يوم سعيد المحاربين القدامى

محارب قديمفي عام 1954 ، وقع الرئيس أيزنهاور على إعلان لإعادة تسمية يوم الهدنة إلى يوم المحاربين القدامى. احتفل يوم الهدنة باليوم الذي انتهت فيه الحرب العالمية الأولى. وقع الرئيس فورد اليوم في عطلة اتحادية في عام 1 وكان أول يوم احتفال به للمحاربين القدامى عام 1975. في عام 1978 ، يُعرف أسبوع يوم المحاربين القدامى الآن باسم أسبوع توعية المحاربين القدامى للمدارس للتوعية بمساهمات وتضحيات قدامى المحاربين.

يختلف يوم المحاربين القدامى عن يوم الذكرى وغالبًا ما يتم الخلط بينه وبينه. يوم الذكرى هو تكريما للرجال والنساء الذين ضحوا بحياتهم نيابة عن الوطن. يوم المحاربين القدامى هو تقدير للخدمة.

كان لي شرف الجلوس على طاولة في تك بوينت مع عمدة إنديانابوليس الجديد ، جريج بالارد، في يوم الجمعة. ناقشت أنا والعمدة بالارد خدمتنا في الخليج العربي في درع الصحراء وعاصفة الصحراء. كان العمدة بالارد رائدًا في سلاح مشاة البحرية. كنت رفيق كهربائي في سفينة إنزال دبابات ، مقاطعة سبارتانبورغ (LST-1192) الذي كان ينقل مشاة البحرية. لقد أصبحت أصدقاء حميمين مع عدد غير قليل من الفيلق ، وخاصة اثنين منهم التخلص من الذخائر المتفجرة الرجال الذين عملت معهم جنبًا إلى جنب لأشهر.

تكريم قدامى المحاربين ليس تكريمًا للحرب

تكريم قدامى المحاربين لا يعني تكريم الحرب. لا أحد يتمنى السلام أكثر من قدامى المحاربين. من فضلك لا تهين جيشنا من خلال عدم الاعتراف بالتضحيات التي يواصلون تقديمها لعائلاتهم وبلدهم. لقد أسيئت معاملتهم بما فيه الكفاية من قبل حكومتهم - ليسوا بحاجة لسماع ذلك من نفس الأشخاص الذين تطوعوا للدفاع عنهم - أنت وأنا.

4 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 2

    منشور ممتاز ، دوغ! شكرا للتذكير وشكرا على خدمتكم لبلدنا!

    مرحبًا بالجميع ، في المرة القادمة التي تخرج فيها علنًا وترى شخصًا يرتدي قبعة أو سترة عسكرية أمريكية ، تصعد ، وصافح يده (أو يدها) وقل ، "شكرًا لك على خدمتك". إنها لفتة شكر صغيرة يمكن أن تجعل المحارب القديم يعرف أنك تقدر الحريات التي ساعدت خدمتهم في الحفاظ عليها. لا يتعين عليك الموافقة على الحرب لتكون شاكراً لمن يقدمون أنفسهم في الخدمة.

    شكرا لك ، قدامى المحاربين!

  3. 4

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing

Happy Veterans Day

VeteranIn 1954, President Eisenhower signed the proclamation to rename Armistice Day to Veterans Day. Armistice Day commemorated the day that World War 1 ended. President Ford signed the day into a Federal holiday in 1975 and the first celebrated Veterans Day was 1978. In 2001, the week of Veterans Day is now known as Veterans Awareness Week for schools to bring awareness to the contributions and sacrifices of Veterans.

Veterans Day differs from Memorial Day and is often confused with it. Memorial Day is in honor of the men and women who gave their lives on behalf of the country. Veterans Day is in recognition of service.

I had the honor of sitting at a table at Techpoint with Indianapolis’ new mayor, Greg Ballard, on Friday. Mayor Ballard and I discussed our service in the Persian Gulf in Desert Shield and Desert Storm. Mayor Ballard was a Major in the Marine Corps. I was an Electrician’s Mate on a Tank Landing Ship, the Spartanburg County (LST-1192) who transported the marines. I became good friends with quite a few of the Corps, especially a couple of EOD guys I worked side by side with for months.

Honoring Veterans is not Honoring War

Honoring veterans does not equate to honoring war. No one wishes for peace more than a Veteran. Please don’t dishonor our military by not recognizing the sacrifices they continue to make for their family and country. They are mistreated enough by their own government – they don’t need to hear it from the very people they volunteered to defend – you and me.

4 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 2

    Excellent post, Doug! Thank you for the reminder and thank you for your service to our country!

    Hey everyone, the next time you’re out in public and see a person wearing a US military hat or jacket, step up, shake his (or her) hand and say, “thank you for your service.” It’s a tiny gesture of thanks that can make a veteran know you appreciate the freedoms their service helped to preserve. You don’t have to agree with a war to be thankful for those who give of themselves in service.

    Thank You, Veterans!

  3. 4

Leave a Reply