الجدال ضد التاريخ والدخول في التنقل

كنت أجري محادثة ممتعة مع صديقي ، Chad Myers of 3 Hats Marketing ، لمناقشة كيف أدى اقتصادنا الزراعي والثورة الصناعية إلى عادات عملنا الحديثة. تمامًا مثل لوحات مفاتيح QWERTY الخاصة بجهاز الكمبيوتر (تم تصميمها لتكون غير فعالة بحيث لا تلتصق مفاتيح الآلة الكاتبة ، ومع ذلك نستخدمها اليوم على الأجهزة التي لن تلتصق أبدًا) ، فنحن نستخدم التفكير في أي مكان من 100 إلى 1,000 عام و اكثر)

أهمية القواعد النحوية وعلامات الترقيم الجيدة في التدوين

يعرف الأشخاص الذين يعرفونني أنه يمكنني أن أكون مهووسًا بقواعد اللغة وعلامات الترقيم. على الرغم من أنني لن أذهب إلى أبعد من ذلك لتصحيح الأشخاص علنًا (أقوم بتوبيخهم بشكل خاص) ، فقد عُرِف عني تحرير الإشارات التي تحتوي على كلمات بها أخطاء إملائية وفواصل في غير محلها وأخطاء فادحة بشكل عام. لذلك ، وغني عن القول ، أحاول دائمًا التأكد من أن كتابتي تصل إلى حد النحوية. "حتى على المدونات؟" نعم ، حتى على المدونات. "لكن

المهارة الأكثر أهمية التي يحتاجها مندوبو المبيعات

أتيحت لزوجتي أخيرًا فرصة لاستبدال الكمبيوتر المحمول البالغ من العمر 8 سنوات ، والذي كان يعمل بشكل أشبه بمعالج كلمات Brother منذ أواخر الثمانينيات ، ولكن ليس بالسرعة نفسها. كان Dell مزودًا بذاكرة وصول عشوائي (RAM) بسعة 80 ميجا بايت وقرص صلب سعة 512 ميجا بايت. كان بطيئًا وغير مستقر ، وانقطع مقبض الكرنك عن المقدمة. انتهى بها الأمر بشراء Samsung Netbook من Best Buy. حسنًا ، هذا ليس جديرًا بالمدونة ، ولكن هناك

Technology

Arguing Against History and for Entre-Commuting

I was having an interesting conversation with my friend, Chad Myers of 3 Hats Marketing, discussing how both our agricultural economy and the Industrial Revolution have led to our modern day work habits. Just like our computer’s QWERTY keyboards (they were designed to be inefficient so typewriter keys wouldn’t stick, yet we use them today on devices that will never, ever stick), we’re using thinking that’s anywhere from 100 to 1,000 years old (and more) to determine our staffing and working decisions. And they’re wildly inefficient. How the Agricultural Economy Affects Our Work Habits When you look at the Baby

Read More...

Content Marketing

The Importance of Good Grammar and Punctuation in Blogging

People who know me know that I can be a bit of a grammar and punctuation geek. While I won’t go so far as to publicly correct people (I just berate them privately), I have been known to edit signs that contain misspelled words, misplaced apostrophes, and generally egregious errors. So, needless to say, I always try to make sure my writing is up to grammatical snuff. “Even on blogs?” Yes, even on blogs. “But blogs are supposed to be informal and conversational.” Not as much as you might think. There are more businesses embracing blogging, and they’re trying to

Read More...

Sales Enablement

The Most Important Skill Salespeople Need to Learn

My wife finally had a chance to replace her 8-year-old laptop, which was starting to function more like a Brother word processor from the late 80s, only not as fast. It was a Dell with 512 MB RAM, and a 80 MB RAM hard drive. It was slow, unstable, and the crank-up handle had snapped off the front. She ended up buying a Samsung Netbook from Best Buy. Okay, that’s not very blog-worthy, but there’s actually a lesson in it. Because we didn’t start out looking at Best Buy in the first place. As an enthusiastic gearhead, I love Fry’s.

Read More...