أكثر من ذلك. وعلى هذا النحو أجده فيلمًا رائعًا.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing, Customer Relationship Management

Why the movie industry is failing, the sequel

Last December, I wrote an entry on why the movie industry is failing. Perhaps I should have written why it is failing ‘us’. Ironically, here’s the sequel to that entry. Tonight, the kids and I went and saw Pirates of the Caribbean, Dead Man’s Chest. They should have simply called it, Pirates of the Caribbean, Let’s Milk as Many Movies out of this as We Can.

The effects in the movie were incredible and the movie was entertaining. However, without spoiling it for everyone, the ending left every door open for the next movie. In short, I watched 160 minutes of a movie with no end. No end! Not one!!! I even sat through the credits to watch the cute little scene at the end and was dissappointed by that. (Technically, that left yet another portion of the plot unended).

Sorry, Disney! You blew it. I’ll be waiting for Pirates Part III on video. You really should be ashamed of yourselves.

What does this have to do with marketing? The parallels are similar to a conversation my colleague, Pat Coyle, started on his blog regarding advertising, marketing, and culture. Pat states, “we can use those stories to tell people what they want to hear, and get their money in exchange for a temporary feeling of fulfillment. Thatâ?’s not a business I want to be in.”

Movies are an exception to this rule… we really are paying for that temporary feeling of fulfillment. However, the word fulfillment is a reference to a conclusion or end. Imagine if you don’t even get the temporary feeling of fulfillment. In that case, the goal is to deceive the consumer and strictly to get their money. That’s what discouraged me about this film. The goal of the film was not simply to make more money than it took to make the film, it’s goal is to also to leave me unfulfilled so I spend more money on the next film, too!

It used to be that cinemas were emberassed at writing a sequel or doing a re-make. Now it’s all part of the business of movie-making. We’ve lost focus on the ‘art’ and have been swallowed up by the merging of infomercials and movies. At least most informercials have a money-back guarantee. It’s too late for the money I ponied up for this movie.

Arrrrrrrr!

One comment

  1. 1

    Do you know how Hollywood defines an Art Movie?

    If it does´t make money, it is an Art Movie.

    Seriously.

    That said, I have to confess that, when my wife and I had a chance to see a movie together, we did indeed see the Pirates. And thourougly enjoyed it.

    For me, Pirates is a fun, andventure film. It doesn´t claim to be more. And as such a film I find it brilliant.

Leave a Reply