فرصة تسويق مذهلة تأتي مع إنترنت الأشياء

إنترنت الأشياء

منذ أسبوع أو نحو ذلك ، طُلب مني التحدث في حدث إقليمي في إنترنت الأشياء. بصفته مضيفًا مشاركًا لبرنامج بودكاست ديل لوميناريز، لقد تعرّضت كثيرًا لحوسبة Edge والابتكار التكنولوجي الذي بدأ يتشكل بالفعل. ومع ذلك ، إذا قمت بالبحث عن فرص التسويق فيما يتعلق بإنترنت الأشياء ، بصراحة لا يوجد الكثير من النقاش عبر الإنترنت. في الواقع ، أشعر بخيبة أمل لأن إنترنت الأشياء ستحول العلاقة بين العميل والعمل.

لماذا إنترنت الأشياء تحويلية؟

هناك العديد من الابتكارات التي ستتحقق في الواقع والتي ستحول إنترنت الأشياء:

  • ستعمل 5G Wireless على تمكين سرعات النطاق الترددي التي من شأنها القضاء على التوصيلات السلكية داخل المنزل والعمل. حققت الاختبارات سرعات أعلى من 1جيجابت / ثانية لمسافة تصل إلى 2 كيلومتر.
  • التصغير من عناصر الحوسبة ذات قوة الحوسبة المتزايدة ستجعل أجهزة إنترنت الأشياء ذكية دون الحاجة إلى إمدادات طاقة زائدة. يمكن لأجهزة الكمبيوتر الأصغر من بنس واحد أن تعمل بشكل دائم بالطاقة الشمسية و / أو الشحن اللاسلكي.
  • الأمن يتم تضمين التطورات داخل الأجهزة بدلاً من تركها للمستهلكين والشركات لمعرفة أنفسهم.
  • وقت الاستحمام اصبح اكثر متعة تكلفة إنترنت الأشياء تجعلها غير مكلفة. وسيمكن التقدم في الدوائر المطبوعة الشركات من تصميم وتصنيع عناصر إنترنت الأشياء الخاصة بهم - مما يتيح استخدامها في كل مكان. حتى شاشات OLED المرنة المطبوعة على مقربة منك - مما يوفر وسيلة لعرض الرسائل في أي مكان.

فكيف سيؤثر هذا على التسويق؟

فكر في كيفية اكتشاف المستهلكين وبحثهم عن المنتجات والخدمات التي تقدمها الشركات على مدار المائة عام الماضية.

  1. السوق - قبل قرن من الزمان ، كان العميل يعلم فقط بمنتج أو خدمة مباشرة من الشخص أو الشركة التي تبيعها. كان التسويق (المسمى بهذا الاسم) هو قدرتهم على البيع في السوق.
  2. الوسائط الموزعة - مع توفر وسائل الإعلام ، مثل المطبعة ، أصبح لدى الشركات الآن فرصة للإعلان بما يتجاوز صوتها - لمجتمعاتها وخارجها.
  3. وسائل الإعلام الجماهيرية - نشأت وسائل الإعلام ، وهي تزود الآن الشركات بالقدرة على الوصول إلى آلاف أو حتى ملايين الأشخاص. البريد المباشر ، والتليفزيون ، والراديو ... يمكن لأي شخص يمتلك الجمهور أن يجني دولارات كبيرة للوصول إلى هذا الجمهور. نمت صناعة الإعلان بشكل رسمي إلى ارتفاعات وأرباح هائلة. إذا رغبت الشركات في الازدهار ، فعليها العمل من خلال بوابات المعلنين المدفوعة.
  4. الإعلام الرقمي - وفرت شبكة الإنترنت ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي فرصة جديدة تبتعد عن وسائل الإعلام. يمكن للشركات الآن العمل على التسويق الشفهي من خلال البحث والقنوات الاجتماعية لبناء الوعي والتواصل مع الجماهير المستهدفة. بالطبع ، انتهزت Google و Facebook الفرصة لبناء بوابات الربح التالية بين الشركة والمستهلك.

عصر التسويق الجديد: إنترنت الأشياء

لقد اقترب عصر التسويق الجديد وهو أكثر إثارة من أي شيء رأيناه من قبل. ستوفر إنترنت الأشياء فرصًا مذهلة لم نشهدها من قبل - فرصة للشركات لتجاوز جميع البوابات والتواصل ، مرة أخرى ، مباشرة مع العملاء المحتملين والعملاء.

ضمن العروض ، صديق جيد و جون ماكدونالد خبير إنترنت الأشياء قدم رؤية لا تصدق لمستقبلنا القريب. وصف السيارات اليوم وقوة الحوسبة المذهلة التي تمتلكها بالفعل. في حالة التمكين ، يمكن للسيارات التواصل الآن مع أصحابها ، لإعلامهم بأنهم كانوا ينسجون ويتعبون. يمكن للسيارات أن تطلب منك أن تسلك المخرج التالي وتوجهك إلى أقرب ستاربكس ... حتى تطلب مشروبك المفضل لك.

لنأخذ خطوة إلى الأمام. ماذا لو ، بدلاً من ذلك ، عرضت ستاربكس كوبًا للركاب مزودًا بتقنية إنترنت الأشياء التي تتواصل مباشرة مع سيارتك ، وموقعها العالمي ، وأجهزة الاستشعار الخاصة بها ، وكوب الركاب يتيح لك معرفة أنه تم طلب شرابك والتوقف عند المخرج التالي. الآن ، ستاربكس لا تعتمد على بوابة للدفع والتواصل مع المستهلك ، يمكنهم التواصل مباشرة مع المستهلك.

ستكون إنترنت الأشياء في كل مكان وفي كل شيء

لقد رأينا بالفعل أين تقدم شركات التأمين خصومات إذا وضعت جهازًا في سيارتك ينقل أنماط القيادة الخاصة بك إلى الشركة. دعنا نفحص المزيد من الفرص:

  • يتصل جهاز التأمين على السيارات الخاص بك باتجاهات قيادة أكثر فاعلية بناءً على عاداتك في القيادة ، والمواقع لتجنب المخاطر ، أو الالتفافات للمساعدة في الحفاظ على سلامتك
  • تحتوي صناديق Amazon الخاصة بك على أجهزة إنترنت الأشياء التي تتصل بك مباشرة لتظهر لك موقعها حتى تتمكن من مقابلتهم أينما كانوا.
  • تقوم شركة الخدمات المنزلية المحلية الخاصة بك بتثبيت أجهزة إنترنت الأشياء على منزلك دون أي تكلفة لاكتشاف العواصف أو الرطوبة أو حتى الآفات - مما يوفر لك عرضًا للحصول على خدمة فورية. ربما يقدمون لك عرضًا لإحالة جيرانك.
  • توفر لك مدرسة طفلك إمكانية الوصول إلى إنترنت الأشياء للفصل الدراسي لمراجعة سلوك طفلك أو تحدياته أو جوائزه. قد تتمكن حتى من التواصل معهم مباشرة في حالة حدوث مشكلة طارئة.
  • يقوم وكيلك العقاري بتضمين أجهزة إنترنت الأشياء في جميع أنحاء منزلك لتوفير جولات افتراضية وعن بُعد ، وقادرة على مقابلة المشترين المحتملين والترحيب بهم والإجابة على الأسئلة في أي وقت من النهار أو الليل عندما يكون ذلك مناسبًا لكلا الطرفين. يتم تعطيل هذه الأجهزة تلقائيًا عندما تكون في المنزل وأنت تمنح الإذن وفقًا لجدولك الزمني.
  • يقدم لك مقدم الرعاية الصحية الخاص بك أجهزة استشعار داخلية أو خارجية ترتديها أو تهضمها والتي توفر البيانات الهامة للطبيب. يتيح لك هذا تجنب المستشفيات تمامًا ، حيث توجد مخاطر الإصابة أو المرض.
  • توفر مزرعتك المحلية أجهزة إنترنت الأشياء التي تنقل مشكلات سلامة الأغذية أو تقدم اللحوم والخضروات وتنتج معك في الوقت المناسب بكفاءة. يمكن للمزارعين تحسين الطرق للتنبؤ بالاستهلاك دون الحاجة إلى البيع في متاجر البقالة الكبرى بجزء بسيط من السعر. يزدهر المزارعون وينقذ البشر على استهلاك الزيت غير الضروري للتسليم والتوزيع بالجملة.

والأفضل من ذلك كله ، سيكون للمستهلكين التحكم في بياناتنا ومن يمكنه الوصول إليها ، وكيف يمكنهم الوصول إليها ، ومتى يمكنهم الوصول إليها. سوف يتداول المستهلكون بكل سرور البيانات عندما يعلمون أن البيانات تعيد لهم القيمة وأن يتم التعامل معها بمسؤولية. باستخدام إنترنت الأشياء ، يمكن للشركات بناء علاقة موثوقة مع المستهلك حيث يعرفون أن بياناتهم لن يتم بيعها. وستضمن الأنظمة نفسها أن تظل البيانات آمنة ومأمونة. سيطلب المستهلكون كلاً من التفاعل والامتثال.

إذن ، ماذا عن عملك - كيف يمكنك تحويل علاقتك مع العملاء المحتملين والمستهلكين إذا كان لديك اتصال مباشر ويمكنك التواصل معهم مباشرة؟ من الأفضل أن تبدأ في التفكير في الأمر اليوم ... أو قد لا تتمكن شركتك من المنافسة في المستقبل القريب.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Internet of Things, Marketing & Sales Videos, MarTech Clips

The Amazing Marketing Opportunity Coming With IoT

Internet of Things

A week or so ago I was asked to speak at a regional event on the Internet of Things. As co-host of the Dell Luminaries podcast, I’ve had a ton of exposure to Edge computing and the technological innovation that’s already taking shape. However, if you do a search for marketing opportunities with respect to IoT, there’s honestly not a lot of discussion online. In fact, I’m disappointed since IoT will transform the relationship between the customer and the business.

Why is IoT Transformative?

There are several innovations that are coming to reality that will transform IoT:

  • 5G Wireless will enable bandwidth speeds that will eliminate wired connections within the home and business. Tests have accomplished speeds over 1Gbit/s to a distance of up to 2 kilometers.
  • Miniaturization of computing elements with increased computing power will make IoT devices intelligent without the need for excessive power supplies. Computers smaller than a penny can run perpetually with solar power and/or wireless charging.
  • Security advancements are being embedded within the devices rather than being left up to consumers and businesses to figure out themselves.
  • The cost of IoT devices are making them inexpensive. And advancements in printed circuitry will enable companies to design and manufacture their own IoT elements – enabling their use everywhere. Even printed OLED flexible displays are just around the corner – providing the means to even display messages anywhere.

So How Will This Impact Marketing?

Think about how consumers have discovered and researched products and services provided by businesses over the last one hundred years.

  1. The Market – A century ago, the customer only learned of a product or service directly from the person or business selling it. Marketing (thus named) was their ability to sell in the market.
  2. Distributed Media – As media became available, like the printing press, businesses now had an opportunity to advertise beyond their own voice – to their communities and beyond.
  3. Mass Media – Mass media arose, now providing businesses with the ability to reach thousands or even millions of people. Direct mail, television, radio… whomever owned the audience could command significant dollars to reach that audience. It was official, the advertising industry grew to enormous heights and profits. If businesses wished to thrive, they had to work through the paid gateways of advertisers.
  4. Digital Media – The Internet and social media provided a new opportunity that’s chiseling away at mass media. Companies could now work on word of mouth marketing through search and social channels to build awareness and connect with targeted audiences. Of course, Google and Facebook took the opportunity to build the next profit gateways between the business and the consumer.

The New Era of Marketing: IoT

The new era of marketing is almost upon us that’s more exciting than anything we’ve seen before. IoT will provide incredible opportunities we’ve never seen before – the opportunity for businesses to bypass all gateways and communicate, again, directly with prospects and customers.

Within the presentations, good friend and IoT expert John McDonald provided an incredible vision of our near future. He described todays cars and the incredible computing power they already have. If enabled, cars could communicate right now with their owners, letting them know that they were weaving and tired. Cars could tell you to take the next exit and point you to the nearest Starbucks… even order your favorite drink for you.

Let’s take it a step further. What if, instead, Starbucks offered a commuter mug with IoT technology that communicated directly with your car, its global positioning, its sensors, and the commuter mug let you know your drink was ordered and to pull over at the next exit. Now, Starbucks isn’t depending on a gateway to pay and communicate with the consumer, they can communicate directly with the consumer.

IoT Will Be Everywhere, In Everything

We’ve already seen where insurance companies offer discounts if you put a device in your car that communicates your driving patterns to the company. Let’s examine more opportunities:

  • Your auto insurance device communicates more effective driving directions based on your driving habits, locations to avoid hazards, or detours to help keep you safe.
  • Your Amazon boxes have IoT devices that communicate directly with you to show you their location so you can meet them where they are.
  • Your local home services company installs IoT devices on your home at no cost that detect storms, moisture, or even pests – providing you with an offer to get immediate service. Perhaps they even provide you an offer to refer your neighbors.
  • Your child’s school provides you with IoT access to the classroom to review your child’s behavior, challenges, or awards. You may even be able to communicate directly with them in the event of an urgent issue.
  • Your real estate agent embeds IoT devices throughout your home to provide virtual and remote tours, able to meet, greet, and answer questions with potential buyers at any time of day or night when it’s convenient for both parties. Those devices are disable automatically when you’re home and you provide permission on your schedule.
  • Your healthcare provider delivers you internal or external sensors that you wear or digest that provide critical data back to the Doctor. This lets you avoid hospitals altogether, where there are risks of infection or illness.
  • Your local farm provides IoT devices that communicate food safety issues or deliver meat, vegetables, and produce just-in-time efficiently with you. Farmers can optimize routes predict consumption without having to sell at grocery megastores at a fraction of the price. Farmers thrive and humans save on the unnecessary oil consumption of mass delivery and distribution.

Best of all, consumers will have control over our data and who can access it, how they can access it, and when they can access it. Consumers will gladly trade data when they know that data is providing value back to them and that it’s handled responsibly. With IoT, businesses can build a trusted relationship with the consumer where they know their data isn’t going to get sold. And the systems themselves will ensure the data is kept safe and secure. Consumers will demand both interactivity as well as compliance.

So, how about your business – how can you transform your relationship with prospects and consumers if you had a direct connection and could communicate directly with them? You better start thinking about it today… or your company may not be able to compete in the near future.

Download a Sponsored Marketing Whitepaper:
Master eBook Guide: Driving Growth with Marketing Automation

Master eBook Guide: Driving Growth with Marketing Automation

Everything you could want to know about your marketing automation strategy and system, from A to Z ... Download Now

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.