كيف يمكن لفرق المبيعات والتسويق لديك التوقف عن المساهمة في الإرهاق الرقمي

إنفوجرافيك إجهاد الاتصالات الرقمية

شكّل العامان الماضيان تحديًا لا يُصدق بالنسبة لي. من الناحية الشخصية ، كنت محظوظًا بحفيدي الأول. على صعيد الأعمال التجارية ، انضممت إلى بعض الزملاء الذين أحترمهم بشدة ونحن نبني شركة استشارية للتحول الرقمي تنطلق بالفعل. بالطبع ، في منتصف ذلك ، كان هناك جائحة أخرج خط الأنابيب والتوظيف عن مساره ... وهو ما عاد إلى المسار الصحيح الآن. رمي في هذا المنشور ، والتعارف ، واللياقة البدنية ... وحياتي الآن حديقة حيوان.

شيء واحد ربما تكون قد لاحظته في العامين الماضيين هو أنني أوقفت البودكاست الخاص بي مؤقتًا. كان لدي 3 ملفات بودكاست نشطة منذ بضع سنوات - للتسويق والأعمال المحلية ودعم المحاربين القدامى. البودكاستينغ هو شغفي ، لكن عندما نظرت إلى زملائي الرائد ونمو عملي ، لم يكن يوفر نموًا فوريًا في الإيرادات لذلك كان عليّ أن أتركه جانبًا. يمكن أن يقطع البودكاست لمدة 20 دقيقة ما يصل إلى 4 ساعات من يوم عملي لجدولة كل حلقة وتسجيلها وتحريرها ونشرها والترويج لها. إن خسارة بضعة أيام في الشهر دون عائد فوري على الاستثمار لم يكن شيئًا يمكنني تحمله في الوقت الحالي. ملاحظة جانبية ... سأقوم بإعادة مشاركة كل من البودكاست بمجرد أن أستطيع توفير الوقت.

التعب الرقمي

يُعرَّف الإرهاق الرقمي على أنه حالة من الإرهاق العقلي الناجم عن الاستخدام المفرط والمتزامن للأدوات الرقمية المتعددة

ليكسار ، إدارة التعب الرقمي

لا يمكنني حتى إخبارك بعدد المكالمات الهاتفية والرسائل المباشرة ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني التي أتلقاها يوميًا. معظمها طلبات ، وبعضها من الأصدقاء والعائلة ، وبالطبع في كومة القش بعض العملاء المحتملين والاتصالات. أبذل قصارى جهدي للترشيح والجدول الزمني بأفضل ما يمكنني ، لكنني لا أواكب ... على الإطلاق. في مرحلة ما من مسيرتي المهنية ، كان لدي مساعد تنفيذي وأنا أتطلع إلى هذا الفخامة مرة أخرى ... لكن تكثيف المساعد يتطلب وقتًا أيضًا. لذلك ، في الوقت الحالي ، أنا ببساطة أعاني من ذلك.

مضاعفة العمل داخل المنصات التي أقوم بها طوال اليوم ، إجهاد الاتصالات الرقمية هو أيضا ساحق. بعض الأنشطة المحبطة التي ترهقني هي:

  • لدي بعض الشركات الخارجية الباردة التي تعمل فعليًا على أتمتة الردود وتملأ صندوق الوارد الخاص بي كل يوم برسائل غبية مثل ، جلب هذا إلى أعلى بريدك الوارد ... أو إخفاء رسالة بريد إلكتروني بامتداد RE: في سطر الموضوع للاعتقاد بأننا تحدثنا من قبل. لا شيء أكثر إثارة للغضب ... أراهن أن هذا هو نصف صندوق الوارد الخاص بي الآن. بمجرد أن أخبرهم بالتوقف ، تأتي جولة أخرى من الأتمتة. اضطررت إلى نشر بعض التصفية الرائعة وقواعد صندوق البريد الذكية لمحاولة إحضار الرسائل المهمة إلى صندوق الوارد الخاص بي.
  • لدي بعض الشركات التي تتخلى عن الاتصال بي عبر البريد الإلكتروني ، ثم أرسل لي رسائل مباشرة عبر الشبكات الاجتماعية. هل وصلتك رسالتي في الايميل؟ هي طريقة مؤكدة لإيقافك على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. إذا كنت أعتقد أن بريدك الإلكتروني مهم ، لكنت سأجيب ... توقف عن إرسال المزيد من الاتصالات إلي وانسداد كل وسيلة لدي.
  • الأسوأ هو الزملاء والأصدقاء والعائلة الذين يشعرون بالغضب تمامًا ويعتقدون أنني وقح لأنني لا أستجيب. حياتي ممتلئة الآن وهي مدهشة للغاية. إن عدم تقديري لحقيقة أنني مشغول بالعائلة والأصدقاء والعمل والمنزل واللياقة البدنية ومنشوراتي أمر مخيب للآمال للغاية. أنا الآن أقوم بتوزيع Calendly الارتباط بالأصدقاء والعائلة والزملاء حتى يتمكنوا من حجز الوقت في التقويم الخاص بي. وأنا أحمي التقويم الخاص بي!
  • بدأت أرى المزيد والمزيد من الشركات المزعجة رسائلي النصية ... وهو أمر يثير الغضب. الرسائل النصية هي أكثر وسائل الاتصال تدخلاً وشخصية. رسالة نصية باردة لي هي طريقة مؤكدة لإجباري على عدم التعامل معك مرة أخرى.

لست وحدي ... وفقًا لنتائج استطلاع جديد من PFL:

  • يتلقى المدير من خلال المستجيبين C-Level أكثر من 2.5 مرة مأو رسائل البريد الإلكتروني الترويجية الأسبوعية ، بمتوسط 80 بريدًا إلكترونيًا في الأسبوع. ملاحظة جانبية ... أحصل على أكثر من ذلك في يوم واحد.
  • يتلقى المتخصصون في المؤسسة متوسط ​​65 بريدًا إلكترونيًا في الأسبوع.
  • يتلقى العمال الهجين 31 بريدًا إلكترونيًا فقط في الأسبوع.
  • يتلقى العمال عن بعد بالكامل أكثر من 170 بريدًا إلكترونيًا في الأسبوع، أكثر من 6 مرات من رسائل البريد الإلكتروني للعامل العادي.

على مدى نصف جميع العاملين يعانون من التعب بسبب حجم اتصالات الترويج الرقمي التي يتلقونها في العمل. 80٪ من المستجيبين على مستوى C غارقون من خلال عدد الترقيات الرقمية التي يتلقونها!

كيف أتعامل مع إجهاد الاتصالات الرقمية

رد فعلي على إجهاد الاتصالات الرقمية هو:

  1. قلة النوم - إذا تلقيت عدة رسائل بريد إلكتروني أو رسائل باردة ، فأطلب من الشخص التوقف وإزالة بياناتي من قاعدة البيانات الخاصة به. أكثر من مرة أنه يعمل.
  2. لا تعتذر - أنا لا أقول "آسف ..."ما لم أقم بتوقع أنني سأرد في فترة زمنية معينة. يشمل هذا أيضًا الدفع للعملاء الذين أذكرهم كثيرًا أنني قد حددت موعدًا معهم. أنا لست آسف لأنني مشغول بالعمل الكامل والحياة الشخصية.
  3. حذف - غالبًا ما أحذف الرسائل دون رد ولا يكلف الكثير من الناس عناء إعادة محاولة إرسال الرسائل الاقتحامية (SPAM) لي مرة أخرى.
  4. تصفية - أقوم بتصفية النماذج وصندوق الوارد والوسائط الأخرى الخاصة بي للنطاقات والكلمات الرئيسية التي لن أرد عليها مطلقًا. يتم حذف الرسائل على الفور. هل أحصل على بعض الرسائل المهمة مختلطة أحيانًا؟ نعم ... حسنًا.
  5. أولويات - صندوق الوارد الخاص بي عبارة عن سلسلة من صناديق البريد الذكية التي يتم تصفيتها بشكل كبير بواسطة العميل ، ورسائل النظام ، وما إلى ذلك. وهذا يتيح لي التحقق بسهولة من كل منها والرد بينما بقية صندوق الوارد الخاص بي مليء بالهراء.
  6. عدم الإزعاج - هاتفي في وضع "الرجاء عدم الإزعاج" وبريدي الصوتي ممتلئ. نعم ... بصرف النظر عن الرسائل النصية ، المكالمات الهاتفية هي أسوأ إلهاء. أبقي شاشة هاتفي مفتوحة حتى أتمكن من معرفة ما إذا كانت مكالمة مهمة من زميل أو عميل أو أحد أفراد الأسرة ، ولكن يمكن لأي شخص آخر التوقف عن الاتصال بي.

ما الذي يمكنك فعله للمساعدة في إجهاد الاتصالات الرقمية

فيما يلي ثماني طرق يمكنك من خلالها المساعدة في جهود اتصالات المبيعات والتسويق.

  1. الحصول على الشخصية - أخبر المستلم الخاص بك لماذا تحتاج إلى التواصل معهم ، والشعور بالإلحاح ، ولماذا يكون مفيدًا لهم. لا يوجد شيء أسوأ ، في رأيي ، من رسالة فارغة "أحاول الحصول على ...". أنا لا أهتم ... أنا مشغول وأنت فقط وصلت إلى أسفل أولوياتي.
  2. لا تسيء استخدام الأتمتة - بعض الرسائل أمر بالغ الأهمية للشركات. عربات التسوق المهجورة ، على سبيل المثال ، غالبًا ما تتطلب القليل من التذكيرات لإعلام شخص ما أنه ترك منتجًا في عربة التسوق. لكن لا تتأخر عن موعدها ... أنا أفردها للعملاء ... يوم ، بضعة أيام ، ثم لأسبوعين. ربما ليس لديهم المال للشراء الآن.
  3. وضع التوقعات - إذا كنت تريد التشغيل الآلي أو المتابعة ، فأخبر الشخص بذلك. إذا قرأت في رسالة بريد إلكتروني أن مكالمة باردة ستتم متابعتها في غضون أيام قليلة ، فسأخبرهم بعدم إزعاجهم اليوم. أو سأعيد الكتابة وأعلمهم أنني مشغول وأتواصل في الربع التالي.
  4. إظهار التعاطف - كان لدي مرشد منذ فترة طويلة قال إنه في كل مرة التقى فيها بشخص ما في المرة الأولى ، كان يتظاهر بأنهم خسروا عائلته. ما كان يفعله هو تعديل تعاطفه واحترامه للشخص. هل يمكنك أتمتة رسائل البريد الإلكتروني إلى شخص غائب في جنازة؟ انا اشك فيها. لأنها مهمة بالنسبة لك لا تعني أنها مهمة بالنسبة لهم. كن متعاطفًا مع أنه قد يكون لديهم أولويات أخرى.
  5. إعطاء إذن - من أفضل طرق البيع إعطاء الإذن لشخص ما ليقول لا. لقد كتبت بعض رسائل البريد الإلكتروني في الشهر الماضي إلى العملاء المحتملين وأقوم بفتح البريد الإلكتروني من خلال إخبارهم بأن هذا هو البريد الإلكتروني الوحيد الذي يتلقونه ، ويسعدني جدًا أن أسمع أنهم ليسوا بحاجة من خدماتي. إن منح الشخص إذنًا بأدب ليقول لا سيساعد في تنظيف صندوق الوارد الخاص به وسيمكنك من عدم إضاعة الوقت في إغضاب الآفاق المحتملة.
  6. عرض الخيارات - لا أرغب دائمًا في إنهاء علاقة الاهتمام ، ولكن قد أرغب في الانخراط من خلال طريقة أخرى أو في وقت آخر. قدم للمستلم خيارات أخرى - مثل التأخير لمدة شهر أو ربع سنة ، أو تقديم رابط التقويم الخاص بك لتحديد موعد ، أو الاشتراك في وسيلة اتصال أخرى. قد لا تكون وسيلتك أو طريقتك المفضلة في التواصل هي وسيلتهم!
  7. الحصول على المادية - مع تهدئة عمليات الإغلاق وفتح السفر ، حان الوقت للعودة إلى مقابلة الأشخاص شخصيًا حيث يشمل التواصل جميع المشاعر التي يحتاجها البشر للتواصل بشكل فعال. الاتصال غير اللفظي ضروري لإقامة العلاقات ... ولا يمكن تحقيق ذلك من خلال الرسائل النصية.
  8. جرب البريد المباشر - قد يكون الانتقال إلى وسائط أكثر تدخلاً إلى متلقي غير مستجيب هو الاتجاه الخاطئ. هل جربت وسائل أكثر سلبية مثل البريد المباشر؟ لقد حققنا نجاحًا هائلاً في استهداف العملاء المحتملين بالبريد المباشر نظرًا لعدم استفادة الكثير من الشركات من ذلك. في حين أن البريد الإلكتروني لا يكلف الكثير لتسليمه ، فإن قطعة البريد المباشر الخاصة بك لا يتم دفنها في صندوق بريد مع الآلاف من قطع البريد المباشر الأخرى.

في حين أن المستهلكين سيتجاهلون البريد المباشر غير المستهدف بشكل سيئ تمامًا مثل الإعلانات الرقمية خارج القاعدة أو رسائل البريد الإلكتروني ، فإن البريد المباشر المنفذ بشكل صحيح يمكن أن يخلق تجارب مؤثرة لا تُنسى حقًا. عند دمجه في إستراتيجية التسويق الشاملة للمؤسسة ، يتيح البريد المباشر للشركات زيادة عائد الاستثمار وزيادة تقارب العلامة التجارية بين العملاء الحاليين والمستقبليين.

نيك رونيون ، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة PFL

يعاني الجميع من الإرهاق الرقمي

في عالم الأعمال اليوم ، تكون المنافسة شرسة على مرات الظهور والنقرات ومشاركة الأفكار. على الرغم من أدوات التسويق الرقمي القوية والمنتشرة في كل مكان ، فإن العديد من الشركات تجد نفسها تكافح من أجل اكتساب قوة جذب بين العملاء والتوقعات.

لفهم الصعوبات التي تواجهها العديد من الشركات في جذب انتباه الجمهور بشكل أفضل ، قامت PFL باستطلاع رأي أكثر من 600 متخصص في المؤسسات في الولايات المتحدة. نتائج PFL 2022 استبيان تفاعل الجمهور الهجين وجدت أن التخصيص والمحتوى وأساليب التسويق المادي ، مثل البريد المباشر ، يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير كبير على قدرة العلامات التجارية على الوصول إلى الجمهور المنهك.

انقر هنا لتنزيل مخطط المعلومات الرسومي

تشمل النتائج الرئيسية من الاستطلاع الذي شمل أكثر من 600 متخصص في مجال المؤسسات في الولايات المتحدة ما يلي:

  • 52.4٪ من العاملين بالمنشأة يعانون من إرهاق رقمي نتيجة الحجم الكبير للاتصالات الرقمية التي يتلقونها. 
  • أشار 80٪ من المستجيبين على المستوى C و 72٪ من المستجيبين المباشرين إلى ذلك تشعر بالإرهاق من حجم الاتصالات الترويجية الرقمية يتلقونها في العمل.
  • 56.8٪ من المهنيين الذين شملهم الاستطلاع هم من المرجح أن تفتح شيئًا ما تم استلامه عبر البريد الفعلي أكثر من البريد الإلكتروني.

في اقتصاد الانتباه اليوم ، أصبحت القدرة على جذب الجماهير وكسب مشاركتهم سلعة نادرة. يعتبر الإرهاق الرقمي حقيقة للعديد من الأفراد ، مما يعني أنه يجب على العلامات التجارية إيجاد طرق جديدة لإلهام العملاء لاتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة. يلقي أحدث بحثنا الضوء على مشهد التسويق B2B شديد التنافسية اليوم وكيف يمكن للشركات استخدام استراتيجيات هجينة لتبرز للعملاء والآفاق.

نيك رونيون ، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة PFL

إليك مخطط المعلومات البياني الكامل مع نتائج الاستطلاع المرتبطة:

إجهاد الاتصالات الرقمية

الإفصاح: أستخدم رابط الإحالة الخاص بي لـ Calendly في هذه المقالة.

How Your Sales and Marketing Teams Can Stop Contributing To Digital Fatigue

Digital Communication Fatigue Infographic

The last couple of years has been an incredible challenge for me. On the personal side, I was blessed with my first grandchild. On the business side, I joined forces with some colleagues that I highly respect and we’re building a digital transformation consultancy that’s really taking off. Of course, in the middle of that, there’s been a pandemic that derailed our pipeline and hiring… which is back on track now. Throw in this publication, dating, and fitness… and my life is a zoo right now.

One thing you may have noticed in the last couple of years is that I paused my podcasting. I had 3 active podcasts a few years ago – for marketing, for local business, and for supporting veterans. Podcasting is a passion of mine, but as I looked at my lead generation and business growth, it wasn’t providing immediate revenue growth so I had to put it aside. A 20-minute podcast could cut as much as 4 hours out of my workday to schedule, record, edit, publish and promote each episode. Losing a few days a month without an immediate return on investment just wasn’t something I could afford right now. Side note… I will re-engage each of the podcasts as soon as I can afford the time.

Digital Fatigue

Digital fatigue is defined as a state of mental exhaustion brought on by the excessive and concurrent use of multiple digital tools

Lixar, Managing Digital Fatigue

I can’t even tell you how many phone calls, direct messages, and emails I get on a daily basis. Most are solicitations, some are friends and family, and – of course – in the haystack are some leads and client communications. I do my best to filter and schedule as best I can, but I’m not keeping up… at all. At one point in my career, I had an executive assistant and I look forward to that luxury again… but ramping up an assistant requires time as well. So, for now, I simply suffer through it.

Compounding work within platforms that I do all day, digital communication fatigue is also overwhelming. Some of the more frustrating activities that wear me out are:

  • I have some cold outbound companies that literally automate responses and fill my inbox each day with idiotic messages like, Getting this to the top of your inbox… or masking an email with an RE: in the subject line to think we’ve spoken before. Nothing is more infuriating… I’d bet this is half of my inbox right now. As quickly as I tell them to stop, another round of automations is coming in. I’ve had to deploy some incredible filtering and smart mailbox rules to attempt to bring the important messages to my inbox.
  • I have some companies who give up on contacting me by email, then direct message me across social networks. Did you get my email? is a surefire way to have my block you on social media. If I thought your email was important, I would have responded… stop sending me more communications and clogging up every medium I have.
  • The worst is colleagues, friends, and family who are absolutely livid and believe I’m rude because I’m not responsive. My life is FULL right now and it’s absolutely amazing. Not valuing the fact that I’m busy with family, friends, work, home, fitness, and my publication is pretty disappointing. I now distribute my Calendly link to friends, family, and colleagues so that they can reserve time on my calendar. And I protect my calendar!
  • I’m starting to see more and more companies SPAM my text messages… which is beyond infuriating. Text messages are the most intrusive and personal of all communication methods. A cold text message to me is a surefire way of having me never do business with you again.

I’m not alone… according to new survey results from PFL:

  • Manager through C-Level respondents receive over 2.5 times more weekly promotional emails, averaging 80 emails per week. Side note… I get more than that in a day.
  • Enterprise professionals receive an average of 65 emails per week.
  • Hybrid workers receive only 31 emails per week.
  • Fully remote workers receive over 170 emails per week, over 6 times more emails than the average worker.

Over half of all employees are experiencing fatigue due to the volume of digital promotion communications they receive at work. 80% of C-level respondents are overwhelmed by the number of digital promotions they receive!

How I Deal With Digital Communication Fatigue

My reaction to digital communication fatigue is:

  1. Stop – If I get multiple cold emails or messages, I tell the person to stop and remove me from their database. Most of the time, it works.
  2. Don’t Apologize – I never say “Sorry…” unless I set an expectation that I would respond in a certain amount of time. This even includes paying clients who I remind often that I have scheduled time with them. I’m not sorry I’m busy with a full work and personal life.
  3. Delete – I often just delete messages without even a response and many people don’t bother reattempting to SPAM me again.
  4. Filter – I filter my forms, inbox, and other mediums for domains and keywords that I won’t ever respond to. The messages are instantly deleted. Do I get some important messages mixed in sometimes? Yup… oh well.
  5. Prioritize – My inbox is a series of Smart Mailboxes that are highly filtered by client, system messages, etc. This enables me to easily check on each and respond while the rest of my inbox is cluttered with nonsense.
  6. Do Not Disturb – My phone is on Do Not Disturb and my voicemail is full. Yup… aside from text messages, phone calls are the worst distraction. I do keep my phone screen up so I can see if it’s an important call from a colleague, client, or family member, but everyone else can stop calling me.

What You Can Do To Help Digital Communication Fatigue

Here are eight ways you can help in your sales and marketing communication efforts.

  1. Get Personal – Let your recipient know why you need to communicate with them, the sense of urgency, and why it’s beneficial for them. There’s nothing worse, in my opinion, than a blank “I’m trying to get a hold of you…” message. I don’t care… I’m busy and you just dropped to the bottom of my priorities.
  2. Don’t Abuse Automation – some messaging is critical to businesses. Abandoned shopping carts, for example, often require a few reminders to let someone know they’ve left behind a product in the cart. But don’t overdue it… I space these out for clients… a day, a few days, then a couple of weeks. Perhaps they just don’t have the cash to purchase right now.
  3. Set Expectations – If you’re going to automate or follow up, let the person know. If I read in an email that a cold call is going to follow up in a few days, I’ll let them know not to bother today. Or I’ll write back and let them know I’m busy and touch base the next quarter.
  4. Show Empathy – I had a mentor long ago that said every time he met with someone the first time, he pretended that they just had a loss in their family. What he was doing was adjusting his empathy and respect for the person. Would you automate emails to someone that’s away at a funeral? I doubt it. Because it’s important to you doesn’t mean it’s important to them. Be empathetic that they may have other priorities.
  5. Give Permission – One of the best methods for sales is to give permission to someone to say No. I’ve written a few emails in the past month to prospects and I open the email by letting them know that this is the one and only email that they are receiving and I’m more than happy to hear back that they are not in need of my services. Politely giving the person permission to say No will help clean up their inbox and will enable you to not waste time angering potential prospects.
  6. Offer Options – I don’t always want to end a relationship of interest, but I may want to engage through another method or at another time. Offer your recipient other options – like delaying for a month or quarter, providing your calendar link for an appointment, or opting into another means of communication. Your favorite medium or method for communicating may not be theirs!
  7. Get Physical – As lockdowns subside and travel is opening up, it’s time to get back to meeting people in person where communication encompasses all the feelings that humans need to effectively communicate. Non-verbal communication is essential to establishing relationships… and that can’t be accomplished through textual messages.
  8. Try Direct Mail – Moving to more intrusive mediums to an unresponsive recipient could be the wrong direction. Have you tried more passive mediums like direct mail? We’ve had enormous success with targeting prospects with direct mail because not too many companies take advantage of it. While an email doesn’t cost too much to deliver, your direct mail piece isn’t buried in a mailbox with thousands of other direct mail pieces.

While poorly targeted direct mail will be ignored by consumers just as frequently as off-base digital ads or email blasts, properly executed direct mail can create genuinely memorable and impactful experiences. When integrated into an organization’s overall marketing strategy, direct mail allows companies to drive greater ROI and increase brand affinity among current and future customers.

Nick Runyon, CEO of PFL

Everyone Is Experiencing Digital Fatigue

In today’s business landscape, the competition for impressions, clicks, and mindshare is fierce. Despite increasingly powerful and ubiquitous digital marketing tools, many businesses find themselves struggling to gain traction among customers and prospects.

To better understand the difficulties that many companies face in capturing audiences’ attention, PFL surveyed more than 600 U.S.-based enterprise professionals. The results of PFL’s 2022 Hybrid Audience Engagement Survey found that personalization, content, and physical marketing tactics, such as direct mail, can have a significant impact on brands’ abilities to reach burnt-out audience.

Click Here To Download The Infographic

Key findings from the survey of more than 600 U.S.-based enterprise professionals include:

  • 52.4% of enterprise employees are experiencing digital fatigue as a result of the high volume of digital communication they recieve. 
  • 80% of C-level respondents and 72% of direct-level respondents indicate they feel overwhelmed by the volume of digital promotional communications they receive at work.
  • 56.8% of surveyed professionals are more likely to open something received via physical mail than an email.

In today’s Attention Economy, the ability to capture audiences and earn their engagement has become a scarce commodity. Digital fatigue is a reality for many individuals, which means brands must find new ways to inspire customers to take action. Our latest research sheds light on today’s highly competitive B2B marketing landscape and how companies can use hybrid strategies to stand out to customers and prospects.

Nick Runyon, CEO of PFL

Here’s the full infographic with associated survey results:

digital communication fatigue

Disclosure: I’m using my affiliate link for Calendly in this article.