قيمة الموصل مقابل المؤثر

موصلات

ما زلنا نكافح داخل صناعة المؤثرين بمقاييس الغرور والأرقام الكبيرة. لقد كنت منتقدًا لهذه الصناعة منذ بدايتها في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي التي لا تقيسها معظم المقاييس والمنصات في الواقع تأثير، فهم يقيسون فقط حجم الشبكة أو الجمهور أو المجتمع.

لدي شخصيًا شبكة كبيرة جدًا ... لدرجة أنها غالبًا ما تكون جامحة وأواجه صعوبة في تعزيز العلاقات الجيدة مع العديد من الأشخاص الذين أحترمهم. بمرور الوقت ، يميل الأشخاص والشركات إلى الانجراف داخل وخارج الاهتمام بينما نوجه انتباهنا إلى الأعمال التي في متناول اليد. في بعض الأحيان نعيد الاتصال بشكل هادف عندما أبحث عنها كمورد موثوق به حول موضوع أفتقد الخبرة فيه. في أوقات أخرى ، قد أكون ببساطة في مؤتمر أو حدث ويصادف وجودهم هناك ونعيد إشعال علاقتنا.

داخل شبكتي ، أحيانًا تأثير قرارات الشراء لبعض الأشخاص الذين يتصلون بي أو يتابعونني ... لكن هذا الرقم منخفض جدًا في الواقع. لدي عدد قليل من العملاء الذين يثقون بي ضمنيًا وقد أتخذ القرار نيابة عنهم. لدي أشخاص آخرون في شبكتي تواصلوا معهم وقالوا إنني ساعدت في المضي قدمًا بمنصة واستراتيجية دون الانخراط بشكل شخصي. وبعد ذلك ، لا يزال ، لدي بعض المتخبطين الذين تأثرت بهم ولكني لم أشاركهم ذلك علنًا ولست على دراية بالتأثير تمامًا. أسمع بانتظام من الحلول التي كتبتها عن من شكرني وقال إنها أدت إلى بعض بناء الوعي أو حتى عميل رائع. إذا لم يخبروني ، فأنا بصراحة لن أعرف ذلك.

أكثر من التأثير على قرار الشراء ، أنا طريقة التنفيذ الأشخاص في شبكتي مع أشخاص من تأثير. بالأمس ، على سبيل المثال ، التقيت بمنصة أتصل بها مع أحد المؤثرين في صناعة الإعلان على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. أنا واثق من كل من المؤثر وأنا واثق من النظام الأساسي ، لذا فهو اتصال رائع. أنا متأكد من أنها ستؤدي إلى زيادة الوعي وإيرادات إضافية.

إذن ، هل أنا مؤثر أم موصل؟ بينما أنا أثرت بعض قرارات الشراء ، أعتقد أنني أكثر من الموصل. أعرف المنصات ، وأعرف الأشخاص ، وأفهم العمليات ... لذا فأنا قادر على ربط العملاء المحتملين المناسبين بالأشخاص المناسبين لمساعدتهم على اتخاذ قرار الشراء.

المشكلة في ذلك ، بالطبع ، هي أنه لا يوجد إسناد ملموس لذلك في قواعد بيانات العلاقات أو من أي منصة مؤثرة. أعلم أن قيمتي كبيرة - أدى اتصال واحد أجريته إلى الاستحواذ المباشر على شركة. لقد شاركت أيضًا في أكثر من مليار دولار من الاستثمارات وعمليات الاستحواذ في صناعة Martech. لقد ساعدت أيضًا عشرات العملاء في اختيار البائعين ... مما أثر على مئات الملايين من الدولارات في الإيرادات المباشرة.

أنا لا أقول هذا للتفاخر ... غالبًا ما أكون واحدًا من بين عشرات الأشخاص في هذه الفرق الذين يساعدون في اتخاذ قرار الشراء. لقد كنت أفعل هذا منذ عقدين من الزمن ، لذلك كنت حول الكتلة عدة مرات وأعرف ما أفعله. أنا موصل رائع.

الموصلات مقابل المؤثرين

اسمحوا لي أن أصل إلى النقطة. نحن نخلط بين التأثير والاتصال تمامًا وهذا يثير تحديين متميزين:

  • المؤثرون هم في بعض الأحيان روابط فعلية - هناك شركات تبحث عن أشخاص مثلي لديهم عدد كبير من المتابعين في صناعة أو منطقة. في بعض الأحيان يكون التأثير ، وفي أحيان أخرى يُنظر إليه على أنه تأثير صغير (إذا كانت الأرقام أصغر وكان الموضوع مناسبًا). لكن ربما لا يؤثرون على قرار الشراء ... إنهم مجرد موصل رائع. غالبًا ما تشعر الشركات بخيبة أمل في هذه الاستثمارات ... لأنها قد لا تحقق نتائج الإيرادات المباشرة المتوقعة.
  • الموصلات لها قيمة لا تصدق كذلك - هناك أفراد لديهم شبكات كبيرة على الإنترنت وهم موارد رائعة للمساعدة في ربط النقاط - من المستثمرين ، إلى المنصات ، إلى العملاء - ولكن هناك القليل من الوسائل لإسناد أي قيمة إلى تلك الاتصالات. على سبيل المثال ، إذا قدمت شركتك إلى مؤثر واستثمرت في تلك العلاقة ... فقد يؤدي ذلك إلى نمو ناجح ... وأي إيرادات ستُعزى (عن حق) إلى هذا المؤثر. ومع ذلك ، بدون الاتصال ما كان ليحدث.

باعتباري شخصًا يجعل عملي من معرفة مجال عملي وقام باستثمار كبير في شبكتي ، فأنا أعاني من تحقيق الدخل الكامل لهذه القوة التي أمتلكها. كيف تستثمر كونك أ الموصل؟ يدرك بعض عملائي القيمة بعد أن كانت لدينا علاقات طويلة الأمد وأدركوا النتائج النهائية.

تقترب مني العديد من المنصات بحثًا عن نتائج فورية. أضع التوقعات بأفضل ما يمكنني أن بيع منتجهم أو خدمتهم ليس هو الأصل الأكثر قيمة الذي أحمله ... وغالبًا ما يتوقفون عن بدء أي مشاركة معي. رؤية الإمكانات ، إنه أمر مخيب للآمال ... لكنني أتفهم الضغط الذي يتعرضون له والصعوبة في عزو قيمة إلى العلاقة.

عندما ترى أعداد كبيرة، قد تميل إلى توظيف الشخص بهذه الأرقام باعتباره تأثير. فقط ضع في اعتبارك أن القيمة التي تجلبها هذه الأرقام الكبيرة قد لا تقتصر على بيع منتجاتك أو خدماتك ... قد تكون الروابط التي تجلبها لك.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

The Value of a Connector versus the Influencer

Connectors

We continue to struggle within the influencer industry with vanity metrics and high numbers. I’ve been critical of the industry since its inception in social media that most metrics and platforms don’t actually measure influence, they just measure the size of the network, audience, or community.

I personally have a very large network… so much so that it’s often unruly and I have a difficult time fostering good connections with many people that I respect. Over time, people and companies tend to drift in and out of attention as we turn our attention to the business at hand. Sometimes we reconnect purposefully as I seek them out as a trusted resource on a topic I lack expertise on. Other times, I may simply be at a conference or event and they happen to be there and we re-ignite our relationship.

Within my network, I sometimes influence purchase decisions for some people that connect or follow me… but that number is actually quite low. I have a handful of clients who trust me implicitly and I may even make the decision for them. I have other people in my network who have reached out and said that I assisted in moving forward with a platform and strategy without engaging personally. And then, still, I have some lurkers who I’ve influenced but haven’t shared that publicly and I’m unaware of the influence altogether. I regularly hear from solutions I’ve written about who thanked me and said that it led to some awareness building or even a great client. If they didn’t tell me, I honestly wouldn’t know about it, though.

More often than influencing a purchase decision, I connect people in my network with people of influence. Yesterday, for example, I met with a platform who I’m putting in touch with an influencer in the social media advertising industry. I’m trusted both by the influencer and I’m confident in the platform, so it’s a great connection to make. I’m certain it will lead to building awareness and additional revenue.

So, am I an influencer or a connector? While I have influenced some purchase decisions, I believe I’m more of a connector. I know the platforms, I know the people, I understand the processes… so I’m able to connect the right prospects to the right people to help them make their purchase decision.

The problem with that, of course, is that there’s no tangible attribution for this in relationship databases or from any influencer platform. I know my value is significant – one connection I made resulted in the direct acquisition of a company. I’ve also been involved with more than a billion dollars of investment and acquisitions in the Martech industry. I’ve also helped dozens of clients with their vendor selection… which influenced hundreds of millions of dollars in direct revenue.

I’m not saying this to brag… I’m often one of dozens of people on these teams helping to drive the purchase decision. And I’ve been doing this for a couple of decades so I’ve been around the block a few times and know what I’m doing. I’m a great connector.

Connectors versus Influencers

Let me get to the point. We absolutely confuse influence with connectivity and it raises two distinct challenges:

  • Influencers are sometimes really connectors – there are companies that seek out people like myself with a significant following in an industry or region. Sometimes it’s influence, other times its seen as micro-influence (if the numbers are smaller and the topic is niche). But perhaps they’re not influencing the purchase decision… they’re just an incredible connector. Companies are often disappointed in these investments…since they may not yield the direct revenue results that were expected.
  • Connectors have incredible value as well – there are individuals with sizable networks online that are fantastic resources to help connect the dots – from investors, to platforms, to clients – but there’s little means of attributing any value to those connections. If, for example, I introduced your company to an influencer and you invested in that relationship… that could lead to successful growth… and any revenue would be (rightly) attributed to that influencer. However, without the connection it would have never happened.

As someone who makes my business off of the knowledge of my industry and has made a significant investment in my network, I struggle with fully monetizing this strength that I have. How do you monetize being a connector? Some of my clients recognize the value after we’ve had long-standing relationships and they’ve realized the downstream results.

Many more platforms approach me looking for instantaneous results. I set expectations the best I can that selling their product or service isn’t the most valuable asset that I bring… and they often drop out of initiating any engagement with me. Seeing the potential, it’s disappointing… but I understand the pressure they’re under and the difficulty in attributing value to the relationship.

When you see big numbers, you may be tempted to hire the person with those numbers as an influencer. Just keep in mind that the value those big numbers bring may not be limited to selling your products or services… it may be the connections they bring you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.