لماذا يحتاج عملك إلى الانتباه إلى الامتثال لقانون CCPA

لماذا يجب على الشركات الانتباه إلى قانون خصوصية المستهلك في كاليفورنيا - CCPA

تكذب ثقافة ركوب الأمواج المشهورة المشهورة في كاليفورنيا ، دورها في تحويل المحادثات الوطنية حول القضايا الساخنة من خلال تمرير قوانين تشريعية بارزة. أول من يمرر كل شيء من تلوث الهواء إلى الماريجوانا الطبية إلى تشريعات الطلاق غير الخاطئة ، تقود كاليفورنيا الكفاح من أجل قوانين خصوصية البيانات الصديقة للمستهلك.

يوفر قانون خصوصية المستهلك في كاليفورنيا (CCPA) هو قانون خصوصية البيانات الأكثر شمولاً وقابلية للتنفيذ في الولايات المتحدة. من الصعب المبالغة في تأثيرها على ممارسات الخصوصية.

ما تحتاج لمعرفته حول CCPA

لوائح الخصوصية معقدة ، هذا صحيح. لكن يمكن إدارتها في كل شركة من خلال النهج الصحيح. إذا كنت في بداية رحلة الامتثال للخصوصية (موسيقى ملهمة cue) ، فإليك ما تحتاج إلى معرفته حول CCPA وعملك. 

سؤال ال 25 مليون دولار: هل تنطبق CCPA علي؟

السؤال الأول الذي نتلقاه من العملاء هو ، فهل أنا بحاجة إلى القلق بشأن CCPA أم لا؟

ينطبق قانون خصوصية المستهلك في كاليفورنيا على الشركات الربحية التي تعمل في كاليفورنيا ، وتجمع المعلومات الشخصية لسكان كاليفورنيا وتتحكم فيها ، وتفي بأحد المتطلبات التالية:

  • الإيرادات الإجمالية السنوية أكثر من 25 مليون دولار
  • يجمع معلومات شخصية من أكثر من 50,000 من سكان كاليفورنيا أو أسرة أو جهاز كل عام *
  • تحصل على 50٪ أو أكثر من الإيرادات السنوية من بيع المعلومات الشخصية لسكان كاليفورنيا

*سيتم رفع عتبة المعلومات الشخصية التي تم جمعها إلى 100,000 في عام 2023 عندما يصبح قانون حقوق الخصوصية في ولاية كاليفورنيا قابلاً للتنفيذ.

قد يبدو هذا وكأنه فقط للشركات الكبيرة. ليست كذلك. يقدر الباحثون ما يصل إلى 75٪ من الشركات في كاليفورنيا تحقق إيرادات سنوية تقل عن 25 مليون دولار سوف تتأثر بالقانون.

الأمر كله يتعلق بالفرد (الحقوق)

إن الحق الفردي للمستهلك في التحكم في كيفية استخدام معلوماته الشخصية هو في صميم قانون خصوصية المستهلك في كاليفورنيا. الحقوق المقننة في قانون حماية خصوصية المستهلك CCPA تشمل الحق في:

  • تعرف على المعلومات التي تجمعها عنهم ولماذا
  • اطلب حذف معلوماتهم من قواعد البيانات الخاصة بك
  • تعرف على شركات الجهات الخارجية التي تشارك بياناتها معها أو تشتري بياناتها منها
  • فرض استجابة التمكين قبل بيع البيانات لأي شخص يبلغ من العمر 16 عامًا أو أقل
  • الانسحاب من بيع المعلومات الشخصية

الأخير - الحق في رفض بيع المعلومات الشخصية - هو الأكبر. مع تعريف واسع لما يتكون منه بيانات "البيع" (البيع ، أو التأجير ، أو الإفراج ، أو الإفصاح ، أو النشر ، أو الإتاحة ، أو نقل ... المعلومات الشخصية للمستهلك مقابل المال or شيء آخر ذو قيمة) ، يمكن أن يكون هذا المطلب هو الأسهل للاستيلاء على الشركات.

إدارة طلبات الحقوق الفردية

إذا سمحت لأطراف ثالثة باستخدام البيانات التي تجمعها لأغراضهم الخاصة وتحتاج إلى أن تكون متوافقًا مع CCPA ، فأنت لديك للحصول على عمليات تعيين بيانات آمنة وفعالة تتيح لك تحديد المعلومات الشخصية وتعديلها وإزالتها للمستهلكين ضمن الجداول الزمنية لـ CCPA.

هذا يعني أنك بحاجة إلى:

  • لديك عمليات لتقديم الحقوق الفردية لمعرفة / حذف الطلبات. يجب أن يتضمن ذلك طريقتين على الأقل لتقديم الطلبات.  
    • مطلوب رقم هاتف مجاني ، باستثناء الأنشطة التجارية عبر الإنترنت فقط - يمكن لعنوان البريد الإلكتروني أن يحل محل الرقم المجاني.  
    • بشكل عام ، يمكن لجميع الشركات تقديم نموذج ويب أو عنوان بريد إلكتروني لإرسال الطلبات.
    • قبل الانتهاء من عملياتك ، راجع الأمر مع متخصص في الخصوصية للتأكد من أنك تتخذ الخيارات الصحيحة.
  • اعلم أنه يمكنك تلبية تأكيد الطلب الصارم لمدة 10 أيام والجدول الزمني للإنجاز لمدة 45 يومًا
  • اعرف أن فريقك يمكنه تحديد سجلات معلومات المستهلك والتحقق منها بشكل صحيح 

الشفافية مع الأسنان

بإضافة إلى متطلبات صارمة لإخطار العملاء بممارسات جمع البيانات ، يمكنك شكر CCPA لكل هؤلاء تحديث لسياسة الخصوصية الخاصة بنا رسائل البريد الإلكتروني التي تلقيتها من كل شركة أعطيتها عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. 

يجب أن تكون إشعارات الخصوصية المتوافقة مع قانون خصوصية المستهلك في كاليفورنيا (CCPA) متاحة وأن تحدد على وجه التحديد نوع المعلومات التي تجمعها ، وماذا تفعل بها ، ومع من تشاركها. كما يحتاج أيضًا إلى توضيح حقوق المستهلكين التي يتمتع بها عملاؤك بالتفصيل. (أنظر فوق). 

علاوة على ذلك ، عليك إخبار المستهلكين بكل ذلك في وقت التجميع أو قبله وتقديم (واضح) لا تبيع بياناتي الشخصية زر في صفحتك الرئيسية.

الشريط الجانبي - إذا كانت سياسة الخصوصية الخاصة بك عبارة عن أربع صفحات من الإجراءات القانونية الكثيفة ، فأعد كتابتها بأسلوب سهل الاستخدام. سيؤدي القيام بذلك إلى مساعدة عملائك على فهمه وتحسين تجربتهم على موقعك. 

حافظ على سرية المعلومات وحافظ عليها بأمان

CCPA يتطلب منك الحفاظ على إجراءات أمنية معقولة لحماية معلومات المستهلك الحساسة. لا يحدد التشريع ماهية "الإجراء الأمني ​​المعقول" ، ولكن أول شيء عليك القيام به هو التأكد من فهمك لدورة الحياة الكاملة لسجل البيانات. هذا يعني أنك بحاجة إلى معرفة المعلومات التي تجمعها ، ولماذا تجمعها ، ومتى تجمعها ، ومكان تخزينها ، ومدة الاحتفاظ بها ، ومع من تشاركها. 

تتضمن الأشياء الأخرى التي يجب أن تكون بالتأكيد في قائمة مهامك ما يلي:

  • تقييد وتحديث هياكل السماح بالوصول (ستندهش من عدد الشركات التي تنسى إزالة الموظفين السابقين من أنظمتها)
  • تعزيز عمليات تحديث البرامج / الأجهزة الخاصة بشركتك وعمليات التصحيح حتى لا تترك أنظمتك عرضة للاختراق
  • إنشاء سياسات الشركة لكلمات مرور قوية ، واستخدام VPN (لا توجد شبكة Wi-Fi عامة!) ، والفصل بين أجهزة العمل / الشخصية
  • تشفير البيانات في حالة السكون وعند نقلها إلى شركات أخرى.

بعد معالجة هذه الخطوات ، ضع في اعتبارك تقييم الخصوصية والأمان لنظامك و لكل من مزودي الخدمة الخاصين بك.

لماذا CCPA حقًا ، حقا المسائل

CCPA هي مجرد بداية. إنه أول قانون واسع النطاق لخصوصية البيانات في أمريكا ، لكنه ليس قريبًا حتى من الأخير. كونك متوافقًا مع CCPA سيسمح لشركتك بالتكيف بسرعة مع التغييرات التي تظهر بالفعل في الأفق. 

المزيد من لوائح الخصوصية في طريقهم

خليفة CCPA ، ال قانون سجلات الخصوصية في كاليفورنيا (CPRA) ، تم تمريره بالفعل من قبل الناخبين في كاليفورنيا. يوضح CPRA الأقسام الغامضة من CCPA ، ويضيف حماية إضافية للمستهلك ، ويضيف التعرض للمسؤولية المدنية لشركتك إذا كشف خرق البيانات المعلومات الشخصية الحساسة لعملائك. 

باستثناء الحق في الوصول ، سيطبق CPRA ، كما هو مكتوب الآن ، على المعلومات الشخصية التي تجمعها من عملائك في أو بعد 1 يناير 2022. هذا يعني أنه على الرغم من أن CPRA لم تدخل حيز التنفيذ حتى يناير 2023 ، يجب أن تكون قادرًا على تتبع سجلات البيانات الفردية بشكل فعال بحلول نهاية عام 2021. 

كونك متوافقًا مع CCPA سوف يحقق ذلك بشكل فعال ويجعل رحلتك نحو الامتثال CPRA أسهل بكثير.

كما زاد CPRA بشكل كبير من احتمالية أن نرى إجراءات إنفاذ قوية من خلال إنشاء وتمويل وكالة حماية الخصوصية في كاليفورنيا ، والتي سيكون لديها تمويل كبير وموظفون للتعامل مع شكاوى الخصوصية. من خلال تطبيق قانون CCPA الذي يديره مكتب المدعي العام في كاليفورنيا ، تمكنت الشركات من تجنب التدقيق أو تجنب التعرض لانتهاكات الخصوصية. سيكون هذا أقل احتمالا إلى حد كبير مع زيادة مستوى التدقيق CPRA.

لوائح الخصوصية في الدول الأخرى

يوجد أيضًا في نيفادا وماين وماساتشوستس ونيويورك وفيرمونت وإلينوي قوانين حماية البيانات على الكتب رغم أنها تختلف في نواح كثيرة عن قانون حماية خصوصية المستهلك ولا تعتبر قانونًا شاملاً للخصوصية. دول أخرى لديها مشاريع قوانين نشطة معلقة. حتى إذا لم يتطابق أي من هذه القوانين المعلقة مع معايير ولاية كاليفورنيا ، فإن الاحتمالات عالية جدًا ، حيث ستكون هناك لائحة في ولايتك في السنوات الخمس المقبلة. إذا تمكنت من جعل شركتك متوافقة مع CCPA الآن ، فستكون مطابقة المتطلبات المستقبلية أسرع وأكثر كفاءة وأقل تكلفة.

غرامات ، رسوم ، إنذارات ، يا إلهي!

ليس هناك ما هو أسوأ بالنسبة للتجارة الإلكترونية من خرق البيانات. غالبًا ما تؤدي عمليات الاختراق إلى دعاية سيئة بشكل محرج ، ولكنها أيضًا توجه ضربة لسمعتك لدى المستهلكين والتي تترجم إلى خسائر في المبيعات وانخفاض في الإيرادات.

لكن الأمر لا يتعلق فقط بثقة المستهلك. يمثل عدم الامتثال أيضًا خطرًا ماليًا حقيقيًا يمكن أن يستنزف احتياطياتك أثناء انخفاض مبيعاتك.

بموجب CCPA ، يمكن أن يؤدي الإخفاق في حل مشكلات عدم الامتثال في غضون 30 يومًا من الإشعار إلى إصدار أمر قضائي قد يؤدي إلى إغلاق عملك. قد تخضع لغرامة قدرها 2,500-7,000 دولار عن كل غرامة قياسية من ولاية كاليفورنيا. عتبة CCPA لجمع البيانات هي 50,000 سجل في السنة. الحصول على رسوم 2,500 دولار أو 7,500 دولار حتى لجزء بسيط من هذا العدد الكبير من السجلات يعد الكثير من المال.

علاوة على ذلك ، يمكن للعملاء الأفراد مقاضاتك مباشرة إذا كان هناك خرق لبيانات غير منقحة أو غير مشفرة تصل قيمتها إلى 100-750 دولار لكل سجل. 

التدريب ، التدريب ، التدريب

تقدر الأبحاث ذلك 30٪ من جميع الاختراقات يمكن أن يعزى إلى خطأ بشري داخلي وتقريبا 95٪ من الانتهاكات المستندة إلى السحابة ناتجة عن أخطاء الموظف عن غير قصد.

حتى برامج بيانات الخصوصية الرائعة ستفشل إذا لم يفهمها الموظفون والموردون لديك. ابدأ في تدريب موظفيك على الامتثال لقانون حماية خصوصية المستهلك (CCPA) وأفضل ممارسات خصوصية البيانات الآن. إذا لم يستطع البائعون تلبية توقعاتك أو لم يستوفوها ، فابحث عن توقعات جديدة. 

قبل أن تفكر في أن الخصوصية تنتمي فقط إلى عالم العاملين في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات ، تذكر ما هو العالم المترابط والمتشابك ومشاركة المعلومات الذي نعيش فيه. قسم التسويق لفريق المبيعات الخاص بك لممثلي خدمة العملاء الخاصين بك ، يجب التعامل مع الامتثال للخصوصية والتدريب على كل مستوى من مستويات عملك. 

يستغرق تطوير ثقافة توعية قوية بالخصوصية وقتًا ، لذا لا تضيعوا المزيد منها.

كن الرجل الصالح

بيانات المستهلك ليست مجرد أداة - إنها العملة الأكثر قيمة في العالم. تحتاج إلى حمايته بعناية كما تفعل مع براءات الاختراع وحقوق التأليف والنشر وصيغ المنتجات الخاصة بك. حتى إذا كانت CCPA لا تنطبق عليك من الناحية الفنية ، فإن المستهلكين ليس لديهم سوى القليل من التسامح مع الشركات التي تلعب بسرعة وبشكل غير مباشر بمعلوماتهم الشخصية.

بدلاً من النظر إلى متطلبات الخصوصية كمركز تكلفة ، فكر فيها على أنها قيمة مضافة أساسية تبني الثقة مع عملائك وتضفي طابعًا فرديًا على تجربتهم.

بناء مستقبلك الرقمي

الثقة الرقمية ، أو مدى ثقة المستخدمين في أن الأعمال التجارية تتصرف بشكل أخلاقي عبر الإنترنت ، ستكون قضية المستهلك الرئيسية خلال العقد المقبل. سيؤدي الحصول على التوافق مع CCPA الآن إلى إنشاء الأساس القوي الذي تحتاجه للتكيف مع البنية التحتية لخصوصية البيانات التي يتم بناؤها من حولك في الوقت الفعلي. بدلاً من الانشغال ، قم ببناء سقالات ممارسة الخصوصية التي ستوفر لك الوقت والمال على المدى الطويل.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Why Your Business Needs To Be Paying Attention To CCPA Compliance

Why Businesses Should Pay Attention to California Consumer Privacy Act - CCPA

California’s famously sunny, laid-back surfer culture belies its role in shifting national conversations on hot-button issues through the passage of landmark legislative acts. The first to pass everything from air pollution to medicinal marijuana to no-fault divorce legislation, California is leading the fight for consumer-friendly data privacy laws.

The California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) is the United States’ most comprehensive and enforceable data privacy law. It’s hard to overstate its impact on privacy practices.

What You Need To Know About CCPA

Privacy regulations are complex, it’s true. But they’re manageable for each and every business with the right approach. If you’re at the beginning of your privacy compliance journey (cue inspiring music), here is what you need to know about CCPA and your business. 

The $25 Million Question: Does CCPA Apply To Me?

The number one question we get from clients is, So do I need to worry about CCPA or not?

CCPA applies to for-profit businesses that operate in California, collect and control California residents’ personal information, and meet one of the following requirements:

  • Annual gross revenues over $25 million
  • Collects personal information from more than 50,000 California residents, households, or devices each year *
  • Receives 50% or more of annual revenue from selling California residents’ personal information

*The threshold for personal information collected will be raised to 100,000 in 2023 when the California Privacy Rights Act becomes enforceable.

This may sound like it’s only for big corporations. It’s not. Researchers estimate as many as 75% of California businesses making under $25 million in annual revenue will be impacted by the law.

It’s All About The Individual (Rights)

A consumer’s individual right to control how their personal information is used is at the heart of CCPA. Rights codified by CCPA include the right to:

  • Know what information you are collecting about them and why
  • Request you delete their information from your databases
  • Know what third-party companies you are sharing their data with or buying their data from
  • Mandate an opt-in response before selling data for anyone 16 and under
  • Opt-out of the sale of personal information

The last one—the right to refuse the sale of personal information—is the big one. With a broad definition of what makes up “selling” data (selling, renting, releasing, disclosing, disseminating, making available, or transferring…a consumer’s personal information for money or something else valuable), this requirement can be the slipperiest to grab onto for businesses.

Managing Individual Rights Requests

If you allow third parties to use the data you collect for their own purposes and need to be CCPA compliant, you have to have secure, efficient data mapping processes that let you identify, modify, and remove personal information for consumers within CCPA’s timelines.

That means you need to:

  • Have processes for submitting individual rights to know/delete requests. This should include at least two ways to submit requests.  
    • A toll-free phone number is required, except for online-only businesses—an email address can take the toll-free number’s place.  
    • Generally, all companies can provide either a web form or email address to submit requests.
    • Before you finalize your processes, review with a privacy professional to make sure you’re making the right choices.
  • Know you can meet the strict 10-day request confirmation and 45-day completion timeline
  • Know your team can correctly identify and verify consumer information records 

Transparency With Teeth

With strict requirements for notifying customers about data collection practices, you can thank CCPA for all those Update to Our Privacy Policy emails you’ve been getting from every company you’ve ever given your email address to. 

CCPA-compliant privacy notices must be accessible and specifically state what type of information you’re collecting, what you’re doing with it, and who you are sharing it with. It also needs to clearly detail the rights your consumers have. (See above). 

What’s more, you have to tell consumers all of that at or before the time of collection and provide an (obvious) Do Not Sell My Personal Data button on your home page.

Sidebar — if your privacy policy is four pages of dense legalese, rewrite it in a user-friendly style. Doing so will both help your customers understand it and improve their experience on your site. 

Keep It Secret, Keep It Safe

CCPA requires you to maintain reasonable security procedures in place to protect sensitive consumer information. The legislation doesn’t lay out what a “reasonable security procedure” is, but the first thing you need to do is make sure you understand the full life cycle of a data record. This means you need to know what information you collect, why you collect it, when you collect it, where you store it, how long you keep it, and who you share it with. 

Other things that should definitely be on your to-do list include:

  • Restricting and updating your permitting access structures (You’d be surprised how many companies forget to remove former employees from their systems)
  • Strengthening your business’s software/hardware update and patching processes so you don’t leave your systems vulnerable to hacks
  • Creating company policies for strong passwords, VPN use (no public Wi-Fi!), and the separation of work/personal devices
  • Encrypting data at rest and when it’s transferred to other companies.

After you tackle those steps, consider a privacy and security assessment for your system and for each of your service providers.

Why CCPA Really, Really Matters

CCPA is just the beginning. It’s America’s first broad data privacy law, but it’s not even close to the last. Being CCPA compliant will allow your business to rapidly adapt to the changes that are already visible on the horizon. 

More Privacy Regulations are on Their Way

CCPA’s successor, the California Privacy Records Act (CPRA), has already been passed by California voters. CPRA clarifies vague sections of CCPA, adds additional consumer protections, and adds civil liability exposure for your company if a data breach exposes your customers’ sensitive personal information. 

Excluding the right to access, CPRA, as it’s written now, will apply to the personal information you collect from your customers on or after Jan. 1, 2022. This means that even though CPRA doesn’t go into effect until January 2023, you need to be able to effectively track individual data records by the end of 2021. 

Being CCPA compliant will effectively accomplish that and make your journey toward CPRA compliance much easier.

CPRA also dramatically increased the likelihood we’ll see robust enforcement action by creating and funding the California Privacy Protection Agency, which will have significant funding and staffing to handle privacy complaints. With CCPA enforcement managed by the office of California’s Attorney General, businesses have been able to skirt scrutiny or avoid being handed privacy violations. This will be considerably less likely with CPRA’s increased level of scrutiny.

Privacy Regulations in Other States

Nevada, Maine, Massachusetts, New York, Vermont, and Illinois also have data protection laws on the books though they differ in many ways from CCPA and are not considered as comprehensive a privacy law. Other states have active bills pending. Even if none of these pending laws match California’s standards, the odds are very high there will be a regulation in your state in the next five years. If you can get your company CCPA compliant now, matching future requirements will be faster, more efficient, and less expensive.

Fines, Fees, Injunctions, Oh My!

Nothing is worse for e-commerce than a data breach. Hacks often result in embarrassingly bad publicity, but they also deliver a blow to your reputation with consumers that translates into lost sales and decreased revenue.

It’s not just about consumer trust, though. Non-compliance also presents a real financial risk that could drain your reserves while your sales are down.

Under CCPA, failure to resolve non-compliance issues within 30 days of notice can result in an injunction that could close your business. You could be subject to a $2,500-7,000 per record penalty from the state of California. CCPA’s threshold for data collection is 50,000 records a year. Getting charged $2,500 or $7,500 for even a fraction of that many records is a lot of money.

Moreover, individual customers can sue you directly if there is a breach of non-redacted or non-encrypted data to the tune of $100-750 per record. 

Training, Training, Training

Research estimates that 30% of all hacks can be attributed to internal human error and almost 95% of cloud-based breaches are inadvertently caused by employee mistakes.

Even great privacy data programs will fail if your employees and vendors don’t understand it. Start training your employees on CCPA compliance and data privacy best practices now. If your vendors can’t or won’t meet your expectations, find new ones. 

Before you go thinking that privacy belongs solely to the world of IT workers, remember what an interconnected, hyperlinked, information-sharing world we live in. From your marketing department to your sales team to your customer service representatives, privacy compliance and training should be addressed at every level of your business. 

It takes time to develop a strong privacy awareness culture, so don’t waste any more of it.

Be The Good Guy

Consumer data isn’t just a tool — it’s the world’s most valuable currency. You need to guard it as carefully as you do your patents, copyrights, and product formulas. Even if CCPA doesn’t technically apply to you, consumers have little tolerance for businesses that play fast and loose with their personal information.

Instead of viewing privacy requirements as a cost center, think of them as a core value-add that builds trust with your customers and individualizes their experience.

Building Your Digital Future

Digital trust, or how much confidence users have that a business is behaving ethically online, will be a key consumer issue over the next decade. Getting CCPA compliant now will create the strong foundation you need to adapt to the data privacy infrastructure that is being built around you in real-time. Rather than getting boxed in, build the privacy practice scaffolding that will save you time and money in the long run.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.