إنها الأشياء الصغيرة التي تحسن تجربة المستخدم!

كان اليوم أول يوم لي في منصبي الجديد كمدير للتكنولوجيا لشركة برمجيات تسويق وتجارة إلكترونية شابة هنا في إنديانابوليس ، تسمى باترونباث. نظرًا لأنني راجعت برنامجنا اليوم وساعدت في تكامل جديد ، فقد شجعني تطور التطبيق. تطبيقنا يدمج الطلب عبر الإنترنت مع العديد أنظمة الكاشير الأنظمة.

أنا أتطلع إلى العمل مع فرق التطوير لدينا لاستخدام واجهة المستخدم الخاصة بنا بشكل كامل CSS وربما البعض AJAX. النبأ العظيم هو أن هذه تغييرات تجميلية إلى حد كبير ولن تتطلب إعادة بناء التطبيق. إلى حد كبير ، أعتقد أن التطبيق يمكن تحسينه بطريقتين ، الأولى هي القدرة على تخصيص تفاعل العميل والثانية هي تنفيذ بعض "الأشياء الصغيرة" الأساسية.

بينما كنت أعمل في Paypal الليلة الماضية ، وجدت "شيئًا بسيطًا". عند تمرير الماوس فوق ارتباطات معينة في واجهة Paypal ، يظهر تلميح أداة خافت لطيف ويتلاشى عند الخروج منه. هذه لقطة شاشة:

تمرير الماوس على Paypal

في كثير من الأحيان عندما ألاحظ هذه التقنيات ، أقوم ببعض البحث لمعرفة المزيد. في هذه الحالة ، اكتشفت أن Paypal يستخدم ببساطة امتداد ياهو! مكتبة واجهة المستخدم لبناء التلميحات. والأفضل من ذلك ، أنهم يعرضون ببساطة رسائل العنوان الفعلي داخل علامة (a) nchor. هذا يعني أن الصفحة قد تم تطويرها بشكل طبيعي ، ولكن عند إضافة الفصل ، اعتنى JavaScript بالباقي.

إنها لهجات صغيرة مثل هذه على البرامج التي تجعلها حقًا تجربة مستخدم أفضل. ربما يكون الأمر الأكثر إثارة للإعجاب هو أن المطورين في Paypal لم يكلفوا أنفسهم عناء "إعادة اختراع العجلة" ، بل وجدوا مكتبة جيدة وقاموا بتنفيذها.

سأبحث عن هذه التقنيات وغيرها في الأشهر القادمة لتحسين تجربة المستخدم لتطبيقاتنا.

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    مرحبا دوغلاس

    رائع ، لم يكن لدي أي فكرة أن مكتبة واجهة المستخدم الخاصة بـ Yahoo كانت مفتوحة المصدر وعلى Sourceforge ... هذه لعبة جديدة أخرى يجب أن ألعب بها. 🙂

    ما اعتقدت أنه تجربة مستخدم رائعة حقًا كان مؤخرًا عندما قمت بالتبديل عبر Yahoo Webmail Beta الجديد وتم التعامل مع برنامج تعليمي مرئي لطيف للغاية مع تلميحات أدوات تتماشى مع كل عنصر ذي صلة.

    لا أعرف ما إذا كان هذا الترميز جزءًا من مكتبة YUI ، ولكن إذا كان كذلك ، فقد يكون من الجيد إضافته لتطبيق التجارة الإلكترونية الخاص بك.

    هتاف

    نيك 🙂

    • 2

      ياهو لديه مجموعة هائلة من مكونات واجهة المستخدم ، نيك. تأكد من مراجعة ضوابط الشبكة الخاصة بهم. رائعة ببساطة. وفي قراءة وثائقهم واتفاقيات الترخيص الخاصة بهم - كل ما عليك فعله طالما أنك لا تبحث عن الدعم.

      أنا لست محاميًا ، على الرغم من ... قد ترغب في إعادة التحقق!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Technology

It’s the Little Things that Improve a User Experience!

Today was my first day in my new position as Director of Technology for a young Marketing and eCommerce software company here in Indianapolis, called Patronpath. As I reviewed our software today and assisted in a new integration, I was encouraged by the sophistication of the application. Our application integrates online ordering with several POS systems.

I’m looking forward to working with our development teams to bring our User Interface fully customizable utilizing CSS and, perhaps, some AJAX. The great news is that these are largely cosmetic changes that will not require gutting and rebuilding the application. Largely, I believe the application can be improved in two ways, first is the ability to customize the client’s interaction and the second is to implement some basic ‘little things’.

As I was working in Paypal last night, I found just a ‘little thing’. When you mouseover specific links in the Paypal interface, a nice fade-in tooltip appears and fades out when you mouseout off of it. Here’s a screenshot:

Mouseover on Paypal

Often when I notice these techniques, I do a little digging to find out more. In this case, I found out that Paypal is simply utilizing the Yahoo! User Interface Library to build the tooltips. Even better, they are simply displaying the messaging of the actual title within the (a)nchor tag. This means that the page was developed normally, but when the class was added, JavaScript took care of the rest.

It’s little accents like this on software that really make it a better user experience. Perhaps more impressive is that the developers at Paypal didn’t bother to ‘reinvent the wheel’, they found a good library and implemented it.

I’ll be looking for these and other techniques in upcoming months to improve the user experience of our applications.

2 Comments

  1. 1

    Hi Douglas

    WOW, I had no idea Yahoo’s UI library was open source and on Sourceforge … that’s another new toy I have to play with. 🙂

    What I thought was a really cool addition user experience recently was when I switched over the new Yahoo Webmail Beta and was treated to very nice looking visual tutorial with tooltips aligned with each related item.

    I don’t know if this coding is part of the YUI Library, but if it is, it might be a nice thing to add for your ecommerce app.

    Cheers

    Nick 🙂

    • 2

      Yahoo has a tremendous collection of UI components, Nick. Be sure to check out their grid controls. Simply amazing. And in reading their documentation and licensing agreements – it’s all there for the taking as long as you’re not looking for support.

      I’m no attorney, though… you might wish to double-check!

Leave a Reply