كن أنانيًا بشأن الشبكات غير الأنانية

أجريت هذا الأسبوع بعض المحادثات الصعبة مع بعض الشركات التي أهتم بها بشدة. إنهم يعرفون أنني أهتم لأنني حملتهم على عاتقهم وأنا أحاسبهم. شبكتي هي استثماري وحيث أحصل على أكبر عائد على الاستثمار.

  • دائمًا ما تحصل شركات التكنولوجيا التي أعمل معها على مكاسب مني. أنا دائما الإبلاغ عن المشكلات والأفكار والشهرة لفريقهم. لكل شخص يشتكي ، هناك المئات من الآخرين الذين سيتركونك ببساطة ويجدون بائعًا آخر. من الأهمية بمكان ، إذا كنت تهتم بمقدمي الحلول لديك ، أن تجري محادثات صعبة معهم حول الخطأ الذي حدث أو لماذا.
  • هناك العديد من أدوات الشبكة والمجتمعات التي أنتمي إليها. التواصل مبهج ومرهق. كشركة صغيرة ، فإن شبكتي هي مفتاح نجاحي. من أحيط نفسي به ينعكس على عملي ويجلب أيضًا الأعمال. بعض شبكاتي غير أنانية - تبذل قصارى جهدها دائمًا لدفع الأعمال إلى حضني. أشعر بالديون وأغتنم الفرص دائمًا لرد الجميل. ومع ذلك ، فإن البعض أناني ، ولا يقيس علاقتنا إلا بما قدمته لهم.

الشبكةوسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية يلقي شبكة ضخمة. أقوم باستمرار بتقييم المكان الذي يجب أن أتحدث فيه بعد ذلك ، وما إذا كان يجب أن أدفع أم لا ، أو ما إذا كان يجب أن أستغرق الوقت والمال من جدولي لأكون هناك. أنا أراجع المنصات للكتابة والترويج. أفكر في التدوين مقابل الفيديو مقابل البث الصوتي. أفكر في التعليق على المواقع الأخرى والتواصل مع قادة الصناعة. انها هناك الكثير من العمل.

بصفتي استشاريًا ، لدي القليل جدًا من "الإيرادات المتكررة" ، وبالتالي فإن غالبية الدخل الذي أحصل عليه يتم تحصيله من خلال بيع وقتي. هذا يعني أن كل فنجان من القهوة أو مكالمة هاتفية أو بريد إلكتروني أستجيب له يخاطر بفقدان الدخل.

فضولي: ما مدى إنتاجنا إذا كان علينا أن ندفع لبعضنا البعض مقابل كل اجتماع نعقده مع بعضنا البعض. إذا اتصلت بك لتناول القهوة ، فماذا لو كنت سأدفع أجر الساعة. هل ما زلت أتصل بك لتناول القهوة؟

من المهم أن تقوم بتقييم شبكتك على أساس مستمر لمعرفة المكان الذي تستثمر فيه وما إذا كانت ستؤتي ثمارها أم لا. العمل هو العمل بالطبع. كن أنانيًا بشأن إيجاد شبكة نكران الذات. لن أكون ناجحًا لولا عملائي الرئيسيين - خلاصة وافية, تشاتشا, اتجاهات الويب و معلومات ووكر على تلك القائمة. بكلمة "مفتاح" ، أعني الإيرادات ؛).

عندما أفكر في تلك العلاقات وكيف تطورت ، تطورت جميعها من علاقتي مع رجل أعمال واحد - كريس باجوت. أولئك الذين يعرفون أنا وكريس يعلمون أننا نكن احترامًا كبيرًا لبعضنا البعض - وكلانا صادقون جدًا مع بعضنا البعض. كريس هو المبشر المستهلكة - يدفع دائمًا بجد لإلقاء الضوء على شركاته ... قد يبدو ذلك أنانيًا. بينما أنظر إلى نجاحي وقائمة عملائي ، فقد تطوروا جميعًا من خلال علاقتي مع كريس على مر السنين.

من أين تحصل على العملاء؟ من أين تقوم بتوليد العملاء المحتملين لعملك؟ لمن تدين بنجاحك؟ هل ترد الجميل؟ قد تتفاجأ عندما تكتشفها.

شكرا كريس!

ملاحظة أخيرة: لا يهدف هذا المنشور إلى إهانة أي من الأشخاص الآخرين المهمين جدًا لنجاح عملي ونموه. أنت تعرف من أنت! أعني فقط إلقاء بعض الضوء على أن البعض منا لا يقيم ويقدر الأشخاص في شبكتنا للعمل الفعلي الذي يقدمونه. أعتقد أنني اعتبرت علاقتي مع كريس أمرًا مفروغًا منه ولم أدرك مدى أهميته بالنسبة لي.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Search Marketing

Be Selfish About Selfless Networking

This week I’ve had some tough conversations with some businesses that I care deeply about. They know that I care because I’ve taken them to task and am holding them accountable. My network is my investment and where I get the most return on investment.

  • Technology firms I work with always get an earful from me. I always report problems, ideas and kudos to their teams. For every person that complains, there are hundreds of others who will simply leave you and find another vendor. It’s critical that, if you care about your solutions providers, you have the difficult conversations with them on what went wrong or why.
  • There are several network tools and communities I belong to. Networking is exhilarating and exhausting. As a small business, my network is key to my success. Who I surround myself with reflects on my business and also brings in business. Some of my networks are selfless – always doing their best to push business into my lap. I feel indebted and always take opportunities to return the favor. Some are selfish, though, and only measure our relationship by what I’ve provided them.

Social media casts a huge net. I’m constantly evaluating where I should speak next, whether or not it should pay, or whether I should take the time and money out of my schedule to be there. I review platforms to write and promote on. I think about blogging versus video versus podcasting. I think about commenting on other sites and connecting with industry leaders. It’s a lot of work.

As a consultant, I have very little ‘recurring revenue’, so the majority of my income is accrued through selling my time. That means that every cup of coffee, phone call or email I’m responding to risks me losing income.

Curious: How productive might we be if we had to pay each other for every meeting we have with one another. If I call you up to have coffee, what if I had to pay your hourly rate. Would I still call you for coffee?

It’s important that you evaluate your network on a constant basis to find out where you’re investing and whether or not it will pay off. Business is business, of course. Be selfish about finding a selfless network. I would not be successful if it weren’t for my key clients – Compendium, ChaCha, Webtrends and Walker Information are on that list. By “key”, I do mean revenue ;).

As I think about those relationships and how they evolved, they all evolved from my relationship with a single entrepreneur – Chris Baggott. Those of you who know Chris and me know that we have great respect for one another – and we both are very honest with each other. Chris is the consumate evangelist – always pushing hard to get his companies in the spotlight… that may appear selfish. As I look at my success and my list of clients, though, they all evolved through my relationship with Chris over the years.

Where do you get clients from? Where are you generating your leads for your business from? Who do you owe your success to? Are you returning the favor? You might be surprised when you figure it out.

Thanks Chris!

One last note: This post is not meant to slight any of the other folks that are so critical to my business’ success and growth. You know who you are! I only mean to shed some light that some of us don’t truly evaluate and value the folks in our network for the actual business they provide. I think I’ve taken my relationship with Chris for granted and didn’t recognize how important he was to me.

Leave a Reply