الكتاب الذي يجب على كل محترف تحليلي قراءته

غطاء كرة المال

قبل بضع سنوات صديقي العزيز بات كويل ، الذي يمتلك a وكالة تسويق رياضيشجعني على القراءة Moneyball. لسبب أو لآخر ، لم أضع الكتاب مطلقًا في قائمة القراءة الخاصة بي. قبل بضعة أسابيع شاهدت الفيلم وطلبت الكتاب على الفور حتى أتمكن من التعمق في القصة بشكل أعمق.

أنا لست رجلًا رياضيًا ... قد لا تكون كذلك. نادرًا ما أشعر بالحماس تجاه أي لعبة جامعية أو لعبة رياضية احترافية إلا إذا كانت كأس ستانلي جيدة. إذا كنت لا تقدر الرياضة ولكنك تحب الأرقام والإحصاءات والتحليلات ، فلا يزال عليك قراءة هذا الكتاب. بول ديبوديستا (شخصيته هي بيتر براند في الفيلم الذي لعبه جوناه هيل) هو العقل المدبر للعملية ... العمل من الإحصائيات لتحديد اللاعبين المستهدفين على أساس النسبة المئوية على أساس. لا يهم إذا كانت نزهة فردية أو مزدوجة أو حتى نزهة. بيلي بين هو العضلة ... المدير العام الذي يراهن على فريقه وحياته المهنية على استخدام الإحصائيات (بالإضافة إلى ممارسة التجارة العدوانية التي تدر المزيد من الأموال للمواهب) لنقل فريق أوكلاند أ إلى سلسلة انتصارات تاريخية.

لن أفسد القصة من أجلك ، ولكن إليك نظرة عامة. تمتلك أوكلاند أ ثلث ميزانية معظم الفرق لشراء المواهب. من أجل المنافسة ، كانوا بحاجة إلى شيء آخر - تحليلات. صناعة البيسبول مثلها مثل أي صناعة أخرى ، حيث نمت في العمر والحجم والثروة ، المعرفة المؤسسية أشواط عميقة. المشكلة هي أن المعرفة المؤسسية خاطئة ... خاطئة جدا. تُربح الألعاب إحصائيًا وتخسر ​​في الضربات والركض ، وليس بسبب الأخطاء ، أو الركض في المنزل أو التي يفوز بها الرياضيون السمين ذوو الفك المربع. فكر في عملك الخاص والافتراضات التي تضعها لأنها كانت كذلك دائما بهذه الطريقة.

برنامج Google Analytics

المشكلة في صناعة التحليلات ذو شقين. بينما تطورت أساليبنا التسويقية لتتجاوز موقعنا وتغير تفاعل المستخدم بشكل كبير (الهاتف المحمول ، الفيديو ، الجهاز اللوحي ، وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، إلخ) ، عند تسجيل الدخول إلى الويب تحليلات أنت ترى إلى حد كبير ما رأيناه قبل عقدين من الزمان. المشكلة الأخرى هي أن المعرفة المؤسسية قد سممت أسس الصناعة ذاتها. يتم تطوير جميع أدوات التحليل والقياس الحديثة المفيدة في الخارج الصناعة.

غالبًا ما يُقاس نجاح محترفي التسويق بمعدلات الارتداد ومرات مشاهدة الصفحة والمشجعين والمتابعين ... عندما لا يكون لهم أي تأثير إحصائي على نتائج الأعمال الفعلية. صحيح أن الأخطاء وعروض المقارنة يمكن أن تغير مسار لعبة البيسبول ، تمامًا كما يمكن أن يؤثر التدفق الكبير لمرات مشاهدة الصفحة على الأعمال ... ولكن السؤال هو ما إذا كان هذا مؤشر أداء يمكنك التأثير فيه بشكل مباشر أم لا.

ما يهم في النهاية لكل عمل هو كلا من العملاء المتوقعين والتحويلات. فكر في كيفية إعداد ملف تحليلات الحساب. السؤال الأول هو ما المجال ك تحليلات سيتم التثبيت على ؟! هذا هو خاطئ السؤال تماما ، يجب أن يكون السؤال كيف تحصل على العملاء؟ ثم يجب أن يكون سؤال الأخبار هو من أين تحصل عليها. وكم كنت ترغب في النمو. في تلك المرحلة ، فإن تحليلات يجب أن يساعد النظام الأساسي في التقاط كل الإحصائيات ومساعدتك على فهم أيها مهم وأيها غير مهم

كل تحليلات يجب قراءة المهنية Moneyball وإعادة تشكيل فهمهم لها كيف تحقق الشركات النتائج عبر الإنترنت - سواء كان موقعًا للتجارة الإلكترونية بمبيعات مباشرة ، أو منشورًا على الويب يربح عائدًا من خلال عائدات الإعلانات بناءً على الزيارات ، أو شركة خدمات تحتاج إلى زيادة المواعيد ، أو شركة تقنية تحتاج إلى المزيد من العروض التوضيحية على الويب ، أو شركة تحاول ببساطة التأثير على الشعور والوصول إلى علامتها التجارية.

شبكة تحليلات هو المهر ذو الحيلة الواحدة ... في محاولة لتناسب مجموعة أدوات قديمة في كل هذه السيناريوهات الجديدة. نحن بحاجة إلى جديد مجموعة الأدوات التي تبدأ بالسيناريو وتوضح لنا كيفية قياس النجاح عبر أي وسيط أو منصة.

3 تعليقات

  1. 1

    إنها قصة رائعة. صنع كتاب رائع وفيلم جيد هذا ليس صحيحًا أيضًا. ورث بين المجموعة الأساسية من النجوم التي جمعت سلسلة مواسمه الناجحة. كانت فرقه غير ناجحة بشكل ملحوظ منذ ذلك الحين. 

    ما يوضحه موقع Moneyball في الواقع هو أن بناء علامة تجارية في وسائل الإعلام لا يرتبط إلا بشكل هامشي بالأداء الفعلي. المهم هو خلق رواية جديدة ومثيرة للاهتمام. ستتجاهل وسائل الإعلام أي حقائق متناقضة ما لم يكن لدى شخص ما مصلحة قوية في تعطيل تلك الرواية.

    • 2

      مرحبًا جدة ،

      يتحدث الكتاب في الواقع عن بعض التراجع من الصناعة في الفصل الأخير ويقدم بعض الأحداث الإضافية لدعم أطروحتها. يبدو بالتأكيد كما لو أن مايكل لويس أثار بعض الريش في الصناعة. لا أشك في أن الإحصائيات ليست "الشيء الوحيد" الذي يقود فريقًا رائعًا. سيطرت فرق مثل يانكيز مع بعض المدربين الرائعين واللاعبين الرائعين الذين يمكن أن يؤدوا في نهاية المطاف بالإضافة إلى مجموعة من وسائل الراحة الأخرى. أما بالنسبة لرفض القصة بأكملها على أنها غير صحيحة ، فسأختلف معك باحترام. استخدم فريق أوكلاند أ الإحصائيات لتحليل اللاعبين ، واعترفت الفرق الأخرى باتباعها تقدمًا بعد ذلك.

      في كلتا الحالتين ، إنها قصة ذات صلة بالأعمال التجارية بشكل عام. غالبًا ما يضع الناس افتراضات بدلاً من النظر إلى الأدلة الموجودة أمامهم. هذا هو المغزى من القصة هنا.

      دوغ

  2. 3

    منشور مدونة حول شغفي ، البيسبول ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي؟ نعم!

    يتمثل جوهر لعبة Moneyball في استهداف الأصول المقيمة بأقل من قيمتها الحقيقية لتحقيق النجاح بشكل أكثر كفاءة. بينما كان الجميع خارجًا للدفع مقابل متوسط ​​الضرب والتشغيل المنزلي و ERA ، كان Beane يركز على OBP. والنقطة التي يفوتها الكثير من الناس هي أن لعبة Moneyball لا تتعلق بالبناء حول OBP. يتعلق الأمر بالبناء حول دولة مقومة بأقل من قيمتها. الآن بعد أن اشتعلت الدوري وأصبح OBP أكثر قيمة ، يتعين على Beane التكيف.

    نفس الشيء صحيح في التسويق الرقمي. يقول الجميع إنك تقضي وقتك وأموالك على Facebook و Twitter و Google+. ولكن ربما يكون الأصل المقوم بأقل من قيمته هو Pinterest ، على الأقل بالنسبة لعلامتك التجارية ، وسيكون استثمارًا أكثر كفاءة بالنسبة لك.

    لذلك اسمح لأي شخص آخر برمي الأموال بشكل أعمى في الجري في المنزل وضرب المتوسط. سوف تركز على OBP (Pinterest). الأمر كله يتعلق بعدم كفاءة السوق.

    شكرا لهذا المنصب!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Analytics & Testing, Marketing Books

The Book Every Analytics Professional Must Read

A few years ago my good friend Pat Coyle, who owns a sports marketing agency, encouraged me to read Moneyball. For one reason or another, I never put the book on my reading list. A few weeks ago I watched the movie and instantly ordered the book so I could dig into the story even deeper.

I’m not a sports guy… you may not be either. I seldom get excited about any college or professional sports game unless it’s a good Stanley Cup. If you don’t appreciate sports but you love numbers, statistics and analysis, you should still read this book. Paul Depodesta (his character is Peter Brand in the movie played by Jonah Hill) is the brains of the operation… working from statistics to identify target players based on their on-base percentage. It doesn’t matter if it was a single, double or even a walk. Billy Beane is the muscle… the General Manager that bets his team and his career on using the stats (as well as an aggressive trade practice that yields more funds for talent) to take the Oakland A’s to a historical winning streak.

I won’t ruin the story for you, but here’s an overview. The Oakland A’s have a third of the budget of most teams to buy talent. In order to compete, they needed something else – analytics. The baseball industry is just like any other industry, as it has grown in age, size and wealth, institutional knowledge runs deep. The problem is that the institutional knowledge is wrong… very wrong. Games are statistically won and lost on hits and runs, not on errors, home runs or won by beefy, square-jawed athletes. Think about your own business and the assumptions you make because it was always done that way.

The problem in Analytics industry is two-fold. While our marketing tactics have evolved beyond our site and user interaction has changed dramatically (mobile, video, tablet, social, etc.), when you log in to your web analytics you pretty much see what we saw a couple decades ago. The other problem is that institutional knowledge has poisoned the very foundations of the industry. All of the latest analysis and measurement tools that are helpful are being developed outside the industry.

Marketing professionals’ success is often gauged on bounce rates, page views, fans and followers… when they may have absolutely no statistical impact on actual business results. It’s true that errors and homeruns can change the course of a baseball game, just as a high influx of pageviews could influence business… but the question is whether or not it’s a performance indicator you can directly influence.

What ultimately matters to every business are both leads and conversions. Think about how you set up an analytics account. The first question is what domain your analytics will be installed on?! That’s the wrong question altogether, the question should be how do you obtain customers? Then the news question should be where do you obtain them from. And how many you wish to grow by. At that point, the analytics platform should help capture every stat and help you understand which ones matter and which do not.

Every analytics professional should read Moneyball and reshape their understanding of how businesses drive results online – whether it’s an ecommerce site with direct sales, a web publication that gains revenue through advertising revenue based on visits, a service company that needs to drive appointments, a technology firm that needs more web demos, or a company simply trying to impact the sentiment and reach of its brand.

Web analytics is a one-trick pony… trying to fit an antiquated toolset into all these new scenarios. We need a new toolset that starts with the scenario and show us how to measure the success across any medium or platform.

3 Comments

  1. 1

    Its a great story. Made a great book and fine movie. Its also not true. Beane inherited the core group of star players that put together his string of successful seasons. His teams have been noticeably unsuccessful ever since. 

    What Moneyball actually demonstrates is that building a brand in the media is only marginally related to actual performance. What is important is to create a novel and interesting narrative. The media will ignore any contradictory facts unless someone has a strong interest in disrupting that narrative.

    • 2

      Hi Granny,

      The book actually speaks to some of the pushback from the industry in the last chapter and provides some additional events to support its thesis.  It definitely seems as though Michael Lewis ruffled some feathers within the industry. I don’t doubt that the stats aren’t the “only thing” that drives a great team.  Teams like the Yankees dominated with some great coaches, great players that could perform in the clinch as well as a host of other amenities.  As for throwing the entire story out as untrue, I’m going to have to respectfully disagree with you. The Oakland A’s did utilize statistics to analyze players, and other teams admit to following their lead afterwards.

      Either way, it’s a story that’s relevant to business in general.  People often make assumptions instead of looking at the evidence in front of them.  That’s the moral of the story here.

      Doug

  2. 3

    A blog post about my two passions, baseball and social media? YES!

    The core of Moneyball is really about targeting undervalued assets to build success more efficiently. While everyone else was out paying for batting average, home runs and ERA, Beane was focusing on OBP. And the point many people miss is that Moneyball isn’t about building around OBP. It’s about building around an undervalued stat. Now that the league has caught on and OBP is more valued, Beane has to adjust.

    Same is true in digital marketing. Everyone says to spend your time and money on Facebook, Twitter and Google+. But maybe the undervalued asset is Pinterest, at least for your brand, and it’ll be a more efficient investment for you.

    So let everyone else blindly throw money around at home runs and batting average. You’ll focus on OBP (Pinterest). It’s all about market inefficiencies.

    Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply