لماذا يجب على فرق التسويق وتكنولوجيا المعلومات مشاركة مسؤوليات الأمن السيبراني

مصادقة البريد الإلكتروني والأمن السيبراني

زاد الوباء من حاجة كل قسم داخل المنظمة إلى إيلاء المزيد من الاهتمام للأمن السيبراني. هذا منطقي ، صحيح؟ كلما زادت التكنولوجيا التي نستخدمها في عملياتنا وعملنا اليومي ، كلما كنا أكثر عرضة للانتهاك. لكن يجب أن يبدأ تبني ممارسات أفضل للأمن السيبراني بفرق تسويق على دراية جيدة.

لطالما كان الأمن السيبراني مصدر قلق لتقنية المعلومات (IT) القادة وكبار ضباط أمن المعلومات (CISO) وكبار مسؤولي التكنولوجيا (CTO) أو رئيس قسم المعلومات (CIO). أدى النمو الهائل للجرائم الإلكترونية - بالضرورة - إلى رفع مستوى الأمن السيبراني إلى ما هو أبعد من ذلك بكثير مجرد قلق يتعلق بتكنولوجيا المعلومات. فى الاخير، لم يعد المدراء التنفيذيون والمجالس في C-Suite يعتبرون المخاطر السيبرانية "مشكلة تكنولوجيا معلومات" ولكن كتهديد يحتاج إلى معالجة على كل المستويات. لمكافحة الضرر بشكل كامل ، يمكن أن تفرض هجوم إلكتروني ناجح على الشركات دمج الأمن السيبراني في إستراتيجيتها الشاملة لإدارة المخاطر.

من أجل الحماية الكاملة ، يجب على الشركات تحقيق توازن بين الأمان والخصوصية وتجارب العملاء. لكن كيف يمكن للمنظمات الوصول إلى هذا التوازن الصعب؟ من خلال تشجيع فرق التسويق الخاصة بهم على القيام بدور أكثر نشاطًا.

لماذا يجب أن يهتم المسوقون بالأمن السيبراني؟

اسم علامتك التجارية جيد فقط مثل سمعتك.

ريتشارد برانسون

يستغرق بناء سمعة طيبة 20 عامًا وخمس دقائق لتدميرها.

وارين بوفيت

إذن ما الذي يحدث عندما يحصل مجرمو الإنترنت على المعلومات التي يحتاجونها والوصول إليها لانتحال شخصية شركة بنجاح ، أو خداع عملائها ، أو سرقة البيانات ، أو ما هو أسوأ؟ مشكلة خطيرة للشركة.

فكر في الأمر. ما يقرب من 100٪ من الشركات ترسل رسائل بريد إلكتروني تسويقية شهرية لعملائها. يشهد كل دولار يتم إنفاقه على التسويق عائدًا على الاستثمار (ROI) يبلغ حوالي 36 دولارًا. تهدد هجمات التصيد الاحتيالي التي تضر بعلامتك التجارية نجاح قناة التسويق.

لسوء الحظ ، من السهل جدًا على المحتالين والممثلين السيئين التظاهر بأنهم شخص آخر. تعد التكنولوجيا التي تمنع هذا الانتحال ناضجة ومتاحة ، لكن التبني مفقود لأنه يصعب أحيانًا على مؤسسة تكنولوجيا المعلومات إظهار الأعمال الواضحة العائد على الاستثمار للتدابير الأمنية عبر المنظمة. نظرًا لأن فوائد المعايير مثل BIMI و DMARC أصبحت أكثر وضوحًا ، يمكن للتسويق وتكنولوجيا المعلومات رسم قصة مشتركة مقنعة. حان الوقت لاتباع نهج أكثر شمولية للأمن السيبراني ، وهو نهج يكسر الحواجز ويزيد من التعاون بين الإدارات.

يعرف قسم تكنولوجيا المعلومات أن DMARC أمر بالغ الأهمية لحماية المؤسسات من التصيد الاحتيالي وإلحاق الأذى بالسمعة ، ولكنه يكافح من أجل الحصول على دعم لتنفيذه من القيادة. مؤشرات العلامة التجارية لتحديد الرسالة (BIMI) يأتي ، مما يولد الإثارة في قسم التسويق الذي يريده لأنه يحسن معدلات الفتح. تنفذ الشركة DMARC و BIMI و voilà! تحقق تكنولوجيا المعلومات مكاسب واضحة وملموسة و يتلقى التسويق عثرة ملموسة في عائد الاستثمار. الجميع يفوز.

العمل الجماعي هو المفتاح

ينظر معظم الموظفين إلى أقسام تكنولوجيا المعلومات والتسويق وغيرها من الأقسام في صوامع. ولكن نظرًا لأن الهجمات الإلكترونية أصبحت أكثر تعقيدًا وتعقيدًا ، فإن عملية التفكير هذه لا تفيد أحدًا. يلتزم المسوقون أيضًا بالمساعدة في حماية بيانات المؤسسة والعملاء. نظرًا لارتباطهم ارتباطًا وثيقًا بقنوات مثل وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والإعلانات والبريد الإلكتروني ، يستخدم المسوقون ويشاركوا قدرًا كبيرًا من المعلومات.

يستخدم مجرمو الإنترنت الذين يشنون هجمات الهندسة الاجتماعية هذا لمصلحتهم. يستخدمون البريد الإلكتروني لإرسال طلبات أو استغراءات وهمية. عند فتحها ، تصيب رسائل البريد الإلكتروني هذه أجهزة كمبيوتر المسوقين ببرامج ضارة. تعمل العديد من فرق التسويق أيضًا مع البائعين الخارجيين والأنظمة الأساسية المتنوعة التي تتطلب الوصول إلى معلومات العمل السرية أو تبادلها.

وعندما يُتوقع أن تُظهر فرق التسويق نموًا في عائد الاستثمار بينما تفعل المزيد بموارد أقل ، فإنهم يبحثون باستمرار عن تقنية جديدة ومبتكرة تزيد من الإنتاجية والكفاءة. لكن هذه التطورات يمكن أن تخلق فرصًا غير مقصودة للهجمات الإلكترونية. لهذا السبب يجب على المسوقين ومحترفي تكنولوجيا المعلومات الخروج من صوامعهم للتعاون والتأكد من أن التحسينات التسويقية لا تجعل الشركة عرضة لمخاطر الأمان. يجب على منظمات الإدارة الجماعية و CISOs تدقيق الحلول قبل تنفيذها و تدريب موظفي التسويق للتعرف على مخاطر الأمن السيبراني المحتملة والإبلاغ عنها.

يجب على متخصصي تكنولوجيا المعلومات تمكين محترفي التسويق من أن يصبحوا مسؤولين عن أفضل ممارسات أمن المعلومات باستخدام:

  • مصادقة متعددة العوامل (MFA)
  • مديري كلمات المرور مثل Dashlane or LassPass.
  • علامة واحدة على (SSO)

أداة قيمة أخرى لتضمينها في استراتيجيات الأمن السيبراني للمسوقين؟ DMARC.

قيمة DMARC لفرق التسويق

مصادقة الرسائل المستندة إلى المجال والإبلاغ عنها والمطابقة هي المعيار الذهبي لمصادقة البريد الإلكتروني. تضمن الشركات التي تتبنى DMARC at Enforcement أن الكيانات المعتمدة فقط هي التي يمكنها إرسال رسائل البريد الإلكتروني نيابة عنها.

من خلال استخدام DMARC (والبروتوكولات الأساسية SPF و DKIM) بشكل فعال والوصول إلى الإنفاذ ، ترى العلامات التجارية إمكانية وصول البريد الإلكتروني المحسنة .. بدون المصادقة ، تترك الشركات نفسها مفتوحة لمجرمي الإنترنت الذين يستخدمون المجال الخاص بهم لإرسال رسائل التصيد الاحتيالي والبريد الإلكتروني العشوائي. DMARC at Enforcement يمنع المتسللين من الحصول على رحلة مجانية على المجالات المحمية.  

لا يقوم نظام التعرف على هوية المرسل (SPF) أو DKIM بمصادقة المرسل مقابل الحقل "من:" الذي يراه المستخدمون. يمكن أن تضمن السياسة المحددة في سجل DMARC وجود "محاذاة" (أي تطابق) بين عنوان "من:" المرئي وإما نطاق مفتاح DKIM أو مرسل نظام التعرف على هوية المرسل (SPF) الذي تم التحقق منه. تمنع هذه الإستراتيجية مجرمي الإنترنت من استخدام المجالات الزائفة في ملف من: يخدع المستلمين ويسمح للمتسللين بإعادة توجيه المستخدمين عن غير قصد إلى مجالات غير ذات صلة تحت سيطرتهم.

ترسل فرق التسويق رسائل البريد الإلكتروني ليس فقط لاستهداف العملاء المحتملين. في النهاية ، يريدون فتح رسائل البريد الإلكتروني هذه والتصرف بناءً عليها. تتأكد مصادقة DMARC من وصول رسائل البريد الإلكتروني هذه إلى صناديق البريد الوارد المقصودة. يمكن للعلامات التجارية تعزيز مرونتها بشكل أكبر عن طريق إضافة مؤشرات العلامة التجارية لتحديد الرسائل (BIMI).

تحوّل BIMI DMARC إلى عائد استثمار تسويقي ملموس

BIMI هي أداة يجب على كل مسوق استخدامها. يتيح BIMI للمسوقين إضافة شعار علامتهم التجارية إلى رسائل البريد الإلكتروني المحمية ، والتي ثبت أنها تزيد معدلات الفتح بنسبة 10٪ في المتوسط.

باختصار ، BIMI هي ميزة العلامة التجارية للمسوقين. إنه مبني على تقنيات مصادقة البريد الإلكتروني القوية - DMARC عند التنفيذ - والتعاون بين مختلف أصحاب المصلحة بما في ذلك أقسام التسويق وتكنولوجيا المعلومات والإدارات القانونية ..

اعتمد المسوقون دائمًا على سطور موضوعية ذكية وجذابة لجذب انتباه المستلمين ، ولكن مع BIMI ، تصبح رسائل البريد الإلكتروني التي تستخدم الشعار أسرع وأسهل في التعرف عليها. حتى إذا لم يفتح المستهلكون البريد الإلكتروني ، فإنهم يرون الشعار. مثل وضع شعار على قميص أو مبنى أو أي غنيمة أخرى ، فإن الشعار الموجود على رسالة بريد إلكتروني يلفت انتباه المستلمين على الفور إلى العلامة التجارية - وهو تطور لم يكن ممكنًا من قبل دون فتح الرسالة أولاً. يساعد BIMI المسوقين على الدخول إلى البريد الوارد في وقت أقرب بكثير.

DMARC من Valimail كخدمة

تطبيق DMARC is الطريق إلى BIMI. يتطلب السير في هذا المسار التأكد من أن DNS يصادق بشكل صحيح جميع البريد المرسل - وهو نشاط يستغرق وقتًا طويلاً للشركات. فقط 15٪ من الشركات تكمل بنجاح مشاريع DMARC الخاصة بها. يجب أن تكون هناك طريقة أفضل ، أليس كذلك؟ يوجد!

تقدم Valimail Authenticate خدمة DMARC ، بما في ذلك:

  • التكوين التلقائي لنظام أسماء النطاقات
  • تحديد المرسل الذكي
  • قائمة مهام سهلة المتابعة تساعد المستخدمين على تنفيذ تطبيق DMARC سريعًا ومستمرًا

مصادقة DMARC ™ يخرج من مخاطر توفير DNS. تسمح رؤيتها الكاملة للشركات بمعرفة من يرسل البريد الإلكتروني نيابة عنها. توجه عمليات سير العمل المؤتمتة والموجهة المستخدمين خلال كل مهمة لتكوين الخدمات دون الحاجة إلى معرفة تقنية عميقة أو التعاقد مع خبراء خارجيين. أخيرًا ، تساعد التحليلات السياقية في التحقق من صحة التوصيات الآلية - كما تعمل التنبيهات على إبقاء المستخدمين محدثين.

لا يمكن لأقسام التسويق العيش في صوامع ، بعيدًا عن مخاوف الأمن السيبراني ، بعد الآن. نظرًا لأن الوصول إليها أسهل بفضل التواجد الأكبر على Twitter و LinkedIn ومنصات الوسائط الاجتماعية الأخرى ، فإن المتسللين يعتبرونها أهدافًا سهلة وقابلة للاستغلال. نظرًا لأن المؤسسات تدرك قيمة إنشاء ثقافة الوعي بالأمن السيبراني ، فيجب عليها دعوة فرق التسويق الخاصة بهم للتعاون على طاولة إدارة المخاطر مع فرق تكنولوجيا المعلومات وفريق CISO.

جرب Valimail

الكشف: Martech Zone تضمنت الروابط التابعة في هذه المقالة.

Why Marketing and IT Teams Should Share Cybersecurity Responsibilities

Email Authentication and Cybersecurity

The pandemic heightened the need for every department within an organization to pay more attention to cybersecurity. That makes sense, right? The more tech we use in our processes and day-to-day work, the more vulnerable we could be to a breach. But the adoption of better cybersecurity practices should begin with well-versed marketing teams.

Cybersecurity has typically been a concern for Information Technology (IT) leaders, Chief Information Security Officers (CISO) and Chief Technology Officers (CTO) or Chief Information Officer (CIO). The explosive growth of cybercrime has — by necessity — elevated cybersecurity well beyond that of merely an IT concern. At last, C-suite executives and boards no longer see cyber risk as an ‘IT problem’ but as a threat that needs addressing at every level. To fully combat the damage a successful cyberattack can levy requires companies to integrate cybersecurity into their overall risk management strategy.

For full protection, companies must strike a balance between security, privacy and customer experiences. But how can organizations reach this tricky balance? By encouraging their marketing teams to take a more active role.

Why Should Marketers Care About Cybersecurity?

Your brand name is only as good as your reputation.

Richard Branson

It takes 20 years to build a reputation and five minutes to ruin it.

Warren Buffet

So what happens when cyber criminals obtain the information and access they need to successfully impersonate a company, deceiving its customers, stealing data, or worse? A serious problem for the company.

Think about it. Nearly 100% of businesses send monthly marketing emails to their customers. Every marketing dollar spent sees an return on investment (ROI) of about $36. Phishing attacks that damage one’s brand threaten a marketing channel’s success.

Unfortunately, it’s all too easy for scammers and bad actors to pretend to be someone else. Technology preventing this spoofing is mature and available, but adoption lacks because sometimes it’s hard for an IT organization to demonstrate the clear business ROI for security measures across the organization. As the benefits of standards like BIMI and DMARC become more apparent, marketing and IT can paint a compelling joint story. It’s time for a more holistic approach to cybersecurity, one that breaks down silos and increases collaboration between departments.

IT knows DMARC is crucial to protecting organizations from phishing and reputational harm but struggles to gain buy-in for its implementation from leadership. Brand Indicators for Message Identification (BIMI) comes along, generating excitement in the marketing department, which wants it because it improves open rates. The company implements DMARC and BIMI and voilà! IT achieves a visible, concrete win and marketing receives a tangible bump in ROI. Everyone wins.

Teamwork Is Key

Most employees view their IT, marketing and other departments in silos. But as cyberattacks become more sophisticated and complex, this thought process benefits no one. Marketers are also obligated to help protect organization and customer data. Because they’re more closely connected to channels like social media, ads and email, marketers use and share a large amount of information.

Cybercriminals launching social engineering attacks use this to their advantage. They use email to send fake requests or solicitations. When opened, these emails infect marketers’ computers with malware. Many marketing teams also work with diverse external vendors and platforms requiring access to or an exchange of confidential business information.

And when marketing teams are expected to show ROI growth while doing more with less, they’re constantly looking for new, innovative technology that increases productivity and efficiency. But these advancements can create unintended openings for cyberattacks. It’s why marketers and IT professionals must step out of their silos to collaborate and ensure marketing improvements aren’t leaving the company vulnerable to security risks. CMOs and CISOs should audit solutions before their implementation and train marketing personnel to recognize and report potential cybersecurity risks.

IT professionals should empower marketing professionals to become stewards of information security best practices by using:

Another valuable tool to include in marketers’ cybersecurity strategies? DMARC.

DMARC’s Value For Marketing Teams

Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance is the gold standard for authenticating email. Companies adopting DMARC at Enforcement guarantee that only approved entities can send emails on their behalf.

By utilizing DMARC (and the underlying protocols SPF and DKIM) effectively and getting to Enforcement, brands see improved email deliverability.. Without authentication, companies leave themselves open to cybercriminals using their domain to send phishing and spam emails. DMARC at Enforcement prevents hackers from catching a free ride on protected domains.  

Neither SPF or DKIM authenticate the sender against the “From:” field that users see. The policy specified in a DMARC record can ensure that there is “alignment” (i.e. a match) between the visible From: address and either the DKIM key’s domain or the SPF verified sender. This strategy prevents cybercriminals from using bogus domains in the From: field that fool recipients and allow hackers to reroute unwitting users to unrelated domains under their control.

Marketing teams send emails not just to target potential customers. Ultimately, they want those emails opened and acted upon. DMARC authentication makes sure those emails arrive in the intended inboxes. Brands can bolster their resilience even further by adding Brand Indicators for Message Identification (BIMI).

BIMI Turns DMARC Into Tangible Marketing ROI

BIMI is a tool every marketer should use. BIMI lets marketers add their brand’s logo to protected emails, which has been shown to increase open rates by 10% on average.

In short, BIMI is brand benefit for marketers. It is built on strong email authentication technologies — DMARC at enforcement — and collaboration among different stakeholders including the marketing, IT and legal departments..

Marketers have always relied on clever, catchy subject lines to capture recipients’ attention, but with BIMI, emails using a logo become quicker and easier to identify. Even if consumers don’t open the email, they see the logo. Like putting a logo on a t-shirt, a building, or other swag, a logo on an email immediately calls receivers’ attention to the brand — a development never possible before without first opening the message.  BIMI helps marketers gain entry to the inbox much sooner.

Valimail’s DMARC as a Service

DMARC enforcement is the path to BIMI. To walk this path requires  ensuring DNS properly authenticates all sent mail — a time-consuming activity for businesses. Only 15% of companies successfully complete their DMARC projects. There has to be a better way, right? There is!

Valimail Authenticate offers DMARC as a Service, including:

  • Automatic DNS configuration
  • Intelligent sender identification
  • An easy-to-follow task list that helps users achieve rapid, ongoing DMARC enforcement

DMARC Authentication™ takes the risk out of DNS provisioning. Its complete visibility allows companies to see who’s sending email on their behalf. Guided, automated workflows walk users through each task to configure services without the need for deep, technical knowledge or for contracting outside expertise. Finally, contextual analytics help validate automated recommendations — and alerts keep users up-to-date.

Marketing departments can’t live in silos, sheltered away from cybersecurity concerns, any longer. Because they’re more accessible thanks to a larger presence on Twitter, LinkedIn and other social media platforms, hackers see them as easy, exploitable targets. As organizations recognize the value of creating a culture of cybersecurity awareness, they must invite their marketing teams to collaborate at the risk management table with the IT and CISO teams.

Try Valimail

Disclosure: Martech Zone has included affiliate links in this article.