عقلك لنا

خلال الأسابيع القليلة الماضية ، كنت أجمع الكتب وأضعها - أحدها كان The Big Switch ، عن طريق نيكولاس كار. اليوم ، أكملت قراءة الكتاب.

قام نيكولاس كار بعمل رائع في بناء أوجه تشابه بين تطور شبكة الطاقة الكهربائية في هذا البلد وولادة الحوسبة السحابية. في ملاحظة مماثلة ، لدى Wired مقال رائع ، بعنوان Planet Amazon ، في منشورها في مايو 2008 يحكي قصة سحابة Amazon. تأكد من التحقق من ذلك. أشارت Wired إلى عرض Amazon على أنه جهاز كخدمة (HaaS). تُعرف أيضًا باسم البنية التحتية كخدمة (IaaS).

بينما أشيد برؤية نيكولاس الثاقبة في الحوسبة السحابية ومستقبل "كيف" سوف نتطور في المستقبل القريب ، شعرت بالدهشة عندما بدأ في مناقشة الأمر الذي لا مفر منه مراقبة سوف تتغلب علينا أجهزة الكمبيوتر مع استمرارنا في دمجها - حتى بيولوجيًا. يستثني الكتاب العمل الذي ينجزه المسوقون حاليًا في الاستفادة من البيانات - ويكاد يلقي نظرة مخيفة على المكان الذي قد يكون فيه هذا في المستقبل.

في كل مرة نقرأ فيها صفحة نصية أو نضغط على رابط أو نشاهد مقطع فيديو ، في كل مرة نضع شيئًا ما في عربة التسوق أو نجري بحثًا ، في كل مرة نرسل فيها بريدًا إلكترونيًا أو ندردش في نافذة مراسلة فورية ، نقوم بملء في "نموذج للسجل". ... غالبًا ما لا ندرك الخيوط التي نقوم بتدويرها وكيف وبواسطة من يتم التلاعب بها. وحتى لو كنا واعين بأننا مراقبون أو مسيطرون ، فقد لا نهتم. بعد كل شيء ، نحن نستفيد أيضًا من التخصيص الذي يجعل الإنترنت ممكنًا - فهو يجعلنا مستهلكين وعاملين مثاليين. نحن نقبل سيطرة أكبر مقابل راحة أكبر. شبكة العنكبوت مصممة للقياس ، ونحن لسنا مستاءين بداخلها.

تلاعب و مراقبة هي كلمات قوية جدا لا أستطيع أن أتفق معها. إذا كان بإمكاني استخدام بيانات العملاء لمحاولة التنبؤ بما قد يرغبون فيه ، فأنا لا أتحكم فيهم أو أتلاعب بهم لإجراء عملية شراء. بدلاً من ذلك ، في مقابل توفير البيانات ، أحاول ببساطة تزويدهم بما قد يبحثون عنه. هذا فعال لجميع الأطراف المعنية.

سيشير التحكم إلى أن الواجهة تغلبت بطريقة ما على إرادتي الحرة ، وهو بيان سخيف. نحن جميعًا كائنات زومبي طائشة على الإنترنت لا نملك القدرة على الدفاع عن أنفسنا ضد الإعلانات النصية الموضوعة جيدًا؟ حقا؟ لهذا السبب لا تزال أفضل الإعلانات تحصل على نسب نقر إلى ظهور مكونة من رقم واحد فقط.

بالنسبة لمستقبل تكامل الإنسان والآلة ، فأنا متفائل حتى بشأن تلك الفرص. تخيل أنك قادر على الوصول إلى محرك بحث دون الحاجة إلى لوحة مفاتيح واتصال بالإنترنت. يمكن لمرضى السكر مراقبة مستويات السكر في الدم وتحديد أفضل الأطعمة التي يجب تناولها لتوفير الغذاء. على نظام غذائي؟ ربما يمكنك مراقبة استهلاكك اليومي من السعرات الحرارية أو حساب نقاط Weight Watcher أثناء تناولك الطعام.

مكعب برجالحقيقة هي أننا لا نملك سوى القليل من التحكم في أنفسنا ، فلا داعي للقلق AI. لدينا عالم مليء بالمكسرات الصحية التي تجوع أجسادهم ، ويمارسون المكسرات التي تبلى مفاصلهم ، والمدمنون الذين يكذبون ويخدعون ويسرقون للحصول على الإصلاح ... إلخ.

إن القدرة على تخطي استخدام لوحة المفاتيح والشاشة و "التوصيل" بالإنترنت ليست فكرة مخيفة بالنسبة لي على الإطلاق. أنا قادر على التعرف على ذلك مراقبة هو مصطلح يستخدم بشكل فضفاض ومع البشر ، لم يكن حقيقة واقعة. لم نتمكن أبدًا من التحكم في أنفسنا - ولن تتمكن الآلات التي صنعها الإنسان أبدًا من التغلب على الآلة المثالية التي جمعها الله بنفسه.

يعد Big Switch قراءة رائعة وأنا أشجع أي شخص على التقاطه. أعتقد أن الأسئلة التي تثيرها حول الذكاء الاصطناعي في المستقبل أسئلة جيدة ، لكن نيكولاس يتبنى وجهة نظر مثيرة للقلق بشأن الفرصة بدلاً من نظرة متفائلة لما ستفعله للتفاعل البشري والإنتاجية ونوعية الحياة.

4 تعليقات

  1. 1
    • 2

      مرحبا ستيفن!

      يبدو أن نيكولاس عميل مارق في عالم التكنولوجيا ، لكنني أستمتع حقًا بقراءة مدونته وأحببت هذا الكتاب حقًا. في الآونة الأخيرة ، جذبت كتب التاريخ أكثر من غيرها - وأعطى نيكولاس بعض الأفكار العظيمة حول تطور إنتاج الطاقة والموازيات مع الحوسبة.

      كان هذا هو الجزء المفضل لدي من الكتاب وأعتقد أن أوجه التشابه بينه كانت صحيحة. ومع ذلك ، عندما تجاوز ذلك ، أصبحت الأمور سلبية بعض الشيء. لا يعني ذلك أن المعلومات لم تكن شيئًا يجب أن نقلق بشأنه - فقط أعتقد أنها تجاهلت الفرص الرائعة.

      استمتع بقراءته - لا أطيق الانتظار لرؤية رأيك في ذلك أيضًا!

      هتاف،
      دوغ

  2. 3

    دوغ:

    شكرا على البصيرة. أوافق على أن أساليب التخويف قد تبيع الكتب
    للقراء المبتدئين ، ولكن الحقيقة هي أن أجهزة الكمبيوتر مسلحة بـ
    البيانات .. لا ولن "تتحكم في العالم" .. مجنون !!!

    ثابر على العمل الجيد!
    جودي هنتر
    التسويق لسنوات ولا يخاف من جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بي!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing

Your Mind Are Belong To Us

For the past few weeks I’ve been picking up and putting down books – one of them was The Big Switch, by Nicholas Carr. Today, I completed reading the book.

Nicholas Carr did a fantastic job at building parallels between the evolution of the electrical power grid in this country and the birth of cloud computing. On a similar note, Wired has a great article, called Planet Amazon, in its May 2008 publication that tells the story of Amazon’s cloud. Be sure to check it out. Wired referred to Amazon’s offering as Hardware as a Service (HaaS). It’s also known as Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS).

While I applaud Nicholas’ insight into cloud computing and the future of ‘how’ we will develop in the near future, I was startled when he started discuss the inevitable control computers would have over us as we continued to integrate them – even biologically. The book takes exception to the work that marketers are currently accomplishing in leveraging data – and almost takes a frightening look at where this might be in the future.

Every time we read a page of text or click on a link or watch a video, every time we put something in a shopping cart or perform a search, every time we send an email or chat in an instant-messaging window, we are filling in a “form for the record.” … we’re often unaware of the threads we’re spinning and how and by whom they’re being manipulated. And even if we were conscious of being monitored or controlled, we might not care. After all, we also benefit from the personization that the Internet makes possible—it makes us more perfect consumers and workers. We accept greater control in return for greater convenience. The spider’s web is made to measure, and we’re not unhappy inside it.

Manipulation and control are very strong words that I can not agree with. If I can utilize a customers data to try and predict what they may want, I’m not controlling them or manipulating them into making a purchase. Rather, in return for providing the data, I’m simply trying to provide them with what they might be looking for. That’s efficient for all parties involved.

Control would indicate that the interface has somehow overcome my free will, which is a ridiculous statement. We’re all mindless zombies on the Internet that don’t have the ability to defend ourselves against a well-placed text advertisement? Really? That’s why the best ads still only gain single digit click-through rates.

As for the future of man and machine integration, I’m even optimistic about those opportunities. Imagine being able to access a search engine without the need for a keyboard and Internet connection. Diabetics would be able to both monitor their blood sugar levels AND identify the best foods to eat to provide nourishment. On a diet? Perhaps you could monitor your daily caloric intake or count Weight Watcher points as you eat.

The fact is that we have very little control over ourselves, never mind worrying about AI. We have a world with health nuts that starve their bodies, exercise nuts that wear out their joints, addicts that lie, cheat and steal to get their fix… etc. We’re imperfect machines ourselves, always trying to improve but often falling short.

The ability to skip using a keyboard and monitor and ‘plug in’ to the Internet isn’t a scary thought to me at all. I’m able to recognize that control is a term that is used loosely and, with humans, never a reality. We’ve never been able to control ourselves – and man-made machines will never be able to overcome the perfect machine that God himself has assembled.

The Big Switch is a great read and I’d encourage anyone to pick it up. I do think the questions it raises on future artificial intelligence are good ones, but Nicholas takes an alarmest view of the opportunity rather than an optimistic view of what it will do for human interaction, productivity and quality of life.

4 Comments

  1. 1
    • 2

      Hi Steven!

      Nicholas seems to be a bit of a rogue agent in the technology world, but I really do enjoy reading both his blog and I really liked this book. Recently, I’ve been attracted more to history books than others – and Nicholas gave some great insight into the evolution of energy production and the parallels to computing.

      That was my favorite part of the book and I think his parallels were right-on. However, when he went beyond that, things got a little negative. Not that the information wasn’t something we should worry about – just that I think it ignored the wondrous opportunities.

      Have fun reading it – can’t wait to see your take on it as well!

      Cheers,
      Doug

  2. 3

    Doug:

    Thanks for the insight. I agree that the scare tactics may sell books
    to novice readers, but the reality is that computers armed with
    data..do not and will not “control the world”.. CrAzy!!!

    Keep up the good work!
    Jodi Hunter
    Marketing for years and not afraid of my PC!

Leave a Reply