عناق الكارهين بك؟ ربما هو حب عشاقك!

إيداع الصور 9755377 ثانية

كانت الكلمة الرئيسية الختامية لجاي باير واحدة من أفضل ما رأيته في Social Media Marketing World. ناقش جاي كتابه القادم ، احضن الكارهين. كان عرضه رائعًا وأثار بعض الأبحاث الرائعة من توم ويبستر وفريقه حول كيفية الاستثمار في حل الشكاوى بسرعة واستراتيجية من شأنه أن ينمو عملك.

يتحدث العرض التقديمي عن بعض الأمثلة الرائعة للشركات التي تستجيب للشكاوى وكيف أنها مفيدة للأعمال.

أنا متشكك. في الواقع ، في العام السابق في Social Media Marketing World ، قدمت عرضًا حيث تناولت أكبر أخطاء الشركات على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وأثبتت أنه لم يكن لأي من الأخطاء تأثير سلبي طويل المدى على الشركات التي صنعتها.

على Facebook مؤخرًا ، شارك Jay بعض الملاحظات الشخصية عن خدمة الخطوط الجوية وتم تذكيرني على الفور بهذه المناقشة الرائعة بين الممثل الكوميدي لويس CK و كونان أوبراين.

بينما أنا مندهش من التكنولوجيا المذهلة المتاحة في متناول المستهلكين في الوقت الحاضر ، أشعر بخيبة أمل أيضًا يوميًا بسبب قرع طبول الشركة المستمر الذي أراه عبر الإنترنت.

هل يجب أن تعانق أبل كارهيها؟

من الأمثلة الرائعة التي يمكنني التحدث إليها مباشرة شركة Apple. أنا من أشد المعجبين بـ Apple. كنت من بين الحالات التي ضبطت المنبه على الساعة 3 صباحًا بتوقيت شرق الولايات المتحدة واشتريت الدفعة الأولى من ساعات أبل. لا أطيق الانتظار حتى أحصل عليه بين يدي.

اقرأ على الإنترنت وهناك صدى مدوي من التقنيين والمدونين وكارهي Apple على الساعة. إنهم في كل مكان ... ولا يهمني أي من آرائهم. ولا أعتقد أن أيًا من آرائهم يجب أن تهم Apple. مكلف للغاية ، قلة الابتكار والجودة والسرعة ... جميع الشكاوى من الكارهين. مرحبًا أيها الكارهون ... تم بيع مليون منتج في يوم واحد والآن على الطلب بعد شهر يونيو. لم يكن الكارهون يذهبون إلى Apple Watch على أي حال ، فلماذا تعانقونهم؟

DK New Media حرائق الكارهين ويحب عشاقها

في العام الماضي ، بعد التعافي من عام مضطرب سابق ، بدأنا التعافي. كثير من قضايانا كانت خطأي. لقد توسعنا بدون الموارد اللازمة ثم جاهدنا لملء الفراغ. بدلاً من العمل الجاد لتحديد العملاء المناسبين ، أخذنا كل شخص تقريبًا يطلب مساعدتنا ... وكان الأمر بمثابة كابوس. لقد انتهينا حتى من تصميم مخطط معلوماتي حول أنواع العملاء التي كنا نحرقها.

قبلنا العمل مع الكثير من العملاء الذين كانوا فقط مسيئين ورخيصين. لم ينظروا إلينا كشريك ، لقد نظروا إلينا وكأننا تحدٍ للضغط على كل قرش أخير. لم أعانق كارهينا ، لقد طردناهم.

نحن الآن نبذل جهدًا استثنائيًا في التأهيل المسبق لعملائنا والتأكد من أننا مناسبون ثقافيًا لبعضنا البعض وأننا نعتقد أنه يمكننا النجاح في العمل معهم. والفرق هو ليلا ونهارا. نحن نمر بأفضل عام على الإطلاق ، ونوسع بصمتنا ، ونحن سعداء ، والعمل الذي نقوم به أفضل بكثير مما كنا عليه من قبل.

كانت محاولة إرضاء من يكرهوننا مرهقة. ولذا لم نعد نحاول بعد الآن. إذا أساء إلينا شخص ما ، فإننا ببساطة نرد عليه بصدق - سواء كان ذلك عامًا أو خاصًا. أحيانًا نغلق الأبواق ، لكن في معظم الأحيان نبتعد ببساطة. نحتاج إلى تركيز انتباهنا على العملاء الذين يقدروننا ، وليس أولئك الذين لن يوظفونا أبدًا ، أو يوصوننا ، والذين يجلسون ويلتقطون صورًا لنا.

عناق من يكرهونك؟ الكثير من الجهد. أنا أفضل أحب عشاق بلدي. إنهم الأشخاص الذين ينشرون الكلمة ، ويوسعون تفاعلهم معنا ، ويجدون لنا المزيد من العملاء ، ويقدرون ما أنجزناه لهم.

هل الرابحون يهتمون بالكارهين؟

عندما أنظر إلى الأعمال أو الرياضة أو السياسة أو أي قائد ناجح آخر - أرى دائمًا أشخاصًا تجاهلوا كارهيهم وحققوا نجاحهم. كانت الإخفاقات التي رأيتها هي الأشخاص الذين استمعوا إلى الجميع ، وحاولوا إرضاء الجميع ، ولم يتمكنوا أبدًا من تلبية التوقعات المستحيلة التي وضعها السوق.

عندما أنظر إلى صناعات مثل الهاتف المحمول والكابلات والمرافق وشركات الطيران وغيرها ... أرى المستهلكين يطالبون بمطالب تتجاوز بكثير قيمة المنتج أو الخدمة التي يرغبون في دفع ثمنها. وإذا لم يحصلوا على ما يريدون ، فإنهم يرمون هسهسة على الإنترنت ليراها الجمهور. وإذا حاولت الشركة خدمتهم بشكل أفضل وإضافة بضعة دولارات إضافية إلى فاتورتهم ، فإن المستهلكين ينقذون الحل التالي الأقل تكلفة.

أظن أنه إذا تعاملت شركات الطيران ______ مع عملائها بشكل أسوأ ، فستظل تحمل طائرات متجهة إلى وجهتها التالية مليئة بالعملاء الذين استخدموا البحث عبر الإنترنت للعثور على أقل سعر. لا أعتقد أن معظم الكارهين يهتمون حتى بشركة الطيران ، فهم سيشتكون بغض النظر. وقد وضعت معظم شركات الطيران محاورًا حيث يكاد يكون من المستحيل الابتعاد عن علامتها التجارية حتى لو كنت مهتمًا.

أريد الحب؟ دفع ثمنها!

من ناحية أخرى ، إذا دفعت مقابل درجة رجال الأعمال ، أو اشتريت سيارات فاخرة ، أو أنفقت المال على الضمان الممتد أو التأمين ، أو أنفقت على الكمبيوتر المحمول الأكثر تكلفة ، فلا يبدو أنني أواجه المشكلات التي يواجهها الآخرون. صالة المسافر في دلتا - على سبيل المثال - مدهشة ويمكنك شراء الوصول في معظم الرحلات مقابل القليل الإضافي. بينما كان الجميع ينتظرون وكيل التذاكر ، تناولت مشروبًا وقام ممثل دلتا بحذف اسمي وبدأ يتأرجح ليأخذني في طريقي. لا ضجة ولا فوضى ... أنا أقدر ذلك ودفعت ثمنه.

بدفع المزيد ، أحصل على خدمة رائعة ، ولا توجد أوقات انتظار تقريبًا ، وردود فورية. إذا كنت سأطالب بالأفضل ، يجب أن أكون على استعداد لدفع ثمنها. إذا كنت لا أستطيع شراء الأفضل ، يجب أن أكون راضيًا بما تبقى.

لا تفهموني خطأ. سأبذل جهدًا صادقًا لمحاولة قلب عميل غير سعيد. أنا مدين بهذا القدر على الأقل لأنهم استثمروا معنا. لكن إذا كانوا بائسين فقط أو أساءوا معاملتي أو معاملة موظفينا ، لا أحد لديه وقت للدات! أعتقد أن هناك نسبة كبيرة من الكارهين عبر الإنترنت يجب على الشركات أن تخبرهم عن التنصت.

جاي ... لقد توقف عملك.

4 تعليقات

  1. 1

    منشور عظيم دوغ ، شكرا لك.

    شيئين. أنا لا أتحدث عن الأخطاء الفادحة والأزمات التي تغذيها وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. لم يكن أي من الأمثلة الواردة في الكلمة الرئيسية على هذا النحو ، ولن يكون أي من الأمثلة الواردة في الكتاب كذلك. ما أتحدث عنه هو التعليقات السلبية اليومية ، والشكاوى ، والمراجعات ذات النجمتين والنجمتين التي تستجيب لها الشركات من جميع الأحجام والأنواع تقريبًا بشكل غير متسق ، إن وجدت.

    هل يتطلب الأمر الكثير من العمل للرد على كل شكوى ، في كل مرة ، وفي كل قناة؟ بالطبع بكل تأكيد. لكن البحث الذي أجريناه يظهر أن الزيادة في مناصرة العملاء عند الرد على شكوى كبيرة ، والانخفاض في مناصرة العملاء عندما تتجاهل السلبية أكبر.

    هل تستطيع بعض الشركات تجاهل التعليقات والشكاوى السلبية؟ نعم. لكن هذه الشركات ليست شائعة.

    وأود أيضًا أن أوضح أن وصفة Hug Your Haters ليست أن العميل دائمًا على حق. هذا ليس صحيحًا ، وليس من الحكمة إدارة عملك بهذه الطريقة. بدلاً من ذلك ، فإن الوصفة هي أن العميل دائمًا يسمع. فرق كبير. في الواقع ، على الرغم من أنني لم أتطرق إلى التفاصيل الدقيقة في الحديث ، فإن توصيتي هي ألا تستجيب أبدًا لأكثر من مرتين لموضوع واحد / شكوى / مشاركة مدونة ، إلخ. عوائد متناقصة في هذه المرحلة ، عادةً.

    من المهم أيضًا ملاحظة الفرق بين كارهي Offstage الذين يشتكون على انفراد ، وبين كارهي Onstage الذين يشكون في الأماكن العامة. المفتاح هو فهم أن الأول يريد إجابة ، والأخير يريد جمهورًا. السلبية هي رياضة المتفرج الآن ، وبينما قد ترغب (بحق) في إخبار عميل مظلوم (أو مزعج) بـ F-OFF ، فإن الواقع هو أنه خاصة مع كارهي Onstage ، فإن الخطر الحقيقي لا يكمن في فقدان هذا العميل ، بل بالأحرى فيما يعتقده المتفرجون عن شركتك وقيمك.

    • 2

      جاي - شكرًا جزيلاً على الوقت الذي قضيته في التوضيح. لقد طلبت بالفعل عدة نسخ من الكتاب لموظفينا لأن هذه المعلومات ستكون مهمة لعملائنا.

  2. 3

    لطالما فكرت في الأمر من خلال وجهة نظر بسيطة مفادها أن "العميل ليس دائمًا على حق ، ... لكنهم هم العملاء". لذلك ، يدفعني ذلك إلى التباطؤ والاستجابة بشكل مناسب - سعياً لفهم ماهية المشكلة الحقيقية وما يمكن أن يكون استجابة وحل معقولاً. وقد وجه هذا جهودي "لعناق الحاقدين".

    • 4

      أنا بصراحة لست معجبة يا كيرت. أعتقد أن الناس في بعض الأحيان مجرد حمقى ولا ينبغي التغاضي عن سلوكهم السيئ. القول أسهل من الفعل عندما تمتلك العمل على ما أعتقد!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Analytics & Testing, Content Marketing, Customer Relationship Management, Ecommerce and Retail, Sales Enablement,

Hug Your Haters? Maybe It’s Love Your Lovers!

Jay Baer’s closing keynote was one of the best I’ve seen at Social Media Marketing World. Jay discussed his upcoming book, Hug Your Haters. His presentation was fantastic and teased some amazing research from Tom Webster and his team on how investment in resolving complaints swiftly and strategically would grow your business.

The presentation speaks to some fantastic examples of companies responding to complaints and how it’s good for business.

I’m a skeptic. In fact, the year before at Social Media Marketing World I did a presentation where I took the top blunders of companies on social media and proved that none of the blunders had a long-term, negative impact on the companies that made them.

On Facebook recently, Jay shared some personal observations of airline service and I was instantly reminded of this amazing discussion between comedian Louis CK and Conan O’Brien.

While I’m amazed at the incredible technology available at consumers’ fingertips nowadays, I’m also disappointed daily at the continuous drumbeat of company bashing that I see online.

Should Apple Hug Its Haters?

A great example that I can speak to first hand is Apple. I’m a huge fan of Apple. I was one of the nut-cases that set his alarm for 3AM EST and bought the first batch of Apple Watches. I can’t wait to get it in my hands.

Read online and there’s a resounding echo of techies, bloggers, and Apple-haters hating on the watch. They’re everywhere… and none of their opinions matter to me. And I don’t think any of their opinions should matter to Apple. Too expensive, lack of innovation, quality and speed issues… all complaints from the haters. Hey haters… a million sold in a day and now on back order beyond June. Haters weren’t going to by the Apple Watch anyways, why would you hug them?

DK New Media Fires Haters and Loves Its Lovers

Last year, after recovering from a tumultuous year prior, we started our recovery. Many of our issues were my fault. We expanded without the necessary resources and then scrambled to fill the gap. Rather than working hard to identify the right customers, we took on almost everyone asking for our help… and it was a nightmare. We wound up even designing an infographic about the types of customers we were burning through.

We accepted work with a lot of clients that were just abusive and cheap. They didn’t look at us as a partner, they looked at us like a challenge to squeeze every last penny out of. I didn’t hug our haters, we fired them.

We now put extraordinary effort into prequalifying our customers and ensuring that we’re a great fit culturally with one another and that we believe we can succeed in working with them. The difference is night and day. We’re having our best year ever, we’re expanding our footprint, we’re happy, and the work we’re doing is far better than we were before.

Trying to please our haters was exhausting. And so we don’t try anymore. If someone badmouths us, we simply respond honestly to them – whether it’s public or private. Sometimes we lock horns, but most of the time we simply walk away. We need to focus our attention on customers that appreciate us, not the ones that would never hire us, recommend us, and that sit back taking pot shots at us.

Hug your haters? Too much effort. I’d rather love my lovers. They’re the ones that spread the word, expand their engagements with us, find us more customers, and appreciate what we accomplish for them.

Do Winners Bother With Haters?

When I look to business, sports, politics, or any other successful leader – I almost always see people that ignored their haters and carved out their own success. The failures I’ve seen have been people that listened to everyone, tried to please everyone, and could never meet the impossible expectations set by the market.

When I look at industries like mobile, cable, utilities, airlines and others… I see consumers making demands well beyond the value of the product or service they’re willing to pay for. And if they’re not getting what they want, they throw a hissy fit online for the public to see. And if the company tries to serve them better and add a few more bucks to their bill, the consumers bail for the next lower cost solution.

My guess is that if ______ airlines treated their customers even worse, they’d still have packed airplanes heading to their next destination full of customers who used an online search to find the lowest price. I don’t think most haters even care about the airline company, they’re going to complain regardless. And most of the airlines have hubs laid out where it’s almost impossible to get away from their brand even if you did care.

Want Love? Pay for It!

On the other hand, if I pay for business class, buy luxury vehicles, spend money on the extended warranty or insurance, or spring for the more expensive laptop, I never seem to have the problems that others run into. Delta’s traveler lounge – for example – is AMAZING and you can buy access on most trips for a little extra. While everyone is waiting on the ticket agent, I grab a drink and the Delta representative took down my name and swings into action getting me on my way. No fuss, no muss… I both appreciated it and I paid for it.

Paying extra, I get fantastic service, almost no wait times, and instantaneous responses. If I’m going to demand the best, I should be willing to pay for it. If I can’t afford the best, I should be content with what’s left.

Don’t get me wrong. I’ll put forth a sincere effort to try to flip an unhappy customer. I owe at least that much because they made an investment with us. But if they’re just miserable or mistreat me or our staff, ain’t nobody got time for dat! I think there’s a significant percentage of haters online that companies should tell to bugger off.

Jay… you’ve got your work cut out.

4 Comments

  1. 1

    Great post Doug, thank you.

    A couple of things. I’m not talking about big blunders and social media-fueled crises. None of the example in the keynote were like that, and none of the examples in the book will be that, either. What I’m talking about are the day-to-day negative comments, complaints, 1 and 2-star reviews that companies of nearly all sizes and types respond to inconsistently, if at all.

    Does it take a lot of work to respond to every complaint, every time, in every channel? Of course. But the research we conducted shows that the increase in customer advocacy when you response to a complaint is considerable, and the decrease in customer advocacy when you ignore negativity is even greater.

    Can some companies afford to ignore negative comments and complaints? Yes. But those companies are not common.

    And I also want to clarify that the Hug Your Haters prescription is NOT that the customer is always right. It’s not true, and it’s not prudent to run your business that way. The prescription is instead that the customer is always HEARD. Huge difference. In fact, while I didn’t get into the granularity in the talk, my recommendation is that you never respond more than twice to a single thread/complaint/blog post, etc. Diminishing returns at that point, typically.

    Also important to note is the difference between the Offstage Haters who complain in private, and the Onstage Haters who complain in public. The key is understanding that the former wants an answer, and the latter wants an audience. Negativity is a spectator sport now, and while you may (rightfully) want to tell an aggrieved (or annoying) customer to F-OFF the reality is that especially with the Onstage Haters, the real danger is not in losing that customer, but rather in what the onlookers think about your company and your values.

  2. 3

    I have always thought about it with the simple view that “the customer isn’t always right,… but they are the customer”. So, that causes me to slow down and respond appropriately – seeking to understand what the real problem is and what might be a reasonable response and solution. That has guided my efforts to “hug the hater.”

    • 4

      I’m honestly not a fan, Curt. I think sometimes people are just jerks and their bad behavior shouldn’t be condoned. Easier said than done when you own the business I guess!

Leave a Reply