DAM: ما هي إدارة الأصول الرقمية؟

إدارة الأصول الرقمية

إدارة الأصول الرقمية يتكون (DAM) من مهام الإدارة والقرارات المتعلقة باستيعاب الأصول الرقمية والتعليق عليها وفهرستها وتخزينها واسترجاعها وتوزيعها. تمثل الصور الرقمية والرسوم المتحركة ومقاطع الفيديو والموسيقى أمثلة على المناطق المستهدفة إدارة الأصول الإعلامية (فئة فرعية من دام).

من الصعب إثبات قضية إدارة الأصول الرقمية دون أن يبدو وكأنه يذكر بوضوح ما هو واضح. على سبيل المثال: يعتمد التسويق اليوم بشكل كبير على الوسائط الرقمية. والوقت هو المال. لذلك يجب على المسوقين قضاء أكبر قدر ممكن من وقت الوسائط الرقمية في مهام أكثر إنتاجية وربحية وأقل على التكرار والتدبير المنزلي غير الضروري.

نحن نعرف هذه الأشياء بشكل حدسي. لذلك من المدهش أنه خلال الفترة القصيرة التي شاركت فيها في سرد ​​قصة DAM ، رأيت زيادة مستمرة ومتسارعة في وعي المنظمات بسد. وهذا يعني أنه حتى وقت قريب ، لم يكن لدى هذه المنظمات أي فكرة عما ينقصهم.

بعد كل شيء ، تبدأ الشركة عادةً في التسوق لشراء برنامج DAM عندما تدرك ، أولاً ، أن لديها مجموعة كاملة (اقرأ "حجم لا يمكن إدارته") من الأصول الرقمية ، وثانيًا ، فإن التعامل مع مكتبة الأصول الرقمية الهائلة يستغرق وقتًا طويلاً الكثير من الوقت دون تحقيق فائدة كافية. وقد كان هذا صحيحًا عبر مجموعة من الصناعات بما في ذلك التعليم العالي والإعلان والتصنيع والترفيه وغير الربحي والرعاية الصحية والتكنولوجيا الطبية.

هذا هو المكان الذي يأتي فيه DAM. تأتي أنظمة DAM بأشكال وأحجام كثيرة ، لكنها كلها مصممة للقيام ببعض الأشياء على الأقل: تخزين الأصول الرقمية وتنظيمها وتوزيعها مركزيًا. إذن ما الذي تحتاج إلى معرفته لتوجيه بحث البائع الخاص بك؟

نماذج تسليم دام

توسيع المشاريع مؤخرًا أصدرت ورقة بيضاء جيدة توضح الفروق (والتداخلات) بين البرمجيات كخدمة (SaaS) وحلول DAM المحلية والمفتوحة المصدر. هذا مورد جيد للتحقق مما إذا كنت قد بدأت في استكشاف خيارات DAM الخاصة بك.

ومع ذلك ، فإن أهم شيء يجب معرفته هو أن كل مصطلح من هذه المصطلحات الثلاثة هو وسيلة لتعريف DAM (أو أي برنامج ، لهذه المسألة) وفقًا لمعايير مختلفة. إنها ليست متعارضة - على الرغم من عدم وجود تداخل عمليًا بين SaaS والحلول المثبتة.

SaaS دام توفر الأنظمة المرونة فيما يتعلق بسير العمل وإمكانية الوصول بأقل تكاليف لتكنولوجيا المعلومات. يتم استضافة البرامج والأصول الخاصة بك في السحابة (أي الخوادم البعيدة). بينما يستخدم بائع DAM ذو السمعة الطيبة طريقة استضافة آمنة للغاية ، فإن بعض المؤسسات لديها سياسات تمنعها من السماح لبعض المعلومات الحساسة خارج منشآتها. إذا كنت وكالة استخبارات حكومية ، على سبيل المثال ، فربما لا يمكنك فعل SaaS DAM.

من ناحية أخرى ، فإن البرامج المثبتة كلها "داخلية". قد يتطلب عمل مؤسستك نوعًا من التحكم في الوسائط التي لا يمكن أن تأتي إلا من الاحتفاظ بالبيانات والخوادم الموجودة في المبنى الخاص بك. حتى مع ذلك ، يجب أن تكون مدركًا لحقيقة أنه ما لم تكن تدعم بياناتك على خوادم بعيدة ، فإن هذه الممارسة تجعلك عرضة لخطر أن يترك حدث ما أصولك غير قابلة للاسترداد تمامًا. قد يكون ذلك فسادًا في البيانات ، ولكنه قد يكون أيضًا سرقة أو كوارث طبيعية أو حوادث.

أخيرًا ، هناك مصدر مفتوح. يشير المصطلح إلى رمز أو بنية البرنامج نفسه ، ولكن لا يشير إلى ما إذا كان يتم الوصول إلى البرنامج عن بُعد أو على أجهزتك الداخلية. لا يجب أن تقع في فخ اتخاذ قرارك بشأن ما إذا كان المصدر المفتوح مناسبًا لك بناءً على ما إذا كان الحل مستضافًا أو مثبتًا. أيضًا ، يجب أن تلاحظ حقيقة أن البرنامج مفتوح المصدر يضيف قيمة فقط إذا كان لديك أو لدى أي شخص آخر الموارد اللازمة للاستفادة من قابلية البرنامج للتطويع.

باب احمر
لا توجد احتياجات DAM لمنظمتين هي نفسها تمامًا. طالما أنك تركز على إيجاد الحل الأنسب ، سيكون العشب أكثر اخضرارًا على الجانب الآخر.

ميزات دام

كما لو أن التنوع في نماذج التسليم لم يكن كافيًا ، فهناك أيضًا مجموعة واسعة من الميزات المحددة. بعض بائعي DAM أفضل من غيرهم في التأكد من أنهم الأنسب لتلبية احتياجاتك الفريدة قبل محاولة بيعك على نظامهم ، لذلك من المهم أن تذهب في البحث عن DAM مع قائمة مفصلة بالمتطلبات قدر الإمكان.

والأفضل من ذلك: قسّم احتياجاتك إلى فئات لا بد من امتلاكها ومن الجيد امتلاكها. يجب عليك أيضًا تدوين أي ميزات ضرورية بسبب أي لوائح أو قوانين أو قواعد أخرى تحكم السوق أو الصناعة.

ما يفعله كل هذا هو التأكد من عدم حصولك على عدد قليل جدًا من الميزات التي لن تتمكن من تحسين كفاءة سير العمل بقدر الإمكان أو العديد من الميزات التي تجد نفسك تدفع مقابل الأجراس والصفارات التي لن تتمكن من استخدامها أبدًا تحتاج أو تريد استخدامها.

فوائد دام

التفكير في فوائد تطبيق أ نظام إدارة الأصول الرقمية من حيث "خفض" التكاليف أو "توفير" الوقت فقط لا يكفي. لا يصل الأمر إلى صميم كيفية تأثير DAM على مؤسستك ومواردك.

بدلاً من ذلك ، فكر في DAM من حيث "تغيير الغرض". نميل إلى استخدام الكلمة للإشارة إلى الطريقة التي يمكّن بها برنامج DAM وتبسيط إعادة توظيف الأصول الرقمية الفردية ، ولكن (عند استخدامها بشكل صحيح) يمكن أن يكون لها نفس التأثير على العمالة والدولار والموهبة.

خذ المصمم كمثال. قد يقضي حاليًا 10 ساعات من كل 40 ساعة في عمليات البحث عن الأصول الزائدة عن الحاجة ومهام التحكم في الإصدار والتدبير المنزلي لمكتبة الصور. لا يعني إعداد DAM والتخلص من الحاجة إلى كل ذلك أنه يجب عليك تقليل ساعات عمل المصمم. ما يعنيه هو أنه يمكن الآن استخدام ساعات من العمل غير الفعال وغير المربح لممارسة القوة الافتراضية للمصممين: التصميم. ينطبق الأمر نفسه على موظفي المبيعات وفريق التسويق وما إلى ذلك.

لا يكمن جمال DAM في أنه يغير استراتيجيتك أو يجعل عملك أفضل. إنه يحررك لمتابعة نفس الإستراتيجية بقوة أكبر ويجعل عملك أكثر تركيزًا لمزيد من الوقت.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing, Marketing & Sales Videos

DAM: What is Digital Asset Management?

Digital asset management (DAM) consists of management tasks and decisions surrounding the ingestion, annotation, cataloguing, storage, retrieval and distribution of digital assets. Digital photographs, animations, videos and music exemplify the target-areas of media asset management (a sub-category of DAM).

It’s hard to make the case for digital asset management without appearing to relentlessly state the obvious. For instance: marketing today depends heavily on digital media. And time is money. So marketers should spend as much of their digital media time as possible on more productive, profitable tasks and less on redundancy and unnecessary housekeeping.

We know these things intuitively. So it’s surprising that, during the short time that I’ve been involved in telling the story of DAM, I’ve seen a persistent and accelerated increase of organizations’ awareness of DAM. That is to say that, until recently, these organizations had no idea what they were missing.

After all, a company usually starts shopping around for DAM software when it realizes that, first, it has a whole lot (read “an unmanageable volume”) of digital assets and that, second, dealing with its enormous digital asset library takes far too much time without yielding enough benefit. This has been true across an array of industries including higher education, advertising, manufacturing, entertainment, non-profit, health care and medical technology.

This is where DAM comes in. DAM systems come in lots of shapes and sizes, but they’re all built to do at least a few things: centrally store, organize and distribute digital assets. So what do you need to know to guide your vendor search?

DAM Delivery models

Widen Enterprises recently released a good white paper explaining the distinctions (and overlaps) among Software-as-a-Service (SaaS), on-premises and open-source DAM solutions. This is a good resource to check out if you’re starting to explore your DAM options.

The most important thing to know, however, is that each of those three terms is a way of defining DAM (or any software, for that matter) according to different criteria. They’re not mutually exclusive—although there’s practically no overlap between SaaS and installed solutions.

SaaS DAM systems offer flexibility in terms of workflow and accessibility with minimal IT costs. The software and your assets are hosted in the cloud (that is, remote servers). While a reputable DAM vendor will use a hosting method that’s extremely secure, some organizations have policies that preclude them from letting certain sensitive information outside their facilities. If you’re a government intelligence agency, for example, you probably can’t do SaaS DAM.

Installed programs, on the other hand, are all “in-house.” Your organization’s work might require the kind of control over media that can only come from keeping the data and the servers it’s on in your building. Even then, you should be conscious of the fact that, unless you’re backing your data up on remote servers, this practice leaves you open to the risk some event will leave your assets completely irretrievable. That could be data corruption, but it could also be theft, natural disasters or accidents.

Finally, there’s open source. The term refers to the code or architecture of the software itself, but not whether the software is accessed remotely or on your own in-house machines. You shouldn’t fall into the trap of basing your decision on whether open source is right for you on whether a solution is hosted or installed. Also, you should make note of the fact that software’s being open-source only adds value if you or someone else has the resources to capitalize on the malleability of the program.

No two organizations’ DAM needs are exactly the same. as long as you focus on finding the best-fit solution, the grass will be greener on the other side.

DAM Features

As if the variety in delivery models weren’t enough, there’s also a wide range of feature sets out there. Some DAM vendors are better than others about making sure they’re the best fit to meet your unique needs before trying to sell you on their system, so it’s important than you go into your DAM hunt with as detailed a list of requirements as possible.

Even better: break your needs down into must-have and nice-to-have categories. You should also make note of any features that are necessary because of any regulations, laws or other rules governing your market or industry.

What all this does is ensure that you neither end up with so few few features that you aren’t able to improve the efficiency of your workflows as much as possible nor so many features that you find yourself paying for bells and whistles you’ll never need or want to use.

Benefits of DAM

Thinking about the benefits of implementing a digital asset management system in terms of “cutting” costs or “saving” time just isn’t enough. It doesn’t get to the heart of how DAM can impact your organization and resources.

Instead, think about DAM in terms of “repurposing.” We tend to use the word to refer to the way that DAM software enables and streamlines the repurposing of individual digital assets, but (when used right) it can have the same effect on labor, dollars and talent.

Take a designer, example. He or she might currently spends 10 of every 40 hours on redundant asset searches, version control tasks and image library housekeeping. Setting up DAM and eliminating the need for all that wouldn’t mean that you should cut your designer’s hours. What it means is that hours of inefficient, unprofitable labor can now be put to use exercising a designers presumptive strength: design. The same goes for your sales people, marketing team, etc.

The beauty of DAM isn’t quite that it changes your strategy or makes your work better. It’s that it frees you up to pursue the same strategy more aggressively and makes your work more focused for more time.

Leave a Reply