التشدق: سوق القرصنة على الإنترنت

كمبيوتر محمول مجرم

صناعة الموسيقى والقرصنة وصناعة الأفلام والسيول والصحف والأخبار على الإنترنت. ماذا تفعل كل هذا لتمتلك الشهرة؟ العرض والطلب وتحول السوق.

أنا من أشد المعجبين بالرأسمالية وأميل قليلاً إلى الجانب التحرري من الطيف السياسي. أعتقد أن الأسواق الحرة تجد دائمًا الاتجاه الصحيح للانتقال إليه. في كل مرة أرى فيها الحكومة تتخذ إجراءات صارمة ضد القرصنة وتبادل الملفات والتهريب ، أجفل. وفي كل مرة أرى فيها الحكومة تدافع عن صناعة ما ، أجفل أكثر قليلاً. لقد شعرت بالذهول لأنني لا أعتقد أن الأسواق السوداء ستكون موجودة لولا احتكار المنظمات لمنتجاتها و الدفاع عن أرباحهم الضخمة.

كمبيوتر محمول مجرملقد فتح الإنترنت سوق الموسيقى وهو مشبع. عندما كنت طفلاً ، لم أكن أدرك أن هناك ملايين الفنانين في العالم. كان السوق يتسع فقط لمئات أو آلاف. بالنسبة لي كان مجرد قبلة. الآن بعد أن انفتح السوق ، ظل الطلب على حاله ولكن العرض في كل مكان. من الطبيعي أن نرى أن تكاليف الموسيقى ستنخفض مع زيادة العرض.

لكنها لم تفعل. ال سعر الألبوم لم يتغير منذ 25 عامًا على الرغم من الإمداد الهائل للموسيقى وسهولة توزيعها عبر الويب. لم يتذمر أحد عندما كانت صناعة الموسيقى تبيع الأقراص المدمجة مائة ضعف تكلفتها. ومع نجوم السينما ومغنيي الراب ونجوم موسيقى الروك الذين يستعرضون سيارات بنتلي الجديدة ، يصعب علي التعاطف على الإطلاق مع الصناعة. إذا كان الأشخاص الصادقون يشاركون الموسيقى بدلاً من شرائها ، فهذا يعني أن خطر التعرض للإمساك به يفوق سعر الموسيقى. المشكلة ليست الأشخاص الصادقين ، أو الموسيقى ، أو مشاركة الملفات ... إنها أن صناعة الموسيقى لم تكن كما كانت من قبل.

في غرفة المعيشة لدي تلفزيون عالي الدقة ونظام صوت محيط يمكنني هز المنزل به. لماذا سأدفع ثمن تذكرة فيلم بقيمة 12 دولارًا و 10 دولارات للفشار ومشروبًا بينما يمكنني مشاهدة فيلم مقابل جزء بسيط من التكلفة في غرفة المعيشة الخاصة بي؟ لا يمكنني مطابقة IMAX… أنا على استعداد لدفع المزيد لتلك التجربة. صناعة السينما ليست معركة بين القرصنة والسينما ، إنها معركة بين المسرح المنزلي والسينما. والمسرح المنزلي يفوز!

إذا كانت صناعة السينما تأمل في النجاح ، فسيخفضون أسعار تذاكر السينما والطعام ، ويضيفون بعض الكماليات الإضافية (ربما العشاء والنبيذ وبعض الكابتشينو) ، ويضعون بعض المقاعد الدائرية مع فترة استراحة حتى أتمكن من جعلها ليلة في الخارج مع الاصدقاء. لا يمكنني تنزيل ذلك تجربة!

قرأت أن الصحف ستحاول إقامة حواجز للأجور مرة أخرى. أعتقد أننا مررنا بهذا عدة مرات ... وما زالوا لا يفهمون ذلك. الإنترنت هو طريق المعلومات الفائق السرعة ... الصحف هي الحفر. تستخدم الصحف المحتوى لملء الثغرات التي لا يمكنهم بيع الإعلانات فيها ، وقد تخلى الكثيرون عن البحث بعمق للعثور على القصة الحقيقية. أنا لا أدفع مقابل صحيفة لأنني العثور على أخبار أفضل عبر الإنترنت، مباشرة من المصدر ، دون ميل ، وبدون التفاف إعلاني حوله.

أوه بالتأكيد ، لقد حاولت في صحيفة.. محاولة من قبل صناعة الصحف لجلب كل عدم موثوقية تسليم الصحف للآيباد. إنه بطيء ، إنه يتعطل ، ونادرًا ما يكون خبرًا. يجب أن يسموها البارحة! ولكن ، بما أن الأخبار هي صناعة بأكملها ، فهناك بطريقة ما استحقاق يستحقونه خارج حدود الرأسمالية التي تخولهم مواصلة محاولة تحقيق هوامش ربح بنسبة 40٪؟ آسف الصحف القديمة... عد إلى التقارير الرائعة وسيدفع الأشخاص مقابل المحتوى.

في كل حالة من هذه الحالات ، لا ألوم المستهلك وأتعاطف مع الناس الذين يخالفون القانون. بعد كل شيء ، أليست هذه مجرد رأسمالية؟ عندما تتجاوز التكلفة الرغبة ، يبقى الشيء الوحيد هو السوق السوداء للحصول على المنتج أو الخدمة. لسوء الحظ ، نمت هذه الصناعات بشكل كبير وقوي لدرجة أنها حصلت عليها السياسيين في جيبهم الخلفي لمحاولة سن القوانين كل أسبوع لمحاولة وقف النزيف. أيها الناس ... هذه ليست قضية جنائية ، إنها قضية سوق.

بالنظر إلى هذا التشدق ، قد تعتقد أني كل شيء عن القرصنة. بالطبع لا! هناك أمثلة لا حصر لها من المنتجات والخدمات التي تم تعديلها. وأعتقد أن الناس يدفعون مقابل المحتوى أكثر من أي وقت مضى. عندما كنت طفلاً ، كان والداي يمتلكان هاتفًا وصحيفة وتلفزيونًا بالأبيض والأسود ودفعوا ثمن ألبومات الفينيل. كشخص بالغ ، أدفع مقابل الهواتف الذكية ، والرسائل الصوتية ، وتطبيقات الهاتف المحمول ، وخطة البيانات ، وخطة الرسائل النصية ، (x خطط أطفالي) تلفزيون الكابل ، والأفلام حسب الطلب ، والإنترنت واسع النطاق ، و XBox Live ، و iTunes ، و Netflix.

هذه ليست مجرد عدد قليل من التفاح الفاسد الذي قضى حياته في الجريمة. من المحتمل أن يكون الشخص العادي الذي تعرفه يقوم بقرصنة أو توزيع الموسيقى أو الأفلام. عندما تصبح الجريمة سائدة ، فإن المشكلة ليست هي الجريمة ... عليك أن تبدأ في التساؤل عما هو عيب في السوق الذي يولد هذا النوع من الاستجابة.

حبس الرجل الذي يخلق شبكة حيث يقوم الأشخاص بالتوزيع والتنزيل ليس هو الحل أيضًا. لقد مررنا بهذا مع نابستر وخليج القراصنة. مع Megauploads أسفل ، هناك بضعة آلاف من المواقع الأخرى التي ستمكن هذا النشاط. أحدثها عبارة عن شبكات خاصة افتراضية ذات بوابات مجهولة واتصالات مشفرة حتى لا تتمكن الحكومات من التطفل. إن سوق القرصنة والسرقة في الموسيقى والأفلام لن يذهب إلى أي مكان.

لقد سئمت من ذكر هذه الشركات أن خسر المال إلى الصناعة في الأوهام [إدراج]. هذه مجرد كذبة جريئة. الأشخاص الذين كانوا على وشك سرقة فيلم لم يخططوا أبدًا لإنفاق المال في المسرح. لم تخسر المال من خلال سرقتها ، لقد خسرت المال لأنك دفعت الكثير من المال والمسرح المنزلي يركل مؤخرتك.

ولا تخبرني أن الناس لن يدفعوا مقابل المحتوى وأن الملاذ الوحيد لدينا هو حبس الجميع. نحن ندفع جميعًا مقابل المحتوى كل يوم! السعر ببساطة يجب أن يتطابق مع القيمة. الناس في قائمة انجي لقد أثبتوا هذا ... التقييمات المدفوعة جديرة بالثقة وتوفر لمشتركيها آلاف الدولارات. تتمتع Angie's List باحتفاظ كبير بعملائها وتحظى بشعبية كبيرة لدرجة أنها تمكنت من طرحها للعامة!

الأسواق تتغير وهذه الصناعات الأخرى لا تتكيف. لماذا يجعلون ذلك قضية جنائية وليست اقتصادية؟ واكب جهود الشركات الكبيرة لتجريم المزيد والمزيد من مواقع الويب من خلال قراءة مدونة Deeplinks في مؤسسة الحدود الإلكترونية.

4 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 3

    لن تختفي هذه المشكلة في أي وقت قريب ، وللأسف ، تلك الصناعات التي تدفع باتجاه حلول سيئة هي أيضًا في طور تلويث الخطاب السياسي ، مما يؤدي إلى جهود مثل SOPA و ACTA وغيرها. نشرت Doc Searls مؤخرًا شيئًا ذا صلة بالمناقشة ، ويستحق القراءة. http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/doc/2012/02/29/edging-toward-the-fully-licensed-world/

  3. 4

    "
    لقد سئمت من قول هذه الشركات إن الأموال التي خسرتها الصناعة في أوهام [أدخل]. هذه مجرد كذبة جريئة. الأشخاص الذين كانوا على وشك سرقة فيلم لم يخططوا أبدًا لإنفاق الأموال في المسرح. لم تخسر المال من خلال سرقتها ، لقد خسرت المال لأنك دفعت الكثير من المال والمسرح المنزلي يركل مؤخرتك ". 

    لا أستطيع حتى أن أصف إلى أي مدى أتفق مع هذا البيان! هذا صحيح 100٪. 

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing, Technology

Rant: The Online Piracy Market

The music industry and piracy, the movie industry and torrents, newspapers and online news. What do all these have in common? Supply, demand and a shifting market.

I’m a big fan of capitalism and lean quite a bit to the libertarian side of the political spectrum. I believe that free markets almost always find the right direction to move to. Every time I see the government cracking down on piracy, file-sharing and smuggling I wince. And every time I see the government defend an industry, I wince a bit more. I wince because I don’t believe black markets would be around if it weren’t for organizations monopolizing their products and defending their huge profits.

The Internet has opened the market on music and it’s saturated. When I was a child, I didn’t realize that there were millions of artists in the world. The marketplace only had room for hundreds or thousands. For me it was just KISS. Now that the marketplace has opened up, demand has stayed the same but the supply is everywhere. It’s only natural to see that the costs of music would spiral downward while the supply increased.

But it didn’t. The price of an album hasn’t changed in 25 years despite the incredible supply of music and the ease at which it’s distributed via the web. No one complained when the music industry was selling CDs a hundred times their cost. And, with movie stars, rappers and rock stars showing off their new Bentleys, it’s hard for me to empathize at all with the industry. If honest people are sharing music instead of buying it, it means the risk of being caught outweighs the price of the music. The problem isn’t honest people, music, or filesharing… it’s that the music industry ain’t what it used to be.

In my living room I have a HDTV and a surround sound system that I can shake the house with. Why would I go pay for a $12 movie ticket and $10 popcorn and a drink when I can watch a movie for the fraction of the cost in the comfort of my own living room? I can’t match IMAX… I’m willing to pay extra for that experience. The movie industry isn’t a battle between piracy and the movie cinema, it’s a battle between the home theater and the movie cinema. And the home theater is winning!

If the movie industry hopes to succeed, they’d lower the price of cinema tickets and food, add some additional luxuries (perhaps dinner, wine and some cappuccino), and put in some circular seating with an intermission so I can make it a night out with friends. I can’t download that experience!

I’ve read that newspapers are going to attempt putting up pay walls again. I think we’ve been through this a few times… and they still don’t get it. The Internet is the information superhighway… newspapers are the potholes. Newspapers use content to fill the holes that they can’t sell ads into and many have given up on digging deep to find the real story. I don’t pay for a newspaper because I find better news online, direct from the source, without a slant, and without advertising wrapping around it.

Oh sure, I gave a go at The Daily.. an attempt by the newspaper industry to bring all the unreliability of newspaper delivery to the iPad. It’s slow, it crashes, and it’s rarely news. They should call the it The Yesterday! But, since news is an entire industry, there’s somehow some entitlement they deserve outside the bounds of capitalism that entitles them to continue trying to make 40 percent profit margins? Sorry oldspapers… get back to great reporting and people will pay for the content.

In each of these cases, I don’t fault the consumer and I empathize with the folks breaking the law. After all, isn’t this just capitalism? When the cost surpasses the desire, the only thing left is a black market to get the product or service from. Unfortunately, these industries grew so big and powerful that they’ve got politicians in their back pocket to try to crank out laws every week to try to stop the hemorrhaging. Folks… this isn’t a criminal issue, it’s a market issue.

Given this rant, you may think that I’m all about piracy. Absolutely not! There are countless examples of products and services that have adjusted. And I believe that people are paying for content more than they ever have in the past. When I was a kid, my parents had a phone, a newspaper, a black & white television, and paid for vinyl albums. As an adult, I pay for smart phones, voice messaging, mobile apps, a data plan, a text messaging plan, (x my kids’ plans) cable television, on demand movies, broadband internet, XBox Live, iTunes and Netflix.

These aren’t just a few bad apples that have taken to a lifetime of crime. Chances are, the average person you know is pirating or distributing music or movies. When the crime goes mainstream, the problem isn’t the crime… you have to start wondering what’s flawed with the market that generates that type of response.

Locking up a guy that creates a network where people distribute and download isn’t the answer, either. We’ve been through this with Napster and the Pirate Bay. With Megauploads down, a few thousand other sites are out there that will enable the activity. The newest ones are virtual private networks with anonymous gateways and encrypted communications so governments can’t snoop. The piracy and theft market on music and movies isn’t going anywhere.

I’m tired of these corporations stating that the money lost to the industry is in the [insert]illions. That’s just a bold lie. People that were going to steal a movie weren’t ever planning on spending the money in the theater. You didn’t lose money by them stealing it, you lost money because you charged too much and the home theater is kicking your butt.

And don’t tell me that people won’t pay for content and our only recourse is to lock everyone up. We’re all paying for content everyday! The price simply has to match the value. The folks at Angie’s List have proven this… paid reviews are trustworthy and save their subscribers thousands of dollars. Angie’s List has great retention with their customers and are so popular they were able to go public!

Markets are changing and these other industries are NOT adapting. Why are they making that a criminal issue and not an economic one? Keep up with the efforts of large corporations to criminalize more and more of the web by reading the Deeplinks blog at the Electronic Frontier Foundation.

4 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 3

    This issue isn’t going away anytime soon, and unfortunately, those industries pushing for bad solutions are also in the process contaminating political discourse, leading to efforts like SOPA, ACTA, and others. Doc Searls recently posted something that is relevant to the discussion, well worth a read. http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/doc/2012/02/29/edging-toward-the-fully-licensed-world/

  3. 4


    I’m tired of these corporations stating that the money lost to the industry is in the [insert]illions. That’s just a bold lie. People that were going to steal a movie weren’t ever planning on spending the money in the theater. You didn’t lose money by them stealing it, you lost money because you charged too much and the home theater is kicking your butt.” 

    I can’t even describe how much I agree with this statement! It is 100% true. 

Leave a Reply