سر بناء علامتك التجارية مثل Nike أو Coca-Cola

تقدم Nike العديد من المنتجات للرياضي التنافسي
تقدم Nike منتجات متعددة للرياضي التنافسي.

في هيكل العلامات التجارية الأمريكية ، يوجد حقًا نوعان فقط من العلامات التجارية: تركز على المستهلك or تركز على المنتج.

إذا كنت ستقوم بأي عمل يتلاعب بعلامتك التجارية ، أو كنت تتقاضى رواتبًا للتغلب على العلامة التجارية لشخص آخر ، فمن الأفضل أن تعرف نوع العلامة التجارية التي لديك. تختلف قواعد كيفية التعامل مع كل منها اختلافًا كبيرًا وتمتد إلى إرسال الرسائل أو تطوير منتج جديد أو اختيار القناة أو ميزات / مزايا المنتج أو أي خيار آخر لتطوير المنتجات أو التسويق.

بالطبع سوف تسأل: "أليس من المفترض أن تركز جميع الشركات ذات العلامات التجارية على كل من المستهلك والمنتج؟" نعم. ولكن ما يهم هنا هو ما تتمحور حوله العلامة التجارية وكيف تنوي النمو. دعنا نتعمق في:

علامة تجارية تركز على المستهلك

تحدد العلامة التجارية التي تركز على العملاء نوعًا رئيسيًا من المستخدم ، ثم تقدم بقلق شديد المنتجات التي تلبي احتياجات المستخدم. تبدو خريطة هذا النوع من العلامات التجارية كما يلي:

يسلم Nike عدة =
أمثلة لبعض العلامات التجارية الرائعة التي تركز على المستهلك: نايك ، أبل ، بي إم دبليو ، هارلي ديفيدسون

في حالة Nike ، تتمحور العلامة التجارية حول رياضي تنافسي. تركز Nike كل اهتمامها على الرياضي ، ولكنها تقدم أكثر بكثير من الأحذية ؛ يقدمون جميع المنتجات المحيطة التي يحتاجها الرياضي للتجربة. على سبيل المثال ، في كرة السلة تبيع Nike الأحذية ، والاحماء ، والسراويل القصيرة ، والقميص ، وربطة الرأس ، وزجاجة الماء ، والحقيبة الرياضية ، والمنشفة ، والكرة. الشيء الوحيد الذي لا يبيعونه هو ملعب كرة السلة ، لكنهم على الأرجح يرعونه.

قد تبدو فكرة أنهم يبيعون كل منتجات كرة السلة هذه نقطة صغيرة ، لكنها ليست كذلك. إنه جزء لا يتجزأ مما يجعل Nike علامة تجارية رائعة تركز على المستهلك. لقد بدأوا كشركة أحذية ، وانتهى بهم الأمر كمكان للذهاب لتجربة رياضية. لقد قاموا بتجميع خطوط إنتاج متعددة ، باستخدام مصانع متعددة ، بتقنيات متعددة ، في فكرة واحدة متماسكة لكرة السلة.

على النقيض من هذه النقطة: إذا كان Cole-Haan سيفعل هذا حول عمل احترافي. سيتعين عليهم بناء شركة لا تبيع الأحذية الرسمية فحسب ، بل تبيع أيضًا بدلات العمل والقمصان والعلاقات وحقائب الأوراق والورق والأقلام وأكواب القهوة. تخيل نوع جهود تطوير المنتج التي سيستغرقها بناء كل هذه الخطوط. (وهذا هو بالضبط ما هم عليه فعل)

علامة تجارية تركز على المنتج

تحدد العلامة التجارية التي تركز على المنتج نوعًا رئيسيًا من المشكلات ، ثم تقدم بقلق شديد الحل لأي نوع من المستخدمين يواجه هذه المشكلة. تبدو خريطة هذا النوع من العلامات التجارية كما يلي:

ركز فحم الكوك على توصيل الكولا إلى مضاعف
(أمثلة على بعض العلامات التجارية الرائعة التي تركز على المنتج: تايد ، كريست ، كلينكس ، كوكاكولا ، ماكدونالدز ، مارلبورو ، جوجل)

قامت شركة Coca-Cola بعمل رائع في الحل العطش / الرضا مشاكل لجميع أنواع العملاء. لا تصنع كوكاكولا أي شيء آخر غير الكولا ، ولكنها تقدم لها مجموعة متنوعة من الطرق بحيث لا يكاد يوجد شخص على قيد الحياة لا يفهم عرض منتجات الكولا.

إنهم يغيرون فقط عددًا قليلاً من المكونات (السكر والكافيين) وطرق التوصيل (النافورة ، الزجاجة ، العلبة) ويمكنهم ضرب أي مستهلك هناك. بعض الأمثلة: للعائلة في المنزل: 2 لتر زجاجة ؛ للشخص الواعي بالوزن أثناء التنقل: 12 أونصة من علب فحم الكوك ؛ لعشاء الوجبات السريعة الذين يريدون الكثير من القيمة: نافورة الصودا التي لا نهاية لها ؛ لراعي بار الفندق الفاخر: قناني زجاجية سعة 8 أونصة. نفس المنتج ، تلبية احتياجات العملاء المختلفة.

إذن ، ما نوع العلامة التجارية التي أمتلكها؟

هناك اختبار سهل لتحديد نوع العلامة التجارية التي تعمل معها. لكن أولاً ، ملاحظة حول سبب حاجتك إلى معرفة ذلك كمتخصص في التسويق أو تطوير المنتجات. إذا كنت تعرف نوع علامتك التجارية ، فستخبرك بذلك ما الذي عليك عدم فعله.

أي ، لا تغير العميل إذا كانت لديك علامة تجارية تركز على العميل ، ولا تغير منتج علامة تجارية تركز على المنتج. أعلم أن هذا يبدو غبيًا ، لكنني جلست كثيرًا في اجتماعات تطوير المنتجات لأعتقد أن ذلك لن يحدث. في الواقع ، أراهن في مكان ما في إيطاليا ، أن هناك موظفًا رائعًا في Ferrari (العميل: رجل سرعة مفتول) يقترح تقديم خط SUV جديد (العميل: soccer mom). كل ذلك لأنهم لا يفهمون تركيزهم.

ما هو اختبار عباد الشمس؟ سهل:

  1. إذا كنت تريد وضع شعار العلامة التجارية في مكان ما على جسمك ، أو لصق سيارتك به ، فهو ملف العلامة التجارية التي تركز على العملاء.
  2. إذا كنت تفكر بشدة في العلامة التجارية ، لكنك لا تريد ارتدائها ، فهي علامة تجارية تركز على المنتج.
  3. إذا كنت لا ترغب في ارتداء العلامة التجارية ، أو التفكير فيها جيدًا ، فهي مجرد علامة تجارية سيئة.

3 تعليقات

  1. 1

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing

The Secret of Building Your Brand like Nike or Coca-Cola

Nike delivers multiple products to the competitive athlete
Nike delivers multiple products to the competitive athlete.

In the American branding structure, there are really only two types of brands: consumer-focused or product-focused.

If you are going to do any work mucking around with your brand, or you are getting paid to muck around with someone else’s brand, you’d better know which type of brand you have. The rules of how to work around each are VERY different and extend all the way down to messaging, new product development, channel selection, product features/benefits, or any other Product Development or Marketing choice.

Of course, you are going to ask: “Aren’t all branded companies supposed to be focused on the both consumer AND the product?” Well, yes. But what matters here what the brand is centered around, and how it intends to grow. Let’s dive in:

A Consumer-Focused Brand

A customer-focused brand identifies a key type of user, and then obsessively delivers products that meet the user’s needs. The map of this type of brand looks like this:

Nike delivers multiple=
Examples of some great consumer-focused brands: Nike, Apple, BMW, Harley-Davidson

In the case of Nike, the brand is centered around the Competitive Athlete. Nike focuses all of their attention on the Athlete, but delivers much more than shoes; they deliver all the surrounding products that the Athlete needs for experience. For instance, in basketball Nike sells the shoes, the warm-ups, the shorts, the jersey, the headband, the water bottle, the athletic bag, the towel, and the ball. The only thing they don’t sell is the basketball court, but they probably sponsor it.

The idea that they sell all of these basketball products may seem like a small point, but it isn’t. It is part and parcel of what makes Nike such a great consumer-focused brand. They started as a shoe company, and have ended up as THE place to go for Athletic experience. They have wrapped up multiple product lines, using multiple factories, with multiple technologies, into one cohesive basketball idea.

To contrast this point: If Cole-Haan were to do this around the Business Professional. They would have to build a company that not only sold dress shoes, but also sold business suits, dress shirts, ties, briefcases, folios, pens, and coffee mugs. Imagine the type of product development effort it would take to build all those lines. (which is exactly what they are doing)

A Product-Focused Brand

A product-focused brand identifies a key type of problem, then obsessively delivers the solution to any type of user that encounters that problem. The map of this type of brand looks like this:

Coke focused on delivering cola to multiple=
(Examples of some great product-focused brands: Tide, Crest, Kleenex, Coke, McDonalds, Marlboro, Google)

Coca-Cola has done an admirable job of solving thirst/satisfaction problems for all types of customers. Coke isn’t making anything other than cola, but delivers it such a wide variety of ways that there is barely a person alive who doesn’t understand the Coke product offering.

They only change a few ingredients (sugar and caffeine) and delivery methods (fountain, bottle, can) and can hit any consumer out there. A few examples: For the family at home: 2 liter bottles; for the on-the-go weight-conscious person: 12 oz diet coke cans; for the fast food diner who want lots of value: the endless soda fountain; for the swanky hotel bar patron: 8 oz glass bottles. Same product, different customers needs met.

So, what type of brand do I have?

There is an easy litmus test for determining the type of brand you are working with. But first, a note on why you need to know this as a marketing or product development professional. If you know what type of brand you are, it tells you what not to do.

Namely, don’t change the customer if you have a customer-focused brand, and don’t change the product of a product-focused brand. I know this sounds dumb, but I have sat in way too many Product Development meetings to think it doesn’t happen. In fact, I bet somewhere in Italy, there is a brilliant?employee at Ferrari (customer: macho speed guy) proposing that they introduce a new SUV line (customer: soccer mom). All because they don’t understand their focus.

What is the litmus test? Easy:

  1. If you want to put the brand’s logo somewhere on your body, or sticker your car with it, it is a customer-focused brand.
  2. If you think highly of the brand, but you don’t want to wear it, it is a product-focused brand.
  3. If you neither want to wear the brand, or think highly of it, it is just a bad brand.

3 Comments

  1. 1

Leave a Reply