وكالتك سيئة

وكالة 2

بالأمس ، تحدثت في ديترويت في مقر شركة دولية لديها العشرات من الشركات التابعة. استمر عرضي التقديمي لمدة ساعة وركز على كيفية النظر إليه تحليلات بشكل مختلف ... البحث عن المعلومات التي لم يكونوا على علم بوجودها ولا كيفية تأثيرها على أعمالهم عبر الإنترنت. كان للعرض بعض التعليقات الرائعة وبعد ساعتين ، ما زلت لم أغادر ديترويت. كنت جالسًا وأتحدث مع قادة التسويق من العديد من الشركات.

كان الخيط المشترك للمحادثة هو أنهم لم تكن لديهم فكرة عن وجود الأدوات. كان القاسم المشترك الآخر هو أن جميع الشركات لديها ارتباطات كبيرة جدًا مع الوكالات الوطنية والدولية. لم يكونوا سعداء جدًا أيضًا.

وكالة: كلية التمثيل أو ممارسة القوة. حالة العمل ؛ عمل؛ الوسيلة.

سألت عن نوع التوجيه الذي أعطته لهم وكالاتهم. لا شيء. سألت عما إذا كانت الوكالات حاضرة في الحدث. كلا. سألت عن العملية التي قفزوا من خلالها إلى اتجاهات التسويق مع وكالتهم. كان عليهم أن يطلبوا اقتباس. (هل يمكنك تخيل عقد قمة تسويقية وعدم وجود وكالتك الخاصة؟)

هذه ليست قصة وحيدة. في الواقع ، نحن نعمل عن كثب مع عدد من وكالات عملائنا في الوقت الحالي ، والأمر هو نفسه دائمًا. انتهى بنا الأمر إلى أن نكون المستشار الموثوق به للشركة ، وتذكر الوكالة أنها ستضع عرض أسعار معًا. يبنون الموقع ، ونصلح الموقع. يبيعونها على حل ، ونحن ننفذها بشكل صحيح. إنهم يتقاضون ثروة ، ونحاسب الشركة على قيمة المشاركة.

هناك فرق كبير بين الوكالة والمقاول من الباطن. إذا كنت تعمل على تطوير علامتك التجارية وكان مشروعًا حساسًا للوقت حيث تضع الشركة دليلًا للعلامة التجارية في يدك ... فأنت لست وكالة ، فأنت متعاقد من الباطن. إذا لم تنقل الاتجاهات والفرص إلى عميلك ... فأنت لست وكالة ، فأنت متعاقد من الباطن. إذا كان عميلك يتصل بك ويسألك عن أحدث الأدوات أو التقنيات ... أنت لست وكالة ، فأنت متعاقد من الباطن.

تأتي كلمة "وكالة" من كلمة "وكيل" ، والتي تأتي من أجناس. هذا يعنى "لكى يفعل" or "ليصنع" or "لكي تمثل". عندما تفكر في الكلمة ، فإنها تقدم صورة لمجموعة من الأشخاص الذين يتمتعون بالسلطة التي تفوضهم بنشاط يتطلب خبرتهم ... فهم ذراع أو امتداد لعملك.

وكالة 2

يقدم المقاولون من الباطن عروض الأسعار. يوفر المقاولون من الباطن جداول زمنية. يتقاضى المقاولون من الباطن رواتبهم بغض النظر عن المخاطر. تقدم الوكالات التوجيه ، وتوفر الإستراتيجية ، وتوفر التركيز ، وتقدم الإجابات ... ويجب أن تكون لديها مخاطر أيضًا.

شركة يقدم كلاهما. نقوم ببعض التعاقدات من الباطن ونعمل كوكالة للآخرين. آمل أن أتخلص من جميع العقود من الباطن في نهاية المطاف ، لكن المشاريع أحيانًا تبقي الأضواء مضاءة حتى نأخذها. ومع ذلك ، فنحن لا نستمتع بها كثيرًا. عندما يتم التعاقد معنا على مشروع ما ، عادة ما يملي العملاء المتطلبات وليس لدينا مساحة في المشاركة لتجاوز أو تعديل التوقعات لصالح العميل.

بصفتنا وكالة ، نتجادل أحيانًا مع العميل. في بعض الأحيان نطلق النار عليهم. لقد اعتادت العديد من الشركات على التعاقد مع مقاولين لدرجة أنها تنسى شعور أن يكون لديك مدرب وقائد وشريك يخبرك بما تفعله حاجة لكى يفعل. إذا كنت تريد الفوز ، تحصل على مدرب. إذا كنت تريد فقط أن يدير شخص آخر السباق نيابة عنك ... فلا تتوقع الفوز. وكالات تنتج الفائزين.

أنا أصدق الكلمة وكالة هي واحدة من أكثر المصطلحات استخدامًا في صناعة التسويق. أتمنى أن يطلق المزيد من الوكالات على نفسها ببساطة المحلات التجارية. متاجر الشعار ، ومحلات المواقع الإلكترونية ، ومحلات الوسائط الاجتماعية ، ومحلات الفيديو. مع المتجر ، تدخل وتدفع وتخرج. بالطبع ، لن يتمكن المتجر من الحصول على نفس الأجور التي تحصل عليها الوكالة ... ربما تكون هذه هي المشكلة!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

WordPress

Your Agency Sucks

Yesterday, I spoke in Detroit at the headquarters of an international corporation that has dozens of subsidiaries. My presentation was an hour long and focused on how to look at analytics differently… seeking the information that they weren’t even aware existed nor how it impacted their online business. The presentation had some rave reviews and two hours afterwards, I still hadn’t left Detroit. I was sitting and chatting with Marketing leaders from several of the companies.

The common thread of the conversation was that they had no idea that the tools existed. The other common thread was that all of the companies had very large engagements with national and international agencies. They weren’t too happy about either.

Agency: The faculty of acting or of exerting power; the state of being in action; action; instrumentality.

I asked what kind of direction their agencies gave them. None. I asked if the agencies were present at the event. Nope. I asked the process by which they jumped into marketing trends with their agency. They had to ask for a quote. (Can you imagine holding a marketing summit and your own agency isn’t present?)

This isn’t a lone story. In fact, we work closely with a number of our clients’ agencies right now and it’s always about the same. We wind up being the trusted adviser to the company, and the agency states that they’ll put a quote together. They build the site, we fix the site. They sell them on a solution, we implement it correctly. They charge a fortune, we charge what the value of the engagement is to the company.

There’s a huge difference between an agency and a subcontractor. If you’re getting your brand developed and it’s a time-sensitive project where the company throws a branding guide in your hand… you’re not an agency, you’re a subcontractor. If you don’t communicate trends and opportunities to your customer… you’re not an agency, you’re a subcontractor. If your client is calling you asking about the latest tools or technologies… you’re not an agency, you’re a subcontractor.

The word agency comes from the word agentia, which comes from agens. This means “to do” or “to make” or “to act”. When you think of the word, it provides an image of a collective of people with authority that you delegate activity to that requires their expertise… they are an arm or extension of your business.

Subcontractors provide quotes. Subcontractors provide timelines. Subcontractors get paid regardless of risk. Agencies provide direction, provide strategy, provide focus, provide answers… and should have risk as well.

Our company does provide both. We do some subcontracting and we work as an agency to others. I hope to shed all subcontracting eventually, but projects sometimes keep the lights on so we take them. We don’t often enjoy them, though. When a project is contracted to us, the clients usually dictates the requirements and we don’t have the room in the engagement to exceed or adjust expectations for the benefit of the client.

As an agency, sometimes we argue with the client. Sometimes we even fire them. So many companies are used to hiring contractors that they forget what it’s like to have a coach, a leader and a partner telling you what you need to do. If you want to win, you get a coach. If you just want someone else to run the race for you… don’t expect to win. Agencies produce winners.

I believe the word agency is one of the most overused terms in the marketing industry. I wish more agencies simply called themselves shops. Logo shops, web site shops, social media shops, video shops. With a shop, you walk in, pay and walk out. Of course, a shop wouldn’t be able to command the same wages that an agency does… perhaps that’s the problem!

Leave a Reply