غطرسة الشركات

البيتزا إنها سهلة مثل البيتزا لكنهم لا يحصلون عليها.

لا يوجد نقص في غطرسة الشركات. يمكنك رؤية علامات ذلك في كل مكان ويمكن أن تتسلل إلى كل مؤسسة. بمجرد أن تبدأ المنظمة في الاعتقاد بأنها تعرف أفضل من عملائها ، فإنها تبدأ في فقدان جاذبيتها. من المثير للاهتمام بالنسبة لي أن العديد من الشركات قررت فقط أن هذه مشكلة حقيقية عندما تأتي منافسة أفضل. في تلك المرحلة ، ألقوا باللوم في الهجرة الجماعية على المنافسة ، وليس على عدم كفاءتهم.

يبدو الأمر كما لو أن الشركات تعتقد أنه لا يوجد روس، أو العائد على الخدمة. بعض الشركات لديها ضغوط كبيرة من العملاء ... وبدلاً من محاولة حل المشكلة وإظهار التقدير للعميل ، فإنها تضخ المزيد من الدولارات لاكتساب العملاء لاستبدال أولئك الذين غادروا. يواصلون محاولة ملء الدلو المتسرب حتى لا يعمل شيء - ويموتون. العديد من هذه الشركات لديها جيوب عميقة للغاية ، مع ذلك ، وتستمر في تبديد الإمكانات الرائعة التي قد تكون لديها في معاملتنا بشكل عادل ، وعادل ، وصادق.

متعجرف ، متعجرف ، مذعن ، ازدراء ، مغرور ، نبيل ، لوردلي ، متعالي ، حمار ذكي ، مغرور ، متعجرف ، متغطرس ، متفوق ، مغرور ، متكبر Thesaurus.com - الغطرسة

فيما يلي بعض الأمثلة الرائعة على الغطرسة هذا الأسبوع:

  • سامسونج - عندما صور أحد العملاء مدى سهولة كسر الهاتف ، قررت Samsung اتخاذ إجراء قانوني ضد العميل بدلاً من إصلاح الهاتف.
  • كاثرين هاريس - عندما نشرت مدونتها في كارثة حملتها الجديدة ، يبدو أن زوارها لم يكونوا سوى رسائل بريد إلكتروني مخادعة من الشركة التي أنشأت الموقع.
  • HP - بدلاً من العمل على بناء أجهزة أفضل (لدينا مخطط HP جديد في العمل تم استبداله اليوم ... أعتقد أنه يمكننا إخراج صفحة واحدة بين كل إصلاح) ، قررت HP بطريقة ما أن التجسس على موظفي الشركة سيوفر بطريقة ما نتائج محسّنة ... يحتاج شخص ما لشرح هذا لي. الشركة التي لا تحترم موظفيها ليست الشركة التي أرغب في الارتباط بها.
  • Ask.com - في محاولة لتعزيز استخدام محرك البحث الخاص به ، تقوم Ask.com بإطلاق حملة وسائط لمحاولة جذب المستخدمين. لماذا لا تأخذ هذا المال وتصنع منتجًا يستحق الاستخدام؟ أعتقد أنه نظرًا لأنهم يعتقدون أن لديهم صفحة رئيسية رائعة الآن ، فإن الناس سيستخدمونها أكثر.
  • أجهزة آبل - يعترف بوجود مشكلة "طفيفة" في إغلاق أجهزة MacBooks تلقائيًا. تعريف "طفيف"؟ مكلف جدا للاستدعاء.
  • Microsoft - لا تنشئ منتجًا رائعًا ، فقط اجعل الجميع ينزلونه دون أن تطلب منهم ذلك من خلال وصفه بأنه "تحديث مهم" أنا كتب عن هذا. يبدو أن نيتهم ​​مخادعة أكثر قليلاً مما كنت أتخيل ، من خلال تغيير محرك البحث الافتراضي الخاص بك إلى MSN عند تثبيت IE7.
  • تيكت ماستر - يجب على جميع المطورين ملاحظة هذا ... في كندا ، تتم مقاضاة Ticketmaster لأن موقع الويب الخاص بهم لا يمكن الوصول إليه من قبل الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة. لا يمكن الوصول إلى موقعي بشكل كامل ولكن هذه القصة هي علامة حمراء يجب علينا جميعًا أن نسعى جاهدين لتقديم الخدمات لجميع العملاء! الحقيقة هي أنها مجرد مسألة موارد .. لا شيء غير ذلك. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، إنها طريقة رائعة لمنح عملائك أو العملاء المحتملين إحساسًا بأنك تهتم.

بعض القصص لها نهايات سعيدة ، رغم ذلك:

  • Facebook - مع أحدث إصدار وظيفي ، أثر Facebook عن غير قصد على حماية خصوصية عملائهم. أنا واثق من أنهم سيتعافون تمامًا بفضل قيادة الشركة.
  • يسو - في محاولة لتوفير ترجيح أفضل للقصص في محرك التنسيب الفيروسي القوي الخاص بهم ، قام Digg بتثبيته لمستخدميه الأقوياء ، الذين ربما كانوا يستخدمون النظام لتحقيق مكاسبهم الخاصة. اتخذت Digg القرار الصحيح من خلال تحسين خدمتها لجميع العملاء بدلاً من عدد قليل من الحفارين الذين اكتسبوا المزيد والمزيد من القوة.
  • GetHuman و Bringo / NoPhoneTrees.com تجمع القوى لتوفير نظرة ثاقبة حول كيفية اغتصاب أنظمة الهاتف الآلية للحصول على صوت حقيقي على الطرف الآخر من الهاتف.
  • ZipRealty - موقع يسمح للأشخاص بنشر تعليقاتهم عبر الإنترنت حول المنازل التي قاموا بزيارتها والمعروضة للبيع.
  • فورد - بينما الشركة لا تعمل بشكل جيد ، فإن فورد جريئة. حتى من الجرأة لتغيير البعض دولارات الإعلانات إلى المدونات الشعبية!

أتمنى أن ترى العلاقة هنا ... الأعمال الناجحة تتحرك لتحسين العلاقات والمنتجات والخدمات مع عملائها بينما تتجاهل الشركات الفقيرة وتتحدى وتتنمر وتضع افتراضات مع عملائها. إذا تذكرنا جميعًا أن:

  1. لا يمكنك فهم مدى أهمية منتجك لعميلك.
  2. لا يمكنك توقع كيف سيؤثر تغيير منتجك على عملائك حتى تفعل ذلك.
  3. أنت لا تفهم تمامًا كيف يستخدم عملاؤك منتجك.
  4. إذا كنت لا تتحدث / تستمع / تحترم / تشكر / تتعاطف مع / تعتذر / عملاءك ، شخص آخر سيفعل ذلك.
  5. عميلك يدفع راتبك.

لقد أخبرتني بما كنت ستبيعه لي. أخبرتك كيف أردت ذلك. أخبرتني متى سأحصل عليها. لقد سلمتها لي عندما قلت إنك ستفعل. لقد قدمت ما قلته ستفعله. لقد قمت بتسليم ما طلبته منك. دفعت لك. لقد شكرتني. شكرا لكم. سأطلب مرة أخرى قريبا.

إنها سهلة مثل البيتزا.

4 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

    تلخص هذه الجملة ببراعة الكثير مما حدث أثناء ازدهار وكساد الإنترنت.

    "بعض الشركات لديها زبون ضخم للعملاء وبدلاً من محاولة إصلاح المشكلة وإظهار التقدير للعميل ، فإنها تضخ المزيد من الدولارات لاكتساب العملاء لاستبدال أولئك الذين غادروا."

    لقد استمتعت بالمنشور.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Search Marketing, WordPress

Corporate Arrogance

Pizza It’s as easy as pizza but they just don’t get it.

There’s no shortage of corporate arrogance. You can see signs of it everywhere and it can creep into every organization. As soon as the organization begins to think that it knows better than its customers, they begin to lose their traction. It’s interesting to me that many companies only decide that this is truly a problem when better competition comes along. At that point, they blame the mass exodus on the competition, not on their own incompetence.

It’s as though companies believe that there’s no R.O.S., or Return on Service. Some companies have huge customer churn… and rather than trying to fix the issue and show appreciation for the customer, they merely pump more dollars into acquiring customers to replace the ones who have left. They continue trying to fill the leaky bucket until nothing works – and they die. Many of these companies have very deep pockets, though, and continue to squander the splendid potential they might have had into treating us fairly, justly, and honestly.

condescending, arrogant, complaisant, disdainful, egotistic, lofty, lordly, patronizing, smart ass, snobbish, snooty, supercilious, superior, uppish, uppity – Thesaurus.com – Arrogance

Here are some superb examples of arrogance this week:

  • Samsung – when a customer filmed how easily it was to break a phone, Samsung decided to take legal action against the customer rather than fixing the phone.
  • Katherine Harris – when she posted her blog in her new disaster of a campaign, it appears her visitors were none other than spoofed emailers from the company that built out the site.
  • HP – rather than working to build better hardware (we have a new HP plotter at work that was replaced today… I think we could get 1 page out between each repair), HP decided somehow that spying on their corporate staff would somehow provide improved results… someone needs to explain this to me. A company that doesn’t respect its own employees is not one that I wish to be associated with.
  • Ask.com – Trying to boost usage of it’s search engine, Ask.com is launching a media blitz to try and attract users. Why don’t you take that money and make a product worth using? I guess since they think they have a cool home page now, people will use them more.
  • Apple – admits there is a ‘slight’ problem with it’s MacBooks automatically shutting down. Definition of ‘slight’? Too expensive for a recall.
  • Microsoft – Don’t build a great product, just get everyone to download it without asking them by labeling it as a ‘critical update’. I wrote about this. It seems their intent is a little more devious than I had imagined, by changing your default search engine to MSN upon installation of IE7.
  • Ticketmaster – ALL developers should take note of this… in Canada, Ticketmaster is being sued because their website is not accessible by folks with handicaps. My site is not fully accessible either but this story is a red flag. We should all be striving to provide services to all customers! The fact is, it’s simply a resource issue.. nothing else. As well, it’s quite a way to provide your customers or prospects with the sense that you do care.

Some stories do have happy endings, though:

  • Facebook – with their newest functional release, Facebook inadvertently affected their customers’ privacy protection. I’m confident that they will make a full recovery thanks to the leadership of the company.
  • Digg – in an effort to provide better weighting for stories in their powerful viral placement engine, Digg stuck it to its power users, who may have been using the system for their own gain. Digg made the right decision by improving it’s service to ALL customers rather than the few Diggers who were gaining more and more power.
  • GetHuman and Bringo/NoPhoneTrees.com are gathering the forces to provide insight on how to usurp automated phone systems to get a real voice on the other end of the phone.
  • ZipRealty – a site that allows folks to post their comments online about homes that they’ve visited that are for sale.
  • Ford – while the company is not doing well, Ford is being bold. Even so bold as to shift some ad dollars to popular blogs!

I hope you see the relationship here… successful businesses moving to improve relationships, products, and services with their clients while poor companies ignore, challenge, bully and make assumptions with their clients. If only we could all remember that:

  1. You can’t comprehend how important your product is to your client.
  2. You can’t foresee how changing your product will impact your clients until you do.
  3. You do not fully understand how your customers use your product.
  4. If you don’t talk / listen / respect / thank / empathize with / apologize to / your clients, someone else will.
  5. Your customer pays your salary.

You told me what you were going to sell me. I told you how I wanted it. You told me when I would get it. You delivered it to me when you said you would. You delivered what you said you would. You delivered what I asked you to. I paid you. You thanked me. I thanked you. I’ll order again soon.

It’s as easy as pizza.

4 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

    This sentence brilliantly sums up a lot of what happened during the dot com boom and bust.

    “Some companies have huge customer churnâ?¦ and rather than trying to fix the issue and show appreciation for the customer, they merely pump more dollars into acquiring customers to replace the ones who have left.”

    I enjoyed the post.

Leave a Reply