الأجهزة والبرامج… Webware؟

الحوسبة السحابية

في تطور صناعة الكمبيوتر ، كان لدينا أجهزة التبخير - المعدات اللازمة لتشغيل التطبيقات. وكان لدينا تطبيقات الكمبيوتر، الحلول التي استخدمت هذه الموارد للقيام بالعمل الذي يمكننا شراؤه وتثبيته من وسائط مختلفة. في الوقت الحاضر ، يمكنك تنزيل البرنامج بدون الوسائط.

عقدان من الأجهزة والبرامج

الأجهزة لديها ترقيات واستبدالات. لقد فقدت بصدق تتبع جميع أجهزة الكمبيوتر التي أمتلكها حتى الآن. لدي بقايا هيكلية لا تقل عن 5 مع كمبيوتر محمول ميت في منزلي.

يحتوي البرنامج على عمليات تثبيت وترقيات تقوم بتثبيت التغييرات في تطبيق البرنامج. إنه نظام قديم ما زلنا نعمل ونكافح معه اليوم. كان لدي تحديث برنامج في وقت سابق اليوم والذي تطلب مني إيقاف تشغيل جهاز MacBookPro وإعادة تشغيله. لم أحصل على تحديث OSX مطلقًا ، ولكن في كل مرة لا يسعني إلا أن أتألم قليلاً - معتقدًا أن الأسوأ سيحدث وسأفقد كل عملي. لدي محرك أقراص شبكة حيث أقوم بتخزين التطبيقات التي تم تنزيلها وملف الأقراص المضغوطة حيث أقوم بتخزين الباقي (وأجدهم دائمًا في عداد المفقودين).

برامج مثل Google Spreadsheet ، و Google Analytics ، و Gmail ، و ExactTarget ، والكثير من البرامج الأخرى تمر عبر "التطبيقات المستندة إلى الويب" أو "التطبيقات المستندة إلى المتصفح" أو حتى نستخدم اختصارًا ، ادارة العلاقات مع. إنه اختصار فظيع ويفسر نوع العمل التجاري أكثر من نوع "وير" هو عليه. كذلك ، لا تزال العديد من تطبيقات SaaS تحتوي على ترقيات أو إصدارات رئيسية. لا تتطلب عمليات تثبيت أو إعادة تشغيل ، لكنها غير متاحة لفترات زمنية.

قد يكون الاسم المثالي لتطبيقات اليوم هو Netware ، لكنه يبدو كذلك نوفيل يحمل هذا المصطلح علامة تجارية. قد تعمل برامج الويب ، لكنها تبدو كذلك C | صافي يستخدم ذلك. يبدو أن برنامج المتصفح قد يكون احتمالًا - لكنه مقطع لفظي إضافي.

لماذا لا Webware؟

خلاصة القول هي أن Webware (لم ألاحظ علامة تجارية) هي التطور التالي لتطبيقاتنا. اليوم ، ليست هناك حاجة لتوقف التطبيقات عن العمل. لدينا مئات الصفحات في تطبيقنا في العمل ويمكننا إنشاء صفحات جديدة دون إزالة القديمة. أنا متأكد من أن القليل من التطوير يمكن أن يحدث أيضًا حيث يمكن للمستخدمين أن تحدث انتقالات بين التطبيقات القديمة والجديدة.

يمكن نسخ قواعد البيانات بسرعة ، أو إنشاء جداول مؤقتة جديدة لاستيعاب الانتقال. بالتأكيد ، إنه عمل إضافي ، لكن وجهة نظري هي أنه ممكن. لم يعد علينا مقاطعة عملائنا بعد الآن.

ليس لدي محرك أقراص مرنة في منزلي. نادرًا ما أستخدم قرص CD / DVD الخاص بي أيضًا. عمليًا كل شيء أفعله الآن قائم على الويب. عندما أقوم بتنزيل برنامج وتثبيته ، عادةً ما أحفظ نسخة على ملف بوفالو تك محرك أقراص الشبكة.

حتى في الأعمال التجارية ، هذا ليس ضروريًا. عندما بدأت أصغر إنديانا بالنسبة لبات كويل ، لم نذهب مع مضيف. تم إنشاء التطبيق واستضافته مع نينغ. لدينا جميع إعدادات المجال التي تشير إلى تطبيقات Google حيث يمكننا استخدام البريد الإلكتروني ومُحرر مستندات Google. لا توجد أجهزة ولا برامج ... لكن برامج الويب.

لماذا لا نسميها Webware؟

6 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 2

    دوغلاس:
    احب ذلك. لكن ألا تتجاهل "البرامج الوسيطة" التي كانت ستحل جميع مشاكلنا في التسعينيات. أنا أحب برامج الويب. المثير للاهتمام أنه لا توجد علامة تجارية. من المؤسف أن عنوان URL اتخذ مثل أي شيء آخر.

  3. 3

    أنا حقًا أحب جميع التطبيقات المستندة إلى الويب والتي تستمر في الظهور وتتم إضافتها إلى مجموعة أدواتي. أنا أستخدم مستندات Google بشكل مجنون وبالنسبة لشخص يستخدم 3-4 أجهزة كمبيوتر مختلفة في يوم واحد ، فهو منقذ للحياة.

    ومع ذلك ، في كل مرة أبدأ في استخدام خدمة جديدة على شبكة الإنترنت ، هناك دائمًا هذا الصوت الصغير في الجزء الخلفي من رأسي يتذمر عند نقطة واحدة. هذه النقطة هي أنه عندما أفقد اتصال الإنترنت الخاص بي ، أفقد الوصول إلى جميع مستندات Google الخاصة بي ، وقاعدة بيانات فواتير العملاء الخاصة بي ، والبريد الإلكتروني الخاص بي ، والرسائل الفورية ، وصوري التي لا حصر لها على Flickr ، وما إلى ذلك

    هذا التحول نحو برامج الويب يجعلنا نضع المزيد والمزيد من بيضنا في سلة واحدة. ثم نربط حبلًا طويلًا بتلك السلة ونطرحه في الفضاء. طالما أن الحبل متصل ، كل شيء حلو. لكن عندما يختفي هذا الحبل ، قد أكون بدون كهرباء أيضًا.

    أعتقد أن وجهة نظري هنا هي أنه لكي تنطلق برامج الويب فعليًا ، نحتاج إلى وصول أكثر موثوقية وانتشارًا وزائدة عن الحاجة إلى الإنترنت. وامتلاك متصفح ويب على هاتفك ليس هو نفسه. بالتأكيد ، يمكنني توصيل الكمبيوتر المحمول الخاص بي بهاتفي المحمول فيريزون وتصفح الإنترنت ، ولكن إذا تجاوزت نطاقًا تردديًا معينًا أو حد التنزيل في شهر واحد ، فسيتم تمهيد تشغيلي. لا أحتاج إلى هذا النوع من التوتر.

  4. 4
  5. 5

    لقد كنت أقول نفس الشيء لبعض الوقت ... دائمًا ما أشير إلى تطبيقات CMS / عبر الإنترنت على أنها برامج ويب بالفعل ... أنا مندهش لأننا لم نسمع عنها أكثر.

  6. 6

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Technology

Hardware, Software… Webware?

In the evolution of the computer industry, we’ve had Hardware – the equipment necessary to run the applications. And we had Software, the solutions that utilized those resources to do the work that we could purchase and install from different media. Nowadays, you can download the software without the media.

Two Decades of Hardware and Software

Hardware has upgrades and replacements. I have honestly lost track of all the computers I’ve owned to date. I have the skeletal remains of no less than 5 along with one dead laptop in my home.

Software has installations and upgrades that install changes in the software application. It’s an antiquated system that we still work and struggle with today. I had a software update earlier today that required me to shut down and restart my MacBookPro. I’ve never had an OSX update go bad, but each time I can’t help but get a little pensive – thinking that the worst will happen and I’ll lose all my work. I have a network drive where I store my downloaded applications and a CD binder where I store the rest (and invariably find them missing).

Software like Google Spreadsheet, Google Analytics, Gmail, ExactTarget, and a ton of others go by ‘web-based applications’ or ‘browser-based applications’ or we even throw in an acronym, SaaS. It’s a terrible acronym and explains the type of business it is more than the type of ‘ware’ it is. As well, many SaaS applications still have upgrades or major releases. They don’t require installs or rebooting, but they are unavailable for periods of time.

The perfect name for today’s applications might be Netware, but it looks like Novell has that term trademarked. Webware might work, but it looks like C|Net is using that. It looks as though browserware may be a possibility – but it’s an extra syllable.

Why not Webware?

The bottom line is that Webware (I didn’t notice a trademark) is the next evolution of our applications. Today, there really is no need for applications to stop running. We have hundreds of pages in our application at work and can spin up new pages without ever taking down the old ones. I’m sure a little bit of development could happen as well where users can transitions can occur between the old and the new applications.

Databases can be replicated on the fly, or new temporary tables can be built to accomodate the transition. Sure, it’s extra work, but my point is that it’s possible. We don’t have to interrupt our customers anymore.

I don’t have a working floppy drive in my home. I rarely utilize my CD/DVD, either. Virtually everything I do is now web-based. When I do download and install software, I usually save a copy on my Buffalo Tech network drive.

Even in business, it’s not necessary. When I started up Smaller Indiana for Pat Coyle, we didn’t go with a host. The application is built and hosted with Ning. We have all of the domain settings pointing to Google Apps where we can use email as well as Google Docs. No hardware, no software… but webware.

Why don’t we call it Webware?

6 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 2

    Douglas:
    I like it. But aren’t you ignoring “middleware” which was going to solve all of our problems in the nineties. I like webware. Interesting that there is no trademark. A pity the URL has been taken like everything else.

  3. 3

    I really do love all the web-based apps that continue to emerge and get added to my toolkit. I use Google Docs like crazy and for someone who uses 3-4 different computers in a single day, it is a life saver.

    However, every time I start using a new web-based service, there is always this little voice in the back of my head nagging away at one point. That point is that when I lose my internet connection, I lose access to all of my Google Docs, my database of client invoices, my email, my IM, my countless photos on Flickr, etc. etc.

    This shift towards webware causes us to put more and more of our eggs in one basket. And then we tie a long rope to that basket and fling it out into space. As long as the rope is connected, everything is sweet. But when that rope disappears, I may as well be without power, too.

    I guess my point here is that in order for Webware to really take off, we need more reliable, pervasive, and redundant access to the internet. And having a web browser on your phone isn’t the same. Sure, I can connect my laptop to my verizon mobile phone and surf, but if I go over a certain bandwidth or download limit in a single month, I get booted. I don’t need that kind of stress.

  4. 4

    Funny you should mention this. I was just telling a client yesterday that so much of the software I run exists only on the Internet as web applications. Now I know what to call this stuff… webware!

  5. 5

    I’ve been saying the same thing for quite some time… I always refer to CMS/Online apps as webware already… I’m surprised we don’t hear about it more.

  6. 6

Leave a Reply