العين لديها مدقق إملائي

41andcd5khl sl160لقد انتهيت للتو من القراءة هذا الأسبوع تصحيح اللغة الأم: من الإنجليزية القديمة إلى البريد الإلكتروني ، القصة المتشابكة للتهجئة الإنجليزية by ديفيد وولمان.

قد لا تعرف ما هي قواعد الإملاء وعلم الاشتقاق وهذا جيد. أعلم أنني جزار القواعد والهجاء ، لكن هذا الكتاب جعلني أشعر بتحسن كبير في مهاراتي. توجد ملايين الكلمات في اللغة الإنجليزية ، لكن متوسط ​​خريج المدرسة الثانوية يعرف حوالي 60,000 ألف كلمة. الحقيقة هي أن معظمنا ليس لديه أدنى فكرة عن غالبية الكلمات في لغتنا!

لغتنا هي لغة غير صحيحة صوتيًا وهي لغة شبه مستحيلة التعلم. يعتقد بعض الناس أن الخطأ الإملائي هو علامة على الجهل ، لكن شكسبير نفسه اعتاد أن يخترع الكلمات ويخطئها كما يراه مناسبًا. شعر بالحروف والكلمات مثل الطين للنحات. تخيل لو قمت بتكوين كلماتي الخاصة في هذه المدونة ، فإن الناس سيقللون من قدرتي (قبل المغادرة مباشرة).

بينما ننتقل إلى الألفية الجديدة ، نجد أنفسنا نتحدث بكلمات فيما يتعلق بالتكنولوجيا التي ربما لن تجد نفسها أبدًا في أي قاموس رسمي ... وحتى ناشرو القاموس لا يمكنهم الاتفاق على ما يجعله وما لا يصنعه.

إذا كنت لا تعتقد أننا نبتكر كلمات جديدة مع تقدمنا ​​، فأنت ببساطة بحاجة إلى إعادة النظر في الوقت المناسب OK…. أم أن حسنا... أم أن أول كوريكت or أولي كوريك. مجرد التفكير ، قد يكون لأحفادك جزء من محادثاتهم اليومية ، rofl ، lmao ، asap ، lol ، ttfn.

لا تصدق ذلك؟ ماذا عن الكلمة تنفس تحت الماء، والتي كانت اختصارًا لجهاز التنفس تحت الماء المستقل. ماذا عن المدونة، والذي كان قبل أقل من عقد سجل الويب! مع ظهور كلمة blogger ، blogging ، blogging and blogware. إنه وقت مثير إلى حد ما أيضًا لأن العديد من الكلمات أو الاختصارات أو الرموز القصيرة التي يتم إنشاؤها عبر الإنترنت اليوم تُستخدم دوليًا.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، من المثير للاهتمام أن الإعلان والتسويق لا يحتاجان إلى اتباع قواعد الإملاء. لدينا شركات مثل Google وأشياء مثل iPhone ومنتجات مثل Seesmic جميعها مقبولة تمامًا - ومع ذلك فنحن لا نتسامح كثيرًا مع الأخطاء الإملائية العرضية في المحتوى الخاص بنا. أعتقد أنه أمر رائع.

الحمد لله لا يزال بإمكاننا الاعتماد على التدقيق الإملائي!

العين لديها مدقق إملائي ،
لقد جاء مع بحر البازلاء.
إنها طائرة لي علامات أربعة مسرحي
ملكة جمال شرائح اللحم يمكنني عقدة البحر.
ضرب العين على الأرصفة واكتب كلمة
والوزن أربعة يقول اثنان
عين الطقس أنا اكتب مجذاف خاطئ
يخبرني بوزن مستقيم.

أود أن أشجعك على التقاط نسخة من الكتاب ، إنها مسيرة رائعة عبر التاريخ. يحافظ ديفيد على القراءة خفيفة للغاية. والأكثر إمتاعًا هو أنه يروي جميع أصول اللغة الإنجليزية حيث يزور هو نفسه الأماكن التي تحولت فيها. انه قراءة رائعة!

3 تعليقات

  1. 1

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing

Eye have a spelling chequer

This week I just finished reading Righting the Mother Tongue: From Olde English to Email, the Tangled Story of English Spelling by David Wolman.

You may not know what orthography and etymology are and that’s okay. I know I’m a butcher of grammar and spelling, but this book made me feel quite a bit better about my skills. There are millions of words in the English language, but the average high school graduate knows about 60,000. The fact is that most of us don’t have a clue what the majority of words are in our own language!

Ours is a language that is phonetically incorrect and a near impossible language to learn. Some folks believe that misspelling is a sign of ignorance, but Shakespeare himself used to both invent and misspell words as he saw fit. He felt letters and words were like clay to a sculptor. Imagine if I made up my own redunculous words on this blog, folks would belittle me (right before leaving).

As we move into a new millennium, we find ourselves speaking words with respect to technology that will probably never find themselves in any formalized dictionary… and even the dictionary publishers can’t agree on what makes it and what doesn’t.

If you don’t believe that we’re inventing new words as we go, you simply need to take a look back in time to OK…. or is that Okay… or is that oll korrect or ole kurreck. Just think, your grandchildren may have a part of their daily conversations, rofl, lmao, asap, lol, ttfn.

Don’t believe it? How about the word Scuba, which used to be an acronym for Self-Contained Underwater Breathing Apparatus. How about Blog, which less than a decade ago was Web log! With the word has come blogger, blogged, blogging and blogware. It’s a fairly exciting time as well because many of the words, acronyms or short codes that are being generated online today are used internationally.

As well, it’s interesting how advertising and marketing need not follow the rules of orthography. We’ve got companies like Google, things like the iPhone and products like Seesmic that are all fully acceptable – yet we have very little tolerance for accidental misspellings in our own content. I think it’s fascinating.

Thank goodness we still can rely on spellcheck!

Eye have a spelling chequer,
It came with my Pea Sea.
It plane lee marks four my revue
Miss Steaks I can knot sea.
Eye strike the quays and type a word
And weight four it two say
Weather eye am write oar wrong
It tells me straight a weigh.

I’d encourage you to pick up a copy of the book, it’s a fascinating walk through history. David keeps the reading very light. Even more entertaining is that he narrates all of the origins of English as he, himself, visits the places that they were transformed. It’s a great read!

3 Comments

  1. 1

Leave a Reply