تسريع موقعك باستخدام CSS Sprites

ويب spritemaster

أكتب عن سرعة الصفحة قليلاً على هذا الموقع وهي جزء مهم من التحليل والتحسينات التي نجريها على مواقع عملائنا. بصرف النظر عن الانتقال إلى خوادم قوية واستخدام أدوات مثل شبكات توصيل المحتوى، هناك عدد من تقنيات البرمجة الأخرى التي يمكن لمطور الويب العادي استخدامها.

يبلغ الآن معيار ورقة الأنماط المتتالية الأصلية أكثر من 15 عامًا. كان CSS تطورًا مهمًا في تطوير الويب لأنه فصل المحتوى عن التصميم. انظر إلى هذه المدونة وأي مدونة أخرى وستجد غالبية الاختلافات في التصميم ببساطة في ورقة الأنماط المرفقة. تعتبر أوراق الأنماط مهمة أيضًا لأنها مخزنة محليًا في ذاكرة تخزين مؤقت داخل متصفحك. نتيجة لذلك ، مع استمرار الأشخاص في زيارة موقعك ، لا يقومون بتنزيل ورقة أنماط في كل مرة ... محتوى الصفحة فقط.

أحد عناصر CSS التي غالبًا ما تكون غير مستغلة هي العفاريت CSS. عندما يزور أحد المستخدمين موقع الويب الخاص بك ، قد لا تدرك أنهم لا يقدمون ببساطة طلبًا واحدًا للصفحة. هم تقديم طلبات متعددة... طلب ​​للصفحة ، لأي أوراق أنماط ، لأي ملفات JavaScript مرفقة ، ثم كل صورة. إذا كان لديك موضوع يحتوي على سلسلة من الصور للحدود وأشرطة التنقل والخلفيات والأزرار وما إلى ذلك ... يجب على المتصفح أن يطلب كل واحدة على حدة من خادم الويب الخاص بك. ضاعف ذلك بآلاف الزوار ويمكن أن يكون ذلك عشرات الآلاف من الطلبات المقدمة إلى خادمك!

وهذا بدوره يؤدي إلى إبطاء موقعك. أ يمكن أن يكون لموقع الويب البطيء تأثير كبير على التفاعل والتحويلات التي يصنعها جمهورك. الإستراتيجية التي يستخدمها مطورو الويب المتميزون هي وضع كل الصور في ملف واحد ... يسمى أ شبح. بدلاً من تقديم طلب لكل صورة من صور ملفك ، لا يلزم الآن سوى أن يكون هناك طلب واحد لصورة كائن واحد!

يمكنك أن تقرأ عنها كيف يعمل CSS Sprites في CSS-Tricks or سحق المجلة CSS العفريت بريد. وجهة نظري ليست أن أوضح لك كيفية استخدامها ، فقط أنصحك للتأكد من أن فريق التطوير لديك يدمجها في الموقع. يوضح المثال الذي توفره CSS Tricks 10 صور مكونة من 10 طلبات وتضيف ما يصل إلى 20.5 كيلوبايت. عندما يتم جمعها في كائن واحد ، يكون طلب واحد بحجم 1 كيلوبايت! لقد انتهى الآن طلب الذهاب والعودة وأوقات الاستجابة لـ 9 صور وتم تقليل كمية البيانات بأكثر من 30٪. ضاعف ذلك في عدد الزوار على موقعك وستحلق بالفعل بعض الموارد!

جلوبالنافإن أجهزة آبل شريط التنقل هو مثال رائع. يحتوي كل زر على عدد قليل من الحالات ... سواء كنت في الصفحة أو خارج الصفحة أو بالماوس فوق الزر. تحدد CSS إحداثيات الزر وتقدم منطقة الحالة الصحيحة لمتصفح المستخدمين. يتم طي كل هذه الحالات معًا في رسم واحد - ولكن يتم عرضها حسب المنطقة كما هو محدد في ورقة الأنماط.

إذا كان المطورون لديك يحبون الأدوات ، فهناك الكثير من الأشياء التي يمكن أن تساعدهم ، بما في ذلك إطار عمل البوصلة CSS, طلب تخفيض لـ ASP.NET ، CSS-Spriter لروبي ، CSSSprite النصي لبرنامج Photoshop ، سبرايت باد, سبرايت, سبرايت كاو, زيروسبريتس, مولد العفريت CSS الخاص بمشروع فوندو, سبرايت ماستر ويب، و ال سبرايت مي Bookmarklet.

لقطة شاشة من سبرايت ماستر ويب:
ويب spritemaster

Martech Zone لا تستخدم صور الخلفية في جميع أنحاء موضوعها ، لذلك لا يتعين علينا نشر هذه التقنية في الوقت الحالي.

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    انتظر ... أليست المجموعة بأكملها "صورة" (أو "طائرة") ، وكل صورة فرعية (أو مجموعة فرعية من الصور في حالة الصور المتحركة أو المتغيرة بشكل تفاعلي) هي "كائن"؟

    ربما تمت إعادة تسمية الأشياء منذ آخر مرة تعاملت فيها مع هذا النوع من الأشياء ، لكن كان بإمكاني أن أقسم أن Sprite هو العنصر الذي انتهى به الأمر ليتم عرضه ، وليس جدول البيانات الضخمة الذي تم سحبه منه.

    ("جدول Sprite"… هل كان ذلك صحيحًا؟)

    • 2

      قد نتحدث عن شيئين مختلفين ، مارك. باستخدام CSS ، يمكنك تحديد "الجزء" من ملف الصورة لعرضه باستخدام الإحداثيات. يتيح لك هذا وضع كل صورك في "كائن" واحد ثم الإشارة فقط إلى المنطقة التي ترغب في عرضها باستخدام CSS.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Technology, WordPress

Speeding Up Your Site with CSS Sprites

I write about page speed quite a bit on this site and it’s an important part of the analysis and improvements we make to our clients’ sites. Aside from moving to powerful servers and utilizing tools like Content Delivery Networks, there are a number of other programming techniques the average web developer can use.

The standard for the original Cascading Style Sheet is over 15 years old now. CSS was an important evolution in web development because it separated content from design. Look at this blog and any other and the majority of the styling difference is simply in the attached stylesheet. Stylesheets are also important because they are stored locally in a cache within your browser. As a result, as people continue to visit your site, they’re not downloading a style sheet each time… just the page content.

One element of CSS that’s often underutilized are CSS Sprites. When a user visits your website, you may not realize that they aren’t simply making one request for the page. They make multiple requests… a request for the page, for any style sheets, for any attached JavaScript files, and then each image. If you have a theme that has a series of images for borders, navigation bars, backgrounds, buttons, etc… the browser has to request each one, one at a time from your web server. Multiply that by thousands of visitors and that can be tens of thousands of requests made to your server!

This, in turn, slows down your site. A slow site can have a dramatic impact on the engagement and conversions that your audience makes. A strategy that great web developers use is putting all of the images into a single file… called a sprite. Rather than making a request for each of your file images, now there only needs to be a single request for the single sprite image!

You can read about how CSS Sprites work at CSS-Tricks or Smashing Magazine’s CSS Sprite post. My point isn’t to show you how to use them, just to advise you to ensure your development team incorporates them into the site. The example that CSS Tricks provides shows 10 images that are 10 requests and add up to 20.5Kb. When gathered in a single sprite, it’s 1 request that’s 13kb! The round trip request and response times for 9 images are now gone and the amount of data is reduced by more than 30%. Multiply that by the number of visitors on your site and you’re going to really shave some resources off!

The Apple navigation bar is a great example. Each button has a few states… whether you’re on the page, off the page, or mousing over the button. CSS defines the coordinates of the button and presents the region of the correct state to the users browser. All of these states are collapsed together in a single graphic – but displayed region by region as specified in the style sheet.

If your developers love tools, there are a ton out there that can help them, including the Compass CSS framework, RequestReduce for ASP.NET, CSS-Spriter for Ruby, CSSSprite script for Photoshop, SpritePad, SpriteRight, SpriteCow, ZeroSprites, Project Fondue’s CSS Sprite Generator, Sprite Master Web, and the SpriteMe Bookmarklet.

Screenshot of Sprite Master Web:

The MarTech blog doesn’t utilize background imagery throughout its theme, so we don’t have to deploy this technique at this time.

2 Comments

  1. 1

    Wait … isn’t the whole collection an “image” (or a “plane”), and each sub-image (or sub-group of images in the case of animated or interactively changing ones) a “sprite”?

    Maybe stuff’s been renamed since last time I handled this sort of thing but I coulda sworn the Sprite was the element that ended up being displayed, not the big data table it was pulled from.

    (“Sprite table”… that was it wasn’t it?)

    • 2

      We may be talking two different things, Mark. With CSS, you can basically specify which ‘portion’ of an image file to display utilizing coordinates. This allows you to put all of your images into a single ‘sprite’ and then just point to the area you wish to display with the CSS.

Leave a Reply