تخطي السيرة الذاتية ومعرض العمل

خط الناس

يوم الأحد ، كنت أعمل على خطط شركة ناشئة أخرى وأجريت مناقشة مع جميع شركائي حول الشفافية والإنترنت. لا يختلف الأمر. كقادة أعمال ، يجب أن يكونوا أمام القطيع ، يحتاجون إلى معرفة وجودهم ، يحتاجون إلى الحصول على صور يمكن للناس رؤيتها. إنهم بحاجة إلى الخروج من قوقعتهم الطبيعية المتمثلة في كونهم انطوائيين إذا كانوا يريدون منا الحصول على التمويل والعثور على الموارد.

إذا كنت عاطلاً عن العمل ، فعليك أن تفعل الشيء نفسه.

الشركة التي أعمل بها تقوم بالتوظيف. لن تجدهم في معرض الوظائف مع الشركات الكبيرة التي تملأ مناصب مسدودة في مزارعها الصغيرة. لن تجدهم يتجولون من خلال السير الذاتية أيضًا. لن تجدهم أيضًا يشترون مساحة على موقع ويب مطلوب للمساعدة عبر الإنترنت.

نجد مرشحين رائعين من خلال شبكة زملائنا (بما في ذلك شركات التوظيف) ونبحث عنهم على Google لنرى كيف سيكونون مناسبين في شركة وسائط اجتماعية. إنها شركة رائعة. إنها شركة متنامية. إنها شركة مثيرة.

خصيصًا لمحترفي التسويق ، تخطي البدلة وربطة العنق واحصل على اسمك هناك. اضغط على اللحم في الأحداث المحلية ، احتفظ بمدونة ، تطوع لتدريس بعض الفصول للمحترفين الإقليميين ، واتصل بشبكتك وقم ببعض الاستشارات المجانية لهم. لا تجلس على الأريكة في انتظار رنين الهاتف.

إذا كنت عاطلاً عن العمل ، فأنا بصراحة لست متأكدًا من أنني أريد العمل لدى شركة لا تزال تتبع القطيع وتبحث عن نفس المرشحين من نفس المواقع على الإنترنت التي استخدموها قبل عقد من الزمن.

هذا هو وقتك ، فرصتك ، للخروج أمام المجموعة وصنع اسمًا لنفسك.

7 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

    إنه سوق لأصحاب العمل. في العادة ، لا يمكنك توظيف أفضل 10٪ ، لأن لديهم وظائف بالفعل ويجب إغراؤهم بعيدًا. لكن اليوم ، هناك أشخاص بارعون ومبدعون يعملون بجد بشكل استثنائي وليس لديهم وظائف. الشركات (مثل خلاصة صاحب العمل في دوغ) ذكية لتتوقع أن تكون قادرة على توظيف الأفضل دون الحاجة إلى الحفر.

    التقدم لوظيفة من الباب الأمامي ليس فكرة رائعة أبدًا ، وإذا كنت تريد وظيفة رائعة ، فمن المحتمل أن تكون مضيعة للوقت في هذا الاقتصاد. الآن لإظهار شغفك وكفاءتك في البحث عن وظيفة. أصحاب العمل الذين يستحقون العمل من أجلهم سيقدرون جهودك ويكافئونك بمكانة رائعة.

    تضمين التغريدة

  4. 4
  5. 5

    هذا مقال رائع ، فالكثير من الناس يغرقون في معارض الوظائف ولا يتم إنجاز أي شيء. إذا كان الناس يجلسون ويدركون إلى أين يذهبون للتوظيف ، فسيكونون أفضل حالًا.

  6. 6

    لقد قمت بالترويج لضرورة المشاركة في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وبناء قاعدة الاتصال الخاصة بك في LinkedIn وغيرها. يبدو أنه ليس مكانًا واحدًا يذهب إليه الناس للتعرف على المرشح ولكن المكان الأول.

    فكر فقط إذا كنت متصلاً بالفعل في السوق المستهدف ، وعلقت على مدونة شركات وتابعتهم على تويتر. إلى أي مدى ستكون مرتاحًا في تلك المقابلة؟ ربما الأهم من ذلك ، ما مدى راحة صاحب العمل؟

    أتفق مع دوغ ، الأشخاص الذين بدأوا للتو في استخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي منذ 6 أشهر يتقدمون أميالًا عن أولئك الذين لم يفعلوا ذلك.

  7. 7

    من الجيد أن أرى أنني لست الوحيد الذي يحصل على الكثير من الأشخاص الذين يبحثون عن وظيفة في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي التي لا تحتوي حتى على ملفات تعريف! إنه لأمر سيء للغاية أن بعض الناس لا يفكرون في اختيار صاحب العمل بحكمة - بدلاً من ذلك يريدون فقط الحصول على وظيفة - أي وظيفة.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

AdTech, Analytics & Testing, Content Marketing, Ecommerce and Retail, , Marketing Tools, Mobile and Tablet Marketing, Sales Enablement, Search Marketing,

Skip The Resume and the Job Fair

On Sunday, I was working on another startup’s plans and had a discussion with all of my partners about transparency and the Internet. It’s no different. As business leaders, they need to be out in front of the herd, need to have their presence known, need to have photos out there that people can see. They need to step outside their natural shell of being introverts if they want us to get funded and find resources.

If you’re unemployed, you need to do the same.

The company who I work for is hiring. You won’t find them at a job fair with large companies who are filling dead-end positions in their cubicle farms. You won’t find them scouring through resumes, either. You also won’t find them buying space on an online help-wanted classified site, either.

We find great candidates through our network of colleagues (including placement firms) and we research them on Google to see how they would fit into a social media company. It’s a great company. It’s a growing company. It’s an exciting company.

Specific to marketing professionals, skip the suit and tie and get your name out there. Press the flesh at local events, maintain a blog, volunteer to teach some classes for regional professionals, and contact your network and do some freebie consulting for them. Don’t sit on the couch waiting for the phone to ring.

If I were unemployed, I’m honestly not sure I want to work for a company who is still following the herd and lazily looking for the same candidates from the same online sites that they used a decade ago.

This is your time, your opportunity, to step out in front of the pack and make a name for yourself.

7 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

    It’s an employers market. Normally, you can’t hire the top 10%, because they already have jobs and have to be lured away. But today, there are exceptionally bright, creative hardworking people who don’t have jobs. Companies (such as Doug’s employer Compendium) are smart to expect to be able to hire the best of the best without having to dig.

    Applying for a job through the front door is never a great idea, and if you want a great job, it’s probably a waste of time in this economy. Now to show your passionate and competence in the job search. Employers worth working for will recognize your efforts and reward you with a great position.

    @robbyslaughter

  4. 4
  5. 5

    This is a great article, too many people flood the job fairs and nothing gets accomplished. If people would sit back and realize where to go to get hired they would be better off.

  6. 6

    I have been promoting the need to participate in social media and building your contact base in LinkedIn and others. It seems to be not one place people go to find out about a candidate but the 1st place.

    Just think if you were already connected in your target market, had commented on a companies blog and followed them on twitter. How comfortable would you be in that interview? Maybe more importantly, how comfortable would the employer be?

    I agree Doug, people that just started 6 months ago in social media are miles ahead of those who have not.

  7. 7

    Good to see I’m not the only one who gets a lot of people looking for a job in social media that don’t even have profiles! It’s too bad that some people don’t think about selecting their employer wisely – instead they just want to get a job – any job.

Leave a Reply