كيف يعمل الإعلان

إعلان

أثناء البحث في موضوع إعلان، لقد حدث ذلك عند استخدام مخطط معلومات بياني كيف تجعلنا الإعلانات نشتري. يبدأ الرسم البياني أدناه بفكرة أن الشركات غنية ولديها أكوام من المال وتستخدمها للتلاعب بجمهورها الفقير. أعتقد أن هذه فكرة مزعجة ، مؤسفة ، وغير محتملة.

إن الفكرة الأولى القائلة بأن الشركات الغنية فقط هي التي تعلن هي فكرة غريبة. شركتنا ليست غنية ، وفي الواقع ، تعرضت لخسائر استمرت عامين - ومع ذلك ما زلنا نعلن عنها. الإعلان ، وخاصة عبر القنوات الرقمية ، ميسور التكلفة للغاية. يمكنك إيداع 100 دولار في أي حساب دفع على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي أو محرك بحث لكل نقرة ودفع بعض الإعلانات عالية الاستهداف لزيادة الوعي بعملك.

لا تتوافق المواقف تجاه الأعمال بشكل جيد مع الإحصاءات الفعلية في عالم وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. عن ربع الشركات تفشل خلال العامين الأولين وفقًا لدراسات متعددة. في حين يعتقد الناس أن متوسط ​​أرباح الشركة يبلغ 36٪كان متوسط ​​هامش الربح للربع الأخير 7.5٪ ومتوسط ​​هامش الربح 6.5٪.

على سبيل المثال ، استمرت Angie's List في العمل بخسارة بينما أنفقت 80 مليون دولار على التسويق - مع جزء كبير من ذلك يذهب إلى الإعلانات التلفزيونية التي تراها مرارًا وتكرارًا على التلفزيون. في حين أن شركة عامة تزيد إيراداتها ربع سنويًا ، إلا أنها بالكاد غني. إنهم ليسوا أغنياء فحسب ، بل إنهم لا يعلنون أيضًا لجعل عملائهم يشعرون بذلك غني. توفر Angie's List خدمة لحماية عملاء الخدمات المنزلية من التعرض للسرقة من عدد كبير من مقدمي الخدمات المشبوهة.

يعمل الإعلان على مستويات مختلفة ؛ الأمر ليس بهذه البساطة محاولة إقناع شخص ما بشراء شيء ما. على مدار العقد الماضي من المحتوى والبحث والتسويق الاجتماعي ، أعتقد أن الشركات أصبحت أكثر حرصًا على حقيقة أن الإعلان يجب أن يكون أعمق بكثير من التلاعب بانعدام الأمن لدى المستهلكين. يؤدي الإعلان الموجه إلى المستهلكين المشابهين لجمهورك إلى زيادة الربحية من خلال اكتساب عملاء رائعين والاحتفاظ بهم.

لماذا نستخدم الإعلان؟

أساس كل الدعاية هو مجرد الوعي. الوعي أمر مرغوب فيه للشركات لعدة أسباب:

  • الوصول - لبناء الطلب على علامتك التجارية أو منتجاتك أو خدمتك ، يجب أن تكون قادرًا على الوصول إلى جماهير جديدة. هذه الجماهير موجودة بالفعل على مواقع الويب ، وعمليات البحث ، ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، والراديو ، والتلفزيون ، والوسائط الأخرى. للوصول إلى هؤلاء الجماهير ، تقدم الشركات التي استثمرتهم واكتسبتهم الإعلانات.
  • الإدراك - ربما يكون الناس على دراية بالفعل بمنتجاتك وخدماتك ولكن ليس لديهم تصور إيجابي عن علامتك التجارية. لمواجهة التصورات غير الدقيقة للعلامة التجارية ، من الضروري أحيانًا (أو حتى مهم) للعلامات التجارية الاستثمار في الإعلان.
  • تخفيضات - يمكن أن تكون زيادة المبيعات عبر الإعلانات فعالة ، لكنني أتحداك أن تراقب الإعلانات التقليدية والرقمية لمدة أسبوع ومعرفة مقدار التركيز عليها حسم و الأملاح. في رأيي ، إنه في حالة تراجع. في أغلب الأحيان ، نجد أنه بينما يمكن زيادة المبيعات ، فإن الشركات التي تعتمد عليها على المدى الطويل قد تقلل من قيمة علامتها التجارية.

كيف يعمل الإعلان؟

تتطلع الشركات والمستهلكون على حد سواء إلى تحسين جودة حياتهم وكفاءة أعمالهم. بينما قد يعاني جزء صغير من السكان من انعدام الأمن الذي يستفيد منه الإعلان ، أعتقد أن هذا ضئيل للغاية. في رأيي ، تعمل غالبية شركات التسويق الشبكي والتسويق متعدد المستويات في هذا المجال. هل تمت دعوتك إلى إحدى هذه الأحداث؟ إنها احتفالات ضخمة بأشخاص سعداء تم عرضهم على خشبة المسرح مع وعود بشيكات كبيرة وإجازات وحتى سيارات لإقناع الضيوف بالاستثمار والبدء في البيع لهم. كان Vemma ، مشروب الطاقة MLM ، مؤخرًا تم إغلاقه مؤقتًا كمخطط هرمي.

في حين أن هذا متطرف ، إلا أنه ليس القاعدة. شاهد إعلانًا نموذجيًا من Apple ولن ترى خصومات وثراء سريعًا. بدلاً من ذلك ، ستشاهد قصصًا عن أشخاص يطلقون العنان لإبداعهم الداخلي باستخدام أجهزة وبرامج Apple كأدوات. رصد إعلانات كوكا كولا وسترى تركيزًا على الأحداث والأماكن التي يعلنون فيها ، في محاولة لبناء الوعي بالعلامة التجارية حيث تحدث الذكريات السعيدة. في الآونة الأخيرة ، كان عليهم أيضًا العمل على تصور المشروبات الحلوة والمخاطر الصحية التي تنشأ.

تعمل بعض الإعلانات على الدافع لتوفير المال (الخصومات) ، ولكن هناك العديد من الأسباب الأخرى وراء نجاح الإعلان:

  • جوار - في بعض الأحيان يكون الإعلان ضروريًا لتزويد الجمهور الإقليمي بحقيقة أن لديك موقعًا قريبًا. ربما كنت تبحث عن بيتزا على طراز نيويورك بالقرب منك ، ولذا يعلن مطعم بيتزا محلي عن مصطلحات تعتمد على الموقع عند البحث أو يستهدف اهتمامًا بالبيتزا داخل دائرة نصف قطرها حول مطعمهم.
  • مسؤوليتنا - المزيد والمزيد من المستهلكين يولون اهتماما دقيقا للشركات التي تركز على الاستدامة والتنوع ومشاركة المجتمع. يمكن أن يلعب الإعلان دورًا مهمًا في تعديل مفهوم الشركة الضخمة المجهولة الهوية إلى شركة تقدم المنح والمنح الدراسية لمساعدة المجتمعات المحلية. اعتمدت Salesforce مؤخرًا مدرسة محلية في إنديانابوليس ، التبرع $ شنومكس في المعدات لمساعدتهم.
  • أبحاث - إلى أين تذهب عندما تبحث عن إجازتك القادمة ، أو شراء السيارة التالية ، أو التأمين الخاص بك ، أو نفقات كبيرة أخرى؟ لقد انتشر المحتوى الإعلاني الإعلامي للمساعدة في تثقيف المستهلكين والشركات في السنوات الأخيرة. في حين أن الهدف هو بناء الثقة والسلطة من خلال توفير البحث اللازم ، إلا أنه ليس دائمًا الهدف النهائي لعملية الشراء. في كثير من الأحيان يقدم بحثًا أوليًا أو ثانويًا يتم مشاركته على نطاق واسع. غالبًا ما أرى إعلانات حول محتوى قد يثير اهتمام أصدقائي وأرسله إليهم.
  • ايموشن - لقد قفز سرد القصص إلى مقدمة العديد من منهجيات الإعلان لأنه لا يرتبط فقط عاطفيًا بالجمهور ، بل يتم إنتاجه أيضًا لقيادة المشاهد أو القارئ خلال القصة. قد يفكر البعض في هذا على أنه تلاعب ، لكن لا يمكن تمييزه عن إعلان فعال يثير المشاعر.
  • إقناع - من خلال استخدام العاطفة ، غالبًا ما يكون الإعلان مقنعًا. الدكتور روبرت سيالديني يصف ستة مبادئ عالمية للإقناع ثبت علميًا أنها تقنع جمهور الإعلان - المعاملة بالمثل والندرة والسلطة والاتساق والإعجاب والإجماع.

ودعونا لا ننسى

إذا كان الهدف الشرير للإعلان هو التحفيز على البيع ، فإن الغالبية العظمى لا تعمل على الإطلاق. إذا كان الإعلان بهذا الشرير والتلاعب ، فسنركض جميعًا إلى ماكدونالدز لقضاء بعض الوقت مع العائلة وصندوق من McNuggets! الإعلانات باهظة الثمن ، وفي أغلب الأحيان ، تهدف إلى تغيير المفاهيم وزيادة الوعي. الإعلان ، مثل العديد من استراتيجيات التسويق الأخرى ، هو استراتيجية طويلة المدى تنطوي على قدر كبير من المخاطر المرتبطة بها.

كيف تجعلنا الإعلانات نشتري؟

أنا لا أشكك في التكتيكات الموثقة في هذا الرسم البياني ، أنا أشكك في الدافع. الإعلان ليس موجودًا لخداع أو إخافة شخص ما للشراء. يجب أن يستغل الإعلان العاطفة لتحقيق تأثير أكبر - لكن هذا لا يعني أنه تلاعب ... فهذا يعني أنه مناسب. ربما سأشعر براحة أكبر إذا كان العنوان كذلك كيف يحفزنا الإعلان على الشراء. لم أشاهد أبدًا إعلانًا أجبرني على النقر عليه ، لكنني رأيت بعض الإعلانات التي تلائم احتياجاتي مباشرة والتي نقرت عليها.

لذا بدلاً من ذلك ، أنشأ المعلنون ترسانة مجربة وحقيقية من التقنيات المختلفة التي تهدف جميعها إلى جذب انتباه المستهلك. وحتى لو لم ندرك ذلك طوال الوقت ، فإن هذه الاستراتيجيات جميعها تعمل بشكل جيد للغاية.

ها هو مخطط المعلومات الذي أنتقده منه WebpageFX.

كيف يعمل الإعلان

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    شكرا دوغلاس.
    أعتقد أن أهم جزء في الإعلانات هو الدافع. إذا لم يكن لدى العميل دافع لشراء شيء ما ، فلدينا خياران. أو قم بإنشاء الدافع (مثال مثالي iPhone) أو انسَه.

  2. 2

    مدروسة جدا. عندما يفكر الناس في الإعلان ، فإنهم عادة ما ينسون أمرين. أولاً ، الأعمال الصغيرة. الشركات الصغيرة ، خاصة في البداية ، ليس لديها "علامة تجارية". ما يحتاجونه في الواقع هو القدرة على الوصول إلى أكبر عدد من الأشخاص بأقل تكلفة. فقط بعد حدوث التجارة الفعلية يمكن إنشاء علامة تجارية. ما يحتاجونه حقًا هو القدرة فقط على إخبار الناس أن أبوابهم مفتوحة وأنهم مستعدون للقيام بأعمال تجارية.
    الشيء الثاني الذي أعتقد أن معظم الناس يتجاهلونه هو أن وسائل الإعلان وشركات الإعلان تحدد أسعارها الخاصة. لم يتم تحديد الأسعار في ارتباط مباشر مع ما يحتاجه المشروع الصغير. سأكون على استعداد للمراهنة على أن معظم هياكل الأسعار تم اختراعها ببساطة من فراغ. إذا كانت شركات الإعلان والوسائط الإعلانية تهتم فعلاً بعملائها ، فسوف يتأكدون من أن الإعلان الذي يقدمونه هو الملاءمة الصحيحة والأهم من ذلك أن النشاط التجاري الذي يعلنون عنه يجني المزيد من المال ثم تكاليف الإعلان.

    فقط لأن الوسيلة الإعلانية تصل إلى مليون شخص وهذا لا يعني بأي حال من الأحوال أن هؤلاء هم الأشخاص المناسبون ، أو أن هؤلاء الأشخاص مستعدون لشراء المنتج أو الخدمة ، أو أنهم مهتمون بالمنتج أو الخدمة. كل العروض التي تأتي من شركات الإعلان هي التي ستعرضك لـ XY أو Z. لا يقولون أبدًا أننا سنحرص على دفع الناس إلى باب منزلك. إنه أمر مثير للاهتمام بالنسبة لي عندما يقولون أشياء مثل "لا توجد ضمانات في الإعلانات". كان ردي دائمًا على هذا البيان ، "هناك ضمان واحد في الإعلان وهو أنك ستأخذ أموالي تمامًا. سواء كان ما لديك يناسبني أم لا ، فسوف تأخذ أموالي ".

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

AdTech, Ecommerce and Retail, , Marketing Infographics, Mobile and Tablet Marketing, Search Marketing,

How Advertising Works

While researching the topic of advertising, I happened upon an infographic on How Advertising Makes Us Buy. The infographic below opens with the notion that companies are rich and have piles of money and they use it to manipulate their poor audience. I think that’s a rather disturbing, unfortunate, and unlikely notion.

The first notion that only rich companies advertise is a bizarre idea. Our company is not wealthy and, in fact, had a couple years of losses – yet we still advertised. Advertising, especially via digital channels, is very affordable. You can deposit $100 into any social or search engine pay per click account and push some highly targeted advertisements to drive awareness to your business.

Attitudes on business don’t align well with the actual statistics in a social media world. About a quarter of all businesses fail within the first two years according to multiple studies. While people believe the average company makes a 36% profit margin, the average profit margin for the most recent quarter was 7.5% and the median profit margin was 6.5%.

Angie’s List, for example, continued to operate at a loss while spending $80 million on marketing – with a large portion of that going to the television commercials you repeatedly see on television. While a public company that’s increasing revenue quarter over quarter, they’re hardly rich. Not only are they not rich, but they’re also not advertising to make their customers feel rich. Angie’s List provides a service to protect home services customers from getting ripped off from the plethora of shady providers out there.

Advertising works on different levels; it’s not as simple as trying to get someone to buy something. Over the last decade of content, search, and social marketing, I believe companies are becoming more keen to the fact that advertising needs to be much deeper than manipulating a consumers’ insecurities. Targeted advertising on consumers who are similar to your audience increases profitability by acquiring and keeping great customers.

Why Use Advertising?

The basis for all advertising is simply awareness. Awareness is desirable to companies for a few reasons:

  • Reach – To build demand for your brand, products or service, you must be able to reach new audiences. Those audiences already exist on websites, searches, social media, radio, television, and other mediums. To reach those audiences, the companies that invested and acquired them offer to advertise.
  • Perception – Perhaps people are already aware of your products and services but don’t have a positive perception of your brand. To counter inaccurate brand perceptions, it’s sometimes necessary (or even critical) for brands to invest in advertising.
  • Sales – Driving sales via advertising can be effective, but I’d challenge you to observe traditional and digital advertising for a week and see how much of it is focused on discounting and sales. In my opinion, it’s on the decline. More often than not, we find that while sales can be increased, companies who rely on it for the long-term may devalue their brand.

How Does Advertising Work?

Businesses and consumers alike are looking to improve their quality of life and efficiency of their business. While a small portion of the population may have insecurities that advertising capitalizes on, I believe that’s minimal. In my opinion, the majority of network marketing and multi-level marketing enterprises work in this arena. Have you ever been invited to one of these events? They’re massive celebrations of happy people paraded around the stage with promises of big checks, vacations and even cars to persuade the guests to invest and begin selling for them. Vemma, an energy drink MLM, was recently temporarily shut down as a pyramid scheme.

While that’s extreme, it’s not the norm. Watch a typical Apple advertisement and you won’t see discounting and get rich quick schemes. Instead, you’ll watch stories of people unleashing their inner creativity utilizing Apple devices and software as the tools. Observe Coca-Cola’s advertising and you’ll see a focus on the events and venues they advertise at, trying to build brand awareness where happy memories happen. Of recent, they’ve also had to work on the perception of sweet drinks and the health risks that arise.

Some advertising works on the motivation to save money (discounts), but there are many other reasons why advertising works:

  • Vicinity – Sometimes advertising is simply necessary to provide a regional audience with the fact that you have a location nearby. Perhaps you’re seeking NY style pizza nearby, and so a local pizzeria advertises for location-based terms on search or targets an interest in pizza within a radius around their restaurant.
  • Responsibility – More and more consumers are paying careful attention to businesses that are focusing on sustainability, diversity, and community involvement. Advertising can play a significant role in adjusting the perception of a faceless, massive corporation into one that’s providing grants and scholarships to help local communities. Salesforce recently adopted a local school in Indianapolis, donating $50,000 in equipment to help them.
  • Research – Where do you go when you’re researching your next vacation, your next automobile purchase, your insurance, or other major expense? Advertising informative content to help educate consumers and businesses has exploded in recent years. While the goal is to build trust and authority by providing the necessary research, it’s not always the end goal of a purchase. Many times it’s providing primary or secondary research that is widely shared. I often see advertisements about content that may be of interest to my friends and send it to them.
  • Emotion – Storytelling has jumped to the forefront of many advertising methodologies because it not only connects emotionally with the audience, it’s also produced to lead the viewer or reader through the story. Some may think about this as manipulation, but that’s indistinguishable to an effective advertisement that evokes emotion.
  • Persuasion – Utilizing emotion, advertising is often persuasive. Dr. Robert Cialdini describes six universal principles of persuasion that have been scientifically proven to persuade the advertising audience – reciprocity, scarcity, authority, consistency, liking and consensus.

And Let’s Not Forget

If the evil goal of advertising was to motivate a sale, the vast majority doesn’t work at all. If advertising were that sinister and manipulative, we’d all be running to McDonalds to spend time with family and a box of McNuggets! Advertising is expensive and, more often than not, is a to change perceptions and increase awareness. Advertising, like many other marketing strategies, is a long-term strategy that has quite a bit of risk associated with it.

How Advertising Makes Us Buy?

I’m not questioning the tactics documented in this infographic, I’m questioning the motivation. Advertising isn’t there to trick or scare someone into buying. Advertising must tap into emotion for greater effect – but that doesn’t mean it’s manipulative… it means it’s relevant. Perhaps I’d feel more comfortable if the title was How Advertising Motivates Us to Buy. I’ve never seen an ad that forced me to click, but I have seen some ads that tapped directly into my needs that I clicked on.

So instead, advertisers have created a tried-and-true arsenal of different techniques that are all aimed at getting consumer attention. And even if we don’t realize it all the time, these strategies all work exceptionally well.

Here’s the infographic that I’m critical of from WebpageFX.

How Advertising Works

2 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 2

    Very well thought out. When people think about advertising they usually forget about a couple things. First, small business. Small businesses, especially in the beginning, don’t have a “brand.” What they actually need is the ability to reach out to the highest number of people for the lowest cost. Only after actual commerce occurs can a brand be established. What they really need is the ability just to tell people that their doors are open and they’re ready to do business.
    The second thing I think most people forget about is that advertising mediums and advertising companies set their own prices. The prices are not set in direct correlation with what the small business needs. I would be willing to bet that most price structures are simply invented out of thin air. If advertising companies and advertising mediums actually cared about their clients, they would make sure that the advertising they are providing is the right fit and more importantly that the business they are advertising for makes more money then it costs for the advertising.

    just because an advertising medium reaches a million people that is in no way an indicator that those are the right people, that those people are ready to buy the product or service, or that they’re even interested in the product or service. All of the pitches that come from advertising companies are that will expose you to XY or Z. They never say we’ll make sure we drive people to your door. it’s interesting to me when they say things like “there are no guarantees in advertising.” My response to that statement has always been, “there is one guarantee in advertising and that is that you will absolutely take my money. Whether what you have works for me or not, you’re going to take my money.”

Leave a Reply