ما هو صافي الحياد؟

أنا من محبي الأعمال التجارية الكبيرة ولست كثير من أصحاب نظرية يوم القيامة ؛ ومع ذلك ، فإن صافي الحياد ضخم بالنسبة لي شخصيًا. تعتمد حياتي بالكامل وقدرتي على دعم أطفالي على قدرة عملي على استخدام الإنترنت ، وقدرتي على استخدام الإنترنت ... وسرعان ما أصبحت أطفالي أيضًا. إن تقطيع الإنترنت باستخدام الممرات السريعة والبطيئة لا يوفر خيارًا ، بل سيؤدي حقًا إلى دفن الممرات البطيئة. هذا يعني أن قدرتنا ، كمدونين ورجال أعمال صغيرة ، سوف تختفي.

وأعتقد أن هذا سيؤدي إلى نمو اقتصادي أقل وسيضر في النهاية باقتصادنا ، وبالتالي ، عائدات الضرائب. هذا سيناريو مخيف جدًا وسيغير ميزان الثروة والقوة الذي يجلبه الإنترنت إلى الصوت الصغير - ويعيده إلى أيدي أصحاب المال - تمامًا كما حدث مع الصحف والموسيقى والراديو والتلفزيون.

لا يجب عليك العمل على إصلاح الأشياء التي لم يتم كسرها فقط ... ولكن أيضًا تغيير العالم الذي نعيش فيه وفتح اقتصادات وشركات جديدة كل ثانية من اليوم.

هناك بعض السخرية هنا أيضًا. شركات مثل أكامي تساعد الشركات بالفعل على "تسريع" تقديم المحتوى الخاص بها على الإنترنت:

تضم Akamai EdgePlatform 20,000 خادم منتشرة في 71 دولة والتي تراقب الإنترنت باستمرار؟ حركة المرور ومواقع الاضطرابات والظروف العامة. نستخدم هذه المعلومات لتحسين الطرق بذكاء وتكرار المحتوى لتسليم أسرع وأكثر موثوقية. نظرًا لأن Akamai يتعامل مع 20٪ من إجمالي حركة المرور على الإنترنت اليوم ، فإن رؤيتنا للإنترنت هي الأكثر شمولاً وديناميكية التي يتم جمعها في أي مكان.

لقد بدأنا مؤخرًا في استخدام Akamai في عملنا وكان ذلك بمثابة تحسينات مكونة من رقمين في استجابة تطبيقنا حول العالم ... في بعض الأماكن تصل إلى 80٪. هذه بالطبع تقنية ليست في متناول الشركات الصغيرة ؛ ومع ذلك ، فهو عمل تجاري في حد ذاته. لذلك لا نحتاج فقط إلى هذه "الممرات السريعة" الجديدة ، بل لدينا بالفعل حلول تساعد الشركات الكبيرة في توصيل المحتوى بشكل أسرع. فلماذا ما زلنا نتحدث عن هذا؟

وقع على العريضة وتبرع ل احفظ الإنترنت.

6 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 2

    يرغب الأشخاص الذين يمتلكون الطرق الرئيسية للإنترنت في إنشاء مسارين لحركة المرور. سيكون أحد المسارات (كما هو الحال الآن) هو توجيه الإنترنت العادي. طريق آخر ومع ذلك ، يمكن أن يكون مسارًا حيث يمكن للاتصالات أن تفرض رسومًا على نطاق ترددي أسرع وأفضل لدفع العملاء.

    الفكرة من وراء ذلك هي أن الشركات المشروعة يمكن أن تدفع مقابل تحسين توصيل محتواها لك أو لي. بهذه الطريقة لا داعي للقلق بشأن الحصول على حركة المرور من خلال حركة المرور الحالية. إذا قمت بالضغط على Google على سبيل المثال ، وكانوا يدفعون مقابل عرض النطاق الترددي المتزايد ، فسيكون موقع الويب الخاص بهم قادرًا على التحميل بشكل أسرع.

    على الورق ، يبدو رائعًا. ومع ذلك ، فإن النتيجة ستكون على الأرجح كارثية. لن يكون هناك أي حافز لهذه الشركات لتحسين الأداء العام والبنية التحتية للإنترنت لك ولي. في الواقع ، سيكون العكس هو الصحيح. إذا تركوا المسارات "العادية" للإنترنت تنخفض في الأداء ، فسيؤدي ذلك إلى جذب المزيد من الأعمال لمسارات "الأعمال".

    حاليًا ، إذا قامت Verizon أو AT&T أو Comcast بتحسين شبكتها وعرض النطاق الترددي ، كل شخص يرى التحسن. هذا هو "الحياد" في صافي الحياد. الناس مثلي يرغبون في الاحتفاظ بها على هذا النحو. إذا قام هؤلاء الأشخاص ببناء شبكة أسرع وأفضل والتي يتعين عليك الدفع بها ، فسوف نفقد عملك أنا وأنت. لن يكلف الناس عناء القدوم إلى مواقعنا لأنه سيكون ببساطة بطيئًا للغاية.

    في صميم قلقي هو أنه على الرغم من أن هذه الشركات تستثمر بكثافة في الإنترنت - إلا أنها لم تنشئها. كانت أموال دافعي الضرائب الأمريكيين هي التي أدت إلى انطلاق الإنترنت ... لا ينبغي أن نتخلف عن الركب!

  3. 3

    هل هذا خاص بالولايات المتحدة أم شيء في كل مكان. ولكن ، أعتقد أن معظمنا نحن المواطنين غير الأمريكيين لديهم مواقع مستضافة في الولايات المتحدة ، فهذا يؤثر علينا كثيرًا.

    الذهاب إلى بلوق حول هذا الموضوع. شكرا 🙂

    • 4

      يمكن أن يحدث في أي مكان ، ولكن إذا حدث في الولايات المتحدة ، فمن المؤكد أن الآثار ستنتشر إلى ما هو أبعد من ذلك. من المرجح أن تتسلق الشركات الكبرى في البلدان الأخرى عربة التسوق أيضًا ، حيث ستكون هذه هي البنية التحتية التي من شأنها أن تدعم الوصول إلى معظم الناس. سوف يضطر "ليل أول" مثلك ومثلي إلى دفع بعض المال أو تركه في الأوساخ.

  4. 5
  5. 6

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing

What is Net Neutrality?

I’m a fan of big business and I’m not much of a doomsday theorist; however, Net Neutrality is huge to me personally. My entire life and ability to support my children relies on my work’s ability to use the Internet, my ability to use the Internet… and it’s quickly becoming my childrens’ as well. Dicing up the Internet with fast and slow lanes doesn’t provide choice, it will truly just bury the slow lanes. That means that our ability, as bloggers and small business entrepreneurs, will disappear.

I believe that will result in less economic growth and will ultimately hurt our economy and, in turn, tax revenue. That’s a pretty scary scenario and will change the balance of wealth and power that the Internet brings to the small voice – and put it back in the hands of those with money – just as it happened with newspapers, music, radio, and television.

You really shouldn’t work on fixing things that not only aren’t broken… but are changing the world we live in and opening new economies and businesses every second of the day.

There is some irony here as well. Businesses such as Akamai already help businesses to ‘speed up’ their content delivery on the net:

The Akamai EdgePlatform comprises 20,000 servers deployed in 71 countries that continually monitor the Internet ? traffic, trouble spots and overall conditions. We use that information to intelligently optimize routes and replicate content for faster, more reliable delivery. As Akamai handles 20% of total Internet traffic today, our view of the Internet is the most comprehensive and dynamic collected anywhere.

We recently began using Akamai at our work and it’s been double-digit improvements in our application’s response around the world… in some places up to 80%. This is, of course, technology that is not affordable to small businesses; however, it’s a business in and of itself. So not only do we not need these new ‘fast lanes’, we already have solutions that assist big business in faster content delivery. So why are we still talking about this?

Sign the petition and donate to Save the Internet.

6 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 2

    The folks that own the main thoroughfares of the Internet would like to create two paths for traffic. One path (as it is now) would be a normal internet routing. Another path; however, could be a path where the telecoms could charge for faster, better bandwidth for paying customers.

    The idea behind it is that legitimate businesses could pay for improved delivery of their content to you or me. This way they don’t have to worry about getting traffic through existing traffic. If you hit Google for instance, and they are paying for the increased bandwidth, their website would be able to load much faster.

    On paper, it sounds great. However, the result would most likely be catastrophic. There would be no incentive for these companies to improve the overall performance and infrastructure of the Internet for you and me. In fact, quite the opposite would be true. If they let the ‘normal’ pathways of the Internet drop in performance, it would attract more business for the ‘business’ pathways.

    Currently, if Verizon or AT&T or Comcast improves their network and bandwidth, everyone sees the improvement. That’s the ‘neutral’ in Net Neutrality. Folks like me would like to keep it that way. If these guys build a faster, better network that you have to pay into, you and I will be out of business. People won’t bother coming to our sites because it will simply be too slow.

    At the root of my concern is that, although, these companies are investing heavily in the Internet – they did not create it. It was U.S. taxpayer money that got the Internet off the ground… we shouldn’t be left behind!

  3. 3

    Is this specific to the US or something all over. But, I guess since most of us non-US citizens have sites hosted in the US, it effects us a great deal.

    Going to blog about it. Thanks 🙂

    • 4

      It could happen anywhere, but if it happens in the U.S., the effects would definitely ripple well beyond. Other countries’ big businesses would most likely climb on the bandwagon as well, since that would be the infrastructure that would support reaching the most people. L’il ol’ folks like you and me would be forced to fork up some money or get left in the dirt.

  4. 5
  5. 6

Leave a Reply