لقد تغير التسويق المباشر - ليس قاعدة 40/40/20 بعد الآن

كنت أقوم بتنظيم رف الكتب الخاص بي هذا الصباح وقلبت كتابًا قديمًا للتسويق المباشر كان لدي ، Direct Mail by the Numbers. تم نشره من قبل مكتب بريد الولايات المتحدة وكان دليلًا جيدًا جدًا. عندما كنت أقوم بإرسال بريد مباشر ، ذهبت إلى مدير مكتب البريد المحلي وحصلت على صندوق بها. عندما التقينا بعميل لم يسبق له القيام بالبريد المباشر من قبل ، فقد كان مصدرًا رائعًا لهم لمعرفة مزايا التسويق المباشر بسرعة.

بمراجعة الكتاب اليوم ، أدركت مدى تغير الأشياء على مدار العقد الماضي - حتى في السنوات القليلة الماضية.

كانت النظرية القديمة للتسويق المباشر هي قاعدة 40/40/20:

قاعدة التسويق المباشر 40-40-20
  • 40% من النتيجة كانت بسبب القائمة التي أرسلتها إليها. قد تكون هذه قائمة قمت بشرائها للتنقيب أو قد تتكون من قائمة عملائك الحاليين.
  • 40% من النتيجة كانت بسبب عرضك. لقد أخبرت العملاء دائمًا أن مقدار الوقت الذي أمضيته في حملة البريد المباشر لجذب العميل المحتمل يساوي عدد الخطوات بين صندوق البريد والمهملات.
  • 20% من النتيجة كانت بسبب إبداعك. تلقيت في نهاية هذا الأسبوع قطعة بريدية مباشرة من صانع منزل جديد. كان فيه مفتاحًا للاختبار في المنزل النموذجي. إذا كان المفتاح مناسبًا ، فستربح المنزل. هذا عرض مثير للاهتمام قد يدفعني للتوجه إلى أقرب مجتمع - مبدع للغاية.

استخدم البريد المباشر والتسويق عبر الهاتف هذه القاعدة الأساسية على مدار العقدين الماضيين. أثبت سجل عدم الاتصال وقانون CAN-SPAM أن المستهلكين قد سئموا من التطفل ولن يتحملوا التماس دون إذن. في الواقع ، أعتقد أن عدم الحصول على إذن سيؤدي إلى تأثير سلبي على حملاتك ويستحق زيادة أهمية القائمة.

يُعد برنامج Word of Mouth Marketing الآن جزءًا كبيرًا من تسويق كل شركة - ولكنه ليس مملوكًا لقسم التسويق ، بل مملوكًا للعميل. إذا لم تتمكن من الوفاء بوعودك ، فسوف يسمع الناس عنها بشكل أسرع من الوقت الذي يستغرقه تنفيذ حملتك. التسويق الشفهي سيؤثر بشكل كبير على كل حملة تسويقية. إذا لم تستطع الوفاء ، فلا تعد.

لا تتدفق من اللسان بهذه السهولة ، لكنني أعتقد أن القاعدة الجديدة هي قاعدة 5-2-2-1

قاعدة جديدة للتسويق المباشر للإبهام
  • 50% من النتائج يرجع إلى القائمة التي ترسلها إلى تلك القائمة ، والأهم من ذلك هو الإذن الذي يجب عليك التحدث إليه بالإضافة إلى مدى استهداف القائمة.
  • 20% من النتائج بسبب الرسالة. توجيه الرسالة للجمهور أمر لا بد منه. إن الرسالة الصحيحة للجمهور المناسب في الوقت المناسب هي الطريقة الوحيدة للتأكد من أنه يمكنك الاحتفاظ بالإذن والحصول على النتائج التي تحتاجها لجهودك التسويقية.
  • 20% من النتائج تعود إلى الهبوط. بالنسبة للتسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني ، هذه صفحة مقصودة والخدمة اللاحقة وتنفيذ المنتج أو الخدمة. إذا لم تتمكن من الوفاء بالوعود التي قمت بتسويقها ، فإن الكلمات الشفوية ستنشر هذه الرسالة بشكل أسرع مما يمكنك محاولة تصحيحها. يجب أن "تهبط" العميل جيدًا من أجل تحقيق نمو ناجح في المستقبل.
  • 10% لا يزال إبداع حملتك التسويقية. قد تعتقد أنني أقول إن الإبداع أقل أهمية مما كان عليه في الماضي - هذا ببساطة غير صحيح - إذن ، والرسالة ، والهبوط هي ببساطة أكثر أهمية مما كانت عليه من قبل.

لم تأخذ قاعدة 40/40/20 القديمة للتسويق المباشر في الاعتبار الإذن أو التسويق الشفهي أو تنفيذ منتجك وخدمتك. اعتقد ان 5-2-2-1 القاعدة هل!

6 تعليقات

  1. 1

    يجب أن أقول إن الرابط الإعلاني الخاص بك باعتباره السطر الأول من كل منشور في المدونة يجعل من الصعب جدًا تحديد ما أريد قراءته في FeedDemon. نظرًا لأنني لم أحصل على الفقرة الأولى بعد الآن ، فأنا أحصل على الإعلان فقط ، وغالبًا ما أضع علامة على الخلاصة بأكملها كمقروءة دون الدخول فيها.

    بينما أتفهم الحاجة إلى زيادة العرض إلى أقصى حد ، أود أن أقترح أنه ربما يؤدي وضع الإعلان النصي في نص المنشور بدلاً من السطر الأول إلى السماح للمحتوى الخاص بك بأن يصبح أكثر جاذبية ويسمح للأشخاص مثلي أن يقرروا بذكاء ما إذا كان عرض النشر فكرة جيدة أم لا.

    شكر!

  2. 3

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

WordPress

Direct Marketing has Changed – Not the 40/40/20 Rule Anymore

I was organizing my bookshelf this morning and flipped through an old Direct Marketing book that I had, Direct Mail by the Numbers. It was published by the United States Post Office and was a pretty good guide. When I was doing direct mail, I went to the local Postmaster and got a box of them. When we met with a client that had never done Direct Mail before, it was a great resource for them to learn the advantages of direct marketing quickly.

Reviewing the book today, I realized how much things have changed over the last decade – even in the last few years.

The old theory of direct marketing was the 40/40/20 Rule:

Direct Marketing 40-40-20 Rule
  • 40% of the result was due to the list you sent to. This could be a list you purchased for prospecting or could consist of your existing customers list.
  • 40% of the result was due to your offer. I’ve always told clients that the amount of time you had in a direct mail campaign to attract the prospect was equal to the number of steps between the mailbox and the trash.
  • 20% of the result was due to your creative. This weekend I received a direct mail piece from a new home builder. In it was a key to test in the model home. If the key fits, you win the home. That’s an intriguing offer that may just get me to drive out to the nearest community – very creative.

Direct Mail and Telemarketing used this rule of thumb for the last couple decades. The Do Not Call Registry and the CAN-SPAM act have proven that consumers are tired of intrusion and won’t put up with solicitation without permission. In fact, I believe that lack of permission will cause a negative impact on your campaigns and is worthy of increasing the importance of the List.

Word of Mouth Marketing is now a significant portion of every company’s marketing – but it’s not owned by the marketing department, it’s owned by the customer. If you can’t deliver on your promises, people will hear about it faster than the time it takes to execute your campaign. Word of mouth marketing will exponentially impact every marketing campaign. If you can’t deliver, then don’t promise.

It doesn’t flow off the tongue as easy, but I believe the new rule is the 5-2-2-1 Rule

New Direct Marketing Rule of Thumb
  • 50% of the results are due to the list you send to and paramount to that list is the permission you have to speak to them as well as how targeted the list is.
  • 20% of the results are due to the message. Targeting the message to the audience is a must. The right message to the right audience at the right time is the only way to ensure you can maintain permission and get the results you need for your marketing efforts.
  • 20% of the results are due to the Landing. For email marketing, this is a landing page and the subsequent service and execution of the product or service. If you can’t deliver on the promises you’ve marketed, then word of mouth will get that message out faster than you can try to patch it up. You must “land” the client well in order to have successful growth in the future.
  • 10% is still the creativity of your marketing campaign. You may think that I’m saying creativity is less important than in the past – that’s simply not true – permission, the message, and the landing are simply more important than they used to be.

The old 40/40/20 rule of direct marketing never took into consideration permission, word-of-mouth marketing, nor the execution of your product and service. I think the 5-2-2-1 Rule does!

6 Comments

  1. 1

    I have to say that your advertising link as the first line of every blog posting is making it very difficult to decide what I want to read in FeedDemon. Since I don’t get the first paragraph anymore, I only get the ad, I often simply mark the whole feed as read without going into it.

    While I understand the need to maximize exposure, I would kindly suggest that perhaps placing the text ad into the body of the posting rather than as the first line would allow your content to become more appealing and allow people like me to intelligently decide if viewing your posting is a good idea or not.

    Thanks!

    • 2

      Tim, that’s great feedback. I noticed that myself after I had posted it and forgot about it… tonight I moved it to the bottom of the feed. Thanks for taking the time to let me know. I really appreciate it!

      Doug

  2. 3

Leave a Reply