الدخول في تحسين الوسائط المتعددة

العمود الفقري

كانت هناك جلسات قليلة في مؤتمر Webtrends Engage 2009 التي تحدثت عن قوة تكامل البيانات وتأثيرها الإيجابي على نتائج الأعمال. تبدأ العديد من الشركات بتصميم ضخم لبيانات البيانات ثم تتحرك للخلف - في محاولة لجعل كل شيء يتناسب مع نموذج البيانات الخاص بهم. إنها عملية معيبة لأن العمليات تتغير باستمرار ... لن تنجح أبدًا في تنفيذها لأنها تتغير بمجرد تحديدها.

كريج ماكدونالد ، نائب الرئيس الأول وكبير مسؤولي التسويق في كوفاريو، قام بإلقاء نظرة عامة ممتازة على كيفية الدخول إلى تحسين التسويق الشامل. تم استدعاء العرض التقديمي والجلسة مدير التسويق الجديد: تحسين التسويق عبر. لم يخوض كريج في التفاصيل حول كل قناة والعمليات ، لذلك سأحاول تقديم تفاصيل إضافية مع تصوري للعملية.

تنتقل العملية من الصغيرة إلى الكبيرة بدلاً من العكس. يتم تجزئة بيانات العملاء في المؤسسات عبر القنوات والأنظمة والعمليات وما إلى ذلك. يتطلب دمج بيانات العميل في سوق البيانات أن يكون تنفيذ قاعدة البيانات مرنًا ... يشبه إلى حد كبير بناء العمود الفقري. كل قناة هي قرص. يتم دمج الأقراص في العمود الفقري. بعد أن يتم وضع العمود الفقري في مكانه ، يمكن إضافة العظام ، ثم اللحم إلى العظام ، ثم الجلد إلى اللحم ، إلخ. القياس الإجمالي ، أعرف ... ولكنه يعمل.

العمود الفقريالخطوة الأولى هي تحديد العملية داخل كل قناة. أحد الأمثلة على عملية القناة هو الخطوات التي يتخذها العميل المحتمل عبر الإنترنت من العثور على نشاطك التجاري إلى تحويل ملف قناة محرك البحث. ربما يبدأون بمحرك بحث ، ثم ينتقلون إلى إحدى الصفحات ، ثم ينقرون لإضافة عنصر إلى عربة التسوق ، ثم ملخص الطلب ، ثم صفحة التحويل. من الضروري فهم محرك البحث الذي تم العثور عليه فيه ...

  • ما الكلمات الرئيسية التي بحثوا عنها؟
  • ماذا كانت الصفحة المقصودة بناءً على تلك الكلمات الرئيسية؟
  • ما الذي نقروا عليه لإضافة العنصر إلى عربة التسوق؟
  • هل قاموا بالتحويل أو التخلي؟
  • المستعرض ونظام التشغيل وعنوان IP وما إلى ذلك؟

كل هذه الأجزاء من البيانات مهمة في تقييم مسار التحويل الخاص بك حتى تتمكن من العثور على الأجزاء الفعالة وغير الفعالة لكل مسار. يعد كل عنصر أو جزء من البيانات الوصفية التي يمكنك التقاطها حول رحلة العميل أمرًا ضروريًا ، لذا يمكنك التقاط كل شيء ، بغض النظر عن مدى عدم أهميته. بمجرد أن تصبح البيانات في مكانها الصحيح ، يكون تحسين القناة أمرًا بسيطًا إلى حد ما.

بمجرد تحديد كل عملية محددة والتقاطها وتحسينها ، فإن مركزية البيانات هي الخطوة التالية. تسمح مركزية البيانات للشركة الآن بمقارنة القنوات ، وفعاليتها ، والأهم من ذلك ، كيف تؤثر إحدى القنوات على الأخرى. هل تقوم بتفكيك جهودك من خلال إنفاق الأموال على الدفع بالنقرة على الكلمات الرئيسية التي تربحها بالفعل؟ هل تدفع عملية الشراء (غير المكلفة) الأشخاص إلى الاتصال بشركتك (بسعر باهظ) بدلاً من ذلك؟

يعد تحسين الوسائط المتعددة أمرًا ضروريًا إذا كانت شركتك ترغب في الحفاظ على انخفاض التكاليف والعوائد المرتفعة. إنه جهد معقد قد يستغرق سنوات (ويتغير باستمرار) ، ولكن بمجرد وضع القطع في مكانها ، يمكن اتخاذ القرارات بثقة. إنها ليست مجرد استراتيجية لمنظمات المؤسسات ، بل يمكن أن تكون ضرورية للشركات الصغيرة أيضًا.

وأشار كريج إلى أن الشركات تقلل بشكل كبير من الموارد اللازمة لتحقيق مكاسب كبيرة في تحسين الوسائط المتعددة. إنه يعتقد أن حوالي 10٪ من نفقات التسويق / تكنولوجيا المعلومات يجب أن ترتبط بالتحليل والتحسين. هذه حبة يصعب ابتلاعها إذا لم تتمكن من دعم هذه النفقات بعائد على الاستثمار. لا أشك في أن هذا ممكن ، أعتقد أنها حالة دجاج أو بيضة. كيف تبرر 10٪ إذا لم تكن قد فعلت ذلك. كيف يمكنك أن تفعل ذلك ما لم تنفق 10٪؟

ربما يكون الدخول في الاستثمار وأنت تخطو في العملية أمرًا أساسيًا. قد يوفر لك تحسين قناة واحدة العائد المطلوب لتوسيع فريق العمل والموارد.

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    أحب تشبيه دوغ ، ليس جسيمًا على الإطلاق ، طريقة رائعة للتفكير في بنية منطقية ومرنة. أوافق على أنه يعمل بشكل جيد. أتساءل كم عدد المسوقين الذين يفكرون حقًا في قضايا مثل هذه الآن في الاقتصاد الحالي؟ يجب أن يكونوا كذلك ، ولكن لأسباب متنوعة أعتقد أنهم لا يركزون على هذا كما ينبغي. كن مثيرًا للاهتمام للقراء الآخرين للتناغم مع المواقف حول تبني التحسين الحقيقي عبر الوسائط؟ منشور جميل ، اشياء تثير الفكر

    • 2

      شكرا كريس! نقدر لكم زيارتكم. أحب أن أسمع من جهات تسويق أخرى أيضًا! كانت هناك أمثلة قليلة في المؤتمر - حتى بما في ذلك وسائل الإعلام واسعة النطاق مثل التلفزيون والصحف. يتطلب الأمر قدرًا كبيرًا من العمل لالتقاط تلك التحويلات ... إما أرقام مخصصة من 1 إلى 800 ، أو رموز خصم مخصصة ، أو إجراء مسح للعملاء بشكل أقل موثوقية.

      أي شيء يمكن أن تفعله الشركة لتتبع العملاء المحتملين مقدمًا هو أيضًا مفتاح للاستراتيجية.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing, Mobile and Tablet Marketing, Search Marketing,

Stepping into Cross Media Optimization

There were quite a few sessions at the Webtrends Engage 2009 Conference that spoke to the power of data integration and its positive impact on business results. Many companies start with an enormous datamart design and then move backwards – trying to make everything fit into their data model. It’s a flawed process since processes continuously change… you’ll never successfully implement it since it changes as soon as its defined.

Craig Macdonald, senior vice president and chief marketing officer of Covario, did an excellent overview on how to step into Cross Marketing Optimization. The presentation and session was called The New CMO: Cross Marketing Optimization. Craig didn’t go into detail about each channel and the processes, so I’ll try to provide additional detail with my perception of the process.

The process moves from small to large instead of vice-versa. Customer data is fragmented in organizations across channels, systems, processes, etc. Integrating customer data into a datamart requires the database implementation to be agile… a lot like building a spine. Each channel is a disc. The discs are combined into a spine. After the spine is in place, bones can be added, then meat to the bones, than skin to the meat, etc. Gross analogy, I know… but it works.

spineDefining the process within each channel is the first step. One example of a channel process is the steps that a prospect takes online from finding your business to converting, the Search Engine Channel. Perhaps they start with a search engine, then land on a page, then click to add an item to a shopping cart, then an order summary, then a conversion page. It’s key to understand what search engine they were found in…

  • What keywords did they search for?
  • What was the landing page based on those keywords?
  • What did they click to add the item to the shopping cart?
  • Did they convert or abandon?
  • Browser, Operating System, IP Address, etc.?

All of these pieces of data are critical in evaluating your funnel so that you can find the effective and ineffective pieces of each path. Every element or piece of meta data you can capture about the customer’s journey is essential so capture everything, regardless of how insignificant. Once the data is in place, optimization of the channel is fairly simple.

Once each specific process is defined, captured and optimized, centralization of the data is the next step. Centralization of the data allows a company to now compare channels, their effectiveness, and most importantly, how one channel is impacting the other. Are you cannibalizing your efforts by spending money on pay-per-click on keywords you’re already winning organically? Is your (inexpensive) purchase process driving people to (expensively) call your company instead?

Cross media optimization is essential if your company wishes to keep costs down and returns high. It’s a complex effort that can take years (and change continuously), but once the pieces are in place, decisions can be made with confidence. It’s not just a strategy for enterprise organizations, these can be essential to small businesses as well.

Craig noted that companies are grossly undercutting the resources needed to make significant gains in cross media optimization. He believes that ~10% of your marketing/IT expenses should be associated with analysis and optimization. That’s a tough pill to swallow if you can’t back up that expense with a return on investment. I don’t doubt that that’s possible, I just think it’s a case of chicken or the egg. How do you justify 10% if you’ve not done it. How can you do it unless you spend 10%?

Perhaps walking into the investment as you step into the process is key. Optimization of a single channel may provide you with the return needed to expand your staff and resources.

2 Comments

  1. 1

    Love the analogy Doug, not really gross at all, a great way to think about a logical, and flexible structure. I agree it works well. I wonder how many marketers are really thinking about issues like this right now in the current economy? They should be, but for a variety of reasons my guess is that they aren’t as focused on this as they should be. Be interesting for other readers to chime in on the attitudes about embracing true cross-media optimization? Nice post, thought provoking stuff.

    • 2

      Thanks Chris! Appreciate you stopping by. I’d love to hear from other marketers as well! There were a few examples at the conference – even including broad-based mediums such as television and newspaper. It takes quite a bit of work to capture those conversions… either custom 1-800 numbers, custom discount codes, or less reliably surveying customers.

      Anything a business can do to track leads up front is also key to the strategy.

Leave a Reply