امتلك المجال الخاص بك!

الإيداع 16189387 م 2015

إحدى الميزات الجديدة لـ مدون هو أنه يمكنك استضافة التطبيق على نطاقك. (لقد لاحظت أنهم يعرضون استخدام تسجيل الدخول إلى حساب Google الخاص بك على النظام الأساسي الجديد أيضًا. هذا جيد).   خدمات ووردبريس عرض استضافة مدونتك ، وتخصيص المظهر الخاص بك ، وإضافة المكونات الإضافية ، وما إلى ذلك لفترة طويلة الآن. أعتقد أنه أحد الأسباب الرئيسية التي دفعتني إلى اختيار WordPress ... أردت أن أمتلك المجال الخاص بي.

لماذا؟

مشكلة بدء تشغيل مدونتك وتشغيلها على إحدى المنصات المتعددة ، VOX, لوحة الطباعة, مدون، أو وورد، هو أنهم يمتلكون حركة المرور الخاصة بك ، وليس أنت. أنت تعتمد على خوادمهم وتغييرات نظامهم الأساسي ووقت تعطلهم وكل شيء! الشيء الوحيد الذي تملكه هو صوتك.

هذه ليست مشكلة كبيرة إذا كنت تريد فقط الاحتفاظ بمجلة هناك. لكن غيرت رأيك في المستقبل وقررت أنك تريد أن تكون جادًا بشأن التدوين ، وربما تحصل على بعض الإعلانات ، وما إلى ذلك ، وخمن ماذا؟ أنت عالق ... يتم الآن فهرسة صوتك (المحتوى) في جميع محركات البحث الرئيسية على موقع الويب الخاص بشخص آخر. هذا يعني أنهم يمتلكون حركة المرور ، وليس أنت.

وماذا يحدث إذا صعدوا إلى أعلى البطن؟ ماذا لو أصبح أداء الخادم أو البرنامج سيئًا للغاية لدرجة لا يمكن تفسيرها بحيث تحتاج إلى تركها. لحسن الحظ ، يمكنك أخذ منشوراتك ولكن ، للأسف ، لا يمكنك أخذ فهرسة محرك البحث الخاص بك. يمكن أن يؤدي ذلك إلى تأخرك لأسابيع وشهور بينما تنتظر الجميع لفهرسة موقعك وتحديث جميع مراجعهم إلى موقعك. في نهاية هذا الأسبوع ، قمت بنقل موقعي إلى حساب مختلف ، وستستمر جميع الروابط ونتائج البحث في العمل كما كانت تفعل من قبل. أوصي أيضًا باستخدام بنية ارتباط دائمة بحيث إذا انتقلت إلى نظام أساسي مختلف ، يمكنك الحفاظ على بنية الارتباط الخاصة بك.

نصيحتي للمدونين الجدد؟

امتلك مجال مدونتك! لا تدع فنيك يسجله لك. تحتاج إلى امتلاكه ، وتحتاج إلى تجديده ، وتحتاج إلى متابعته. إن امتلاك نطاق يشبه امتلاك عنوان شارعك ، فهل تضع هذا العقار في اسم شخص آخر؟ لماذا تفعل ذلك مع عملك أو مدونتك؟

نصيحتي لمنصات التدوين؟

عرض خدمات خادم الأسماء. سيسمح لي هذا بتسجيل اسم المجال مع المسجل المفضل لدي ، ولكن قم بتوجيه خادم الاسم إلى موقعك. إذا قررت نقل مدونتي أو موقعي إلى مضيف مختلف ، يمكنني ببساطة نقل موقعي وتحديث خادم الاسم الخاص بي. يمكن أن يكون هذا نموذج "الدفع لكل استخدام" أيضًا. أود أن أتجنب خدمات تسجيل اسم المجال لأنها يمكن أن تكون بمثابة ألم في المؤخرة وسيتعين عليك إضافة كل أنواع الدعم والتكامل إلى موقعك. ولكن امتلاك خادم اسم المجال الذي يوجه http://mydomain.com إلى http://mydomain.theirdomain.com أمر بسيط للغاية.

4 تعليقات

  1. 1

    أنا أتفق تمامًا ، دوغلاس. لماذا تسليم السيطرة على المحتوى أنت خلقت لشخص آخر؟
    أتذكر عندما اضطررت إلى دفع 72 دولارًا لنطاقي الأول ، لكن التكلفة هذه الأيام ليست سببًا حقيقيًا لعدم الحصول على نطاقك الخاص. ولا يزال هناك الكثير من الأسماء الإبداعية المتاحة. (وهذه فقط من بحثي بعد ظهر اليوم ...).

    في ملاحظة مختلفة تمامًا ، بما أنك ذكرت نموذج عمل لمزودي منصة التدوين ؛ لطالما تساءلت: كيف يكسب WordPress المال؟ هل هو مجرد تبرعات ، وهل هذا ينجح بالفعل؟

    إنني مندهش من حقيقة أن مالك ويكيبيديا يرفض وضع لافتة إعلانية على موقعه. احترام!

  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

    شكرا للإشارة إلى رسالتي ، دوغ. أنا أقدر ذلك.

    أنا أوافق تمامًا على امتلاك المجال الخاص بك في أقرب وقت ممكن إن لم يكن صحيحًا من بداية التدوين. أنت تفتح الكثير من الخيارات لنفسك. والأشياء تميل إلى النمو. يمكنك البدء في التجريب فقط لمعرفة ما إذا كنت ترغب في ذلك ، ومن ثم استخدم النظام الأساسي لشخص آخر. ولكن إذا اكتشفت أنك تعجبك وتريد المزيد من الحرية ، فقد دعت الكثير من العمل لنفسك والعواقب الأخرى التي تحدثت عنها.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing, Technology

Own Your Domain!

One of the new features of Blogger is that you can host the application on your domain. (I noticed they offer using your Google Account login on the new platform, too. That’s nice). WordPress has offered to host your blog, customizing your theme, adding plugins, etc. for quite a while now. I believe it’s one of the key reasons why I chose WordPress… I wanted to own my domain.

Why?

The problem with starting your blog and running it on one of the many platforms, vox, typepad, blogger, or wordpress, is that they own your traffic, not you. You are reliant upon their servers, their platform changes, their downtime, everything! The only thing you ‘own’ is your voice.

That’s not a big issue if you just want to keep a journal out there. But changing your mind down the road and deciding you want to be serious about blogging, perhaps get some advertising, etc., and guess what? You’re stuck… all the major search engines now have your voice (content) indexed at someone else’s website. That means they own the traffic, not you.

And what happens if they go belly up? What if their server performance or software gets so inexplicably terrible that you need to leave them. Fortunately, you can take your posts with but, unfortunately, you can not take your search engine indexing. That can set you behind for weeks and months as you wait on everyone to index your site and update all of their references to your site. This weekend, I moved my site to a different account, and all of my links and search results continue to work as they did before. I would also recommend utilizing a permanent link structure so that if you move to a different platform, you can maintain your link structure.

My advice to new bloggers?

Own your blog domain! Don’t even let your ‘techy’ register it for you. You need to own it, you need to renew it, you need to keep track of it. Owning a domain is like owning your street address, would you put that real estate in someone else’s name? Why would you do it with your business or your blog?

My advice to blogging platforms?

Offer name server services. This would allow me to register a domain name with my favorite registrar, but point my name server to your site. If I decide to move my blog or site to a different host, I could simply move my site and update my name server. This could be a ‘pay per use’ model as well. I would avoid domain name registration services since they can be a pain in the butt and you’d have to add all sorts of support and integration to your site. But having a domain name server that points http://mydomain.com to http://mydomain.theirdomain.com is quite simple.

4 Comments

  1. 1

    I totally agree, Douglas. Why hand over the control of the content you created to someone else?
    I remember when I had to pay $72 for my first domain, but these days cost isn’t really a reason for not getting your own domain. And there are still a lot of creative names available. (And those stem just from my one-afternoon-research…).

    On a totally different note, since you mention a business model for the blogging platform providers; I have always wondered: how does WordPress make money? Is it just donations, and does that actually work?

    I am amazed by the fact that the owner of wikipedia refuses to have banner ads on their site. Respect!

  2. 2

    I have gone through the trouble of being late in getting a domain name. The reason I bought my domain name was because I wanted to experiment more. However, I did feel the pain of moving.

  3. 3
  4. 4

    Thanks for referring to my post, Doug. I appreciate it.

    I’m in complete agreement about owning your own domain as soon as possible if not right from the start of blogging. You open up a lot more options for yourself. And things tend to grow. You may start out experimenting just to see if you like it, and so use someone else’s platform. But if you find out you do like it and want more freedom, you’ve invited a lot of work for yourself and the other consequences you talked about.

Leave a Reply