Argumenter contre l'histoire et pour Entre-Commuting

J'avais une conversation intéressante avec mon ami, Chad Myers de 3 Hats Marketing, discutant de la façon dont notre économie agricole et la révolution industrielle ont conduit à nos habitudes de travail modernes. Tout comme les claviers QWERTY de notre ordinateur (ils ont été conçus pour être inefficaces afin que les touches de la machine à écrire ne collent pas, mais nous les utilisons aujourd'hui sur des appareils qui ne colleront jamais, jamais), nous utilisons une pensée vieille de 100 à 1,000 ans ( et plus)

L'importance d'une bonne grammaire et de la ponctuation dans les blogs

Les gens qui me connaissent savent que je peux être un peu un geek de grammaire et de ponctuation. Bien que je n'irai pas jusqu'à corriger publiquement des personnes (je les réprimande simplement en privé), je suis connu pour modifier des signes qui contiennent des mots mal orthographiés, des apostrophes mal placées et des erreurs généralement flagrantes. Donc, inutile de dire que j'essaie toujours de m'assurer que mon écriture est à la hauteur de la grammaire. «Même sur les blogs?» Oui, même sur les blogs. "Mais

Les compétences les plus importantes que les vendeurs doivent apprendre

Ma femme a enfin eu la chance de remplacer son ordinateur portable de 8 ans, qui commençait à fonctionner davantage comme un traitement de texte Brother de la fin des années 80, mais pas aussi vite. C'était un Dell avec 512 Mo de RAM et un disque dur de 80 Mo de RAM. C'était lent, instable et la manivelle s'était cassée par l'avant. Elle a fini par acheter un netbook Samsung chez Best Buy. D'accord, ce n'est pas très digne d'un blog, mais il y a

Technology

Arguing Against History and for Entre-Commuting

I was having an interesting conversation with my friend, Chad Myers of 3 Hats Marketing, discussing how both our agricultural economy and the Industrial Revolution have led to our modern day work habits. Just like our computer’s QWERTY keyboards (they were designed to be inefficient so typewriter keys wouldn’t stick, yet we use them today on devices that will never, ever stick), we’re using thinking that’s anywhere from 100 to 1,000 years old (and more) to determine our staffing and working decisions. And they’re wildly inefficient. How the Agricultural Economy Affects Our Work Habits When you look at the Baby

Read More...

Content Marketing

The Importance of Good Grammar and Punctuation in Blogging

People who know me know that I can be a bit of a grammar and punctuation geek. While I won’t go so far as to publicly correct people (I just berate them privately), I have been known to edit signs that contain misspelled words, misplaced apostrophes, and generally egregious errors. So, needless to say, I always try to make sure my writing is up to grammatical snuff. “Even on blogs?” Yes, even on blogs. “But blogs are supposed to be informal and conversational.” Not as much as you might think. There are more businesses embracing blogging, and they’re trying to

Read More...

Sales Enablement

The Most Important Skill Salespeople Need to Learn

My wife finally had a chance to replace her 8-year-old laptop, which was starting to function more like a Brother word processor from the late 80s, only not as fast. It was a Dell with 512 MB RAM, and a 80 MB RAM hard drive. It was slow, unstable, and the crank-up handle had snapped off the front. She ended up buying a Samsung Netbook from Best Buy. Okay, that’s not very blog-worthy, but there’s actually a lesson in it. Because we didn’t start out looking at Best Buy in the first place. As an enthusiastic gearhead, I love Fry’s.

Read More...