5 البرامج كعقد خدمة احتيالات يجب تجنبها

بصفتنا وكالة تدعم عملائنا بشكل كامل ، فإننا نشتري عقودًا للتطبيقات والمنصات لدعم جهود عملائنا بشكل كامل. معظم تلك العلاقات مع البرمجيات كخدمة بائعو (SaaS) رائعون - يمكننا التسجيل عبر الإنترنت ويمكننا الإلغاء عند الانتهاء. على الرغم من ذلك ، فقد حصلنا فعليًا على عدد قليل من العقود في العام الماضي. في النهاية ، كانت الطباعة الدقيقة أو المبيعات المضللة هي التي أدت بنا إلى خسارة قدر كبير من الأموال. لن أقوم بتسمية الأسماء هنا ، لكن بعض الشركات تحظى بشعبية كبيرة - لذا كن حذرًا. الشركات التي تستفيد من عمليات الاحتيال هذه لن تحصل أبدًا على عملي أو توصيتي.

  1. مدد العقد الدنيا - تنفق شركات البرمجيات كخدمة مع إدارة الحسابات وعمليات الإعداد الكثير من الأموال على اكتساب عميل جديد وتشغيله. إنه مبلغ كبير من المال - صدقني. من خلال العمل في مؤسسة ESP في الماضي ، قد ننفق آلاف الدولارات على إرسال العميل لأول بريد إلكتروني له. نتيجة لذلك ، كان اشتراط حد أدنى من مدة العقد أمرًا ضروريًا لصحة الشركة ، والمشكلة هي أن العديد من SaaS للخدمة الذاتية قرروا إخفاء الحد الأدنى من مدد العقد في شروطهم ، إذا كان بإمكانك الاشتراك مع بطاقتك الائتمانية وابدأ في استخدام حسابك اليوم ، يجب أن تكون قادرًا على إلغاء حسابك اليوم. ابحث عن الطباعة الدقيقة. لقد وجدنا محركًا لتحسين محركات البحث (SEO) اشتركنا فيه ولم نرق إلى مستوى التوقعات ، كان لديه عقد لمدة 6 أشهر كحد أدنى. أنا واثق تمامًا من أن الحد الأدنى من المتطلبات كان ببساطة لأن نظامهم الأساسي قد تجاوز الوعود ، ولم يتم تسليمه جيدًا وكانوا يخدعون العملاء للحصول على المزيد من المال.
  2. وقع اليوم ، بيل غدا - ممثل مبيعات SaaS الخاص بك هو أفضل صديق لك حتى تغلق. هناك كلمة أخرى لـ وعد المبيعات هذا غير مكتوب في العقد. يطلق عليه كذبة. لقد وقعنا عقدًا سنويًا مع بائع منصة رئيسي في أواخر العام الماضي. كان موظف المبيعات تحت ضغط كبير وأراد أن يقترب من السلك لهذا العام ، لذلك وعدنا بأنه لن يقوم بالفواتير حتى نبدأ في استخدام المنصة. عندما لم أدفع الفاتورة على الفور ، تم إرسالها إلى التحصيل. الآن شركة التحصيل تضايقنا. حتى يومنا هذا ، لم أستخدم المنصة مطلقًا ولا أدفع الفاتورة. يمكنهم رفع دعوى إذا رغبوا في ذلك. سأكون على يقين من أنهم ينفقون في الفواتير القانونية أكثر من أي وقت مضى يحصلون على دولار مني.
  3. حزم الوكالة - شجعتني إحدى الشركات التي كنت على علاقة شخصية معها قبل عامين على توقيع عقد وكالة معهم. بموجب عقد الوكالة ، ندفع حدًا أدنى للرسوم الشهرية ثم أ لكل عميل رسوم شهرية مخفضة تبلغ حوالي 75٪ من تكلفة البيع بالتجزئة. مكنتنا حزمة الوكالة من الحصول على دعم متميز ، والوصول الكامل إلى جميع الميزات ، والحصول على مقعد في اللجنة الاستشارية للمنتجات ، وإدراجنا كوكالة معتمدة على موقعهم. بدا الأمر وكأنه صفقة مثالية - حتى قرأنا أنه كان علينا توفير 100٪ من الدعم لعملائنا. الناس - هذا هو المكان كل التكاليف هي! كان عليّ أن أوقع عشرات العملاء لأتمكن من تحمل تكاليف فريق دعم مخصص ولا يزال من الممكن الاستفادة من العلاقة. سنستمر في إحالة العملاء إلى هذا المزود ، لكننا لن نوقع أبدًا على أوراق الوكالة.
  4. رسوم الاستخدام والزيادة - تتمتع شركات البرمجيات العظيمة بشفافية كبيرة بشأن رسوم استخدامها - خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر عجوز الرسوم. نحن نحب نماذج مثل Amazon التي تفرض رسومًا على الاستخدام وتخصم كلما زاد استخدامك لمنصاتهم. شركات مثل الخرافة سوف ينقلك بشكل جيد لأعلى أو لأسفل بناءً على عقدك بناءً على عدد السجلات ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني التي ترسلها. كلما أرسلت أكثر ، انخفض سعر كل إرسال. تعاقبك شركات أخرى بالفعل على الاستخدام. لقد فوجئنا عندما أخطرتنا منصة تسويق داخلية ضخمة بأنها تضاعف تكاليفنا أربع مرات عندما استوردنا جميع جهات الاتصال الخاصة بنا إلى نظامهم - وهو شيء ليس كذلك تمت مناقشته في عملية البيع (تم الكشف عنها على موقعهم ولكننا فوتناها). تتقاضى الشركات الأخرى علاوة عند تجاوز الاستخدام المخصص لنظامها (النطاق الترددي ، والحسابات ، ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني ، والحملات ، وما إلى ذلك). تأكد من أن رسوم الاستخدام والزيادة مرتبطة بعائد الاستثمار وتشجع بالفعل على استخدام النظام بدلاً من تثبيط الاستخدام.
  5. يجدد ذاتيا - لا يمكنني إخبارك بعدد مرات تمزيق الشركات التي اشتركت معها لاختبار برامجها ، فقمت بإلغائها ، ثم تم تحصيل الرسوم مرة أخرى في الشهر التالي. لا يهم حجم الشركة ، فقد حدث هذا لي من خلال ارتباطات صغيرة وكبيرة. اكتشف مسبقًا ما إذا كانت العقود يتم تجديدها تلقائيًا وتأكد من أن الشركة تطلب إذنك قبل التجديد أو المضي قدمًا إذا لم تكن لديك خطط فورية للتجديد.

تعتبر العقود وشروط الخدمة وشروط الفوترة ضرورية لفهم علاقتك مع البائع. اكتشف ما يحدث لعقدك وعلاقتك مع البائع إذا واجهت شركتك هذه المشكلات:

  • إلغاء - لم تعد بحاجة إلى منصة Saas أو لا يمكنك تحمل تكاليفها. ستقدم شركات الخدمة الذاتية عادةً إشعارًا لمدة 30 يومًا أو حتى الإلغاء الفوري عبر نظامها الأساسي. احذر من الشركة التي تقوم بالتسجيل فيها عبر الإنترنت باستخدام بطاقة ائتمان ولكن يتعين عليك الاتصال بالهاتف لإيقاف حسابك. من السهل إيقاف الفوترة عبر الإنترنت بنفس سهولة بدء تشغيلها! بالنسبة للشركات التي لديها استشارات ودعم ، يكون الحد الأدنى للعقود لمدة 6 أشهر أو نحو ذلك أكثر نموذجية.
  • الأستعمال - يمكنك تغيير الاستخدام بشكل ملحوظ - إما بالزيادة أو النقصان. يجب أن يتم خصمك لعدم استخدام النظام أو استخدامه لأدنى حد ، ولا يجب معاقبتك على الاستخدام المفرط لمنصة البرامج. يجب أن يتم تعديل الأسعار للاستخدام ويجب أن يزيد عائد الاستثمار كلما استخدمت النظام أكثر.

إن وجود محام جاهز دائمًا هو أفضل خطة! في العديد من المرات التي تعرضنا فيها للسرقة كان ذلك ببساطة لأننا لم نمرر العقد من قبل محامينا الرائعين في أليردنج كاستور هيويت.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Analytics & Testing, Ecommerce and Retail, , Marketing Automation, Search Marketing,

5 Software as a Service Contract Scams to Avoid

As an agency who fully supports our clients, we purchase contracts for applications and platforms quite a bit to fully support our clients’ efforts. Most of those relationships with Software as a Service (SaaS) vendors are fantastic – we can sign up online and we can cancel when we’re done. In the last year, though, we’ve literally been taken on quite a few contracts. Ultimately, it was fine print or misleading sales that led to us losing quite a bit of funds. I’m not going to name names here, but some of the companies are quite popular – so be careful. Companies that take advantage of these scams will never get my business or my recommendation.

  1. Minimum Contract Lengths – Software as a Service companies with account management and onboarding processes spend a lot of money on acquiring and getting a new client up and running. It’s A LOT of money – trust me. Working for an enterprise ESP in the past, we might spend tends of thousands of dollars getting a client sending their first email. As a result, requiring a minimum contract length was imperative to the health of the company.The problem is that many self-service SaaS have decided that they’re going to hide minimum contract lengths in their terms.If you can sign up with a credit card and begin using your account today, you should be able to cancel your account today. Look up the fine print. We found an SEO engine we signed up for and didn’t live up to expectations had a 6 month minimum contract. I’m quite confident the minimum requirement was simply because their platform over-promised, under-delivered and they were just scamming customers for more money.
  2. Sign Today, Bill Tomorrow – Your SaaS sales representative is your best friend right up until you close. There’s another word for a sales promise that isn’t written into a contract. It’s called a lie. We signed an annual contract with a major platform vendor late last year. The sales person was under a lot of pressure and wanted to get the close in under the wire for the year so he promised us they wouldn’t bill until we started to use the platform.We signed and and promptly were invoiced for the platform. When I didn’t pay the bill promptly, it was sent to collections. Now the collections company is harassing us. To this day, I’ve never used the platform and I’m not paying the bill. They can sue if they’d like to. I’ll be sure they spend more in legal bills than ever get a dollar from me.
  3. Agency Packages – A company that I had a personal relationship with encouraged me a couple years ago to sign an agency contract with them. Under the agency contract, we would pay a minimum monthly fee and then a per client discounted monthly fee of about ~75% of the retail cost.The agency package enabled us to get premium support, full access to all the features, a seat on the product advisory committee, and get listed as an authorized agency on their site. It sounded like a perfect deal – until we read that we had to provide 100% of the support to our clients. Folks – that’s where all the costs are! I would have had to sign dozens of clients to be able to afford a dedicated support staff and still profit from the relationship. We’ll continue to refer clients to this provider, but we’ll never sign the agency paperwork.
  4. Usage and Overage Fees – Great software companies are very transparent about their usage fees – especially when it comes to overage fees. We love models like Amazon that charge for usage and discount the greater you utilize their platforms. Companies like Circupress will nicely move you up or down on your contract based on the number of records and emails you’re sending. The more you send, the lower the price per send.Other companies actually penalize you for usage.We were surprised when a HUGE inbound marketing platform notified us that they were quadrupling our costs when we imported all of our contacts into their system – something not discussed in the sales process (it was disclosed on their site but we missed it). Other companies charge a premium when you go over your allotted usage of their system (bandwidth, accounts, emails, campaigns, etc.). Be sure that usage and overage fees are relative to your return on investment and actually encourages use of the system rather than discourages usage.
  5. Auto-renew – I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been ripped by companies who I signed up with to test their software, I canceled it, and then the next month I was charged again. It doesn’t matter what size the company, this has happened to me with small engagements and enormous ones. Find out ahead of time if contracts are auto-renewed and make sure the company requires your permission before renewing or moving forward if you have no immediate plans of renewing.

Contracts, Terms of Service and Billing Terms are critical to understanding your relationship with a vendor. Find out what happens to your contract and relationship with a vendor if your company runs into these issues:

  • Cancellation – you no longer require or can afford the Saas platform. Self-service companies will typically offer a 30-day notice or even an immediate cancellation via their platform. Beware of the company you sign up online with a credit card but have to phone to discontinue your account. It’s just as easy to stop billing online as it easy to start it! For companies with onboarding, consultation and support, minimum contracts of 6 months or so are more typical.
  • Usage – You might change usage significantly – either increased or decreased. You should be discounted for non-use or minimal usage of a system and you should not be penalized for excessive use of a Software platform. Pricing should adjust for usage and your return on investment should increase as you utilize the system more.

Having an attorney at the ready is always the best plan! Many times that we were ripped off it was simply because we didn’t pass the contract by our fantastic attorneys at Alerding Castor Hewitt.

Leave a Reply