القوس الدفاعات والتدوين والتواصل

القوس الصاروخأثناء وجودك في البحرية الأمريكية ، كانت إحدى طرق الاتصال التي تم تكليفها هي التعرف على الرسالة المستلمة والرد مع التأكيد. بصفتي كهربائيًا ، كانت إحدى مهماتي هي الوقوف في وضع التحكم في القوس. كانت Bow Thruster عبارة عن مروحة في منتصف نفق يمتد من جانب واحد من السفينة إلى الجانب الآخر على القوس. إنه محرك كهربائي يعمل عليه Bow Thruster ويتطلب بالفعل أن يكون المولد الخاص به متصلاً بالإنترنت نظرًا لكمية عزم الدوران التي استغرقتها للتشغيل.

مقاطعة يو إس إس سبارتانبورغكنت على متن سفينة إنزال للدبابات (LST-1192) تم تصميمها بالفعل للركض إلى الشاطئ وإطلاق منحدر ضخم لتفريغ الدبابات والمركبات البحرية. يسمح Bow Thruster بالتحكم الكامل في موقع القوس (الأمامي) للسفينة. سيستخدمها القبطان ، مع المحركات الرئيسية ، للإبحار بعناية في السفينة. على الجسر ، هناك عدد من الأشخاص يتتبعون موقع السفينة ، وأدوات التحكم في المحرك ، والتوجيه ، وما إلى ذلك ، وسيقوم القبطان بموازنة كل منهم في "باليه" دقيق لتحريك سفينة عملاقة برفق ، بطول مئات الأقدام ، حولها. العقبات التي تعترض وجهتها.

للتأكد من أن القبطان على علم تام ، فإنه سيطرح سؤالاً أو ينبح أمرًا. طرح سؤال سينتج عنه إجابة من البحار الذي وجه السؤال ثم يكرر القبطان هذه الإجابة. عند طلب بحار ، يكرر البحار الأمر وينفذ الأمر. بمجرد الانتهاء ، سيذكر البحار أن المهمة قد اكتملت وسيكررها القبطان ويعترف بها. كل هذا تم تدوينه أيضًا في سجل السفينة.

الاتصالات البحرية

قد تكون عينة المحادثة:

  1. قائد المنتخب: "Bow Thruster ، خمس طاقة يمين."
    بحار الموجود في القوس Thruster ، أدر المقبض خمس المسافة إلى اليمين.
  2. القوس الصاروخ: "Bow Thruster ، خمس طاقة يمينًا ، آه."
    قيل لي للتو أن أدر المقبض خمس الطريق إلى اليمين. فهمتك!
  3. مشغل دفع القوس يدير المقبض إلى خمس ميمنة للطاقة.
  4. القوس الصاروخ: "الكابتن ، القوس الدافع هو خمس قوة الميمنة."
    أخبرت الكابتن أنني أدرت المقبض خمس الطريق إلى اليمين.
  5. قائد المنتخب: "Bow Thruster هو خُمس الطاقة الأيمن ، آه."
    لقد سمعتك! قلت إنها خمس يمين.

معقدة جدا فقط لتشغيل مقبض الباب ، أليس كذلك؟ لكن تشغيل هذا المقبض سيتحمل الكثير من الأحداث ... كميات كبيرة من التيار من المولد ، والتي من شأنها أن تسحب محرك الديزل ، الذي تمت مراقبته من قبل كهربائي لوحة التبديل لضمان عدم حدوث أي شيء خارج عن المألوف ، رجل إنجين يراقب محرك ديزل و استهلاكها للوقود وضغط الزيت ، تحت إشراف كبير المهندسين الذي راقب محطات الطاقة والديزل بالكامل. تدرك البحرية أن الاتصال هو المفتاح ، لذا فإن عملية تكرار الرسالة وتأكيد الرسالة تضمن عدم فقدان المعلومات في تلك الرسالة.

متابعة الطلبات

في بورتوريكو ذات مرة ، كان ضابط مبتدئ على رأس القيادة واستمر في الفشل في الاعتراف بحالة القوس Thruster. واصل البحار (أنا) أن يكرر له أن Bow Thruster كان مشغولاً وبقوة ثلث ، يقود القوس نحو الرصيف. لقد بدأت بالفعل في دعم Bow Thruster (هذا في الواقع انتهاك للأوامر) بينما أكرر (في نغمة مقلقة) أنه كان مشغولاً. فقاعة. كانت السفينة تتراجع عن الرصيف وسحب القوس معنا طنًا من الرصيف. لحسن الحظ ، كان معظمه مجرد خشب لكنه تسبب في أضرار بمئات الآلاف من الدولارات. كل ذلك لأن القائد لم يستمع إلى مرؤوسه ... الذي كان يفعل ما قيل له. تم فصل الضابط بإجراءات موجزة من الجسر ولم يُسمح له بتوجيه السفينة مرة أخرى.

لدي احترام كبير للبحرية الأمريكية. لقد عملنا بلا توقف لحالة الطوارئ التي لم تحدث أبدًا لضمان تصرفنا بدافع الغريزة بدلاً من الخوف. كما تواصلنا دون توقف. قد يعتقد هؤلاء الأشخاص الذين لم يكونوا في الخدمة من قبل أن طريقة الاتصال هذه مضيعة ... إنها ليست كذلك. عندما أنظر إلى أكبر التحديات التي نواجهها في العمل ، فإن 99٪ من هذه المشكلات تتعلق بالتواصل ، وليس بالمنتج أو الخدمة الفعلية التي نقدمها. أسست البحرية الأمريكية الرتبة والمسؤوليات والعمليات وأساليب الاتصال. أعتقد أن هذه السمات موجودة في الأعمال التجارية الناجحة أيضًا.

ما علاقة كل هذا بالتدوين؟

و ... ربما تم العثور عليهم في المدونات أيضًا! إذا تواصلت مع مدونة أخرى ، فإن تلك المدونة تحصل على تعقيب ، ويعود ذلك المدون الآن ويقرأ ويعلق على مدونتي. (والعكس صحيح) يتم إرسال الرسالة ... مكررة ... ومعترف بها. ربما لهذا السبب يعد التدوين أداة رائعة وبدأت وسائل الإعلام الرئيسية وحتى الشركات في استهلاك التقنيات الأساسية. أعلم أنني قرأت عنه مدونة جوناثان شوارتز ويعتقد أنه قال إنه لا يساعد فقط في إيصال رسالته إلى العالم - ولكنه أيضًا ينقل الرسالة إلى موظفي Sun.

أنا لا أقول بأي حال من الأحوال أن الشركات يجب أن تدار مثل القبطان الذي يدير السفينة. لا يتعين على البحرية الأمريكية تحقيق ربح أو توفير أي أموال. الهدف الوحيد للبحرية الأمريكية هو الاستعداد للتهديد الذي قد يحدث أو لا يحدث.

وتشغيل الشركات بنجاح

أنا أتساءل. ومع ذلك ، ما مدى نجاح الشركات عندما يكون لديها خطوط واضحة للسلطة والمرتبة والمسؤولية. أتساءل إلى أي مدى ستكون وظائفنا أسهل إذا تم توصيل الاتجاه بوضوح والاعتراف به وتكراره. أتساءل كم عدد القادة الذين سيكونون أكثر نجاحًا إذا استمعوا إلى مرؤوسيهم بعد تنفيذهم لتلك الأوامر.

أنا واثق من أن شركات أقل ستفعل ذلك 'واجهت' مشاكل إذا فعلوا.

هذا المنشور مستوحى من أسبوع قاسٍ في العمل. قام فريق التطوير لدينا بتنفيذ وإصدار بعض الميزات الرائعة في تطبيقنا هذا الأسبوع. بصفتي مدير منتج ، كانت وظيفتي (من المفارقات) الوقوف في "غرفة الحرب" ، والتواصل وتحديد أولويات القضايا التي قد تكون اندلعت من عملائنا. بعد 4 أيام في "غرفة الحرب" ، يمكنني القول بصراحة أنه - على الرغم من وجود بعض الأخطاء - كانت المشكلات الرئيسية من جميع أعطال في الاتصال.

3 تعليقات

  1. 1

    دوغ ، أود أن أذهب إلى حد القول إن الناس في مجتمعنا يتواصلون CRAVE. نحن نعيش في عالم صاخب وصاخب يعاني منه التواصل ، ونحن كبشر بحاجة إلى التواصل حتى يتحقق في حياتنا. ليس فقط أن تكون ناجحًا في العمل ، ولكن أن تكون ناجحًا في أن تكون سعيدًا أيضًا. خلق البشر للتفاعل مع بعضهم البعض.

    سنعمل جميعًا بشكل جيد على المستوى الشخصي والمهني إذا سعينا دائمًا إلى توصيل الرسالة بوضوح ، والتحقق من تلقينا الرسائل بوضوح وتأكيد استلام الاتصال المذكور. قد يبدو الأمر مضيعة للوقت بالنسبة للكثيرين ، لكنني أفضل إهدار هذا الوقت مقدمًا بدلاً من الخلط بين إصلاح الطريق الذي حدث ب / ج لم يتم توصيل الرسالة (أ) بوضوح ، (ب) تم استلامها بشكل صحيح أو (ج) على حد سواء. بصرف النظر عن أشياء "الشعور بالرضا" ، فإنها تجعلها منطقية للأعمال التجارية أيضًا. وظيفة جيدة!

    • 2

      لقد عقدنا للتو اجتماعًا لنادي الكتاب اليوم وتمحور جزء كبير من المحادثة حول ... التواصل بين كل الأشياء. أتساءل عما إذا كانت كل مشاكلنا تنبع حقًا من ضعف التواصل. ونحن بالتأكيد نرى النتائج المأساوية لعدم التواصل ، هكذا تتطور الوحوش مثل قاتل Virginia Tech.

      شكرا للتواصل ، جول! الخاص بك صديقي بلوق الجديد!

  2. 3

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Search Marketing

Bow Thrusters, Blogging, and Communication

Bow ThrusterWhile in the U.S. Navy, one of the methods of communication that was mandated was the recognition of the received message and retort with the confirmation. As an Electrician, one of my tasks was to stand Bow Thruster control. A Bow Thruster was basically a propeller in the middle of a tunnel that ran from one side of the ship to the other on the Bow. It’s an Electric Motor that the Bow Thruster ran on and it actually required its own Generator to be online with due to the amount of torque it took to operate.

U.S.S. Spartanburg CountyI was on a Tank Landing Ship (LST-1192) that was actually designed to run into the beach and launch a huge ramp to offload Marine tanks and vehicles. The Bow Thruster allowed complete control of the location of the bow (front) of the ship. The Captain would use it, in combination with the main engines, to carefully navigate the ship. On the bridge, there are a number of people tracking the ship’s location, engine controls, steerage, etc. and the Captain would balance all of them in a careful ‘ballet’ to gently move a giant ship, hundreds of feet in length, around obstacles to it’s destination.

To ensure that the Captain is fully aware, he would ask a question or bark an order. Asking a question would result in an answer from the sailor who was directed the question and then the Captain would repeat that answer. When ordering a sailor, the sailor would repeat the order and execute the order. Once complete, the sailor would state the task was completed and the Captain would repeat and acknowledge it. All of this was also written down in the Ship’s log.

Naval Communication

A sample conversation might be:

  1. Captain: “Bow Thruster, one-fifth power starboard.”
    Sailor who is at the Bow Thruster, turn the knob one-fifth of the way to the right.
  2. Bow Thruster: “Bow Thruster, one-fifth power starboard, aye.”
    I was just told to turn the knob one-fifth of the way to the right. Got it!
  3. Bow Thruster Operator turns the knob to one-fifth power starboard.
  4. Bow Thruster: “Captain, bow thruster is one-fifth power starboard.”
    I told the Captain that I turned the knob one-fifth of the way to the right.
  5. Captain: “Bow Thruster is one-fifth power starboard, aye.”
    I heard you! You said it’s one-fifth starboard.

Pretty complex just to turn a knob, right? But turning that knob would incur a ton of events… mass amounts of amperage from a Generator, that would drag down a diesel engine, that was watched over by a Switchboard Electrician to ensure nothing out of the ordinary happened, an Engineman observing a diesel and its consumption of fuel and oil pressure, watched over by a Chief Engineer that observed the entire power and diesel plants. The Navy understands that communication is the key, so the process of repeating the message and confirming the message ensures that there’s no loss of information in that message.

Following Orders

In Puerto Rico once, a Junior Officer was at the helm and continued to fail to acknowledge the condition of the Bow Thruster. The sailor (me) continued to repeat to him that the Bow Thruster was engaged and at one-third power, driving the bow towards the dock. I actually began backing the Bow Thruster off (this is actually a violation of orders) while repeating (in an alarmed pitch) that it was engaged. Boom. The ship was backing off the dock and the bow dragged a ton of the dock with us. Luckily, most of it was simply wood but it still caused hundreds of thousands of dollars in damage. All because a leader didn’t listen to his subordinate… who was doing what he was told. The Officer was summarily dismissed from the Bridge and never allowed to pilot the ship again.

I have great respect for the U.S. Navy. We drilled non-stop for the emergency that never happened to ensure we acted out of instinct rather than fear. We also communicated non-stop. Those folks that had never been in the service may think that this manner of communication is a waste… it’s not. When I look at our largest challenges at work, 99% of those issues have to do with communication, not the actual product or service we are serving. The U.S. Navy has established rank, responsibilities, processes and methods of communication. I believe these traits are found in successful businesses as well.

What’s all this have to do with Blogging?

And… perhaps they are found in blogging as well! If I communicate with another blog, that blog gets a trackback, and that blogger now comes back and reads and comments on my blog. (And vice versa) The message is sent… repeated… and acknowledged. Perhaps that’s why blogging is such an incredible tool and the underlying technologies are beginning to be consumed by mainstream media and even corporations. I know that I’ve read about Jonathon Schwartz’s blog and believe he’s said that it helps not only get his message out to the world – but it also gets the message out to his Sun employees.

I’m in no way stating that companies should be run like a Captain runs a ship. The U.S. Navy doesn’t have to make a profit or save any money. The U.S. Navy’s only goal is to be prepared for the threat that may or may not occur.

And Running Companies Successfully

I do wonder; however, how successful companies are when they have clear lines of authority, rank, and responsibility. I wonder how much easier our jobs would be if direction was clearly communicated, acknowledged, and repeated back. I wonder how many leaders would be more successful if they listened to their subordinates after they executed those orders.

I’m confident that less companies would ‘run into’ problems if they did.

This post was actually inspired by a rough week at work. Our development folks executed and released some fantastic features into our application this week. As a Product Manager, my job was to (ironically) stand watch in a “War Room”, communicating and prioritizing issues that may have erupted from our clients. After 4 days in the “War Room”, I can honestly state that – even though we had a few bugs – the major issues were all breakdowns in communication.

3 Comments

  1. 1

    Doug, I would even go as far as to say that people in our society CRAVE communication. We live in such a hustle and bustle world that communication suffers, and we as humans need communication to be fulfilled in our lives. Not just to be successful in business, but to be successful at being happy as well. Humans were made to interact with each other.

    We would all do well personally and professionally if we always seek to communicate the message clearly, verify we have received messages clearly and confirm receipt of said communication. It may seem like a waste of time to many, but I’d rather waste that time upfront than down the road fixing mixups that happened b/c the message was not (a) communicated clearly, (b) received properly or (c) both. Aside from the “feel good” stuff, it just makes for sound business sense as well. Good post!

    • 2

      We just had a book club meeting today and much of the conversation centered around… communication of all things. I wonder if all our woes really derive from poor communication. And we definitely see the tragic results of ‘no’ communication, that’s how monsters like the Virginia Tech killer develop.

      Thanks for communicating, Jules! Your my new blog-buddy!

  2. 3

Leave a Reply