When I first reviewed this infographic, I was a bit skeptical that there were so many metrics missing… but the author was clear that they were focused on digital marketing campaigns and not an overall strategy.
There are other metrics we observe overall, like the number of ranking keywords and average rank, social shares, and share of voice… but a campaign typically has a finite start and stop, so not every metric is applicable in a defined campaign.
This infographic from Digital Marketing Philippines lists the key metrics to focus on when reviewing a digital marketing campaign, including:
Traffic Generation Metrics
- Number of Unique Visitors – this is the number of people who visit a website at least once within a specified period. It is determined using a combination of the user’s IP address, browser cookies, and other factors. If a person visits a website multiple times within the specified time period, they will only be counted as a single unique visitor. The unique visitor metric can measure the size of a website’s audience and the frequency with which people visit the site.
- Traffic Sources – including referral sources, direct visits, visitors from search, visitors from social media, visitors from emails, visitors from paid search, and other traffic that can not be attributed to a traffic source. This provides insight into how omnichannel strategies are investments in specific channels impacting your site traffic and conversions.
- Mobile Traffic – When a user visits a website, analytics will collect information about the device they use, including its device type, operating system, and screen size. This information is then used to classify the traffic as mobile or desktop. Understanding how mobile traffic impacts your business is important so that you can optimize experiences for the small screen.
- Click-Through Rate (CTR) – a measure of how effectively an advertisement or piece of online content attracts an audience. It is calculated by dividing the number of clicks the content receives by the number of impressions it receives, typically expressed as a percentage. A high CTR indicates that the content is resonating with its audience and effectively driving website traffic. A low CTR, on the other hand, may indicate that the content is not compelling or relevant to its audience.
- Cost-Per-Click (CPC) – a pricing model used in online advertising in which the advertiser pays a fee each time one of their ads is clicked, commonly used with PPC marketing. Measuring CPC helps marketers understand how much they are paying to acquire a new customer or lead through their advertising efforts. By optimizing their ad campaigns to achieve a lower CPC, advertisers can potentially reduce their overall marketing costs and increase their return on investment.
Converting website traffic into business leads or outright sales is the primary purpose for your digital marketing campaign.
- Conversion Rate (CVR) – the percentage of visitors to a website who complete the desired action, such as making a purchase or filling out a form. It is calculated by dividing the number of conversions by the total number of visitors, and it is typically expressed as a percentage. By optimizing their website to improve the conversion rate, website owners can potentially increase their revenue and improve their return on investment.
- Cost-Per-Lead (CPL) – is calculated by dividing the total cost of an ad campaign by the number of new customers or clients it generates. CPL gives marketers an understanding of how each campaign or channel is the best. For example, if an ad campaign costs $100 and generates 10 new customers or clients, the CPL would be $10.00.
- Bounce Rate – the percentage of visitors to a website who leave the site after viewing only a single page. It is calculated by dividing the number of single-page visits (also known as bounces) by the total number of visits to the site. A high bounce rate may indicate that visitors are not finding the content on the website relevant or engaging or that the website is not meeting their needs. It may be an indicator of targeting the wrong audience. A low bounce rate may indicate that you’re targeting the correct audience and visitors find the site content valuable and are exploring multiple pages.
- Average Page Views Per Visit – Average page views per visit is a metric that measures the average number of pages a visitor views during a single visit to a website. Page views per visit may drop if you have poor navigation or don’t offer the visitor other relevant content they were searching for.
- Average Cost Per Page View (CPV) – measures the average cost of displaying a video or an advertisement to a visitor. By optimizing their ad campaigns to achieve a lower average CPV, advertisers can potentially reduce their marketing costs and improve their return on investment.
- Average Time On Site – a metric that measures the average time a visitor spends on a website during a single session. It is calculated by dividing the total time visitors spend on the site by the total number of visits to the site. By analyzing this metric, website owners can identify areas of the site that may be performing poorly and work to improve them to increase visitor engagement.
- Rate Of Returning Visitors – a metric that measures the percentage of visitors to a website who have previously visited the site. It is calculated by dividing the number of returning visitors by the total number of visits to the site. It can provide insight into the loyalty of the site’s audience or your ability to advertise and get customers to return.
These will tell you if a particular campaign is profitable or not so that you can adjust how you can improve your content for better engagement, higher conversion rates, and more significant revenues.
- Return On Investment (ROI) – a measure of the profitability of an investment or marketing campaign. It is calculated by dividing the total return on an investment by the cost of the investment, and it is typically expressed as a percentage.
- Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) – the total cost that a business incurs in acquiring a new customer. It is calculated by dividing the total amount spent on marketing and sales efforts by the number of new customers acquired.