لا تتبع: ما يحتاج المسوقون إلى معرفته

تتبع آثار الأقدام

كان هناك بالفعل قدر كبير من الأخبار حول طلب FTC لشركات الإنترنت لتمكين الميزات التي تمكن المستهلكين من عدم تعقبهم. إذا كنت لم تقرأ 122 صفحة الخصوصيّة في التقرير ، كنت تعتقد أن FTC كانت تضع نوعًا من الخطوط في الرمال على ميزة يطلبونها لا تتبع.

ما هو لا تتبع?

هناك عدد من الوسائل التي يمكن للشركات من خلالها تتبع سلوك المستهلك عبر الإنترنت. الأكثر شيوعًا ، بالطبع ، هي ملفات تعريف ارتباط المتصفح التي تخزن البيانات والمعلومات أثناء تفاعلك مع الموقع. بعض ملفات تعريف الارتباط طرف ثالث، مما يعني أنه يمكن تتبع المستهلك عبر مواقع متعددة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، هناك وسائل لالتقاط البيانات من خلال ملفات فلاش ... قد لا تنتهي صلاحيتها ولا يتم حذفها عادةً عند مسح ملفات تعريف الارتباط في متصفحك.

لا تتبع هي ميزة اختيارية تود لجنة التجارة الفيدرالية (FTC) تنفيذها والتي من شأنها تمكين المستهلك من التوقف عن التعقب. تتمثل إحدى الأفكار ببساطة في الإشارة إلى وقت وضع الإعلان مع البيانات المتعقبة ، مما يعرض على العميل إلغاء الاشتراك في التقاط البيانات والإعلان. فكرة أخرى من FTC هي ، بدلاً من ذلك ، تقديم فقط في الوقت المناسب البيانات التي يمكن استخدامها بإذن من المستهلك لوضع إعلان ذي صلة.

على الرغم من أن لجنة التجارة الفيدرالية قدمت هذه الاقتراحات ... وقليلًا من التلميح إلى أنه إذا لم تتوصل الصناعة إلى شيء ما ، فقد ... تدرك أيضًا تداعيات مثل هذه التكنولوجيا. الحقيقة هي أن جهات التسويق المسؤولة والشركات عبر الإنترنت تستخدم البيانات السلوكية لتوليد تجربة مستخدم أفضل وأكثر صلة. تقر FTC هذا بالقول:

يجب ألا تقوض أي آلية من هذا القبيل الفوائد التي يجب أن يقدمها الإعلان السلوكي عبر الإنترنت ، من خلال تمويل المحتوى والخدمات عبر الإنترنت وتقديم إعلانات مخصصة يقدرها العديد من المستهلكين

يتابع تقرير الخصوصية أن يذكر أن أي سجل مركزي كما هو الحال مع لا اتصل القائمة ليست معقولة ولن يتم استكشافها كحل. يثير تقرير خصوصية FTC نفسه عددًا من الأسئلة الرائعة:

  • كيف يجب أن مثل هذه الآلية سيتم تقديمها للمستهلكين والدعاية؟
  • كيف يمكن تصميم هذه الآلية لتكون كذلك واضح وقابل للاستخدام ممكن للمستهلكين؟
  • ما هي التكاليف والفوائد المحتملة من تقديم الآلية؟ على سبيل المثال ، كم عدد المستهلكين
    من المرجح أن تختار تجنب تلقي الإعلانات المستهدفة؟
  • كم عدد المستهلكين ، على أساس النسبة المئوية المطلقة ، الذين استخدموا أدوات الانسحاب المقدمة حاليا؟
  • ما هو المرجح تأثير إذا اختار عدد كبير من المستهلكين الانسحاب؟
  • كيف سيؤثر على الناشرين والمعلنين عبر الإنترنت ، وكيف سيؤثر تؤثر على المستهلكين?
  • يجب أن مفهوم آلية اختيار عالمية تتجاوز الإعلان السلوكي عبر الإنترنت وتشمل ، على سبيل المثال ، الإعلان السلوكي لتطبيقات الهاتف المحمول؟
  • إذا لم يقم القطاع الخاص بتنفيذ آلية اختيار موحدة فعالة طواعية ، ينبغي للجنة التجارة الاتحادية يوصي التشريعات تتطلب مثل هذه الآلية؟

لذلك ... لا يوجد سبب للذعر في هذه المرحلة. لا تتبع ليس بالشيء المؤكد. أعتقد أنه لن يتم تبنيها من قبل الجماهير. بدلاً من ذلك ، توقعي هو أن التقرير سيؤدي إلى مزيد من الشفافية في الخصوصية وإعدادات التتبع على المواقع (Attn: Facebook). هذا ليس بالأمر السيئ ، أعتقد أن معظم المسوقين الشرعيين يقدرون بيانات وضوابط الخصوصية القوية والواضحة.

أود أن أرى شخصيًا أن المتصفحات تتبنى بعض أدوات التسجيل والرسائل التي تزود المستخدمين بتعليقات واضحة عندما يتم جمع بياناتهم ، ومن يقوم بتخزينها ، وكيف يتم استخدامها لعرض الإعلانات ذات الصلة أو المحتوى الديناميكي. إذا تمكنت الصناعة من توفير بعض المعايير ، فسيكون ذلك تقدمًا كبيرًا لكل من المستهلكين والمسوقين على حد سواء. للحصول على معلومات إضافية ، قم بزيارة لا تتبع موقع التعاون.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing, WordPress

Do Not Track: What Marketers Need to Know

PrivacyThere’s already been quite a bit of news about the FTC’s request for Internet companies to enabled features that empower consumers to not be tracked. If you hadn’t read the 122-page Privacy report, you’d think the FTC was setting some kind of line in the sand on a feature they’re requesting called Do Not Track.

What is Do Not Track? There are a number of means that companies track consumer behavior online. The most popular, of course, is browser cookies that store data and information as you interact with a site. Some cookies are third party, meaning that a consumer can be tracked across multiple sites. As well, there are means of capturing data through Flash files… these may not expire and aren’t typically deleted when you clear cookies in your browser.

Do Not Track is an optional feature that the FTC would like to get implemented that would empower the consumer to stop from being tracked. One idea is simply to indicate when an advertisement is being placed with tracked data, offering the customer to opt out of the data capture and the advertisement. Another idea from the FTC is to, instead, provide Just In Time data that can be utilized with a consumer’s permission to place a relevant ad.

Although the FTC has made these suggestions… and a bit of a hint that if the industry doesn’t come up with something, they might… they also recognize the repercussions of such technology. The truth is that responsible marketers and online companies are utilizing behavioral data to generate a better, more relevant user experience. The FTC acknowledges this by stating:

Any such mechanism should not undermine the benefits that online behavioral advertising has to offer, by funding online content and services and providing personalized advertisements that many consumers value

The Privacy report goes on to state that any central registry as with the Do Not Call list is not plausible and won’t be explored as a solution. The FTC Privacy Report, itself, raises a number of great questions:

  • How should such a mechanism be offered to consumers and publicized?
  • How can such mechanism be designed to be as clear and usable as possible for consumers?
  • What are the potential costs and benefits of offering the mechanism? For instance, how many consumers
    would likely choose to avoid receiving targeted advertising?
  • How many consumers, on an absolute and percentage basis, have utilized the opt-out tools currently provided?
  • What is the likely impact if large numbers of consumers elect to opt out?
  • How would it affect online publishers and advertisers, and how would it affect consumers?
  • Should the concept of a universal choice mechanism be extended beyond online behavioral advertising and include, for example, behavioral advertising for mobile applications?
  • If the private sector does not implement an effective uniform choice mechanism voluntarily, should the FTC recommend legislation requiring such a mechanism?

So… no reason to panic at this point. Do Not Track is not a sure thing. My guess is that it will never get adopted by the masses. Instead, my prediction is that the report will lead to more transparent privacy and tracking settings on sites (attn: Facebook). That’s not a bad thing, I think most legitimate marketers appreciate strong and clear privacy statements and controls.

I would like to personally see browsers adopt some logging and messaging utilities that provide users with clear feedback when their data is being collected, who’s storing it, and how it’s being utilized to display relevant advertising or dynamic content. If the industry can provide some standards, it will be a great advancement for both consumers and marketers alike. For additional information, visit the Do Not Track collaboration website.

Leave a Reply